Prof. Dr. August-Wilhelm Scheer: Intelligent software solutions – 25 years of business process management

Even if no one is aware of it today any­­more, already during the founding of IDS Scheer in Saarbrücken in the year 1984, the idea of a business process stood centre-field to the company’s performance. I had written the first German book on the CIM organization concept (CIM = Computer Inte­gra­­ted Manufacturing) and IDS Scheer – although back then only a small Saarlandic start-up company with relatively few employees – was already sought after as conceptual advisor by large industrial companies like Bosch or Daimler.

CIM was nothing but an initial business process concept that en­­compassed the entire logistics of a company. Also the technical description of geometric product characteristics and their use as generators of control programmes for machinery were recognized as a related process. These two essential business processes were incorporated by myself into the Y-CIM-Model, which – in a graphically simplified version – was also cho­­sen as IDS Scheer’s logo. It is for this reason that the “Y” logo already represents the idea of a process, which still today represents the unique selling propositions of IDS Scheer’s soft­­ware and advisory services.

 

Unbenannt-3

ARIS House and the lifecycle concept
Parallel to the set-up of my then small company, I researched methods of the business user-oriented description of information systems.
This process proved that the description of company data, although very important, was insufficient for defin­ing a business process itself. Among other things, functions and their re­­lating issues were lacking. I needed a concept that fulfilled the demand for simplicity for the user and, by the same means, methodological stringency for the transfer of process con­­tent into in­­for­­mation-technical support systems. I then found an extremely simple frame­­work concept for the definition of busi­­ness processes in the ARIS concept, in particular the graphic ARIS House model and, together with a lifecycle concept, I could demonstrate the path from company strategy to information-technical implementation of business processes. Already in 1991, the ARIS method could spread its wings across the globe.

Conceived as a prototype at my In­­s­ti­­tute for Information Systems at Saar­­land University, we at IDS Scheer then developed a software product for the IT support of the description, modelling and optimization of business pro­­cesses according to the ARIS model. A completely new software system was developed within just a few months, which today is present in many fur­­ther developments.
Meanwhile, over 7,500 clients world-wide are making use of the ARIS system. Fur­­thermore, we work in tight correspondence with technology partners, particu­­larly SAP and advisory houses such as Accenture or Capgemini, so that ARIS is continuously becoming a world-wide standard for the optimization of business processes.

System independence of the process level
Last but not least, through the existing co-operation with SAP, the connection of the conceptual models with the level of implementation became increasingly urgent. This seamless connection today has grown into a suc­­cessful and promising concept.

The business process management, from the development of strategies through to the control of running business processes, is in itself a business process. This process of business process management must be independent of the applied software implemented in the operational business processes. The idea of initially developing a busi­­ness process strategy and consequently describing it in a detailed and specia­­l­­ized way, in order to only then be able to segmenting it off into the various user systems, offered IDS Scheer the opportunity to position itself independently.

 

Gebaeude_2

New ARIS components were born. Par­­ticularly the PPM component (PPM= Process Performance Man­­ag­er) for the control and analysis of continual business processes is a core aspect of further development. Today, the pro­­­cess of business process management is fully supported by the ARIS suite and is the leading force behind advisory projects for the introduction of business process management in­­to companies as well as also for the ARIS software.

Over the past few years, a new type of process has been added, which di­­rectly applies itself to company man­­agement, as it concerns the whole of the company – the GRC process type (Go­­ver­­nance Risk & Compliance). Through the risk managment, risks can be identified in processes and possible solutions, for example through the definition of alternative process steps during failure of an function, can be incorporated into the mod­­elling of the business process. A man­­­agement’s need for transparency of business processes has become es­­pe­­cially clear through the bank crisis.

A significant reason for the crisis was, after all, the lack of transparency of risk and procedures, particularly for investment banks.

Looking ahead
The same basic ideas that determined the development of the ARIS concept right from the beginning, still lead us now: to support the generating and adaptation of information systems from the business organization idea, which is today known as “Model Driven Soft­­ware Development”. At the same time, we continuously improve the user-friend­­liness of our systems, which is a principle expressed through the demand “mod­­els to the people”.

I am fully convinced that after a 25-year development history of Business Pro­­cess Management with ARIS, the great success of the concept will continue. In or­­der to secure this success in the IT field, which finds itself on its course of consolidation, I have decided to sell my share­­­­holding of IDS Scheer to Software AG. In this way, ranks two and three of the industry in Germany join forces to form a new and stronger company. Sup­­ple­­mented by our far-reaching, strategic partnerships with large international IT enterprises, this means that a secured platform has been created in order to also carry the ARIS concept through the world over long-run.

 

_MG_1384_2Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer was born in the Westphalian town of Lübbecke in 1941. He is founder of the IDS Scheer AG and emeritus of Saarland University, where he acted and taught as director of the Institute for Information Systems. Be­­sides other administrative offices, Scheer is commissary for innovation, technology and research of Saarland’s minister pre­­sident.

Prof. Dr. August-Wilhelm Scheer: Intelligente Softwarelösungen – 25 Jahre Geschäftsprozessmanagement

Auch wenn das heute kaum einem mehr bewusst ist – schon bei der Grün­­dung von IDS Scheer in Saar­­brück­­­­en im Jahr 1984 stand der Ge­­schäfts­­pro­­zessgedanke im Mittelpunkt der Un­­ter­­nehmensleistungen. Ich hatte das erste deutschsprachige Buch zum CIM-Or­­ga­­nisationskonzept (CIM = Computer In­te­­grated Manufacturing) geschrieben und IDS Scheer war – obwohl damals ein kleines saarländisches Start-up-Unter­­neh­­men mit wenigen Mitarbeitern – von großen In­­dustrieunternehmen wie Bosch oder Daimler bereits als konzeptioneller Be­­rater gefragt.

CIM war nichts anderes als ein erstes Geschäftsprozesskonzept, das die ge­­samte Logistik umfasste. Auch die tech­­nische Beschreibung geometrischer Pro­­dukteigenschaften und deren Nutzung zur Generierung der Steuer­­ungs­­pro­­gram­­me für Maschinen wurden als zusammen­gehörender Prozess erkannt. Diese zwei wesentlichen Geschäftsprozesse waren von mir in dem Y-CIM-Modell erfasst worden, das auch – grafisch vereinfacht – zum Logo der IDS Scheer gewählt wurde. Des­­halb bezeichnet bereits das Y-Logo den Prozessgedanken, der auch heute noch das Alleinstellungsmerkmal der Soft­­ware und Beratungsleistungen von IDS Scheer darstellt.

Unbenannt-3

ARIS-Haus und Lifecycle-Konzept
Parallel zum Aufbau meines damals kleinen Unternehmens habe ich mich in mei­­nen Forschungsarbeiten mit Methoden zur betriebswirtschaftlichen, also be­­nut­­zer­­­­orientierten Beschreibung von Infor­­ma­­tionssystemen beschäftigt.
Dabei zeigte es sich, dass die Be­­schrei­­bung der Unternehmensdaten zwar sehr wichtig, aber nicht ausreichend ist, um einen Geschäftsprozess selbst zu definieren. Es fehlten unter anderem die An­­ga­­ben der Funktionen und ihrer Zu­­sam­­men­­­­hänge. Ich brauchte ein Konzept, das die For­­der­­ung nach Einfachheit für den Be­­nutzer und gleichzeitiger methodischer Stringenz zur Übertragung der Pro­­zess­­inhalte in die informationstechnischen Un­­ter­­stützungs­­systeme erfüllen konnte. Mit dem ARIS-Konzept, insbesondere dem grafischen ARIS-Haus-Modell, habe ich dann wirklich ein einfaches Rahmen­­kon­­zept zur Defi­­ni­­ti­­on von Geschäfts­­pro­­zes­­sen gefunden und gleichzeitig mit einem Lifecycle-Konzept den Weg von der Unter­­nehmensstrategie zur informationstech­­ni­­schen Implemen­­tie­­r­­ung der Geschäfts­­prozesse aufzeigen können. Bereits 1991 trat die ARIS-Methode ihren Siegeszug um den Globus an.

An meinem Institut für Wirt­­schafts­­in­­for­­matik an der Universität des Saarlandes als Prototyp erdacht, haben wir dann bei IDS Scheer ein Softwareprodukt zur IT-Unterstützung der Beschreibung, Mo­­dellierung und Optimierung von Ge­­schäfts­­prozessen nach dem ARIS-Modell entwickelt. Innerhalb von wenigen Mo­­na­­ten wurde ein komplett neues Soft­­ware­­system entwickelt, das heute in vielen Weiter­­ent­­wick­­lungen vorliegt.
In­­zwi­­sch­­en setzen weltweit über 7.500 Kunden das ARIS-System ein. Darüber hinaus ar­­beiten wir eng mit Tech­­no­­lo­­gie­­­­part­­nern, insbesondere SAP und Be­­­­­­ra­­tungs­­häusern wie Accenture oder Cap­­ge­­mini zusammen, so dass sich ARIS als welt­­weiter Standard zur Optimierung von Geschäftsprozessen immer mehr durch­­setzt.

Systemunabhängigkeit der Prozess­ebene
Nicht zuletzt durch die bestehende Zu­­sammenarbeit mit SAP wurde die Ver­­bin­­dung der konzeptionellen Modelle mit der Implementierungsebene immer dring­­licher. Diese unterdessen bestehende bruch­­­­lose Verbindung ist heute zu einem erfolgreichen und zukunftsträchtigen Kon­­zept herangewachsen.

Gebaeude_2

Geschäftsprozessmanagement, von der Strategieentwicklung bis zur Kontrolle der laufenden Geschäftsprozesse, ist selbst ein Geschäftsprozess. Dieser Prozess des Geschäftsprozessmanagements muss un­­abhängig von der eingesetzten An­­wen­­dungs­­software der operativen Ge­­schäfts­­prozesse sein. Der Gedanke, oberhalb der Anwendungssysteme zunächst die Ge­­schäftsprozessstrategie zu entwickeln und anschließend detailliert fachlich zu beschreiben, um erst dann in unterschiedliche Anwendungssysteme zu ver­­zweigen, bot IDS Scheer die Möglichkeit, sich eigenständig zu positionieren.
Neue ARIS-Komponenten entstanden. In­­s­­besondere die Komponente PPM (PPM = Process Performance Manager) zur Kontrolle und Analyse der laufenden Geschäftsprozesse ist ein Kernstück der Weiterentwicklung. Heute wird der Pro­­zess des Geschäfts­­prozess­­manage­­ments komplett von der ARIS-Suite unterstützt und ist sowohl bei Beratungsprojekten zur Einführung des Ge­­schäfts­­prozess­­manage­ments in Unternehmen als auch für die ARIS-Software der treibende Ge­­danke.

In den letzten Jahren ist ein neuer Pro­­zesstyp hinzugekommen, der sich direkt an die Unternehmensleitung wendet, weil er sich auf das Unter­­neh­­men als Ganzes bezieht: der Prozesstyp GRC (Gover­­nance Risk & Compliance). Mit dem Ri­­siko­­manage­­ment werden die Risiken in Pro­­zessen identifiziert und Lösungs­­mög­­lich­­keiten, zum Beispiel durch De­­finition alternativer Prozessschritte bei Ausfall einer zunächst vorgesehenen Funk­­tion, in die Modellierung des Ge­­schäfts­­prozesses aufgenommen. Die Not­­wendigkeit der Transparenz von Ge­­schäfts­­prozessen für das Management ist gerade bei der Bankenkrise deutlich geworden.

Ein wesentlicher Grund der Krise war schließlich die fehlende Trans­­parenz von Risiko und Abläufen, insbesondere bei Investmentbanken.

Blick in die Zukunft
Die Grundgedanken, die von Anfang an die Entwicklung des ARIS-Konzeptes be­­stimmt haben, leiten uns weiterhin, näm­­lich die Ge­­nerierung und Anpassung von In­­for­­ma­­tionssystemen aus dem be­­triebs­wirt­schaft­­lichen Organi­­sations­­ge­­­­danken heraus zu un­­terstützen, heute als „Model Driven Soft­­ware Development“ bekannt. Gleichzeitig verbessern wir ständig die Benutzer­freund­­lichkeit unserer Systeme, die durch die For­­­­derung „models to the people“ ausgedrückt wird.

Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass nach 25 Jahre Entwicklungsgeschichte von Busi­­ness Process Management mit ARIS der große Erfolg des Konzeptes weitergeht. Um diesen Erfolg in der auf Konsoli­­die­­r­­ungskurs befindlichen IT-Branche auch langfristig sicherzustellen, habe ich mich entschlossen, meine IDS Scheer-Betei­­li­­gung an die Software AG zu verkaufen. Damit schließen sich in Deutschland die Nummer zwei und Nummer drei der Bran­­che zu einem neuen starken Unter­­neh­­men zusammen. Ergänzt durch unsere weitreichenden strategischen Partner­­schaf­­ten mit großen internationalen IT-Unter­­neh­­men ist so eine gesicherte Plattform ge­­schaf­­­­fen, um das ARIS-Kon­zept auch langfristig weiter in die Welt zu tragen.

_MG_1384_2Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer wurde 1941 im westfälischen Lübbecke geboren. Er ist Gründer der IDS Scheer AG und Emeritus an der Universität des Saar­­lan­­­des, an der er als Direktor des Instituts für Wirtschaftsinformatik ge­­wirkt und gelehrt hat. Prof. Dr. Scheer ist neben weiteren Ämtern Beauftragter des saarländi­schen Ministerpräsi­den­ten für Innova­tion, Technologie und For­­schung.