Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Markus Rettenmayr: Conducting research into new materials for making customised components and products

Today we can assume that research into new materials in the sense of the selective configuration of characteristics in materials and components took place in the Bronze Age in Central Germany 4,000 years ago. Through the cooperative venture between Ernst Abbe, professor of physics at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena, and glass researcher Otto Schott into lithium glass, which took which Otto Schott to Jena in 1882, the age of materials ­science in the modern sense began in Thuringia.

The Otto Schott Institute for Materials Research, which came into being in 2013 as a result of the merger between two research centres at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena, is continuing research into modern materials in Thuringia. Today, scientists are working on the entire range of materials research in all categories of materials.

The Institute is made up of the Chairs of Glass Chemistry 1 and 2 (for Metals and Alloys, for Materials Science) and the Chairs of Surface and Interface Technologies for Modelling and Simulation and for the Mechanics of Functional Materials. This is added to by a junior professorship in Structural and Property Relationships in Glass and a jointly-appointed Chair of Fibre Optics. Overall, some 100 people are employed at the Institute, of whom well over half are funded from external sources.

The Otto Schott Institute deals with both fundamental issues in materials science with the aim of tracing mechanisms responsible for certain characteristics of materials. In the process, functional and structural materials are treated similarly. Examples of such issues include the effects of pressure on the structure of glass, the producibility of ceramic nanoparticles through evaporation in laser rays, the function of friction and wear at atomic level and the influence of surface roughness on the adhesion of bacteria. These examples show clearly and directly that the path from the fundamentals to application in materials science is extremely short. With an optimised glass structure, it is possible to produce ultra-strong glass for use in lightweight construction and in safety applications; through sintering, or vitrification, nanoparticles can be used to make new ceramics with reduced brittleness; achieving reduction of friction is one of the main goals in products with numerous moving parts; materials with reduced adhesion of bacteria are of considerable interest for medical implants.

Accordingly, the development of new materials is a major mainstay of the Institute in conjunction with direct co-operation with industry. The range of work is also considerably broad, as is typical for material research. For example, the institute develops various brazing alloys in cooperation with industry, specifically with the use of environmentally friendly soft solders as a substitute for lead solder through hard solders and high-temperature solders to active solders which can be used to join ceramic components. The abovementioned development projects are intended to lead to competitive products and are typically financed to a large extent by partners in industry. The cooperation thus provides access to analysis by the Institute, its work helps train students and, at the same time, gains a considerably more thorough impression of student performance than in a limited-period job interview, for example.

Small and medium-sized companies with no research departments of their own develop materials and components together with the OSIM (Otto Schott Institute for Materials Research). One example is the development of cardio-vascular implants (occluders) used to correct congenital heart defects. The aim here is to optimise the material characteristics of occluders implanted via a catheter using minimally-invasive surgery in such a way that its mechanical function (closing a de­­fect in the ventricular septum) is fulfilled reliably, but which simultaneously demon­­strates no undesired side effects such as releasing ions in a concentration which may harm human health. An improved understanding of the interaction of the surface of materials with the surrounding medium is also gained – in this case, of body fluids/tissues – and verified using the latest analysis methods.

Larger-scale projects with partners in industry are also (co-)financed by the public purse. These include government ministries with responsibility for economic and research matters both at federal and state level. Particularly major development projects are financed by the European Union. One such example is the de­­­­velopment of large glass surfaces for architectural purposes which, besides their usual characteristics such as protection and transparence, fulfil functional characteristics as well. A project of this nature is currently being carried out under the heading “Large-Area Fluidic Windows” (LaWin) with partners in in­­dustry in Thuringia in central Germany and throughout Europe. The aim is to develop large-scale façade components which are used as active outer shells for buildings and which function both as heat-exchangers and solar­­collectors. The actual function is by glass structured with micro-channels through which a liquid circulates. This liquid both automatically regulates exposure to light and absorbs exterior warmth. During the course of the project, it is intended to produce the first prototypes in order to test the technology.

autorenbild-rettenmayrProf. Dr. Dr. h.c. Markus Rettenmayr
The author studied metallurgy in Stuttgart and worked at the Max Planck Institute for Metals Research in Stuttgart while writing his doctoral thesis. As a post-doctoral researcher, Markus Rettenmayr conducted research at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA, after which he completed his German “Habilitation” thesis at the Technical University of Darmstadt. He is a professor at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena and managing director at the Otto Schott Institute for Materials Research (OSIM).

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Markus Rettenmayr: Erforschung neuer Werkstoffe für die Herstellung maßgeschneiderter Bauteile und Produkte

Wir können heute davon ausgehen, dass bereits vor 4.000 Jahren in der Bronzezeit im mitteldeutschen Raum Materialforschung im Sinne ­gezielter Einstellung von Eigenschaften in Werkstoffen und Werkstücken stattfand. Mit der Zusammenarbeit des Jenaer Physikprofessors Ernst Abbe und dem Glasforscher Otto Schott über Lithiumgläser, die Otto Schott 1882 nach Jena führte, beginnt aber das Zeitalter der Materialwissenschaft in Thüringen im heutigen Sinne.

Das Otto-Schott-In­­s­­titut für Ma­­ter­ial­­forschung, das 2013 aus der Fusion zweier Institute der Fried­rich­­Schiller-Universität in Jena entstand, führt die moderne Material­forsch­ung in Thüringen fort. Heute wird das vollständige Portfo­lio der Materialforschung in allen Werk­­stoffklassen aktiv bearbeitet.

Das Institut ist aufgebaut aus den Lehr­­stühlen für Glaschemie 1 und 2, für Metall­ische Werkstoffe, für Materialwissenschaft, und aus den Professuren für Oberflächen- und Grenzflächentechnologien, für Modellieren und Simulation sowie für Mechanik der funktionellen Ma­­terialien. Dazu kommt die Juniorprofessur für Struktur-/Eigenschaftsbeziehungen in Gläsern und eine gemeinsam von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität und dem Institut für Photonische Technologien berufene Professur für Faseroptik. Insgesamt sind am Institut ca. 100 Mit­ar­bei­ter beschäftigt, davon deutlich mehr als die Hälfte über von externen Geldgebern eingeworbene Drittmittel.

Das Otto-Schott-Institut beschäftigt sich einerseits mit grund­­legenden Fragestellungen der Materialwissen­schaft mit dem Ziel, Mechanismen auf die Spur zu kommen, die für bestimmte Materialeigenschaften verantwortlich sind. Dabei werden funktionelle und strukturelle Werkstoffe gleichermaßen behandelt. Beispiele für solche Fragestellungen sind etwa der Einfluss von Druckeffekten auf die Struktur von Glas, die Herstellbarkeit keramischer Nanopartikel durch Verdampfen im Laserstrahl, die Funktionsweise von Reibung und Verschleiß auf atomarer Ebene oder der Ein­­fluss der Ober­­flächenrauheit auf die Adhäsion von Bakterien. Aus den genannten Beispielen wird aber auch unmittelbar deutlich, dass der Weg von der Grund­­lage in die Anwendung in der Materialwissenschaft äußerst kurz ist: Mit optimierter Glas­­struktur lassen sich ultrafeste Gläser herstellen, die im Leicht­­bau und unter Sicherheitsaspekten Anwendung finden, aus den Nano­­partikeln lassen sich durch Sintern neu­­artige Ker­amiken mit reduzierter Sprödigkeit aufbauen, die Ver­ring­er­ung der Reibung ist bei zahlreichen bewegten Tei­­len ein vor­­rangiges Ziel, Werkstoffe mit reduzierter Ad­­häs­­ion von Bak­terien sind für medizinische Implantate äußerst interessant.

Dementsprechend ist die Entwicklung neuer Werkstoffe direkt mit Industriebetrieben ein wichtiges Standbein des Instituts. Das Spektrum der durchgeführten Arbeiten ist auch auf diesem Gebiet recht breit, wie es eben für die Ma­­ter­­ialforschung typisch ist. In Zusammenarbeit mit der In­­dustrie werden z.B. verschiedene Lotlegierungen entwickelt, und zwar von umweltfreundlichen Weichloten als Ersatz für bleihaltige Lote, über Hartlote und Hochtemperaturlote bis zu Aktivloten, die zum Fügen von keramischen Bauteilen ve­­r­­wendet werden können. Die genannten Entwicklungsprojekte sollen direkt zu wettbewerbsfähigen Produkten führen und werden typischerweise zu großen Teilen vom Industriepartner finanziert. Durch die Zusammenarbeit besteht auf diese Weise Zugang zur Analytik des Instituts, der Betrieb trägt zur Ausbildung der Studierenden bei und gewinnt gleichzeitig einen wesentlich tieferen Eindruck über die Leistungsfäh­ig­­keit der Studierenden als etwa in einem zeitlich begrenzten Bewerbungsgespräch.

Kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, die keine eigene Forsch­ungsabteilung unterhalten, entwickeln zusammen mit dem OSIM Werkstoffe und Bauteile. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Ent­­wicklung von kardiovaskulären Implantaten („Okkludern“), die zur Behebung von angeborenen Herzfehlern in der Medi­­zintechnik Eingang finden. Ziel ist es hier, die Werkstoff­ei­genschaften eines über ein Katheter minimalinvasiv implantierten Okkluders so zu optimieren, dass er seine mechanische Funktion (Verschluss eines Defekts in der Herzscheid­e­wand) zuverlässig erfüllt, gleichzeitig aber keine unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen zeigt wie etwa das Freisetzen von Ionen in gesundheitsbedenklicher Konzentration. Dazu wird ein verbessertes Verständnis der Wechselwirkungen der Oberfläche des Materials mit dem umgebenden Medium, hier der Körperflüssigkeit/dem Körpergewebe erarbeitet und mit Hilfe modernster Analysemethoden überprüft.

Größer angelegte Projekte mit Industriepartnern werden auch von öffentlichen Geldgebern (mit)finanziert. In Frage kommen hierbei die Ministerien mit Verantwortung für Wirt­­schafts- und Forschungsfragen sowohl auf Bundes- als auch auf Landesebene. Besonders große Entwicklungsprojekte werden von der EU getragen. Hier ist ein Beispiel die Ent­wick­­lung von Gläsern für die Architektur von großen Glasflächen, die au­­ßer ihren üblichen Eigenschaften wie Schutz und Transparenz weitere funktionelle Eigenschaften erfüllen. Ein derartiges Projekt wird unter dem Titel ”Large-area Fluidic Windows“ (LaWin) derzeit mit Industriepartnern aus Thüringen, Mitteldeutschland und ganz Europa durch­­geführt. Ziel ist es, großflächige Fassadenelemente zu entwickeln, welche als aktive Gebäudehülle dienen und über die Funk­tio­­nalität so­wohl eines Wär­­me­tauschers als auch eines So­­lar­kol­­lek­­tors verfügen. Die prak­­tische Um­­setz­ung erfolgt durch ein mit Mikrokanälen strukturiertes Glas, durch welches eine Flüssigkeit zirkuliert. Diese Flüssig­keit ermöglicht sowohl die automatische Re­­gu­­lierung des Lichteinfalls als auch die Aufnahme der Außen­­wärme. In der Laufzeit des Projekts sollen erste Pro­­totypen hergestellt werden, um damit die Technologie zu erproben.

autorenbild-rettenmayrProf. Dr. Dr. h.c. Markus Rettenmayr
Der Autor studierte Metallkunde in Stuttgart und war im Zuge seiner Doktorarbeit am Max-Planck-Institut für Metallforschung in Stuttgart tätig. Markus Rettenmayr forschte als Postdoktorand am Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA und habilitierte im Anschluss an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Er ist Uni­ver­sitätsprofessor an der Friedrich Schiller-Universität Jena und Geschäftsführender Direktor am Otto-Schott-Institut für Materialforschung (OSIM).