Prof. Dr. Hans Köhler: Healthy in Saarland – Cutting-edge medical services

With 30 departments and 20 institutes, the Saarland University Hospital (SUH) holds a top position as health centre in south-west Germany. Over 5,300 employees care for the patients. 2,000 students are trained in medicine and dental medicine, biology and bio computer sciences at the Faculty of Medicine that is situated here. Further­­more, 1,000 university attendants work at Homburg campus. Almost 700 training jobs are available for non-medical health professions. Additionally, the SUH trains biology and chemistry laboratory workers. Thus, the Saarland University Hospital is one of the main providers of work in the region. Homburg covers all of the main medical specializations like eye or dental clinics.
The SUH plays a leading role in medical teaching, research and health care far beyond the borders of Saar­­land. These areas are tightly knit with one another, interdisciplinarily oriented and marked through international co-operation. Par­­ti­­cular value is placed upon ethic and social competence, true to our mission statement: We treat others as we would like to be treated ourselves. We orient ourselves with deter­­mination according to the needs of our patients.


Geb-09-Frauenklinik-FotoKoop

Transplantation medicine and cancer therapy
The main field of medical research at the SUH is the internationally renowned treatment of aggressive lymphomas (lymph node cancer) at the José Carreras Centre for immune- and gene therapy.
Besides this, innovative processes in the treatment of tumours for patients with breast and prostate cancer are equally offered in Homburg. A new process for the treatment of breast cancer, in­­traoperative radiotherapy, has already been established. The SUH also holds a top international position for brain, cardiovascular and muscoskeletal diseases. The Homburger Department of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery has developed into one of the leading establishments within the area of heart valve reconstruc­­tion. The Department of Cardiology be­­came the project leader in the European Union’s largest re­­search enterprise the theme of stroke prevention. In addition to this, the SUH, as of late, houses the Mobile Stroke Unit – a stroke ambulance homing a diagnostics and therapy centre. A further main area here is the re­­search of Alzheimer’s disease, where this formed the largest EU research pro­­ject co-ordinated in Hom­­burg. The pre­­vention of dementia is dealt with by a newly founded institute.

250 worldwide research co-operations
Through a large number of research co-­­operations, patients can benefit from the latest stand in medicine, especially in case of most complex clinical symptoms.
For ten years, a Collaborative Re­­search Centre (SFB) for the transfer of signals in cells is housed at the SUH and currently, participation of the latest trans-regional SFB is being undergone for fibrosis, the clinical increase of connective tissue in the liver and kidneys. Furthermore, two clinical re­­search groups deal with Hepatitis C as well as remodelling processes in the cardiac muscle, which can lead to chronic heart failure. Excellent junior researchers are trained at three graduate colleges.

 

Begrüßung-Studenten-FotoKoop

High tech and top-class medicine – partners for life
Kidney, heart, lung, liver and bone-marrow transplants in­­clud­­ing peripheral stem cell transplants as well as cornea transplants are all carried out at Saarland’s Transplant Center of the SUH. The Clinic Ophthal­­mology of houses a respectable outpatient operative centre as well as a new high-perfor­­mance excimer laser, which supports precision work on eyes.

Furthermore, the SUH is marked by or­­ga­­ni­­zational innovations: Sick students can take part in their school lessons by means of a web cam. The local alliance Uni­­Med­­Kids forms the child and family-oriented foundation suppor­­ting the unification of family, studies and occupation at the SUH.

 


Geb-45-3-Carreras-Zentrum-FotoKoop

The SUH runs numerous regional and nationwide co-operation projects, for ex­­ample, co-operation was arranged with the German Red Cross (DRK)-West in the area of blood donation. The Saar­­land-wide recording of baby-health ex­­­aminations has also spread to Rhine­­land-Palatinate.

An ideal environment for company foundations
Scientists and medical staff who would like to found a company can make use of the Starterzentrum Founder-Centre of the university and, on behalf of the city of Homburg, the BIZ Biomedical Centre, which provides support in lo­­gistics, a technology park for high-tech companies and also the KWT contact point for knowledge and technology transfer at the Starter Zentrum on Homburg campus. All of this makes the SUH one of the most significant economic factors across the region and is surrounded by numerous successful, internationally operating companies, as for example, the Robert Bosch GmbH, Michelin, Thyssen Krupp Gerlach or the Karlsberg Brewery.

0504-404-Köhler-Hans-FotoKoopProf. Dr. Hans Köhler (born in 1941) is me­­di­­cal director and chairman of the executive board of Saarland University Hospital. Following medical studies in Gießen, he specialized as a doctor for in­­ter­­nal medicine and nephrology. He was oc­­cupied as medical head, among other things, at the Trans­­plan­­tationszentrum of the Uni­­ver­­sity of Mainz Medical School’s Hos­­pi­­tal and transferred to Homburg/Saar in 1993 as director of the Department of Internal Medi­­ci­­­­ne IV.

Prof. Dr. Hans Köhler: Gesund im Saarland – Spitze bei medizinischen Dienstleistungen

Mit 30 Fachkliniken und 20 In­­sti­­tu­­ten nimmt das UKS eine Spitzen­­stellung als Gesundheitszentrum im Südwesten Deutsch­lands ein. Über 5.300 Mit­ar­bei­ter sorgen für die Patienten. 2.000 Stu­­dierende werden an der hier ansässigen Medizinischen Fakultät in Medizin und Zahnmedizin, Biologie und Bio­in­for­ma­tik ausgebildet. Darüber hinaus arbeiten über 1.000 Universitätsbedienstete auf dem Campus in Homburg. Es stehen fast 700 Aus­­bildungsplätze für nichtärztliche Ge­­sundheitsfachberufe zur Verfügung. Zu­­sätzlich bildet das UKS Biologie- und Che­­mielaboranten aus. Damit ist das UKS einer der größten Arbeitgeber in der Re­­gion. Von A wie Augenklinik bis Z wie Zahn­kli­nik sind in Homburg alle großen medizi­­n­­ischen Fach­­rich­­tun­gen vertreten.
Das UKS nimmt weit über das Saarland hinaus eine führende Rolle in medizinischer Lehre, Forschung und Kran­ken­ver­sorgung ein. Diese Bereiche sind eng mit­einander verbunden, interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und durch internationale Ko­­operationen geprägt. Auf ethische und soziale Kompetenz wird besonderer Wert gelegt, getreu unserem Leitbild: Wir han­­deln so, wie wir selbst behandelt werden wollen. Wir orientieren uns konsequent an den Bedürfnissen unserer Pa­­tien­ten.


Geb-09-Frauenklinik-FotoKoop

Transplantationsmedizin und Krebstherapie
Schwerpunkt medizinischer Forschung am UKS ist der international renommier­te Behandlungsschwerpunkt aggressiver Lymphome (Lymphdrüsenkrebs) mit dem José-Carreras-Zentrum für Immun- und Gentherapie.
Außerdem werden in Homburg innova­­tive Verfahren der Tumorbehandlung bei Brust- und Prostatakrebs angeboten. Es wurde ein neues Verfahren zur Be­­han­­d­lung des Mammakarzinoms, die intraope­rative Bestrahlung, etabliert. Auch bei Erkrankungen des Gehirns, des Herz-Kreislaufs oder des Be­­we­gungs­ap­­­pa­ra­tes nimmt das UKS eine internationale Spit­­zenstellung ein. Die Hom­­burger Herz­chi­rurgie hat sich zu einem der führenden Häuser auf dem Gebiet der Herz­klap­pen­rekonstruktion entwickelt. Die Kar­dio­lo­gie wurde Projekt­­leiter im größten For­schungs­vorhaben der Europäischen Ge­­meinschaft zum Thema Schlag­an­fall­prä­vention. Au­­­ßer­­dem verfügt das UKS neuerdings über eine Mobile Stroke Unit, einen Schlag­an­fall-Rettungswagen mit einem Dia­gnos­­­tik- und Therapiezentrum im Innen­­raum. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Alz­­heimer-Forschung, wobei es sich um das bisher größte in Homburg koordinierte EU-­For­schungsprojekt handelt. Mit De­­menz­prä­vention befasst sich ein neu gegründetes Institut.

250 Forschungskooperationen weltweit
Durch die zahlreichen For­­schungs­ko­ope­rationen können Patienten gerade bei komplexen Krankheitsbildern immer vom neuesten Stand der Medizin profitieren.
Seit zehn Jahren besteht am UKS ein Son­­derforschungsbereich (SFB) zur Sig­­na­­l­­über­­tragung in Zellen und aktuell eine Be­­­tei­­li­­gung am neuen transregionalen SFB zur Fibrose, der krankhaften Ver­meh­rung von Bindegewebe in Leber und Niere. Weiter­­hin gibt es zwei klinische Forscher­­grup­­pen zu Hepatitis C beziehungsweise zu Um­­bau­­prozessen im Herzmuskel, die zu chro­­nischer Herzinsuffizienz führen kön­­nen. In drei Graduiertenkollegs werden ex­­zel­­le­­n­­te Nachwuchsforscher ausgebil­det.

Begrüßung-Studenten-FotoKoop

Hightech und Spitzenmedizin – Partner für’s Leben
Am UKS, dem Transplantationszentrum des Saarlandes, werden Nieren-, Herz-, Lungen-, Le­­ber-, Knochen­­markt­­rans­­plan­­­­ta­­tio­­nen einschließ­lich peripherer Stamm­zell­trans­plan­ta­tio­nen sowie Horn­­hauttransplantationen durch­­ge­­führt. Die Klinik für Augenheilkunde ver­­­­fügt über ein angesehenes ambulantes op­­er­­a­tives Zentrum und einen neu­en leistungsstarken Excimer-Laser, der die Prä­­zi­­sions­­­­arbeit am Auge unterstützt.

Darüber hinaus zeichnet sich das UKS durch organisatorische Innovationen aus: Kranke Schüler können per Webcam on­­line am Un­­terricht ihrer Schulklasse teil­­nehmen. Das lo­­kale Bündnis Uni­Med­Kids schafft die kind- und familiengerechte Basis für die Verein­­bar­­­­keit von Familie, Studium und Beruf am UKS.
Das UKS unterhält zahlreiche regionale und überregionale Kooperationen, beispielsweise wurde mit dem Deutschen Roten Kreuz (DRK)-West eine Zu­­sam­men­arbeit auf dem Gebiet der Blutspende vereinbart. Die saarlandweite Erfassung der Baby-Vorsorgeuntersuchungen wur­­­de auch auf Rheinland-Pfalz ausgedehnt.


Geb-45-3-Carreras-Zentrum-FotoKoop

Ideales Umfeld für Unternehmensgründungen
Wissenschaftlern und Medizinern, die eine Firma gründen möchten, stehen das Starterzentrum der Universität und sei­tens der Stadt Homburg das Bio­me­di­zi­nische Zentrum (BIZ) mit logistischer Unterstützung, ein Tech­­no­­logiepark für Hightech-Unter­neh­­men sowie die Kon­taktstelle für Wis­­sens- und Tech­no­lo­gie­transfer (KWT) im Star­­terzentrum auf dem Campus Homburg zur Verfügung. All das macht das UKS zu einem bedeutenden Wirtschafts­fak­­tor in der Region, umgeben von zahlreichen, erfolgreichen interna­tio­nal agierenden Unternehmen, wie bei­spiels­­weise der Robert Bosch GmbH, Mi­­chelin, Thyssen Krupp Gerlach oder der Karls­­berg Brauerei.

0504-404-Köhler-Hans-FotoKoopProf. Dr. Hans Köhler (Jahrgang 1941) ist ärzt­lich­er Di­­rek­tor und Vor­stands­­vor­­­sitzen­der des Uni­ver­si­täts­kli­ni­kums des Saar­lan­des (UKS). Nach dem Me­­­di­zin­studium in Gießen folg­te eine Spe­zia­li­sie­rung als Internist und Neph­ro­lo­ge. An der Uni­ver­sitätsklinik Mainz war er un­­ter an­­de­­rem als internistischer Lei­ter des Trans­­plan­ta­tions­­zentrums tätig. 1993 wech­­sel­te er nach Homburg/Saar und war bis 2007 Direktor der Klinik für Innere Medizin IV.