Peter Feldmann – Centre of a region – From river crossing to metropolis

Long before the first settlements of Fran­­conian tribes, in the Neolithic period, there were already settlements at the Furt (ford) across the Main river, most likely located where the Eiserne Steg bridge stands today. The settlements were of minor importance during the Celtic and Roman times. However, the discovery of a magnificent tomb during excavations at the Dom (cathedral) several years ago documents the rise during Merovingian times. The Carolingians considered Frankfurt to be an important imperial stronghold, which was visited 75 times by the former rulers between 794 and 911 as documents show. Otto­nians and Salians had their focus on other geographic regions, but under the Staufers, the city once again became an important meeting place around the middle of the 12th century and the city’s regional fair developed into a transregional trade fair venue. At the latest as of the 14th century, Frankfurt had Eu­­rope-wide significance as a trade fair venue, boasting the exclusive additional imperial privilege for exhibitions during Lent. The discovery of the “New World” beyond the Atlantic Ocean brought with it an increased shift of trading flows to the north. Frankfurt was now located at the intersection of important trading routes. The city, thanks to its many traders and lively exchange of goods, be­­came an important trading place for coins and bills of exchange.

By the end of the 16th century, Frankfurt was one of the leading financial centres in the Holy Roman Empire. While Frank­­furt Messe (trade fair) lost some of its im­portance to Leipzig in the 17th centu­­ry, it became the home – initiated by wealthy immigrants – to prominent banks. With the rise of the Rothschilds to become bankers operating across Europe, the business by the family from Frankfurt expanded all the way to North America. However, the Frankfurt banking institutions pursued a rather conser­vative busi­­ness philosophy based on bonds and mort­­gages and for a long time left the modern industry financing to competitors from out of town. The city on the Main river, which developed a distinct culture of civic involvement and foun­da­tions promoted by wealthy bank­ing families such as Bethmann, Roth­schild, Städel, Metzler, Gontard, Sulz­bach or Erlanger, seemed to be losing some of its dynamics and importance as a finan­cial centre by the end of the 19th century. Indeed, the focus of business activities was shifting. Now the industrial age began in Frankfurt. For example, the Ad­­ler­werke (bicycles and typewriters), the abrasives company Naxos-Union and chemical companies emerging from for­­mer metals trading companies (like Me­­tallgesellschaft, Lurgi and Degussa) were established within the boundaries of Frank­furt. The chemical, electrotech­­­­ni­cal and galvanic industries, which were es­­­tablished in the second half of the 19th century just outside the city, were slowly integrated into the city through the ex­­pansion of the city limits. Frankfurt be­­came a modern industrial city within a very short period of time and continued to grow steadily. While Frankfurt had just exceeded 100,000 inhabitants in 1875, their number totalled more than 400,000 by 1910. During the age of the railway, Frankfurt, at the junction of im­­portant transregional railway lines, de­­vel­­oped into a traffic hub of European significance. The central train station opened in 1888 after a construction time of just five years and was Europe’s largest train station until the opening of the Leipzig train station in 1912.

autor_35During his career, the author has been in­­volved in work focussing on teen­agers and unemployed people as well as on se­­curing a dignified living dur­­ing old age. From 1989 to 2012, he was city coun­­cillor in Frankfurt am Main. In the So­­cial Dem­­ocratic Party, he served as deputy chair­­man of the parliamentary group from 2004 to 2012. On July 1, 2012, he took office as the Lord Mayor of the city of Frankfurt am Main.

 

The Frankfurt Messe experienced a re­­birth with the patent and copyright exhi­b­­ition in 1881. The electrotechnical trade fair in 1891, which drew worldwide atten­tion due to the first long-distance three-phase power transmission, contributed significantly to promoting Frankfurt and to the publicity of its companies. In 1909, the world’s first aerospace exhibition, the Internationale Luftschiffahrt-Ausstel­lung (international aviation exhibition, ILA), took place in Frankfurt. The 100-day trade fair marked the beginning of the successful history of the still-existing fairgrounds.

This success was rejuvenated after World War II by the biannual International Frank­­furt Fair, which for the first time took place in the autumn of 1948. It was joined by other trade fairs, such as the Interna­tional Book Fair, the International Motor Show (IAA) and the ACHEMA, just to name the most im­­por­tant ones, all of which are still held today.

As a result of the division of Germany and the relocation of the Bank deutscher Länder, which later became the Bundes­­bank (German central bank), Frankfurt once again be­­came the most important financial centre in Germany after World War II. The relatively central location with­­in the bound­­aries of the new Federal Re­­public of Germany promoted the further expan­­sion and focus of transport routes to­­wards Frankfurt via road, rail and air. The American occupation forces and their headquarters in Frankfurt and Heidel­berg may have represented a not-to-be-underestimated guarantee for safety and stability for the many foreign business people who settled in Frankfurt. Today, the finance cluster consisting of banks, insurance companies, stock exchange and related financial services as well as the logistics sector, with a workforce1 of 74,825 and 72,747 respectively (as of June 2012), are the business sectors with the largest number of employees within the city limits.

 

 

rendition.download_attachment3-kopieren Konzert_02-Kopie 12_Dino-Familienfest-6-September-2008-(3)-KopieMF-forum-Kopie

 

Thanks to its favourable location and live­­ly business transactions by well-travelled people, Frankfurt developed early on into an important news hub, long associated with the Thurn and Taxis family, which managed the imperial postal sys­­tem from Frankfurt. Electricity-based com­­munication was launched by the tele­­graph lines. In 1849, on the occasion of the National Assembly in the St. Paul’s Church, the then longest telegraph line in Europe was completed between Berlin and Frankfurt. And by 1881, Frankfurt was one of the first six cities in which a public switched telephone network was in operation.
Even today, there is no way around Frank­­furt in terms of telecommunication. The telecommunications hubs in Frankfurt – primarily Internet data transmission lines – have the highest capacity density in Europe. The information technology and telecommunication sectors employ over 27,155 people subject to social se­­curity contributions within the city limits alone; in the surrounding region, there are an additional 20,000 employees, and in the administrative district of Darm­stadt in southern Hessen, there is a total of nearly 80,000 employees. What began with a postal station is to­­day the founda­tion for one of the most important business clusters in Frank­furt and the region.

Even though only eleven per cent of the entire labour force2 (including self-em­­ployed and civil servants/as of 2010) work in the industrial sector in Frank­furt, this number nonetheless represents 69,000 people. When considering that Frankfurt has the highest workplace density among Germany’s 30 largest cities (939 employees per 1,000 inhabitants), it becomes clear why the share of the manufacturing sector in relation to the highly concentrated “stackable” office jobs in Frankfurt is so small. Bear­­­ing in mind the competition for surface area in Frankfurt, it is no surprise that the manufacturing sector is characterised by its above-average value creation and thus competitiveness.

Lastly, a significant concentration of highly specialised, transregionally and glob­­ally operating consulting services, whose highly diversified sector offers a broad consulting spectrum, is typical for a lo­­cation with extensive connections to other economic and political control cen­­tres as well as with high innovation and competitive pressure. In Frankfurt alone, this sector has 49,515 employees subject to social security contributions and many more in the surrounding areas.

TOP_Ned_Collage_Senckenberg-kopieren

Thanks to the geographic location as a starting point, thanks to political decisions, but above all, thanks to the creative force and initiative of Frankfurt’s middle class – often reinforced by spirit, enthusiasm and capital from the outside –, Frankfurt has to this day developed into an international, economic­ally dynamic and diverse city. It is par­­ti­cularly the involvement by Frankfurt’s cit­­izens that has created the cultural, social and educational infrastructure that pro­­vides the city, with its often differentiated and widely networked business sector, with the corresponding sta­­bilising backbone.

Peter Feldmann – Zentrum einer Region: Vom Flussübergang zur Weltmetropole

Lange vor der Besiedlung durch fränkische Stämme, schon in der Jungstein­zeit, gab es eine menschliche Siedlung an der Furt über den Main, die sich wahr­­scheinlich auf der Höhe des heutigen Eisernen Stegs befand. Zu Zeiten der Kelten und Römer war die Siedlung wohl weniger bedeutend, aber der Fund eines prächtigen Grabes vor einigen Jahren bei Ausgrabungen im Dom belegt den Aufstieg zur Zeit der Merowinger. Für die Karolinger war Frankfurt eine bedeutende Kaiserpfalz, die zwischen 794 und 911 nachweisbar 75-mal von den damaligen Herrschern besucht wurde. Ottonen und Salier setzten andere geografische Akzente, aber unter den Staufern wurde die Stadt etwa ab der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts wieder zu einem bedeutenden Versammlungsort und sein regionaler Jahrmarkt entwickelte sich zu einer überregionalen Messe. Spätestens ab dem 14. Jahrhundert hatte Frankfurt mit dem exklusiven zusätzlichen kaiserlich­en Messeprivileg in der Fastenzeit als Messeplatz europa­weite Bedeutung. Mit der Entdeckung der „Neuen Welt“ jenseits des Atlantiks ver­lagerten sich die Handelsströme stärker nach Norden. Frankfurt befand sich nun im Schnittpunkt wichtiger Handelsrouten. Durch die vielen Händler und den regen Warenaustausch wurde die Stadt ein be­­deutender Tauschort für Münzen und Wechsel. 

Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts war Frank­furt einer der führenden Finanzplätze im Hei­­ligen Römischen Reich. Während im Lau­­fe des 17. Jahrhunderts die Frank­furter Messe an Bedeutung gegenüber Leipzig verlor, entstanden – angestoßen durch wohlhabende Zuwanderer – bedeu­­tende Bankhäuser. Mit dem Aufstieg der Roth­schilds zu europaweit operierenden Ban­­kiers dehnte sich das Geschäft der Frank­­furter bis nach Nordamerika aus. Aber die Frankfurter Bankhäuser betrieben ein recht konservatives Geschäft mit An­­lei­hen und Hypotheken und über­lie­ßen die mo­­derne Industriefinan­zierung lange aus­­wär­­tigen Konkurrenten. Die Stadt am Main, die mit vermögenden Bankiers­fa­mi­­lien wie Bethmann, Roth­schild, Städel, Metz­­ler, Gontard, Sulzbach oder Erlanger eine­­ aus­­gesprochene Kultur des bürgerlichen En­­­ga­­gements und der Stiftungen ent­­wickelt hatten, schien gegen Ende des 19. Jahr­hun­­derts in ihrer Dy­­na­­mik und Be­­deu­­tung als Finanzplatz zu erlahmen. Tat­­­­sächlich aber verschob sich nun der Schwer­­­­punkt der wirtschaft­lich­en Aktivi­täten. Jetzt be­­­­gann auch in Frank­furt das Zeitalter der Industrie. Auf Frank­­furter Ge­­­­markung wa­­ren beispiels­­weise die Adler­werke (Fahr­­­­­räder und Schreib­ma­­schinen), die Schleif­­­mit­tel­fabrik Naxos­­-Un­ion und aus ehemaligen Metallhandels­häu­­sern Che­­mie-Unter­nehmen (zum Bei­­spiel Me­­­tall­­­­ge­sell­schaft, Lurgi, Degussa) ent­stan­­­­den. Die chemische, elektrotechnische und gal­vanische In­dustrie, die sich vor allem vor den Toren der Stadt in der zwei­­ten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts bildete, wurde nach und nach durch Erweite­run­­gen des Gebiets in die Stadt integriert. Frank­furt wandelte sich in kürzester Zeit zu einer modernen Industriestadt und wuchs beständig. Hatte Frankfurt 1875 gerade die 100.000-Einwohner-Marke über­­­schrit­­ten, so waren es 1910 schon über 400.000. Auch im Zeitalter der Ei­­sen­­bahn entwickelte sich Frankfurt am Kreu­­z­ungspunkt wichtiger überregio­naler Linien zu einem Verkehrsknoten euro­pä­­­ischen Ranges. Der nach nur fünf Jahren Bauzeit 1888 errichtete Groß­bahn­hof war bis zur Eröffnung des Leip­zigers im Jahr 1912 der größte Europas.

autor_35Der Autor engagierte sich in seiner Lauf­bahn für die Arbeit mit Jugend­lichen und arbeitslosen Menschen sowie die Sicher­stellung eines würdigen Le­­bens im Alter. Von 1989 bis 2012 war er Stadt­­verord­ne­ter in Frankfurt am Main. Er war in der SPD von 2004 bis 2012 als stell­ver­tre­ten­der Frak­tionsvorsitzender tätig. Am 01. Juli 2012 übernahm er das Amt des Ober­­bür­germeisters der Stadt Frankfurt am Main.

 

 

 

Die Messe erlebte mit der Patent- und Musterschutzausstellung 1881 ihre Re­­naissance. Die Elektrotechnische Aus­stellung von 1891, die wegen der ersten Drehstromfernübertragung weltweites Aufsehen erregte, trug einiges zur Stand­­ortwerbung Frankfurts und zur Publicity seiner Unternehmen bei. 1909 wurde in Frankfurt mit der Internationalen Luft­­schiffahrt-Ausstellung (ILA) erstmalig weltweit eine Luftfahrt-Schau durchgeführt. Mit der 100-tägigen Ausstellung begann die erfolgreiche Geschichte des bis heute bestehenden Messegeländes.An diese Erfolge konnte man nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ab Herbst 1948 mit der zweimal im Jahr stattfindenden Inter­­nationalen Frankfurter Messe anknüpfen. Hinzu kamen andere Messen wie die Internationale Buchmesse, die Interna­tionale Automobilausstellung und die ACHEMA, um nur die bedeutendsten zu nennen, die es bis heute gibt.

Wegen der deutschen Teilung und der Ansiedlung der Bank deutscher Länder – der späteren Bundesbank – wurde Frank­­furt nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wieder zum bedeutendsten Finanzplatz Deutsch­­lands. Die relativ zentrale Lage in der neuen Bundesrepublik begünstigte den weiteren Ausbau und die Ausrichtung der Verkehrswege per Straße, Schiene und Luft auf Frankfurt. Die amerikanischen Besatzungstruppen mit ihren Haupt­quartieren in Frankfurt und Heidel­­berg mögen für viele ausländische Ge­­schäfts­­leute, die sich in Frankfurt nieder­ließen, ebenfalls ein nicht zu unterschätzender Garant für Sicherheit und Stabilität ge­­wesen sein. Heute sind der Finanz-Cluster mit Banken, Versicherungen, Börse und damit verbundenen Finanz­dienst­leistun­­gen wie auch die Logistik­branchen mit knapp 74.825 beziehungsweise 72.747 Beschäftigten1 (Stand 06.2012) die be­­schäftigungsstärksten Wirt­­schafts­be­reiche im Stadtgebiet.

 

 

rendition.download_attachment3-kopieren Konzert_02-Kopie 12_Dino-Familienfest-6-September-2008-(3)-KopieMF-forum-Kopie

 

Dank seiner günstigen Lage und der regen Geschäfte weitgereister Menschen entwickelte sich Frankfurt schon früh zu einem wichtigen Nachrichtenknoten, lange Zeit eng mit dem Namen der Fa­­milie Thurn und Taxis verbunden, welche von Frankfurt aus die kaiserliche Post führ­­te. Mit den Telegrafenverbindungen be­­gann die elektrische Telekom­muni­kation. 1849 wurde wegen der National­ver­­samm­­lung in der Paulskirche die bis dahin längste Telegrafenverbindung in Europa von Berlin nach Frankfurt fertig­gestellt. Und 1881 war Frankfurt eine der ersten sechs Städte, in denen ein Fern­sprech­­netz betrieben wurde.
Auch heute führt in Sachen Telekom­munikation kein Weg an Frankfurt vorbei. Die Telekommunikationsknoten in Frank­­furt – in erster Linie Leitungen zur Daten­übertragung im Internet – stellen die größte Kapazitätendichte in Europa dar. Im Bereich der Informations­tech­no­lo­gien und Telekommunikation sind allein im Stadtgebiet über 27.155 Menschen sozial­­versicherungspflichtig beschäftigt; im näheren Umland weitere 20.000 und im südhessischen Regierungsbezirk Darm­stadt sind es insgesamt fast 80.000 Beschäftigte. Was mit einer Poststation begann, ist heute Grundlage eines der wichtigsten Wirtschafts-Cluster Frank­furts und der Region.

Auch wenn auf die Industrie Frankfurts nur noch elf Prozent der Erwerbstätigen2 (inklusive Selbstständige und Beamte/Stand 2010) fallen, so sind dies immerhin noch 69.000. Wenn man weiß, dass Frankfurt unter Deutschlands 30 größten Städten die höchste Arbeitsplatz­dichte hat (939 Erwerbstätige auf tausend Einwohner), dann ist klar, warum der Anteil des pro­du­zierenden Gewerbes in Relation zu den in der Stadt stark konzentrierten „stapel­baren“ Büroarbeits­plätzen so gering ausfällt. Bei der Flä­­chen­­konkurrenz in Frank­furt verwundert auch nicht, dass sich das produ­zie­rende Ge­­werbe hier durch seine überdurchschnitt­lich hohe Wert­schöpfung und da­­mit hohe Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit auszeichnet.

 

Schließlich ist für einen derartigen Stand­ort mit hoher Konnektivität zu weiteren wirtschaftlichen und politischen Schalt­zentralen und hohem Innovations- und Wettbewerbsdruck auch eine hohe Kon­zentration von stark spezialisierten und überregional bis global operierenden beratenden Dienstleistern typisch, deren sehr diversifizierte Branche ein breites Beratungsspektrum anbietet. Alleine in Frankfurt zählt dieses Metier schon 49.515 sozialversicherungspflichtig Be­­schäftigte und es kommen noch zahlreiche im weiteren Umland hinzu.

TOP_Ned_Collage_Senckenberg-kopieren

 

 

Dank der geografischen Lage als Aus­gangspunkt, dank politischer Entschei­dungen aber vor allem auch dank der kreativen Kraft und Initiative des Frank­furter Bürgertums – oft durch frischen Geist, Elan und Kapital von außen ge­­stärkt – hat sich Frankfurt bis zum heutigen Tag zu einer internationalen, wirtschaftlich dynamischen und vielseitigen Stadt entwickelt. Gerade das Enga­­gement der Frankfurter Bürger hat die Kultur-, Sozial- und Bildungs-Infra­struk­tur geschaffen, die der Stadt mit ihrer sehr differenzierten und weit vernetzten Wirtschaft das entsprechende stabilisierende Rückgrat verleiht.