Prof. Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Gerd Finkbeiner: Regional cooperation strengthens global competitiveness

manroland is one of the innovative com­­panies with a long history in the Munich Metro­­politan Region. The Augsburg-based manufacturer of printing systems is lead­­ing the global market for web off­­set print­­ing. In order to improve its ca­­p­­­a­­c­­ity to cope with global challenges like increasing cost and competitive pres­­sure, it seeks cooperation with partners in re­­gional and cross-sectoral clusters.

Media diversity, better quality, higher output rates, variable formats and flexibility in production – there is a wide variety of increased demands on producing print media. Being the world’s largest manufacturer of newspaper and commercial printing systems, manroland faces these challenges every day. Know­­l­edge exchange and cooperation in clus­­ters and regional networks play an ever-increasing part in strengthening the in­­ternational competitiveness.

Acr2080987

Clusters increase competitiveness
Establishing and expanding clusters is an essential element in location promo­tion. Clusters provide a stable platform for communication, which serves to en­­courage the exchange of information and helps implementing and interlinking both industry initiatives and cross-sectoral activities. Mutual learning be­­tween businesses, universities, re­­search institutions and other players in the val­­ue-added chain is decisive in the process. These clusters are supported by members of the business community and by partners from politics or aca­demia with leading positions in established trade associations or interest groups.
Regional clusters provide efficient communication platforms, informal channels for the rapid exchange of information, creative environments for cooperation projects and opportunities for joint activities. In addition, they may also include the financial and logistic support of research and development pro­­jects with the aim to strengthen the eco­­nomic potential of a region. Sector-specific clusters, on the other hand, are supposed to bring out the competitive edges of certain sectors of the in­­dustry.

However, all clusters have one thing in common: Their platforms help to better coordinate the complete value-added chain of an industry and improve the total result. In printing, this means a more coordinated cooperation between, let’s say, ink, paper or pre-press suppliers, as well as manufacturers of print­­ing machines and purchasing as­­so­­ciations.
manroland cluster initiatives
In practice, structured cooperation mani­­fests itself in regional, national or international clusters. Its main goals are im­­plementing the flow of information ac­­ross industries as well as developing and supporting joint projects and diversely qualified professionals, who should be en­­couraged to stay in the respective region.
This is why manroland, among other things, supports the World Association of Newspapers (WAN) and has been in­­volved in the project “Shaping the Fu­­ture of the Newspaper” since 1999. This project is dedicated to analyzing innova­­tions and trends which generate pos­­i­­tive stimuli for the global competitiveness of newspapers. To promote this, manro­­land contributes inputs of industry-spe­­cific trends related to business concepts, ma­­chines, plants and the en­­tire workflow, and in return, benefits from the interna­­tio­­n­al WAN network.

The printing industry is subject to rapid structural change. Therefore, it has to reposition itself within a multimedia mar­­ket and hold its own in an increasingly segmented market with improved business and manufacturing processes. The “Print City” industry initiative, established in 1998 and initiated, among others, by manroland, has made it its goal to respond to changing customer and consumer demands and to new en­­gineering requirements. Meanwhile, more than 30 businesses from the graphics sector join forces to organize joint trade fair participation, improve workflow so­­lutions and advance printing processes and products.

In order to speed up cross-sectoral in­­formation exchange in the printing in­­dustry, manroland is active in the print­­ing and media cluster “Druck und Print­­medien”, which was implemented by the Free State of Bavaria through its “Allianz Bayern innovativ” initiative. This network comprises more than 500 part­­ners and aims to make better use of local potentials, encouraging cooperation and exchange of information be­­tween companies, universities and re­­search institutions. The joint promotion of qualified next-generation staff in aca­­demia and education is top on the list of priorities. The initiative targets small and medium-sized businesses as well as universities and research institutions.

Acr2108958

manroland and the Munich Metro­politan Region (MMR)
For many decades, manroland has strength­­ened the business location of Augsburg and the metropolitan region of Munich, which, in addition to Munich and Augsburg, includes four more ur­­ban counties and a number of large corporations in the region. The Munich Metropolitan Region is home to about 5.5 million people and generates more than half of the Ba­­va­rian gross domestic product.

It is the centre of the Bavarian media industry, including the printing and pub­­lishing sector, television and radio, film production, internet and multimedia. An ideal environment for manroland to pick up trends and translate them into innovations and projects successfully.

Using robotics in newspaper printing is a shining example of realizing local co-production. Automatic Plate Loading (APL) is a fully automatic plate changing system, which promises 90 per cent time saving compared to manual handling. The system was developed jointly with KUKA Robot Group, another large industrial company based in the Augs­­burg region. manroland integrated the feature into the complex printing processes. By using APL, manroland is ap­­proaching its long-term goal of offering a continuously operating printing press which, following the “one touch” principle, runs fully automatically without set-up or down time.

manroland and the mechatronics cluster
Originating in Augsburg and co-initiated by manroland, the Mechatronics & Au­­tomation industry cluster is considered a very successful model of regional cluster strategies. It was prompted by the on­­going electronification process in me­­chan­­ical and plant engineering, which called for a new training concept for skilled workers and young specialists in the en­­gineering professions. Me­­chatronics is the connecting link be­­tween mechanical engineering, electronics and computer science.

The Mechatronics & Automation cluster, which is active throughout Bavaria, is working towards information and knowl­­edge exchange between research and business. For medium-sized firms and academic institutes, in particular, or­­ganized networks, workshops and job exchanges constitute an ideal platform for initiating joint projects. So far, this cluster has been the starting point of more than 40 collaborative projects in such varied areas as robotics, automation and intelligent materials.

080706_Augsburg_gross

Since autumn 2007, manroland, together with the Swabian chamber of commerce and industry and the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences, has also been supporting and financing a me­­chatronics dual study course leading to a Bachelor of Engineering degree. Mechatronics graduates from Augsburg are recognized and sought after across the region for their outstanding expert knowledge.

Guarantors of successful cluster activities
Whether research projects, promotion of next-generation specialists, conferences or industry marketing – the print­­ing sector must join forces and pull in one direction to strengthen its position in the media competition. This is all the more so for an export-focused company like manroland, which generates about 80 per cent of group sales abroad.

To enable clusters to act successfully in terms of active business promotion, it is essential for the relevant platforms to address the right issues and attract committed participants in the long term. This is only possible if there is a free and best possible structured flow of information between companies and clusters – a prerequisite for the successful implementation of, for instance, specific research projects at regional or industry level. To achieve this, all levels of the value-added chain in the sector must be involved – from design to product development to logistics and services. Another important aspect is the public image. Effective networking with media, politics and other high-pro­­file decision makers is crucial for the members of a cluster to create a fa­­vourable public image. manroland feels obliged to continue supporting collaborative initiatives in the printing sector, either on a cross-sectoral basis or in the context of the Munich Metropolitan Region.

flags_300

manroland and the city of Augsburg
Since the company was established in 1845, manroland has been shaping the technological development in the printing sector. The Augsburg location is play­­ing a key role in this process. It was here that Carl August Reichenbach built the first flatbed press in 1845. More highlights followed, such as the first web-fed offset press in 1921. Al­­ready in 1960, three quarters of the total cir­­culation of German dailies were printed on pres­­ses made in Augsburg.

Today manroland AG employs 8,700 people worldwide, of whom some 3,000 are based in Augsburg alone, including 450 trainees, most of them training to be mechatronics engineers, industrial mechanics and lathe operators. This makes manroland one of the largest employers in the Augsburg region.
Our company’s home is the world, but our heart beats in Germany.

 

manroland-GFinkbeiner_1The author, born in Baiersbronn in 1957, studied printing technology at the Tech­­nical College for Printing in Stuttgart. Gerd Finkbeiner has been the Chairman of the Executive Board of manroland AG since 1999. In addition, he has been ac­­tive as honorary professor at the Stutt­­gart Media University since 2000 and as voluntary deputy chairman of the Munich Metropolitan Region (MMR).

Prof. Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Gerd Finkbeiner: Durch regionale Kooperation stärker im globalen Wettbewerb

Eines der innovativen Tra­­ditions­unter­neh­men in der Metro­pol­re­­gion Mün­chen ist manroland. Der Druckma­schi­nen­­her­­steller aus Augsburg ist weltweiter Marktführer im Rollenoffset­druck. Um globale Herausforderungen wie steigen­­den Wettbewerbs- und Kos­tendruck bes­­ser zu bewältigen, forciert er die Ko­­ope­ration mit Partnern aus regionalen und branchenübergreifenden Clustern.

Medienvielfalt, höhere Qualität, schnellerer Ausstoß, variable Formate und fle­­xible Produktion – die gestiegenen An­­­­­­forderungen an den Druck von Print­­me­­dien sind vielfältig. Als weltweit größ­­­ter Hersteller von Zeitungs- und Illu­stra­­­tions­­drucksystemen stellt sich manroland täglich diesen Herausforderun­gen. Um die internationale Wettbe­werbs­fäh­­ig­keit zu stärken, gewinnen Wissens­­aus­tausch und Kooperation in Clustern und regionalen Netzwerken kontinuierlich an Bedeutung.

Cluster stärken im Wettbewerb
Die Entwicklung und der Ausbau von Clustern ist ein essenzieller Bestandteil von Standortförderung. Cluster liefern eine nachhaltige Kommunikations­platt­­form, um Informationsaustausch und Brancheninitiativen, aber auch branchen­­übergreifende Aktivitäten besser zu ver­­netzen und umzusetzen. Gegenseitiges Lernen zwischen Unternehmen, Hoch­schulen, Forschungsseinrichtungen und weiteren Akteuren der Wertschöpfungs­kette spielt dabei eine entscheidende Rolle. Unterstützt werden diese Cluster durch Personen aus der Privatwirtschaft, aus der Politik oder aus dem akademischen Bereich, die in traditionellen Wirt­­schaftsverbänden oder Interessen­grup­­pen eine führende Rolle spielen.

Regionale Cluster bieten eine effiziente Kommunikationsplattform, informelle We­­g­­e zum schnellen Informationsaus­tausch, kreative Räume für Koopera­tions­­pro­jek­­te und Ansatzpunkte für gemeinsame Aktivitäten. Darüber hinaus können sie auch die finanzielle und logistische För­­derung von Forschungs- und Ent­wick­­lungsprojekten mit dem Ziel umfassen, die Wirtschaftskraft einer Region zu stärken. Branchenspezifische Cluster sollen dagegen die Wettbewerbs­vorteile einzelner Industriezweige besser zur Geltung bringen.

Allen Clustern gemein ist, dass ihre Platt­­formen die gesamte Wertschöp­fungs­ket­­te einer Branche besser aufeinander ab­­stimmen und in der Summe verbessern. Für die Druckindustrie be­­deutet das ein engeres Zusammen­spiel etwa von Farben-, Papier- und Vor­­stufenherstellern wie auch von Druck­maschinenher­stel­lern und Einkaufs­ver­­bänden.

Acr2080987
Cluster-Initiativen von manroland
In der Praxis manifestiert sich eine struk­­turierte Zusammenarbeit in regionalen, nationalen oder internationalen Clus­tern. Wichtigste Ziele sind branchenüber­grei­fender In­­formationsfluss sowie die Ent­­wicklung und Förderung von gemein­­sa­men Pro­­jekten und vielseitig qualifi­zier­­ten Fachkräften. Diese sollen an die je­­weilige Region gebunden werden.

Deshalb ist manroland unter anderem Förderer des Weltverbandes der Zei­tungen (WAN) und engagiert sich seit 1999 im Projekt „Shaping the Future
of the Newspaper“. Dabei werden In­­novationen und Trends analysiert, von denen positive Impulse für die globale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Zeitungen ausgehen. Hier liefert manroland Input für branchenspezifische Trends, was Ge­­schäftsmodelle, Maschinen, Anlagen sowie den gesamten Workflow angeht, und profitiert vice versa vom internationalen Netzwerk der WAN.
Die Druckindustrie unterliegt einem ra­­piden Strukturwandel. Sie muss sich innerhalb eines multimedialen Marktes neu positionieren und einer stärkeren Marktsegmentierung mit verbes­­serten Geschäfts- und Produktionspro­zessen stellen. Die 1998 gegründete Branchen­initiative Print City, zu deren Initiatoren manroland zählt, hat sich zum Ziel ge­­setzt, Antworten auf Ver­än­de­run­­gen im Verbraucher- und Kun­den­be­dürf­­nis sowie auf neue technische Anfor­de­run­gen zu entwickeln. Inzwi­schen ar­­beiten mehr als 30 Firmen der grafischen In­­dustrie an gemeinsamen Mes­se­­auf­trit­­ten, verbesserten Workflow­­lösungen oder an der Weiterentwicklung von Druckver­fahren und -produkten.

Um den branchenübergreifenden In­­for­­mationsaustausch für die Druckin­dus­trie zu beschleunigen, engagiert sich manroland im Cluster Druck und Print­medien, der vom Freistaat Bayern durch die Initiative „Allianz Bayern innovativ“ ins Leben gerufen wurde. Dieses Netz­werk umfasst mehr als 500 Partner und soll die lokalen Potenziale besser nutzen, indem es Informationsaus­tausch und Kooperation von Unternehmen, Hoch­­schulen und Forschungseinrichtungen stimuliert. Die gemeinsame Förderung von qualifiziertem Nachwuchs an Hoch­­schulen und Ausbildungsstätten steht dabei auf der Prioritätenskala ganz oben. Kleine und mittelständische Unterneh­men werden dabei ebenso angesprochen wie Hochschulen und Forschungs­institute.

080706_Augsburg_gross

manroland und die Europäische Metropolregion München (EMM)
Seit vielen Jahrzehnten stärkt manroland den Wirtschaftsstandort Augsburg und die Metropolregion München, der neben München und Augsburg vier wei­­tere kreisfreie Städte sowie zahlreiche Großkonzerne in der Region angehören. Die Europäische Metropolregion Mün­chen umfasst rund 5,5 Millionen Men­schen und erwirtschaftet mehr als die Hälfte des bayerischen Bruttoinlands­produkts.

Sie ist das Zentrum des Me­­dienstand­orts Bayern mit Druck- und Verlags­we­sen, Fernsehen und Hörfunk, der Film­pro­duk­­tion sowie Internet und Multi­me­­dia. Für manroland ein idealer Nährboden, um Trends aufzugreifen und erfolgreich in Innova­tio­nen und Projek­te umzusetzen.

Ein Musterbeispiel für die Umsetzung einer lokalen Co-Produktion ist der Ein­­satz von Robotertechnik im Zeitungs­druck. Bei Automatic Plate Loading (APL) handelt es sich um einen vollautoma­tischen Druckplattenwechsel, der eine Zeit­­ersparnis von 90 Prozent gegenüber dem manuellen Handling verspricht. Ent­­­­wickelt wurde das System zusammen mit der KUKA Robot Group, einer wei­­te­­­­ren Industriegröße im Großraum Augs­­burg. manroland integrierte das Ver­fah­­­ren in die komplexen Druckprozes­se. Mit APL kommt manroland dem langfris­­­ti­gen Ziel nahe, eine stetig produzie­ren­de Druckmaschine anzubieten, die nach dem „One-Touch“-Prinzip ohne Rüst- und Stillstandzeiten vollautomatisch läuft.
manroland und der Cluster Mechatronik
Ausgehend vom Standort Augsburg und mit initiiert von manroland gilt der Bran­­chencluster Mechatronik & Automation als großer Erfolgsfall regionaler Clus­ter­strategien. Ansatzpunkt war die fort­­schreitende Elektronisierung des Ma­­schi­nen- und Anlagenbaus, welche ein neues Profil der Facharbeiter und Nach­­wuchsausbildung in den mechanischen Berufen erforderte. Mecha­tro­nik ist das Bindeglied zwischen dem Maschinen­bau, der Elektronik und der Informatik.

Acr2108958

Der bayernweite Cluster Mechatronik & Automation forciert den Informations- und Wissensaustausch zwischen For­schung und Wirtschaft. Gerade für mit­­telständische Unternehmen und akade­­mische Institute sind die organisierten Netzwerke, Workshops und Jobbörsen eine ideale Grundlage, um gemeinsame Projekte in die Wege zu leiten. Bislang war dieser Cluster der Ausgangspunkt für mehr als 40 Gemeinschaftsprojekte in so unterschiedlichen Bereichen wie Robotik, Automation und intelligente Materialien.

Darüber hinaus begleitet und finanziert manroland seit Herbst 2007 in Ko­­ope­ration mit der IHK Schwaben und der Fachhochschule Augsburg das Ver­bund­­studium Mechatronik mit dem Studien­abschluss des Bachelor of Engineering. Die Mechatronik-Absolventen aus Augs­­burg sind in der gesamten Region als hochqualifizierte Fachleute geschätzt und gesucht.

Garanten für erfolgreiche Clusterarbeit
Ob Forschungsprojekte, Nachwuchs­för­­derung, Fachkonferenzen oder Bran­­chen­­marketing – die Druckin­dustrie muss vereint an einem Strang ziehen, um sich im Wettbewerb der Me­­dien zu stär­­­ken. Das gilt umso mehr für ein export­orientiertes Unter­nehmen wie manroland, das rund 80 Prozent der Konzern­umsätze im Aus­land generiert.

Damit Cluster im Sinne von aktiver Wirt­­schaftsförderung erfolgreich agieren, ist es notwendig, die entsprechenden Platt­­formen mit Themen und engagier­ten Teilnehmern stabil zu besetzen. Ba­­sis dafür sind offene und möglichst struk­­turierte Informationsflüsse zwischen Un­­ternehmen und Clustern, dann lassen sich konkrete Vorhaben wie Forschungs­pro­jekte auf regionaler oder brancheninterner Ebene erfolgreich umsetzen. Dabei müssen sämtliche brancheninter­nen Wertschöp­fungsstufen integriert werden – vom Design über die Pro­dukt­­entwicklung bis zur Logistik und den Service-Leistun­gen. Des Weiteren kommt es auf die Außen­wirkung an. Um diese positiv in Szene zu setzen, gilt es für die Cluster-Mit­glie­­der, ein effektives Net­­working in Me­­dien, Politik und bei an­­deren Entschei­dungs­­trägern des öffent­­lichen Lebens zu be­­treiben. manroland sieht sich in der Pflicht, weiterhin ge­­meinsame Ini­tiati­ven für die Druckin­dustrie zu un­­ter­­stüt­­zen, sei es branchenübergreifend oder im Rahmen der Metropolregion München.

flags_300

manroland und der Standort Augsburg
Seit der Firmengründung im Jahr 1845 gestaltet manroland die technologische Entwicklung der Druckindustrie. Der Standort Augsburg nimmt dabei eine Schlüsselstellung ein. Dort wurde 1845 von Carl August Reichenbach die Schnell­­presse ins Leben gerufen. Wei­tere High­­lights folgten, wie die erste Rol­lenoff­set­­maschine im Jahr 1921. Be­­reits 1960 wurden drei Viertel der Gesamtauflage aller deutschen Tageszeitungen auf An­­lagen aus Augsburg hergestellt.

Heute ist die manroland AG ein Unter­neh­men mit weltweit 8.700 Mitarbei­tern, davon allein in Augs­burg rund 3.000 Mit­ar­beiter, inklusive 450 Auszubil­den­de überwiegend für die Berufe Mecha­tro­niker und Industrie- und Zer­spa­­nungs­mechaniker. Damit ist manroland einer der größten Arbeit­geber in der Re­­gion Augsburg.
Das Unternehmen ist in der Welt zu Hause, aber sein Herz schlägt in Deut­­schland.

manroland-GFinkbeiner_1Der 1957 in Baiersbronn geborene Autor hat an der Fachhochschule für Druck in Stuttgart Druckingenieur­wesen studiert. Gerd Finkbeiner ist seit 1999 Vorsit­zen­der des Vorstands der manroland AG. Er wirkt seit dem Jahr 2000 darüber hinaus auch als Hono­rar­pro­fessor an der Hoch­­schule der Medien in Stuttgart und ehren­­amtlich als stell­vertretender Vorsitzen­der der Euro­pä­ischen Metro­pol­region München EMM.