Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Jörg Hacker: Looking ahead – Connecting scientific knowledge and society

When it comes to topics such as climate, energy, demographic change and health, politics and society have a greater need for independent advice from science. The key is to recognise and communicate important and socially-­significant developments as early as possible.

 

The Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina was appointed the German National Academy of Sciences in 2008. Founded in 1652 and located in Halle an der Saale, the Leopoldina has the longest uninterrupted history of any academy of science in the world. Today, the Leopoldina has about 1,500 members. Scientific excellence, the greatest possible independence from political and other influences outside of science, worldwide internationality and interdisciplinary dialogue are four distinctive characteristics that the Leopoldina has acquired in its over 360-year history and which, as the National Academy, it wants to bring to bear under the conditions of our knowledge-based society.



After all, the great challenges of our time, such as the transition to alternative energies, demographic change, the fight against dangerous diseases, financial and economic crises and climate change, can only be analysed and evaluated competently by institutions that pool scientific expertise to a high degree. The standing scientific committees, in which intensive discussions are held between Leopoldina members and external experts, each follow a single scientific topic area, such as “Climate, Energy and the Environment”, “Health”, “Science and Ethics” or “Demographic Change”. Leopoldina members develop scientifically-founded statements and recommendations regarding challen­ges that are closely linked to science. In doing so, the Leopoldina not only addresses decision-makers in politics and society, but also the general public: students, teachers and pupils, citizens and journalists looking for reliable information on current scientific findings and alternative forms of action.

The Leopoldina‘s range of topics in science-based policy advice is very broad, but there are four key topics. The first of these covers progress in life sciences and biomedicine. To­­gether with the Academy of Scienc­­es and Humanities in Hamburg, the Leopoldina published the statement “Antibiotic Research – Problems and Perspectives” in early 2013. The document was received with great interest as part of the current discussion on preventing antibiotic re­sistance and the need to develop new antibiotics. It has also led to the establishment of a round table on these topics, bringing together representatives of science, busi­­ness and politics to develop strategies for joint action.

The second key topic relates to the development of energy research in the context of the transformation of our energy supply. Together with acatech and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Hu­­manities, the Leopoldina has launched the “Energy Systems of the Future” initiative. The initiative is in­­tended to accompany the transition to alternative energies in Germany from an independent perspective. There is an extremely broad spectrum of possible con­­tributions that science can make to the transition to alternative energies, ranging from increasing the efficiency of energy generation and storage through engin­eering to optimising power grids and studying the behaviour of energy consumers from a social sciences perspective. The statement “Bioenergy – Chances and Limits”, issued in 2012, was regarded as a precise contribution to the debate on the role of bioenergy in the transition to alternative energies.

The challenges of demographic change are the third key topic at Leopoldina. The significant increase in life expectancy observed since the mid-19th century and the high average age of the population – which is expected to rise even further – are firsts in the history of mankind. The Leopoldina presented its most recent statement on this topic at the end of 2012 in cooperation with the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the Jacobs Foundation. The “A Future with Children” study involved the collaboration of psychologists, physicians, sociologists, economists, educational researchers and representatives of numerous other disciplines.

The Leopoldina’s fourth key topic is the sustainable development of the science system. To this end, the Leopoldina Presidium presented the discussion paper “The Sustainability of the German Science System” in April 2013. The way the general legal and financial conditions for research and innovation will look in the future is a question in need of urgent attention. The paper puts special emphasis on strengthening universities as the supporting pillars of research, education and knowledge transfer in Germany.

On the occasion of the Leopoldina’s appointment as the National Academy of Sciences, the then German president Horst Köhler affirmed the necessity of independent and science-based policy advice: “The questions of cause and effect political institutions have to deal with are more complex than ever; the challenges societies have to face in the context of globalisation are greater than ever; and the consequences of what we do and do not do are more far-reaching than ever before. The complexity of the situation should encourage political decisions to be backed up by more rather than less scientific reasoning.” The Leopoldina has been pursuing the specific objective of fostering science for the benefit of the people for more than 360 years. By actively advising politics and the public through science, the Leopoldina is continuing this tradition in a contemporary manner for today‘s knowledge-based society.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Jörg Hacker has been President of the Leopoldina since 2010. He studied biology at the university of Halle and earned his doctorate in 1979. He then joined the university of Würzburg, where he was professor for microbiology from 1988 to 2008. He was president of the Robert Koch Institute from 2008 to 2010. Jörg Hacker is a member of many committees and scientific organisations, such as the United Nations Secretary General’s Scientific Advisory Board.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Jörg Hacker: Mit Blick in die Zukunft – Wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und Gesellschaft miteinander verbinden

Bei Themen wie Klima, Energie, demografischer Wandel oder Gesundheit brauchen Politik und Gesellschaft verstärkt eine unabhängige Beratung durch die Wissenschaft. Dabei gilt es, wichtige und gesellschaftlich bedeutsame Entwicklungen möglichst frühzeitig zu erkennen und zu kommunizieren.

 

Die Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina wurde 2008 zur Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaf­ten Deutschlands ernannt. 1652 gegründet, ist sie die weltweit älteste kontinuierlich bestehende Wissenschafts­akademie mit Sitz in Halle an der Saale. Heute hat die Leopoldina rund 1.500 Mitglieder. Wissenschaftliche Exzellenz, größtmögliche Unabhängigkeit von politischen und anderen wissenschaftsexternen Einflüssen, mittler­­weile weltumspannende Internationalität und gelebte Interdisziplinarität – das sind vier entscheidende Merk­­male, welche die Leopoldina in ihrer über 360-jährigen Geschichte erworben hat und die sie als Nationale Aka­demie unter den Bedingungen unserer Wissensgesell­schaft zur Geltung bringen will.



Denn die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit wie die Energiewende, der demografische Wandel, die Bekämp­fung von gefährlichen Krankheiten, Finanz- und Wirt­­schaftskrisen oder der Klimawandel können nur von solchen Institutionen kompetent analysiert und bewertet werden, in denen sich wissenschaftliche Expertise hochgradig bündelt. Die ständigen wissenschaftlichen Kommissionen, in denen sich regelmäßig Mitglieder der Leopoldina und externe Experten zu intensiven Dis­­kussionen treffen, beobachten jeweils ein wissenschaft­liches Themenfeld wie etwa „Klima, Energie und Um­­welt“, „Gesundheit“, „Wissenschaftsethik“ oder „Demo­­grafi­scher Wandel“. Die Mitglieder der Leopoldina erarbeiten zu den Herausforderungen, die einen starken Wissen­schafts­bezug haben, fachlich abgesicherte Stellung­nahmen und Empfehlungen. Dabei wendet sich die Leo­­poldina nicht nur an Entscheidungsträger in Politik und Gesell­schaft, sondern auch an eine breite Öffentlichkeit: Stu­dierende, Lehrer und Schüler, Bürger und Journa­listen, die sich verlässlich über aktuelle wissenschaftliche Er­­kenntnisse und Handlungsalter­na­­tiven informieren möchten.

Die Spannbreite der Themen in der wissenschaftsbasierten Politikbe­ra­­tung der Leopoldina ist groß, doch lassen sich vier Schwer­­punktthemen benennen. Das erste Schwerpunktthema umfasst die Fortschritte in den Lebenswissenschaften und der Biomedizin. Ge­­­­meinsam mit der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Hamburg hat die Leopoldina Anfang 2013 die Stel­lung­­nahme Antibiotika-Forschung – Pro­bleme und Pers­­pek­­tiven veröffentlicht. Sie wurde in der gegenwärtigen Dis­­kussion um die Verhinderung von Antibiotika-Resis­­tenzen und um die notwendige Entwicklung neuer Anti­biotika sehr interessiert aufgenommen. Diese Stellung­nahme hat auch dazu geführt, einen Runden Tisch zu diesen Themen einzurichten, an dem Vertreter aus Wissen­schaft, Wirtschaft und Politik zusammenkommen, um Strategien für ein gemeinsames Handeln zu entwickeln.

Das zweite Schwerpunktthema betrifft die Entwicklung der Energieforschung im Kontext der Transformation unserer Energieversorgung. Zusammen mit acatech und der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften hat die Leopoldina 2013 die Initiative „Energiesysteme der Zukunft“ gestartet, welche die Energiewende in Deutschland unabhängig begleiten wird. Die möglichen Beiträge der Wissenschaft zur Energiewende sind dabei sehr vielfältig: Sie reichen von der ingenieurtechnischen Effizienzerhöhung bei der Stromerzeugung und -speiche­rung über die Optimierung der Stromnetze bis zur sozial­­wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung des Verhaltens der Stromverbraucher. Bereits im Jahr 2012 wurde die Stel­­lungnahme Bioenergie – Möglichkeiten und Grenzen als ein pointierter Beitrag zur Debatte um die Rolle der Bioenergie bei der Energiewende wahrgenommen.

Die Herausforderungen des demografischen Wandels sind das dritte Schwerpunktthema der Leopoldina. Der seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zu beobachtende starke Zu­­gewinn an Lebenszeit und das hohe, voraussichtlich weiter ansteigende Durchschnittsalter der Bevölkerung sind menschheitsgeschichtlich neu. Die jüngste Stellung­­nahme zu diesem Thema hat die Leopoldina in Zu­­sammenarbeit mit der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Aka­demie der Wissenschaften und der Jacobs Foundation Ende 2012 vorgelegt. An der Studie Zukunft mit Kindern haben Psychologen, Mediziner, Soziologen, Ökonomen, Bildungsforscher und Vertreter zahlreicher weiterer Dis­­ziplinen mitgearbeitet.

Das vierte Schwerpunktthema der Leopoldina ist die nachhaltige Entwicklung des Wissenschaftssystems. Hier­­zu hat das Präsidium der Leopoldina im April 2013 das Diskussionspapier Die Zukunftsfähigkeit des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems vorgelegt. Die zukünftige Ge­­staltung der rechtlichen und finanziellen Rahmenbe­dingungen für Forschung und Innovation ist eine dring­­lich zu lösende Frage. Das Papier setzt sich vor allem für die Stärkung der Universitäten als den tragenden Säulen von Forschung, Lehre und Wissenstransfer in Deutschland ein.

Die Notwendigkeit einer unabhängigen wissenschaftsbasierten Politikberatung bekräftigte der damalige Bun­­despräsident Horst Köhler anlässlich der Ernennung der Leopoldina zur Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaf­ten: „Komplexer denn je sind die Fragen von Ursache und Wirkung, mit denen sich die Politik auseinandersetzen muss; größer denn je die Herausforderungen, denen sich Gesellschaften unter den Bedingungen der Globalisierung zu stellen haben; ‚fernhintreffender’ denn je die Folgen unseres Handelns und Unterlassens. Die Komplexität der Sachverhalte sollte mehr und nicht weniger wissenschaftliche Begründung von politischen Entscheidungen bewirken.“ Seit über 360 Jahren ist die Förderung der Wissenschaft zum Wohle des Menschen das erklärte Ziel der Leopoldina. Mit der aktiven Be­­ratung von Politik und Öffentlichkeit durch die Wissen­schaft setzt die Leopoldina als Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften diese Tradition in der modernen Wissens­­­gesellschaft auf eine zeitgemäße Weise fort.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Jörg Hacker ist seit 2010 Präsident der Leopoldina. Er studierte Biologie an der Universität Halle. Dort wurde er 1979 promoviert und ging danach an die Uni­versität Würzburg, an der er von 1988 bis 2008 eine Professur für Mikrobiologie inne hatte. Von 2008 bis 2010 war er Präsident des Robert Koch-Instituts. Jörg Hacker ist Mitglied in zahlreichen Gremien und Wissenschaftsorganisationen, unter anderem dem United Nations Secretary General’s Scientific Advisory Board.