Prof. Dr. Gabriele Beibst: Theory and practice in one package – The Jena University of Applied Sciences

The Jena University of Applied Sciences (FH Jena) was founded on 1 October 1991 as one of the first educational establishments of its kind in the new federal states. Since then it has rapidly developed. Today, with more than 4,900 students, it is not only the largest university of applied sciences in Thurin­gia, but also the third-largest university of this federal state. An innovative com­­bination of practical-oriented and scientifically sound study courses is what draws young people from all around Germany and beyond to the Jena Uni­­versity of Applied Sciences.
The Jena University of Applied Scien­c­­es, a “Selected Venue in the Land of Ideas 2007” and an important partner in “Science City 2008”, strives to create optimal conditions for learning, research­­ing and working. The course selection of the young university is based on three pillars: Engineering Sciences, Bu­­siness Administration and Social Sciences.


FH-Jena-Sommer-2005_Foto_Neef

The faculties of FH Jena:
• Business Administration
• Electro-Technology and Information
• Fundamental Sciences
• Mechanical Engineering
• Medical Engineering and Biotech­­no­logy
• SciTec
• Social Sciences
• Industrial Engineering
Currently the Jena University of Applied Sciences offers 32 attractive bachelor and master degree courses. The change­­over to the bachelor and master de­­gree system has been successfully im­­plemented with the accrediting of all direct study courses of the Jena Uni­versity of Applied Sciences. In the whole of Thuringia this is unparalleled.
Additionally, as from the 2007/2008 win­­ter semester, a dual course of study with an integrated apprenticeship has been developed in collaboration with the “IHK Ostthüringen” (Chamber of Com­­mer­­ce and Industry of Eastern Thurin­gia in Gera) for trainees with university admis­­sion qualifications. Also in the win­­ter se­­mester, the dual practice-oriented bache­­lor study course “StudiumPlus” for Indus­­trial Engineering starts at the Jena University of Applied Sciences, in cooperation with the “Kompetenzzent­rum StudiumPlus Altenburger Land” and the city of Altenburg. The knowledge available at the Jena University of Ap­­plied Sciences is passed on through training courses, seminars, lectures and assessments. A continuous exchange of experience takes place through colloquia and conferences. The extensive library (approx. 240 000 volumes) and its patent information centre is capa­ble of the swift availability of up-to-date information.

 

ATT24957

Research and development at the Jena University of Applied Sciences
Intensive research and development is one of the location advantages of the Jena University of Applied Sciences. With the structuring of research and development at the university into seven focal points, the “fields of re­­search and development”, competen­cies and offers have not only become concentrated but also more transpar­ent. Furthermore the service spectrum in the area of research and development has been continually extended. The Jena University of Applied Sciences was particularly successful in their fund-raising in 2006 from the Federal Go­­v­ernment of Germany (Ministry of Edu­cation and Research and the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Technology). The fund-raising from external sources presents an important focus for the Jena University of Applied Sciences: on the one hand the great practical ex­­perience of applied research and devel­opment is clarified and on the other hand about 50 employment positions per year can be financed.
Research and development play a particularly significant role in the im­­plementation of the Bologna Process in the FH Jena. The successful selection of the master degree courses, in partic­ular, places high demands on applica­tion-oriented research and development at the university.

1_Hochshcule_HIT_4

Fields of research and development at the Jena University of Applied Sciences

Life Sciences
• Medical Engineering – new diagnostic and therapeutic processes
• Care
• Pharmaceutical-biotechnology eye-care
• Environmental technology – environmental compatibility

Precision Engineering – Optics
• Applied optics
• Laser material processing
• Process control and quality assurance
• Mechanical vibrations and technical acoustics

Information Processing – Simulation
• Simulation of mechanical, electrical and thermal fields and systems
• Simulation of operational sequences
• Microprocessor technology and electronics design
• Electromagnetic compatibility
• Multimedia in teaching

Automation Engineering
and Mechatronics
• Design and testing of mechatronic systems
• Regulation and control technology
• Actuating elements
• Measurement – sensory properties
• Communication technology

Materials and Product Technology
• Ceramics
• Synthetic materials
• High temperature materials
• Processing procedures, machines and manufacturing automation
Social Sciences
• Child and youth welfare services
re­­search
• Social inequality

Foundation and Management
of Enterprises
• Regional marketing
• International entrepreneurship


ATT24958

The promotion of graduates
The further support of outstanding gra­d­­uates enjoys high priority at the FH Jena. Every year 15 to 20 postgradu­ates are looked after by “cooperative doc­­torates”, financed through the university itself or through external projects. In 2006 three doctorates were success­fully completed, all with “magna cum laude” merits. Two graduates in the En­­gineering Sciences Department were each awarded the “Doctorate Prize” by the Foundation for Technology, Re­­search and Innovation (STIFT) for their doctorate work.

Cooperation and networks
With the transfer of knowledge and technology, the Jena University of Ap­­plied Sciences makes an important con­­tribution towards the strengthening of the Jena and Thuringia region. The large selection of courses offered by the uni­versity, in conjunction with the mo­­d­­­ern infrastructure on campus, opens a myriad of possibilities for cooperation. The students and graduates ensure a steady transfer of personnel. This ex­­change is supported by the regular or­­ganizational network contacts, bulletin boards and social networks.

The interlinking with the regional econ­omy is also seen through the integra­tion of the Jena University of Applied Sciences with numerous regional competence networks. Amongst these are the BioInstrumente eV (network for bio­technology), OptoNet eV (network for optical technology), Fanimat (network for functional, inorganic-non-metallic materials), JCB (network for bio-informatics), KPVJ (precision consortium in Jena) and micro mold.net (micro technology network).

The Jena University of Applied Sciences cooperates with numerous universities in the interest of comprehensive practical-oriented study courses. The colla­b­­­oration with organizations like Carl Zeiss Jena GmbH, Jenoptik AG, Siemens and IBM as well as a variety of smaller firms, ensures an optimal education. Most of the bachelors’ theses are completed in close cooperation with the industry. The interlinking of economics and science at regional and national level, and the “Cluster Jena” as well as the high priority given to research and development, is what constitutes the young, flexible Jena University of Ap­­plied Sciences.

Living in Jena – The campus
Not only is the campus notable for its close proximity to the Carl Zeiss Jena GmbH, but also for its extraordinarily interesting architectural design. After extensive renovations, the entire range of faculties, university administration and the central library with its patent and enquiry section, have been concen­trated. Four of the five buildings are already in use and the fifth will have received a facelift by 2008. Moreover: situated to the south-west of the Jena city centre, the campus is easily reached. The supply in the new canteen as well as the close proximity of student ac­­commodation completes the advantages of an education at the Jena University of Applied Sciences.

 

ATT24939The author was born in Weimar in 1951 and studied Engineering Economics. She obtained her doctorate in 1983. After numerous studies abroad she was appointed as a professor at the Jena University of Applied Sciences in 1993. From 1999 to 2001 she was Vice-Rec­­tor for Research and University Devel­opment. Since 2001 Prof. Dr. Gabriele Beibst has been the Rector at the Jena University of Applied Sciences.

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Beibst: Theorie und Praxis in einem Paket – Die Fachhochschule Jena

Am 1. Oktober 1991 wurde die Fach­hochschule Jena (FH Jena) als eine der ersten Bildungseinrichtungen ihrer Art in den neuen Bundesländern gegründet. Seither nahm sie eine rasante Entwicklung. Mit heute mehr als 4.900 Studierenden ist sie nicht nur die größte Fachhoch­schule im Land Thüringen, sondern auch dessen drittgrößte Hochschule. Eine in­­novative Kombination aus praxisorientiertem und wissenschaftlich solide fun­­diertem Studium zieht junge Leute aus ganz Deutschland und darüber hinaus an die Jenaer Fachhochschule.

Die Fachhochschule Jena, ein „Ausge­wähl­ter Ort im Land der Ideen 2007“ und wichtiger Hochschul­partner in der „Stadt der Wissenschaft 2008“, strebt optimale Lehr-, Forschungs- und Arbeitsbedin­gun­gen an. Das Ausbildungsangebot der jun­gen Hochschule basiert auf den drei Säu­len Ingenieurwissenschaften, Betriebs­­wirtschaft und Sozialwissenschaften.


FH-Jena-Sommer-2005_Foto_Neef

Die Fachbereiche der FH Jena:

• Betriebswirtschaft
• Elektrotechnik/Informationstechnik
• Grundlagenwissenschaften
• Maschinenbau
• Medizintechnik/Biotechnologie
• SciTec
• Sozialwesen
• Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen
Aktuell bietet die Fachhochschule Jena 32 attraktive Bachelor- und Masterstu­diengänge an. Die Umstellung auf die Bachelor- und Masterabschlüsse ist mit der Akkreditierung aller Direktstudien­gänge der FH Jena bereits seit Jahres­beginn 2007 erfolgreich vollzogen. Dies ist in ganz Thüringen einmalig.

Hinzu kommt ab dem Wintersemester 2007/2008 ein ausbildungsintegriertes duales Studium für Auszubildende mit Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, das gemeinsam mit der IHK Ostthüringen zu Gera entwickelt wurde. Ebenfalls zum Wintersemester 2007/2008 startet der duale praxisintegrierte Bachelor-Studien­­gang Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Stu­diumPlus der FH Jena in Kooperation mit dem „Kompetenzzentrum Studium­Plus Altenburger Land“ und der Stadt Altenburg. Das an der Fachhochschule Jena vorhandene Wissen wird durch Schu­lungen, Seminare, Vorträge und Gut­­ach­ten weitergegeben. Über Kolloquien und Tagungen findet ein steter Erfahrungs­­­austausch statt. Die umfangreiche Bi­­blio­­thek (circa 240.000 Bände) und ihre Pa­­tentinformationsstelle sind in der Lage, schnell aktuelle Informationen zur Ver­fügung zu stellen.

ATT24957

Forschung und Entwicklung an der Fachhochschule Jena
Zu den Standortvorteilen der Fach­hoch­schule Jena gehört eine intensive For­schung und Entwicklung. Hier­bei ­hat die Strukturierung der Forschungs- und Ent­wicklungslandschaft der Hoch­­schule in sieben Schwerpunkt­bereiche, in die „Fel­­der von Forschung und Ent­wicklung“, die Kompetenzen und Angebote nicht nur konzentriert, sondern auch transparenter ge­macht. Darüber hinaus wurde das Leistungs­spektrum auf dem Gebiet von For­schung und Entwicklung kontinuierlich erweitert.
Die Fachhochschule Jena war im Jahr 2006 besonders erfolgreich bei der Ein­­­werbung von Drittmitteln des Bundes (BMBF und BMWi). Die Einwerbung von Drittmitteln stellt für die FH Jena einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt dar: Einerseits wird damit der hohe Praxisbezug der an­gewandten Forschung und Entwicklung verdeutlicht, andererseits können damit jährlich circa 50 Personalstellen finanziert werden.
Einen besonderen Stellenwert bekommt Forschung und Entwicklung im Zusam­menhang mit der Umsetzung des Bo­­log­na-Prozesses an der FH Jena. Das er­­­folg­reiche Angebot insbesondere der Master­­studiengänge stellt hohe Ansprü­che an die anwendungsorientierte For­schung und Entwicklung an der Hoch­schule.

1_Hochshcule_HIT_4

Felder von Forschung und Entwicklung an der Fachhochschule Jena

Lebenswissenschaften/Life Sciences
• Medizintechnik – Neue diagnostische und therapeutische Verfahren
• Pflege
• Pharma-Biotechnologie Augenoptik
• Umwelttechnik – Umweltverträglichkeit

Präzisionsmechanik – Optik
• Angewandte Optik
• Lasermaterialbearbeitung
• Fertigungssteuerung und Qualitäts­sicherung
• Mechanische Schwingungen und tech­­nische Akustik

Informationsverarbeitung – Simulation
• Simulation mechanischer, elektrischer und thermischer Felder und Systeme
• Simulation betrieblicher Abläufe
• Mikroprozessortechnik und Elektronik­design
• Elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit
• Multimedia in der Lehre

Automatisierungstechnik –
Mechatronik
• Entwurf und Testung mechatronischer Systeme
• Regelungs- und Steuerungstechnik
• Aktorik
• Messtechnik – Sensorik
• Kommunikationstechnik

Werkstoffe und Fertigungstechnik
• Keramik
• Kunststoffe
• Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe
• Verarbeitungsverfahren, Maschinen und Fertigungsautomatisierung

Sozialwissenschaft
• Kinder- und Jugendhilfeforschung
• Soziale Ungleichheit
Gründung und Führung
von Unternehmen
• Regionenmarketing
• International Entrepreneurship


ATT24958

Absolventenförderung
An der FH Jena genießt die Förderung hervorragender Absolventen einen hohen Stellenwert: Pro Jahr werden 15 bis 20 Dok­toranden in kooperativen Promo­tio­­nen betreut, finanziert aus hochschuleigenen Mitteln und innerhalb von Dritt­­mittel-Pro­jekten. Im Jahr 2006 wurden drei Pro­motionen erfolgreich abgeschlos­sen, alle mit dem Prädikat „magna cum laude“. Zwei Absolventen im ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Bereich wurden für ihre Ar­­­­beit mit je einem Promotionspreis der Stiftung Technologie, Innovation und For­­schung (STIFT) ausgezeichnet.

Kooperationen und Netzwerke
Mit dem Wissens- und Technologietrans­fer leistet die Fachhochschule Jena einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Stärkung der Jenaer und Thüringer Region. Die große Breite des Angebotes in Verbindung mit der modernen Infrastruktur auf dem Campus der Hochschule eröffnet umfangreiche Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit. Durch Praktikanten und Absolventen er­­folgt ein steter Personaltransfer. Dieser Austausch wird durch regelmäßige Fir­menkontaktbörsen und Kontaktbörsen ‚Soziales‘ unterstützt.

Die Verflechtung mit der regionalen Wirt­­schaft zeigt sich auch in der Integration der Fachhochschule Jena in zahlreiche regionale Kompetenznetzwerke wie unter anderem BioInstrumente eV (Netzwerk für Biotechnologie), OptoNet eV (Netzwerk zu optischen Technologien), Fanimat (Netz­werk zu funktionellen, anorganisch-nicht­­metallischen Materialien), JCB (Netz­werk für Bioinformatik), KPVJ (Koopera­tions­­verbund Präzision aus Jena), Oph­thal­­moInnovation (Netzwerk Forschung und Service der Augenheilkunde) und mi­­cro
mold.net (Netzwerk Mikrotechno­logie).

Im Interesse einer umfassenden praxis­orientierten Ausbildung kooperiert die Fachhochschule Jena weltweit mit zahlreichen Hochschulen. Auch die Zusam­menarbeit mit Unternehmen wie Carl Zeiss Jena GmbH, Jenoptik AG, Siemens und IBM sowie mit zahlreichen kleinen und mittelständischen Firmen sorgt für eine optimale Ausbildung. Die meisten Ab­­schlussarbeiten entstehen in enger Zu­­sammenarbeit mit der Industrie. Die Ver­­­netzung mit regionaler wie überregionaler Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft, dem „Clus­­ter Jena“ sowie der hohe Stellenwert von Forschung und Entwicklung machen das Besondere der jungen, flexiblen Fach­hochschule Jena aus.

Leben in Jena – Der Campus
Auch der in unmittelbarer Nähe der Carl Zeiss Jena GmbH gelegene Campus macht nicht nur wegen seiner außerordentlich reizvollen architektonischen Ge­­­staltung von sich reden. Nach umfassen­der Sanierung konnten auf dem Areal alle Fachbereiche, die Hochschulverwal­tung und die Zentralbibliothek mit ihrer Patent- und Recherchestelle konzentriert werden. Vier der fünf Gebäude wurden be­­reits zur Nutzung übergeben, das letz­­te unterzieht sich bis 2008 einer Verjün­­gungskur. Mehr noch: Südwestlich vom Stadtzentrum Jenas gelegen, ist der Cam­­pus schnell zu erreichen. Die Ver­sorgung in der neuen Mensa sowie stu­­dentisches Wohnen in unmittelbarer Nähe komplettieren die Vorzüge des Studie­rens an der Fachhochschule Jena.

ATT24939Die 1951 in Weimar geborene Autorin  hat Ingenieurökonomie studiert und wur­­de 1983 promoviert. Nach verschiedenen Studienaufenthal­ten erfolgte 1993 die Berufung zur Professorin an die FH Jena. Von 1999 bis 2001 war sie Pro­rektorin für Forschung und Hochschul­entwicklung. Seit November 2001 ist Prof. Dr. Ga­­briele Beibst Rektorin der Fachhoch­schule Jena.