Probiodrug AG: Modern biotechnology for new approaches in pharmaceuticals research

Probiodrug AG concentrates on develop­­ing new small molecule drugs for treating metabo­­li­­c, neurological and inflammatory diseases along with auto-­immun­e diseases.

The technology platform is based on over 20 years of experience in the field of protease research and has been syste­­matically expanded since the compa­­ny was formed in 1997. For Probiodrug, this has resulted in its dominant position in the inhibition of the glutamine cyclase (QC), a fundamental enzyme in the pa­­th­­o­­genesis of Alzheimers disease.

In this context, Probiodrug is working to establish a new kind of treatment sche­­me. At the same time, it is also pursuing other approaches in the area of inflammatory diseases. The company’s core expertise is the experience it has accumulated in researching the structure and function of enzymes that play a central role in hormone maturation.

The company has conducted (on perform­­ed) pioneering work in the field of DP4 inhibition for treating type 2 diabetes. This demonstrates the company’s lively patent activity. All DP4 pro­­grammes and patents were sold in 2004. The first me­­d­­ication based on Pro­­­­bio­­drug technolo­­gies was launched in 2006.

 

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Address

    Weinbergweg 22/Biozentrum
    D-06120 Halle
    Telefon +49 (0) 345 55599-00
    Telefax +49 (0) 345 55599-01
    info@probiodrug.de
    www.probiodrug.de
  2. Year of foundation

    1997
  3. Employees

    72
  4. Business activity

    Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology

Probiodrug AG: Mit moderner Biotechnologie zu neuen Ansätzen in der Arzneimittelforschung

Die Probiodrug AG konzentriert sich auf die Ent­­wicklung neuartiger niedermole­­ku­­larer Wirkstoffe zur Behandlung von Stoff­­­­­­wech­­­­sel-, Nerven- und Ent­zündungs­k­rank­­­­­hei­­ten sowie Auto­immun­er­­kran­­kun­­gen.

Die Technologie­plattform basiert auf mehr als 20-jähriger Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Proteaseforschung und wur­­­­de seit der Unternehmens­gründung 1997 systematisch ausgebaut. Daraus ergibt sich für Probiodrug eine dominante Po­­sition im Be­­reich Inhibierung der Glu­ta­minyl­zyk­­lase (QC), einem zen­­tralen En­­zym in der Patho­­ge­­nese der Alz­­hei­­mer’­­schen Erkran­­k­­ung.
In diesem Zusammenhang arbeitet das pharmazeutische Unter­­nehmen an der Etablierung eines neuartigen Be­­hand­­lungs­­schemas. Daneben werden weitere Ansätze im Bereich der Ent­­zün­­dungs­krank­­heiten verfolgt. Er­­fahr­­­­­­un­­gen bei der Erforschung der Struktur und Funktion von Enzymen, die eine zentrale Rolle bei der Hormonreifung spielen, bilden die Kernexpertise des Unternehmens.
Dabei wurden bahnbrechende Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der DP4-Inhibition zur Behandlung von Typ-2-Diabetes geleistet. Dies dokumentiert die rege Patent­aktivität der Firma. Alle DP4-Programme und Pa­­tente wurden 2004 verkauft. Das erste Medikament auf Basis der Pro­­biodrug-Technologien wurde 2006 auf den Markt gebracht.

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Anschrift

    Weinbergweg 22/Biozentrum
    D-06120 Halle
    Telefon +49 (0) 345 55599-00
    Telefax +49 (0) 345 55599-01
    info@probiodrug.de
    www.probiodrug.de
  2. Gründungsjahr

    1997
  3. Mitarbeiter

    72
  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Pharma, Biotechnologie
    Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology