Prof. Dr. Eckhard Beyer: Application-oriented research for organizations in the region

In 1992, when several research institutions and establishments of the new federal states were absorbed into the Fraunhofer Gesell­­schaft (an organization for applied research), a golden opportunity presented itself in Dres­­den to continue and develop parts of the exceptional application-oriented re­­search. In the meantime, Dresden has become the undercover Fraunhofer capital in Ger­­many, with a total of six institutes and five other establishments. Thanks to efficient in­­­fra­­struc­­ture and modern sys­­tems engineering, the Dres­­den institutions earn an an­­n­­ual turnover of more than 100 million euros, and further growth is aimed at for the next few years.


Solarwafer_fertig

The Fraunhofer Institutes in Dres­­­den develop products and processes right up to industrial application. In the process, individual solutions are constructed in direct contact with the client. Depend­ing on requirements, several Fraun­hofer in­­sti­­­tutions work to­­gether to also provide complex solutions. The results are made a­­­vailable to the industry in the form of patents, licenses, further education offers and primarily in the form of contract re­­search projects. In this way, the or­­ga­­ni­zations of numerous industries profit from the scientific-technical competence of the Fraun­ho­­fer institutions.

The Fraunhofer In­­s­ti­­­tu­­te Centre Dresden in Winter­berg­straße is the second largest Fraunhofer location in Germany and the largest in the new federal states. Three Fraunhofer institutes and one member-institution operate technical, laboratory and of­­fice space of around 26,000 square metres. The institutions have research and development in the area of material and energy technology in common.

The Fraunhofer IWS, for instance, develops plasma sources which operate with atmospheric pressure and are thus particularly suited to the cost-effective pro­­duction of solar cells. An equally promising approach to cost reduction is the in-line production of silicon-ba­sed thin film solar cells in a vacuum process. Here the PVD (physical vapor de­­posi­­tions coating) technologies devel­­oped by the Fraunhofer FEP (Fraunhofer Institute for Electron Beam and Plasma Technology) anticipate a notable re­­duc­­­­tion of surface coating costs. Al­­ready today, several in-line-capable vacuum tech­nologies for the production of thin film solar cells are available and industrially implemented, for example pretreatment in vacuums and technologies for the deposition of insulation and barrier co­­atings, metallic contacts, transparent electrodes or anti-reflex and protective coatings.

 

OLED

As a contactless and well-automated tool, the laser also offers optimization potential in solar cell production. Tech­nology development for the edge trimming and edge insulation of mono-crys­talline and multi-crystalline solar cells, for the production of contact drills and conducting paths, for the structuring of surfaces and for the improvement of solar radiation absorption as well as for the bonding of solar cells by stringers to solar panels, are therefore development focal points of the Fraunhofer IWS. And laser-beam hardening, which was patented by the scientists of the institute, has for many years found application in the field of classical po­­w­­er plant engineering for the improvement of efficiency and stability of rotor blades for steam turbines.
The scientists of the Fraunhofer IKTS (Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Tech­no­logies and Systems), together with industry partners, have developed a tech­­nology that makes fuel cells cheaper and durable. They are suitable as mo­­bile power generators for camping vehicles, boats, freight vehicles or mo­­tor cars, but also in stationary ap­­plications for the recovery of energy, heat and coolness or for the conversion of biogas into electricity in agriculture. A facility for the provision of electricity and heat on the basis of re­­newable raw materials is being designed and built within the framework of a research pro­ject for regenerative energy production.
At the Fraunhofer IFAM Dresden (Fraun­hofer Institute for Manufacturing and Advanced Materials), sinter materials, which are based on metals, composite and gradient materials for thermal man­­age­ment in electronics as well as for thermoelectric materials, friction materials and light metals are being de­­­veloped according to the application and ad­­vancement of powder metallurgical technologies. The cellular metallic ma­­terials of the Fraun­­­hofer IFAM are characterized by very low density, ex­­cellent acoustic ab­­sorption, good thermal insulation ability and a relatively high specific surface area.
The three large topics “traffic – energy – environment” also characte­­rize the profile of the Fraunhofer IVI (Fraunhofer Institute for Transportation and Infra­structure Systems). Whether in large na­­tional research projects for hybrid or complete emission-free driving techno­­logy or in European projects for the de­­­­velopment of reliable fuel cell en­­gines – the Fraunhofer IVI is continually aware of its responsibility towards the accomplishment of current and future tasks.

 


ALLFA-Ticket

A further technology field of the Dres­den Fraunhofer Institutes is microelectronics. The Fraunhofer IPMS (Fraun­ho­­­fer Institute for Photonic Micro­­sy­­s­­tems) range is directed at clients who wish to enhance the functionality of their products through the application of organic light-emitting diodes and mi­­cro­­systems with innovative system prop­­erties and ever-decreasing dimensions. The focal point lies in the most diverse ap­­plications that find their way into information technology, medical engineering, environmental technology, safety engineering or the automotive supply in­­dustry, thus in almost all areas of life.

The Fraunhofer CNT (Fraunhofer Centre for Nanoelectronic Technologies), which was founded as a public-private partnership between the Fraunhofer Gesell­­schaft, AMD Inc. (Advanced Micro Devices In­­cor­­­porated) and the Quimonda AG, in the immediate proximity of the semiconduc­tor producers, does research on further development in the areas: new materials, innovative processing technology as well as metrology and chemical analysis at atomic level. The most modern equipment allows for wafer processing with new and established methods as well as the testing of innovative material combinations.
The computer-based design of electronic connectors has already been the object of scientific work in Dresden for almost 50 years. Today, the EAS sec­­tion (design automation) of the Fraun­ho­fer IIS (Fraunhofer Institute for In­­te­gra­t­­ed Circuits) develops internationally recognized processes for computer-based design of electronic and in­­creasingly of heterogeneous systems.

 

Nachwuchsforum

A profile-determining attribute of the Fraunhofer IZFP (Fraunhofer Institute for Non-Destructive Testing) is the de­­velopment of systems for equipment con­dition monitoring for clients in the aerospace, environmental engineering and chemical industries. In industry, the results based on acoustic and optical technologies are deployed in all instances where safety-related evidence and quality verification is re­­quired.
The development of intelligent production facilities, combined with the optimization of production processes re­­lat­ing to this, constitutes the research focus of the Fraunhofer IWU (Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Tech­nol­­ogy). At the Dresden location, highly in­­tegrated intelligent systems for machine and vehicle construction are developed on the basis of “smart materials”. The centre stage is taken by active components and multifunctional materials as well as the acoustic analysis for machine construction and vehicle technology.

When the complex interaction between filling, packaging and machinery taking place in the packaging processes is considered in its entirety, the Fraunhofer AVV (Fraunhofer Applica­tion Center for Processing Machinery and Packaging Technology) is an effective and qualified service provider for in­­dustrial re­­search and development work.

The eleven Fraunhofer institutions to­­gether employ more than 1,100 people. The annual prize awarded by the Fraun­hofer Gesellschaft for the conversion of outstanding scientific performance into industrial use, has been awarded to Dresden institutes eight times al­­ready since 1992, a demonstration of the innovative energy of the Dresden Fraun­hofer researchers.

 

ProfThe author was born in 1951. After di­­ploma and doctorate in physics at the Darmstadt University of Applied Sci­­ences, he first worked at the Fraunhofer Institute for La­­ser Tech­nology (ILT) in Aachen for twelve years. Since 1997 he has been the head of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Tech­nology (IWS) and will be acting as the spokesperson for the Fraunhofer Insti­tution Centre in Dresden as from 2009.

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Beyer: Anwendungsorientierte Forschung für die Unternehmen in der Region

Als 1992 mehrere Forschungs-Institute und Einrichtungen der neuen Bundes­länder in die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft auf­­genommen wurden, bot sich in Dres­­­den die einmalige Chance, Teile der be­­son­ders anwendungsorientierten For­schung fortzuführen und aus­zubau­en. Inzwi­schen ist Dresden mit insgesamt sechs Instituten und fünf wei­teren Ein­­rich­tun­gen zur heimlichen Fraun­hofer-Haupt­stadt Deutschlands geworden. Dank leis­­tungsfähiger Infra­struktur und mo­­derns­ter Anlagentech­nik erwirtschaf­­ten die Dresdner Ins­ti­tute heute einen jährlichen Umsatz von über 100 Millio­nen Euro und für die nächsten Jahre wird weiteres Wachs­tum angestrebt.


Solarwafer_fertig

Die Fraunhofer-Institute in Dresden ent­­wickeln Produkte und Verfahren bis zur industriellen Anwendung. Dabei wer­­den in direktem Kontakt mit dem Auf­trag­geber individuelle Lösungen er­­stellt. Je nach Bedarf arbeiten mehrere Fraun­ho­fer-Institute zusammen, um auch kom­­plexe Systemlösungen zu realisieren. Die Ergebnisse stellen sie der Industrie als Patente, Lizenzen, Wei­­­terbil­dungs­angebote und vor allem in Form von Auftragsfor­schungs­pro­jek­­­ten zur Ver­fügung. So profitieren die Un­­ternehmen zahlreicher Branchen von der wissenschaftlich-technischen Kom­­petenz der Fraunhofer-Einrich­tungen.
Das Fraunhofer-Institutszentrum Dres­den auf der Winterbergstraße ist der zweitgrößte Fraunhofer-Standort in Deutschland und der größte in den neuen Bundesländern. Auf circa 26.000 Quadratmetern Technikums-, Labor- und Büroflächen wirken drei Fraun­ho­fer-In­­s­­titute und ein Teilinstitut. Ge­­mein­sam­keit der Institute ist die For­schung und Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der Ma­­terial- und Energietechnologien.

So entwickelt beispielsweise das Fraun­hofer IWS Plasmaquellen, die bei At­­mos­­­phärendruck arbeiten und sich da­­mit besonders zur kostengünstigen Fer­­tigung von Solarzellen eignen. Ein eben­so vielversprechender Ansatz zur Kos­tensenkung ist die In-Line-Fertigung siliziumbasierter Dünnschicht-So­­lar­zel­­len in einem Vakuumprozess. Hier las­sen die vom Fraunhofer FEP entwickelten PVD-Technologien eine deutliche Re­­du­­zierung der Beschichtungs­kosten erwarten.
Bereits heute sind einzelne in-Line-taug­­liche Vakuumtech­nologien zur Fertigung von Dünnschicht­solar­zel­len verfügbar und industriell ein­­ge­führt, beispielsweise die Vorbe­hand­lung im Vakuum und Tech­­nologien zur Ab­­schei­­dung von Isolations- und Bar­­rie­re­­schich­­ten, metallischen Kon­tak­ten, transparenten Elektro­­den oder Antire­flex- und Schutz­­schich­­ten.

OLED

Auch der Laser als berührungsloses und gut automatisierbares Werkzeug bietet Optimierungspotenzial in der So­­lar­zel­lenfertigung. Technologie­entwicklun­gen zum Schneiden und Kantenisolieren von mono- und multikristallinen Solarzellen, zur Herstellung von Kontaktbohrungen und Leiterbahnen, zur Strukturierung der Oberfläche, zur Verbesserung der Absorption der Sonneneinstrahlung so­­wie zum Verbinden der Solarzellen über Stringer zu Solarmodulen sind deshalb Entwicklungsschwerpunkte des Fraun­hofer IWS. Und das von Wissenschaft­lern des Instituts patentierte La­­ser­strahl­­härten findet seit Jahren Anwendung im Bereich der klassischen Kraftwerks­technik zur Verbesserung der Effizienz und Standfestigkeit von Lauf­schaufeln für Dampfturbinen.
Die Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IKTS haben zusammen mit Partnern aus der Industrie eine Technologie entwickelt, die Brennstoffzellen preisgünstig und langlebig macht. Sie eignen sich als mo­­bile Stromgeneratoren für Camping­fahr­­zeuge, Boote, Lkws oder Pkws, aber auch für stationäre Anwendungen zur Strom-, Wärme- und Kältegewinnung oder zur Verstromung von Biogas in der Land­wirt­­schaft. Im Rahmen eines For­­schungs­pro­jektes zur regenerativen Ener­­gie­er­zeugung wird derzeit eine An­­lage zur Bereit­stellung von Strom und Wärme auf der Basis von nachwachsen­den Roh­stoffen konzipiert und gebaut.

Am Fraunhofer IFAM Dresden werden unter Anwendung und Weiterentwick­lung pulvermetallurgischer Technolo­gien Sin­­terwerkstoffe auf Basis von Metal­len, Verbund- und Gradientenwerkstoffe für das thermische Management in der Elek­­tronik sowie für thermoelektrische Werk­­stoffe, Reibwerkstoffe und Leicht­me­tal­­le entwickelt. Sehr geringe Dich­te, sehr gute Schallabsorption, gutes thermisches Isoliervermögen und eine re­­lativ hohe spezifische Oberfläche zeich­nen die zellularen metallischen Werk­stof­fe des Fraunhofer IFAM aus.

Die drei großen Themenfelder „Ver­kehr Energie Umwelt“ prägen auch das Pro­fil des Fraunhofer IVI. Ob in großen na­­tio­nalen Forschungsprojekten zu hy­­bri­­den oder vollständig emissionsfreien Antriebs­­technologien oder in den europäischen Projekten zur Entwicklung zu­­verlässiger Brennstoffzellenantriebe – stets ist sich das Fraunhofer IVI seiner Verantwortung bei der Bewältigung aktueller und zu­­künftiger Aufgaben­stel­­lungen bewusst.


ALLFA-Ticket

Ein weiteres Technologiefeld der Dresd­­ner Fraunhofer-Institute ist die Mikro­elek­­tronik. Das Angebot des Fraunhofer IPMS richtet sich an Kunden, die die Funk­­tionalität ihrer Produkte durch den Einsatz von organischen Leucht­dio­den und Mikrosystemen mit innovativen Sys­­­temeigenschaften und immer kleineren Ab­­messungen erweitern wollen. Im Fo­­kus stehen verschiedenste App­­lika­tio­nen, die in der Informations­technolo­gie, Me­­­­di­­zin­­technik, Umwelttechnolo­gie, Sich­­er­­heits­­technik oder Automobilzu­liefer­in­dus­­trie, also in nahezu jedem Le­­bens­­­bereich, Einzug halten.
Das Fraunhofer CNT, das als Public Pri­vate Partnership zwischen der Fraun­­hofer-Gesellschaft, AMD Inc. und der Qimonda AG gegründet wurde, forscht in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu den Halbleiterherstellern an Weiterent­wick­lungen in den Bereichen Neue Ma­­te­ria­lien, innovative Prozessierungstechno­lo­­­­gien sowie Metrologie und Analytik auf atomarer Ebene. Modernste Geräte er­­möglichen die Waferprozessierung mit neuen und etablierten Methoden sowie das Testen innovativer Materialkom­bi­nationen.

Der rechnergestützte Entwurf elektronischer Schaltungen ist schon seit circa 50 Jahren Gegenstand wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten in Dresden. Heute werden im Institutsteil EAS des Fraunhofer IIS international anerkannte Verfahren für den rechnergestützten Entwurf von elektronischen und zunehmend von he­­terogenen Systemen entwickelt. Die erarbeiteten Modelle, Methoden und Werkzeuge dienen der Umsetzung von Produktspezifikationen in Schalt­kreise, elektronische Geräte beziehungsweise heterogene Systeme.

Profilbestimmend für das Fraunhofer IZFP Dresden ist die Entwicklung von Systemen zur Zustandsüberwachung für Kunden aus der Luft- und Raum­fahrt, Umwelttechnik und der chemischen In­­dustrie. In der Industrie werden die auf akustischen und optischen Techniken basierenden Arbeitsergeb­nis­se überall dort eingesetzt, wo si­­cher­­heitstech­ni­sche Aussagen und Qua­li­täts­nachweise ge­­fordert sind.

Nachwuchsforum

Die Entwicklung intelligenter Produk­tionsanlagen, verbunden mit der Opti­mierung der diesbezüglichen Ferti­gungs­prozesse, ist Forschungsschwerpunkt des Fraunhofer IWU. Am Standort Dres­­den werden hochintegrierte intelligente Systeme für den Maschinen- und Fahr­zeugbau auf Basis von „smart materials“ entwickelt. Im Mittelpunkt stehen aktive Kom­­po­­­nen­ten und Multi­funk­­­tions­werk­­­­­­stof­fe so­­­­wie die akus­­ti­sche Ana­­lyse für den Ma­­schi­­­­­­­nenbau und die Fahr­zeug­tech­nik.
Geht es um die ge­samtheitliche Be­­trach­tung der in Verpackungsprozes­sen statt­­findenden komplexen Wech­sel­wir­kun­gen zwischen Füllgut, Pack­mit­tel und Maschine, ist das Fraunhofer AVV ein leis­­tungsfähiger und qualifizier­ter Dienst­leister für industrielle For­schungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten.

Die elf Fraunhofer-Einrichtungen be­­schäf­tigen zusammen mehr als 1.100 Mitar­beiter. Der alljährlich für herausragende, in die industrielle Nutzung überführ­­te wissenschaftliche Leistun­gen ver­­ge­­be­ne Preis der Fraunhofer-Ge­­sell­­schaft ging seit 1992 bereits acht Mal an Dresdner Institute, ein Be­­weis für die Innovations­kraft der Dresdner Fraun­­hofer-Forscher.

ProfDer Autor wurde 1951 geboren. Nach Studienabschluss und Promotion als Dr. Ing. Physik an der TH Darmstadt arbeitete er zunächst zwölf Jahre am Fraunhofer ILT in Aachen. Seit 1997 ist Eckhard Beyer Leiter des Fraun­hofer-Instituts für Werkstoff- und Strahl­­technik (IWS) und fungiert ab 2009 als Sprecher des Fraunhofer-Institutszent­rums in Dresden.