Prof. Dr. Drs. h.c. Albrecht Bemmann und Dr. habil. Denie Gerold: LignoSax – Innovations in forestry and wood sciences

DSC_0040
The turnover of Germany’s forest and wood cluster is 168 billion euros. However, this “green treasure” is not used efficiently enough. It is the goal of the competence centre LIGNOSAX in Saxony to become one of the leading ­lignotechnology exporters in Europe and to better establish wood in Germany’s energy and raw materials sector through connected research, product and process innovations and efficient transfer.

Increasing consumption of resources, climate change and demographic changes increasingly influence social developments on a global, national and regional level. The transition from an economy that is currently almost exclusively based on fossil raw mater­ials to a “bio-based” economy poses considerable chal­­lenges to society in Saxony and Germany just as in­­dus­­trialisation did a long time ago. While using biomass energetically is very advanced in Germany, innovations on the material use of biomass leave a lot to be desired.

Even though Germany is – after Russia – the country with the most wooded area, it is foreseeable, that if the increasing usage of wood continues at this pace in the future, the demand for wood for traditional material and energetic usage and a bio-based economy can no longer be met. The same is true for Saxony. This development is intensified by the increasing removal of forest areas from cultivation, e.g. by creating national parks or deadwood islands.

The forests in Germany, as in all other European countries, are rendering – to varying degrees – different ecological services (e.g. biodiversity, carbon storage, nature protection), social services (employment) and economic services in the form of products made from wood or other services in general. Lignocellulose (especially wood and straw) is the biggest reservoir of renewable raw ma­­terials in sustainable forestry and agriculture in Germany as well as in Saxony. It is limited in its quantity, however, its availability is unlimited over time. This differentiates wood from all the other so-called “mineral” raw materials.

tabelle-links

The table shows important key figures for the forestry and wood cluster in Germany and Saxony. The turn­over of this cluster in Germany is about 168 billion euros and 2.7 billion euros in Saxony. The share of the forestry and wood cluster in the total turnover is between 3.0 per cent and 3.5 per cent in Germany and various federal states.

tabelle-rechts

The figure juxtaposes logging and wood consumption for Saxony in the period between 2010 and 2040. The shortfall between the two figures is clearly visible. Only innovations in wood research, the wood industry as well as in forestry and agricultural sciences can reduce today’s wood consumption of more than 2.5 million to about 1 to 1.5 million cubic metres per year. LignoSax wants to contribute to that.

Fibre reinforced plywood profiles (Prof. Dr. habil. Peer Haller, TU Dresden) Wood is a cellular polymer material, which can be compressed when heated and pulled apart again and secured when wet. This is how sheets can be reformed into pipes, which have a significantly better load-bearing capacity than a compact circular cross section. When combined with high performance fibres made of glass, aramid or carbon, the load-bearing capacity can be increased further.

Fibre reinforced plywood profiles
(Prof. Dr. habil. Peer Haller, TU Dresden)
Wood is a cellular polymer material, which can be compressed when heated and pulled apart again and secured when wet. This is how sheets can be reformed into pipes, which have a significantly better load-bearing capacity than a compact circular cross section. When combined with high performance fibres made of glass, aramid or carbon, the load-bearing capacity can be increased further.

The LignoSax competence centre focusses on these challenges. It was established in 2011 and is a voluntary alliance of university, industry and research institutions as well as cross-discipline research institutes from Saxony in which the Papiertechnische Stiftung München (PTS) is also involved.
LignoSax represents the entire wood value-added chain: starting with the production of forest biomass, continu­ing with lumber industry, timber construction, woodworking industry, cellulose and paper industry, recycling of used wood all the way to using wood energetically.

The price development of fossil fuels and political controll measures for the use of renewable energy carriers, including the energetic usage of wood, have provided a tremendous boost to the use of wood over the past few years. Imbalances on the wood market ultimately resulted from this development. They influence both the usage of forests and the supply according to range of products and quantity among the companies that traditionally process wood.

 Spheric microparticles made out of bead cellulose (Prof. Dr. habil. Steffen Fischer, Dr. Katrin Thümmler, TU Dresden) Bead cellulose is regenerated cellulose. It is produced according to a patented process (EP0750007) from a derivative (cellulose acetate). Microparticles made of bead cellulose are porous and formed spherically. The size of a particle is between 1 and 10 micrometres. By activating and modifying these cellulose microparticles, a wide range of applications can be exploited, especially in the biomedical area.

Spheric microparticles made out of bead cellulose
(Prof. Dr. habil. Steffen Fischer, Dr. Katrin Thümmler, TU Dresden)
Bead cellulose is regenerated cellulose. It is produced according to a patented process (EP0750007) from a derivative (cellulose acetate). Microparticles made of bead cellulose are porous and formed spherically. The size of a particle is between 1 and 10 micrometres. By activating and modifying these cellulose microparticles, a wide range of applications can be exploited, especially in the biomedical area.

Basic chemical materials and new fibre materials and biomaterials can be extracted from lignocellulose. This development is strongly based on expertise. For this reason, intense research and business promotion must be supported in order to assist these products achieving an economic breakthrough in Saxony.

The amount of lignocellulose that has to be available for industrial purposes in Germany and in Saxony will remain the same in the future or only rise insignificantly (see figure on Saxony). The value creation from this lignocellulose is to be increased by innovations and within the framework of utilisation cascades and the resulting new products are to be manufactured mainly in companies in Germany or Saxony.

 

Unbenannt-1Dr. habil. Denie Gerold
The author studied Forestry Science at the Technical University of Dresden. In 1986, he completed his habilitation with the topic: “Zielwälder und Prognosen für Nachhalteeinheiten” (Target forests and prognoses for sustainability units). From 1989 until 1991, he first worked as research assistant and then as lecturer for forestry institutions at the TUD, Section Forestry Tharandt. Between 1991 and 1994, Dr Gerold worked as divisional director for forestry planning at the Sächsische Landesanstalt für Forsten. In 1995, Dr Gerold became head of the Saxony branch of the Ostdeutsche Gesellschaft für Forstplanung in Kesselsdorf.
UnbenanntProf. Dr. Drs. h.c. Albrecht Bemmann
The author studied Forestry at the Technical University Dresden (TUD). After his habilitation and work as university lecturer, he was Professor for Forestry Science at the TUD between 1988 and 1994, with the teaching and research areas: wood research, wood usage, wood market. From 1994 until 2014, he was professor for Forestry and Wood Industry in Eastern Europe at the TUD. Additionally, Professor Bemmann has been a member of the political advisory committee of the Bundesverband für Bioenergie since 2010. He has been a senior professor at the Technical University of Dresden since 2014.

Prof. Dr. Drs. h.c. Albrecht Bemmann und Dr. habil. Denie Gerold: LignoSax – Innovationen in den Forst- und Holzwissenschaften

DSC_0040
168 Milliarden Euro beträgt der Umsatz des Forst-Holz-Clusters in Deutschland. Dennoch wird dieser „grüne Schatz“ zu wenig effektiv genutzt. Ziel des sächsischen Kompetenzzentrums LIGNOSAX ist es, durch vernetzte Forschung, Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen und durch effizienten Transfer einer der führenden Lignotechnologieexporteure in Europa zu werden und Holz im Energie- und Rohstoffkonzept der Bundesrepublik Deutschland besser zu verankern.

Steigender Ressourcenverbrauch, Klimawandel sowie demo­­grafische Veränderungen beeinflussen global, national und regional zunehmend gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen. Der Um­bau der gegenwärtig noch fast ausschließlich auf fossile Rohstoffe ausgerichteten Wirtschaft auf eine ‚biobasierte’ Wirtschaft stellt die Gesellschaft in Sachsen wie in Deutsch­­land vor ebenso gravierende Herausforderungen wie ehedem die Industrialisierung. Während die energetische Nutzung von Biomasse in Deutschland weit vorangeschritten ist, lassen Innovationen zur stofflichen Nutzung von Biomasse zu wünschen übrig.

Obwohl Deutschland in Europa – nach Russland – das holzreich­ste Land ist, ist absehbar, dass bei einer Weiterführung des gegenwärtig steigenden Holzverbrauchs in die Zukunft der Holzbedarf für eine traditionelle stoffliche und energetische Verwertung sowie eine biobasierte Wirtschaft nicht mehr ge­­deckt werden kann. Gleiches trifft auf Sachsen zu. Diese Entwicklung wird noch verschärft durch eine zunehmende Herausnahme von Waldflächen aus einer Bewirtschaftung, z. B. durch Ausweisung von Nationalparken und Totholzinseln.

Die Wälder in Deutschland wie in allen anderen europäischen Ländern erbringen – in unterschiedlichen Anteilen – öko­­lo­­gische Leistungen (u. a. Biodiversität, Kohlenstoff-Speicherung, Naturschutz), soziale Leistungen (Beschäftigung) und eben ökonomische Leistungen in Form von Holzprodukten und Dienst­­leistungen. Lignocellulose (vor allem Holz und Stroh) stellt in Deutschland wie in Sachsen das bei einer nachhaltigen Forst- und Landwirtschaft größte Reservoir nachwachsender Roh­stoffe dar, das nach der Menge zwar begrenzt, nach der Zeit aber unbegrenzt zur Verfügung steht. Das unterscheidet den Roh­­stoff Holz von allen anderen s. g. ‚mineralischen’ Rohstoffen.

tabelle-links

In der Tabelle sind wichtige Kennzahlen des Forst-Holz-Clusters in Deutschland und Sachsen dargestellt. Der Umsatz dieses Clusters beträgt in Deutschland etwa 168 Milliarden Euro und in Sachsen 2,7 Milliarden Euro. Der Anteil des Forst-Holz-Clusters am Gesamtumsatz liegt sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den verschiedenen Bundesländern zwischen 3,0 Prozent und 3,5 Prozent.

tabelle-rechts

In der Abbildung sind Holzeinschlag und Holzverbrauch für Sachsen im Zeitraum 2010 bis 2040 gegenübergestellt. Deutlich ist die Deckungslücke zwischen beiden Größen zu erkennen. Nur durch Innovationen sowohl in der Holz­for­schung und der Holzwirtschaft als auch in den Forst- und Agrar­­wissenschaften lässt sich die heutige Differenz von über 2,5 Millionen auf etwa 1 bis 1,5 Millionen Kubikmeter pro Jahr verringern. Dazu will LignoSax einen Beitrag leisten.

Diesen Herausforderungen widmet sich das Kom­pe­tenz­­­­­­zentrum LignoSax. Es existiert seit 2011 und ist ein frei­­williger Zusammenschluss von Universitäts- und Indus­trie-Forschungseinrichtungen sowie ressort­über­­greifenden Forschungsinstituten aus Sachsen, in dem auch die Papier­­technische Stiftung München (PTS) mitarbeitet.

Faserbewehrte Formholzprofile (Prof. Dr. habil. Peer Haller, TU Dresden) Holz ist ein zellulärer Polymer-Werkstoff, der unter Wärme zusammengedrückt und unter Feuchtigkeit wieder auseinander gezogen und fixiert werden kann. Auf diese Weise lassen sich Platten zu Rohren umformen, die eine wesentlich bessere Tragfähigkeit besitzen als ein kompakter Kreisquerschnitt. Durch einen Verbund mit Hochleistungsfasern aus Glas, Aramid oder Kohle kann die Tragfähigkeit weiter gesteigert werden.

Faserbewehrte Formholzprofile
(Prof. Dr. habil. Peer Haller, TU Dresden)
Holz ist ein zellulärer Polymer-Werkstoff, der unter Wärme zusammengedrückt und unter Feuchtigkeit wieder auseinander gezogen und fixiert werden kann. Auf diese Weise lassen sich Platten zu Rohren umformen, die eine wesentlich bessere Tragfähigkeit besitzen als ein kompakter Kreisquerschnitt. Durch einen Verbund mit Hochleistungsfasern aus Glas, Aramid oder Kohle kann die Tragfähigkeit weiter gesteigert werden.

LignoSax repräsentiert die gesamte Holzwertschöpfungs­kette, beginnend bei der Erzeugung forstlicher Biomasse über die Schnittholzindustrie, den Holzbau, die Holzwerkstoff­­industrie, die Zellstoff- und Papierindustrie, das Recycling von Ge­­braucht­­­­holz bis hin zur energetischen Holznutzung.

Die Preisentwicklung fossiler Energieträger und politische Steuerungsmaßnahmen zur Nutzung regenerativer Energie­träger einschließlich der energetischen Holznutzung haben in den vergangenen Jahren der Holzverwendung enormen Auftrieb verschafft. Getragen von dieser Entwicklung sind Ungleichgewichte im Holzmarkt entstanden. Diese beeinflussen sowohl die Waldnutzung als auch eine sortiments- und mengen­­gerechte Versorgung traditioneller Holz verarbeitender Unternehmen.

Sphärische Mikropartikel aus Perlcellulose (Prof. Dr. habil. Steffen Fischer, Dr. Katrin Thümmler, TU Dresden) Perlcellulose ist ein Celluloseregenerat. Sie wird nach einem patentierten Verfahren (EP0750007) aus einem Derivat (Celluloseacetat) hergestellt. Mikropartikel aus Perlcellulose sind sphärisch geformt und porös. Die Partikelgröße liegt zwischen 1 und 10 Mikrometer. Durch Aktivierung und Modifizierung dieser Cellulose-Mikropartikel kann vor allem auf biomedizinischem Gebiet ein breites Anwendungsspektrum erschlossen werden.

Sphärische Mikropartikel aus Perlcellulose
(Prof. Dr. habil. Steffen Fischer, Dr. Katrin Thümmler, TU Dresden)
Perlcellulose ist ein Celluloseregenerat. Sie wird nach einem patentierten Verfahren (EP0750007) aus einem Derivat (Celluloseacetat) hergestellt. Mikropartikel aus Perlcellulose sind sphärisch geformt und porös. Die Partikelgröße liegt zwischen 1 und 10 Mikrometer. Durch Aktivierung und Modifizierung dieser Cellulose-Mikropartikel kann vor allem auf biomedizinischem Gebiet ein breites Anwendungsspektrum erschlossen werden.

Aus Lignocellulose können sowohl chemische Grundstoffe als auch neuartige Faserstoffe und Biowerkstoffe gewonnen werden. Diese Entwicklung ist stark wissensbasiert. Es bedarf deshalb einer intensiven Forschungsförderung und einer starken Wirtschaftsförderung, um diesen neuen Produkten in Sachsen zu einem wirtschaftlichen Durchbruch zu verhelfen.

Die zukünftig für eine industrielle Verwertung bereitzustellende Menge an Lignocellulose in Deutschland wie in Sachsen wird etwa gleich bleiben oder nur unwesentlich steigen (s. Abbildung zu Sachsen). Die Wertschöpfung aus dieser Lig­nocellulose soll über Innovationen und im Rahmen von Nutz­­ungs­­kaskaden erhöht und die daraus resultierenden neuen Produkte sollen vorrangig in Unternehmen Deutschlands bzw. Sachsens hergestellt werden.

Unbenannt-1Dr. habil. Denie Gerold
Der Autor studierte Forstwirtschaft an der TU Dresden. 1986 erfolgte die Habili­tation zum Thema: „Zielwälder und Prognosen für Nachhalteinheiten“. Von 1989 bis 1991 war er zunächst als Oberassistent und im Anschluss als Dozent für Forst­einrichtung an der TU Dresden, Sektion Forstwirtschaft Tharandt, tätig. Von 1991 bis 1994 arbeitete Dr. Gerold als Bereichsleiter für Forstplanung an der Säch­sischen Landesanstalt für Forsten. 1995 wurde Dr. Gerold Leiter der Nieder­lassung Sachsen, der Ostdeutschen Gesellschaft für Forstplanung in Kesselsdorf.
UnbenanntProf. Dr. Drs. h.c. Albrecht Bemmann
Der Autor studierte Forstwirtschaft an der Technischen Universität Dresden. Nach Habilitation und Dozententätigkeit war er von 1988 bis 1994 als Professor für Forst­nutzung mit den Lehr- und Forschungsgebieten Holzforschung, Holz­verwendung, Holzmarkt an der TU Dresden tätig. Ab 1994 übernahm er bis 2014 die Professur für Forst- und Holzwirtschaft Osteuropas an der TU Dresden. Darüber hinaus ist Prof. Bemmann seit 2010 Mitglied des politisch beratenden Ausschusses des Bundes­verbandes für Bio­energie. Seit 2014 ist er Seniorprofessor an der TU Dresden.