Ph.D. Krishna P. Gummadi: Glasnost at the Max Planck Institute – Transparency for the internet

Broadband networks such as DSL or ca­­ble are used more and more widely for accessing the internet. Over 158 million people worldwide use these networks. By 2011, this number is expected to rise to 477 million. In Germany, over 65 per cent of all internet users are connect­­ed to broadband networks at home. In addition, many governments have made it their target to promote universal broad­­band access.

Broadband networks deliver ac­­cess to the internet infrastructure and most of the time, bottlenecks to these access net­­works can be found in the ef­­­ficiency of the internet. Many popular in­­ternet ap­­pli­­cations, such as voice over IP (VoIP), vid­­eo on demand, online games and peer-to-peer networks, greatly de­­pend upon the performance qualities of broadband networks.
However, many private customers are ignorant of the characteristics of their broadband connections.

Cable and DSL providers increasingly use middle boxes, such as for example traffic shaper, blocker or firewalls, for the super­­vision and control of their cli­­ents’ data traffic. Middleboxes categorize and man­ipulate the flow of data from the various applications in accordance with ISP-specific guidelines. And because the guidelines of data traffic management are often in­­fluenced by company interests (for example peering agreements between ISPs, which are mutually regulated by con­­tract), indica­tions to middlebox implementation is not at all made known by many ISPs.
This is why today, many end users are not even aware of the existence of middlebox­­es and can therefore often not imagine their consequences on the performance of internet applications.

Recently, it has been stated that specific access providers in the US secrectly pre­­vented their clients from exchanging data with other users by means of the popular file-sharing protocol BitTorrent. It was determined that these ISPs blocked Bit­­­Torrent data flows by sending false pro­to­­col packages to communication end-points, which leads to an immediate in­­­terruption of the connection. Reports on such blockages started an in­­tensive and far-reaching guideline con­­­tro­versy over acceptable practices in the traf­­fic management of ISPs and the issue of network neutrality among ISPs, us­­er protec­­tors, in­­ternet providers and government authorities.

We do not want to discuss the advan­tag­es of the various traffic management guidelines here. Neither do we wish to plead for specific guidelines, such as net­­work neu­tral­­ity, which does not allow for a different treatment of packages by ISPs, on grounds of the communication end-points, nor the used internet application.

The formulation of optimal traffic manage­­ment guidelines is extremely important and demands the careful consideration of numerous technological, economic and social factors, which are decisive for the future of the internet.

Instead, we want to plead for net­­work transparency. In simple terms, net­­­work transparency demands that end us­­­ers know the characteristics of the access networks they use. This knowledge helps users when choosing their provider. If this transparency existed, end users would know which quality of service they receive, when using different applications such as VoIP or video on demand.
Also, ap­­plication de­­velopers can use such know­­ledge to spe­cial­­ly create their ap­­pli­­cations in such a way that they run better in the home environ­ment.

Ideally, networks could be cre­­at­­ed with more transparency through ISPs, in that they dis­­close how they control their data traffic and where they im­­ple­ment traf­­­fic manage­ment. How­­ever, ex­­perience has proven that providers are rather reluctant to disclose such information, even when they are required to do so by state su­per­­visory authorities. Further­­more, in­­­for­­mation provided by ISPs to their cus­tomers is often vague and at best in­­ter­­pretable in many ways, at worst, near-misleading.

For this reason, end users need appropriate mechanisms, with which they can ex­­amine information received from their ISPs. With this in mind, we at the Max Planck Institute for Software Sys­tems, have initiated the Glasnost pro­ject. Our aim is to enable to draw con­­clusions on the characteristics of their ac­­cess networks through direct measurements. The Glasnost system is cre­­­ated in such a way that it approaches numerous tricky duties: It attempts to find out which data traffic is being ma­­nipulated and where traffic shapers can be found. Interested readers can carry out the test by visiting the following website: http://broadband.mpi-sws.org/transparency.

 

Krishna_Gummondi_009Ph.D. Krishna P. Gummadi is the head of the Networked Systems Research Group at the Max Planck Institute for Soft­­ware Systems in Saarbrücken. Be­­fore this, he worked as a research assistant at Microsoft in Redmond, ISCI and Intel in Berkley after completing his internship at the Polytechnische Hochschule Lausanne. Gummadi studied in Madras, India, and at the University of Wash­ing­­ton (USA), where he also completed his doctorate.

Ph.D. Krishna P. Gummadi: Glasnost am Max-Planck-Institut – Transparenz für das Internet

Für den Internetzugang werden zu­­neh­mend Breitbandnetze wie DSL oder Ka­­bel eingesetzt. Mehr als 158 Millionen Menschen weltweit nutzen diese Netze. Bis 2011 wird diese Zahl voraussichtlich auf 477 Millionen ansteigen. In Deutsch­land sind mehr als 65 Prozent aller In­­ter­netnutzer über Heim­breit­band­netz­wer­ke angeschlossen. Außerdem verfolgen vie­le Regierungen das Ziel, den uni­ver­sel­len Breitbandzugang zu fördern.

Erst Breitbandnetze liefern den Netz­zu­gang zur Internetinfrastruktur, und meist sind die Engpässe in der Leistungs­fä­hig­keit des Internets in diesen Zu­­gangs­net­zen zu finden. Viele populäre Internet­an­wen­­dungen, etwa Voice-over-IP (VoIP), Video-on-Demand, On­­line-Spiele und Peer-to-Peer-Netzwerke, hängen entscheidend von den Leis­­tungs­­merkmalen der Breit­bandzugangsnetze ab.
Allerdings kennen viele Privatkunden die Merkmale ihrer Breit­band­an­schlüs­se nicht. Kabel- und DSL-Anbieter nutzen zunehmend Middleboxes, wie bei­spiels­weise Traffic-Shaper, Blocker oder Fire­walls, zur Überwachung und Steuerung des Da­­ten­verkehrs ihrer Kunden. Sol­che Middle­bo­xes kategorisieren und manipulieren die Datenströme aus den ver­schiedenen An­­wendungen nach ISP-spe­zifischen Richt­linien. Und weil die Richt­linien des Daten­­ver­kehrsmanagements oft durch geschäft­­liche Interessen be­­einflusst werden (zum Beispiel Peering-Agreements zwischen ISPs, die die beid­seitige Nutzung vertrag­lich regeln), werden Angaben zu Middle­box-Einsätzen von vielen ISPs erst gar nicht bekannt gemacht.
Deshalb wissen viele Endnutzer heute nichts von der Exis­tenz der Middleboxes und können deshalb oft deren Aus­wir­kun­gen auf die Leistung von Internet-An­­wendungen nicht nachvollziehen.

Vor kurzem wurde berichtet, dass be­­stimmte Zugangsprovider in den USA ihre Kunden heimlich daran hindern, Da­ten mit Hilfe des beliebten File-Sha­ring-Protokolls BitTorrent mit anderen Nutzern auszutauschen. Es wurde fest­­gestellt, dass diese ISPs BitTorrent-Da­tenströme blockiert haben, indem sie gefälschte Protokollpakete an die Kom­­munikationsendpunkte schicken, die zu einem sofortigen Abbruch der Ver­bin­dung führen. Die Berichte über solche Blockaden haben eine intensive und weitreichende Richtliniendebatte über akzeptable Praktiken im Ver­kehrs­ma­nagement von ISPs und das Thema Netzwerkneutralität bei ISPs, Ver­brau­cherschützern, Internetbetreibern und Regierungsbehörden ausgelöst.
Wir wollen hier nicht die Vorteile verschiedener Verkehrsmanagement-Richt­linien diskutieren. Auch wollen wir nicht für spezielle Richtlinien, etwa Netz­werk­neutralität, plädieren, die den ISPs eine unterschiedliche Behandlung von Pa­­ke­ten auf der Grundlage der Kom­mu­ni­ka­tionsendpunkte oder der genutzten In­­­ternet-Anwendung verbietet.

Die Formulierung optimaler Ver­kehrs­ma­­nagementrichtlinien ist sehr wichtig und erfordert die sorgfältige Erwägung einer Vielzahl technologischer, wirt­schaft­­­licher und sozialer Faktoren, die für die Ent­wick­lung des Internets entscheidend sind.

Anstelle dessen wollen wir für Netz­trans­parenz plädieren. Einfach ausgedrückt, erfordert Netzwerktransparenz, dass die Endnutzer die Merkmale der Zu­­gangs­netze kennen, die sie benutzen. Dieses Wissen hilft den Nutzern bei der Wahl ih­­rer Provider.
Gäbe es diese Trans­pa­renz, wüssten die Endnutzer, welche Ser­vice­qua­lität sie er­­halten, wenn sie verschiedene An­­wen­dun­gen, wie etwa VoIP oder Video-on-De­mand, nutzen wollen. Und An­­wen­­dungs­ent­wick­­ler können solches Wissen dazu nutzen, ihre Applikationen speziell so zu gestalten, dass sie in der Heim­um­gebung besser laufen.

Idealerweise könnten Netze durch die ISPs selbst transparenter gestaltet wer­den, in­­dem diese offenlegen, wie sie ih­­ren Daten­­verkehr steuern und wo sie Ver­kehrs­ma­­nagement einsetzen. Die Erfahrung hat jedoch gezeigt, dass die Provider eher sehr zurückhaltend bei der Offenlegung solcher Infor­ma­tionen sind, selbst dann, wenn sie dazu von staatlichen Aufsichts­behörden auf­­gefordert werden. Zudem sind die von ISPs für ihre Kunden bereit­­gestellten In­­for­mationen oft vage und bes­­tenfalls mehr­fach interpretierbar, schlech­­ten­­falls ge­­radezu irreführend.

Deshalb benötigen die Endnutzer ge­­eig­­nete Mechanismen, mit denen sie die von ihren ISPs erhaltenen Infor­ma­­­­­tionen selbst­ständig überprüfen können.

Vor diesem Hintergrund haben wir am Max-Planck-Institut für Soft­ware­sys­te­me das Glasnost-Projekt initiiert. Unser Ziel ist es, Endnutzer in die Lage zu versetzen, über direkte Messungen Rück­schlüsse auf die Merkmale ihrer Zugangsnetze zu zie­­hen. Das Glasnost-System ist so ausgelegt, dass es mehrere knifflige Aufgaben angeht: Es ver­­sucht herauszufinden, wel­cher Daten­­­verkehr manipuliert wird und wo sich Traffic-Shaper befinden. In­­ter­es­­sierte Leser können den Test durchführen, indem sie die folgende Webseite be­­suchen: http://broadband.mpi-sws.org/transparency.

 

Krishna_Gummondi_009Ph.D. Krishna P. Gummadi ist Leiter der Forschungsgruppe für Vernetzte Sys­te­­­me am Max-Planck-Institut für Soft­ware­sys­teme in Saarbrücken. Zuvor wirkte er, nach Praktika an der Poly­tech­ni­schen Hoch­schu­le Lausanne, bei Microsoft in Red­mond, ISCI und Intel in Berkeley als For­­schungsassistent. Gummadi hat im indischen Madras und an der University of Washington (USA) studiert, an der er auch promoviert wurde.