Peter Altmaier: Global environmental protection is the objective – Renewable energies are the key

Environmental and climate protection technologies are the growth drivers of the 21st century. That is the conclusion that has been reached by various institutions such as McKinsey, Roland Berger, Deutsche Bank and heads of companies like Peter Löscher of Siemens and Jeffrey Immelt of General Electric. Today, the global market volume of environmental technologies has already reached about 1.5 trillion euros. The number is estimat­ed to be double that in as little as ten years. The following global megatrends are the reason: an unchecked global energy thirst, the related consumption of coal, oil and gas, the continually rising consumption of resources, the looming climate crisis, and a growing world population. The only way that we can face those trends is by expanding renewable energies and utilising efficiency technologies.

solarworld_07_300

Meanwhile, numerous governments have recognised the significance of climate protection. There is agreement as to the necessity to limit global warming to two degrees Celsius with respect to pre-industrial times. All that is still being discussed is by how much and by whom greenhouse gas emissions are to be reduced. Behind that lies the race for dominance in the low-carbon economy. The economic packages issued in the past two years demonstrate that very tellingly: USA have provided 115 billion US dollars for investments in the green-tech field, China almost double that with over 220 billion US dollars. South Korea has devoted over 80 per cent of the economic package to green measures and announced the goal to be among the seven leading “green” economic powers by 2020.

spl_01_300

Germany holds an excellent starting position in that regard: as export world champion in the field of environmental technologies, it accounts for 16 per cent of the world market, the largest proportion of all industrial countries; the volume translates as 224 billion euros. This is where the future jobs are. Now­adays, 1.8 million people already work in the field of environmental technologies in Germany, thereof 340,000 alone in the renewable energy sector. Esti­mates fore­­­see about 800,000 new jobs in green services and 500,000 in energy efficiency by 2020. Moreover, since investments in green energy technologies are made not only here but also in the rest of the world, new sales markets are opening up. In 2010 alone, about 150 billion US dollars were invested worldwide in the new capacities of renewable energies.
The location of Germany profits from that as well: as early as 2009, foreign business earned the sector overall revenues of about twelve billion euros, and the trend is upward. Wind and hydro power industries are lead­­ing: their export ratios are at 80 per cent. While companies from USA, China, India and Japan are increasingly penetrating the market, renewable tech­­nologies made in Germany continue to enjoy an excellent worldwide reputation. The challenge now is to maintain that edge.

That is why the energy concept of the federal government stipulates that, by 2030, 30 per cent, and by 2050, 60 per cent of the gross end-user energy re­­quire­­ment in Germany shall be covered by renewable energies. The power gener­ation objectives are even more ambitious: double the RE proportion to 35 per cent by 2020, and further increase it to 50 per cent by 2030 and 80 per cent by 2050. Those targets compel companies and poli­­ticians to boost investments in research and development and incentivise further innovations. Our Renew­able Energy Sources Act (EEG) already provides us with an efficient instrument, which ensures good investment conditions. With the special fund provisions enacted within the framework of the ener­­gy concept in the autumn of 2010, the federal government has provided addi­­tional means. All players are requested to bring environmental protection, climate protection, conservation of resources as well as energy and supply security down to a common denominator.

ea012_300

The transformation of our energy system towards renewable energies and the pro­­tec­­tion of the global climate are two key pillars of a policy for sustainable develop­­ment. However, nature conservancy, bio­­diversity protection, and the improve pro­­tection ment of resource efficiency are also central concerns when it comes to prepar­­ing Germany for the future. In that regard, international cooperation increasingly mat­­ters. The promotion of solar power projects in North Africa is a particularly important example. On the one hand, the growing energy requirement in North Africa is to be covered efficiently and with considera­tion for the climate in doing so, and on the other hand, solar power is to be imported to Europe in order to support the expansion of renewables in the member states.

The federal government supports business­es in getting established in the markets of the future and improving local living conditions with environmental technolo­gies while contributing to environmental and climate protection. Germany’s strong competitive position on the growing mar­­ket of climate and environmental techno­­logies is also due to our pioneering role in environmental policy.

Laufwasserkraftwerk_ID38846_300dpi

By means of var­­ious instruments such as emission trading, a market incentive programme as well as regulatory law, such as the energy conservation regula­tion, and combined instruments like the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG), the government can achieve a great deal. The EEG, in particular, has proven itself and serves as a model for comparable regu­lations in over 50 countries and in 20 EU member states.

However, even in the field of renewable energies, we are faced with further chal­­len­­ges. The quick expansion and conver­sion of power grids is a central condition for the transformation of the energy sup­­ply. In parallel, the development of stor­­age tech­­nologies must be pursued so that the needs can be met in the face of the partially fluctuating power gener­a­tion from renewable sources in addition to consider­­ably lower proportions of con­­ventional power. Efficiency technologies must contribute to lowering the overall power and heat re­­­­quirements. By means of the special climate protection fund, the federal government will further support those activities in order to quickly pave the way for the regenerative era.
Finally, it will matter that people go along on this path towards the regenerative era. That relates to private consumption as well as the expansion of grids and the installation of energy generation and storage facilities. Our starting position is good, for the acceptance of renewable energies is very high in Germany: about 90 per cent of the population welcomes the expansion of the infrastructure. How­­ever, it does not suffice to rely on that. Instead, planners as well as industry and politicians are encouraged to involve the population in the decision-making at an early stage, pay genuine attention, and find optimal compromises for all. An important characteristic of the location of Germany is the investment security. All players must make sure that investment decisions are made on a sound basis, which means reliably and with great transparency. That democratic process is one of Germany’s strengths, which will pre­­vail in the long term when it comes to accomplishing the transformation towards renewable energies on a global scale.

av004_300

Participating in the markets of the fu­­ture involves investing in resource con­serva­tion as well as environmental and climate protection and, thus, in renewable ener­­gies and energy efficiency. Em­­barking on the path towards the regenerative era requires a continuous commitment from all players. The point is to overcome the present-day relevance of our actions and to give serious consideration to the consequences of present actions on the future. The vision of nearly fully basing our energy supply on regenerative energies by 2050 is not only realis

 

Altmaier_2010The author is the federal minister for the environment, nature conservancy and re­­­­­actor safety. He studied law at the university of Saarbrücken. From 2005 to 2009, he was the permanent par­­­­­­­­lia­­­men­tary secretary to the Federal Minis­­­try of the Interior and has been President of the Europa-Union Deutschland since 2006. In 2009, he was appointed the chief parlia­­­mentary secretary of the CDU/CSU group in the Bundestag.

Peter Altmaier: Weltweiter Umweltschutz heißt das Ziel – Erneuerbare Energien sind der Schlüssel

Technologien für den Umwelt- und Klima­­schutz sind die Wachstumstreiber des 21. Jahrhunderts. Zu diesem Schluss kommen so unterschiedliche Institu­tio­­nen wie McKinsey, Roland Berger, die Deutsche Bank oder Unternehmensführer wie Peter Löscher von Siemens und Jeffrey Immelt von General Electric. Schon heute liegt das Weltmarktvolumen der Umwelt­tech­­nologie bei rund 1.5 Billionen Euro. Schon in zehn Jahren wird es sich nach Schät­­zungen verdoppelt haben. Der Grund sind globale Megatrends: ungebremster weltweiter Energiehunger, damit verbun­­dener Verbrauch von Kohle, Öl und Gas, weiterhin steigender Ressourcen­ver­brauch, die drohende Klimakrise sowie die wach­­sende Weltbevölkerung. Diesen Trends können wir nur durch den Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien und die Anwen­­dung von Effizienztechnologien begegnen.

solarworld_07_300

Die Bedeutung des Klimaschutzes ist mitt­­lerweile von vielen Regierungen erkannt worden. Es besteht Einigkeit, dass es darum geht, die globale Erwärmung auf zwei Grad Celsius gegenüber vorindustriellen Zeiten zu begrenzen. Nur darüber, wer wie viel Treibhausgasemissionen redu­­zieren soll, wird noch diskutiert. Hintergrund ist der Wettlauf um die Vor­­herrschaft in der Low-Carbon-Economy. Die in den vergangenen zwei Jahren aufgelegten Konjunkturpakete zeigen dies sehr eindrucksvoll: Die USA stellten rund 115 Milliarden US-Dollar für Investitionen im Bereich GreenTech bereit, China mit über 220 Milliarden US-Dollar etwa dop­­pelt so viel. In Südkorea wurden mehr als 80 Prozent des Konjunkturpakets grünen Maßnahmen zugeschrieben und das Ziel verkündet, bis zum Jahr 2020 zu einer der sieben führenden „grünen“ Wirt­schafts­­mächte zu gehören.

spl_01_300

Deutschland hat dabei eine sehr gute Ausgangsposition: Als Export­welt­meister im Bereich der Umwelttechnologien haben wir mit 16 Prozent den größten Anteil aller Industrieländer am Weltmarkt, das ist ein Volumen von umgerechnet 224 Milliarden Euro. Hier liegen die Arbeits­plätze der Zukunft. Heute arbeiten in Deutschland schon 1,8 Millionen Men­schen auf dem Feld der Umwelt­tech­no­­logien, davon allein 340.000 im Bereich der erneuerbaren Ener­­gien. Schätzungen rechnen bis 2020 für grüne Dienst­leis­tungen mit rund 800.000 und bei der Energieeffizienz mit circa 500.000 neuen Arbeitsplätzen. Und weil nicht nur hierzulande, sondern auch welt­­weit in grüne Energietechnik investiert wird, eröffnen sich neue Absatzmärkte. Allein 2010 wur­­den weltweit etwa 150 Milliarden US-Dollar in neue Kapazitäten der erneuer­­baren Energien investiert. Davon profitiert auch der Standort Deutschland: Insgesamt bescherte das Auslandsgeschäft der Branche bereits im Jahr 2009 Einnahmen von etwa 12 Milliarden Euro, Tendenz steigend.
Wind- und Wasserkraftindustrie sind dabei führend: Ihre Exportquoten liegen bei rund 80 Prozent. Zwar drängen auch Unter­neh­­­men aus den USA, China, Indien und Japan verstärkt in den Markt, aber erneuerbare Technologien made in Germany haben weltweit weiterhin einen sehr guten Ruf. Jetzt gilt es, diesen Vorsprung zu halten.

Deshalb hat die Bundesregierung im Energiekonzept festgelegt, dass bis 2030 30 Prozent und bis 2050 rund 60 Prozent des Bruttoendenergiebedarfs in Deutschland aus erneuerbaren Energien gedeckt werden sollen. Die Ziele für die Stromerzeugung sind noch ambitionierter: Verdopplung des EE-Anteils auf 35 Prozent bis 2020, sowie weitere Steigerung auf 50 Prozent bis 2030 und 80 Prozent bis 2050. Diese Zielsetzungen verpflichten Wirtschaft und Politik, Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung zu stärken und weitere Inno­­vationen anzureizen. Mit dem Erneuer­bare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG) haben wir bereits ein effizientes Instrument, das sehr gute Investitionsbedingungen sichert. Mit dem Sondervermögen, dessen Einrichtung im Rahmen des Energiekonzepts im Herbst 2010 beschlossen wurde, stellt die Bundes­­regierung zusätzliche Mittel bereit. Alle Akteure sind gefragt, wenn es darum geht, Umweltschutz, Klimaschutz, Ressourcen­­schutz und Energie- und Versorgungs­sicher­­heit auf einen Nenner zu bringen.

ea012_300

Die Transformation unseres Energie­sys­­tems hin zu erneuerbaren Energien und der Schutz des globalen Klimas sind zwei wichtige Säulen einer Politik für eine nach­­haltige Entwicklung. Aber auch der Natur­­schutz, der Schutz der Bio­diver­sität und die Erhöhung der Ressourcen­effizienz sind zentrale Anliegen, wenn es darum geht, Deutschland für die Zukunft fit zu machen. Dabei kommt es immer mehr auf internationale Kooperation an. Ein besonders wichtiges Beispiel ist die Förderung von Solarstromprojekten in Nordafrika. Damit soll einerseits der wach­­sende Energiebedarf in Nordafrika effizient und auf klimaschonende Weise gedeckt werden und anderer­­seits Solarstrom nach Europa importiert werden, um den Aus­­bau der Erneuer­baren in den Mitglied­staaten zu unterstützen.
Die Bundesregierung unterstützt die Wirt­­schaft darin, in den Märkten der Zukunft Fuß zu fassen und mit Umwelt­tech­no­logien die Lebenssituation vor Ort zu verbessern und zum Umwelt- und Klima­­schutz beizutragen. Die starke deutsche Wettbewerbsposition auf dem wachsen­den Markt der Klima- und Umwelt­tech­no­lo­gien ist auch unserer Vorreiterrolle in der Umwelt­­politik zu verdanken. Mit ver­­schiedensten Instrumenten wie dem Emissionshandel, einem Programm für Marktanreize, aber auch dem Ordnungs­­recht, zum Beispiel in Form der Energie­­einsparverordnung und kombinierten Ins­­tru­­menten wie dem Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG), kann Politik viel erreichen. Gerade das EEG hat sich bewährt und dient in über 50 Ländern sowie in der EU in 20 Mitglied­staaten als Vorbild für vergleichbare Regelungen.

Laufwasserkraftwerk_ID38846_300dpi

Doch wir stehen auch im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien vor weiteren Her­­aus­­forderungen. Der zügige Aus- und Umbau der Stromnetze ist eine zentrale Voraussetzung für die Transformation der Energieversorgung. Parallel dazu muss die Entwicklung von Speicher­tech­no­lo­gien fortgesetzt werden, um mit der zum Teil fluktuierenden Stromerzeugung aus er­­neu­­erbaren Quellen auch bei deutlich sinken­­den Anteilen kon­­ventionellen Stroms den Bedarf decken zu können. Effizienz­tech­­nologien müssen helfen, den Strom- und Wärmebedarf ins­­gesamt zu senken. Mithilfe des Sonder­vermögens Klimaschutz wird die Bundes­­regierung diese Aktivitäten zusätzlich unterstützen, um rasch den Weg ins regenerative Zeitalter zu ebnen.

Und schließlich wird es darauf ankommen, dass die Menschen diesen Weg in das erneuerbare Zeitalter mitgehen. Das gilt für den privaten Konsum, aber auch, wenn es um den Ausbau von Netzen und die Errichtung von Anlagen zur Gewin­nung und Speicherung von Energie geht. Die Ausgangslage dafür ist gut, da die Akzep­­tanz erneuerbarer Energien in Deutsch­land sehr hoch ist: Mehr als 90 Prozent der Bevöl­kerung begrüßen den Ausbau der Infra­­struktur. Es reicht je­­doch nicht aus, sich darauf zu verlassen. Viel­mehr sind Plane­­rinnen und Planer, aber auch Industrie und Politik aufgefordert, die Bevöl­ke­rung frühzeitig in Ent­schei­dungsprozesse ein­­zubinden, ernsthaft zuzuhören und best­­mögliche Kom­pro­misse für alle zu finden. Ein wich­­tiges Merkmal des Standorts Deutsch­land ist die Investitions­sicher­heit. Alle Be­­tei­­lig­ten müssen dafür sorgen, dass Inves­­titions­entscheidungen auf guter Grund­­lage und das heißt: auf verlässlicher Basis und mit großer Transparenz getroffen werden. Dieser demokratische Prozess ist eine Stärke Deutschlands, die sich lang­­fris­tig durchsetzen wird, wenn es darum geht, weltweit die Transformation hin zu erneu­­er­­baren Energien zu vollziehen.

av004_300

Wer an den Märkten der Zukunft teil­haben will, muss auf Ressourcen-, Umwelt- und Klimaschutz und damit auf erneuer­bare Energien und Energie­effizienz setzen. Der eingeschlagene Weg in das regenerative Zeitalter erfordert dabei ein gleichbleibend hohes Engagement aller Beteiligten. Es geht darum, die Gegenwarts­bezogen­heit unseres Handelns zu überwinden und die Folgen unseres heutigen Handelns für die Zukunft als entscheidenden Maß­­stab in den Blick zu nehmen. Es ist eine realis­tische und notwendige Vision, dass wir im Jahr 2050 unsere Energie­versorgung nahezu vollständig auf regenerative Ener­­gien stützen werden. Das können, das müssen wir erreichen – zum Wohle unserer Kinder und Enkel.

 

Altmaier_2010Der Autor ist Bundesminister für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit. Er studierte Rechtswissen­­­schaft an der Uni­­­­­versität Saarbrücken. Von 2005 bis 2009 war er Parlamen­ta­rischer Staats­­sekretär im Bundesminis­terium des Innern sowie seit 2006 Prä­­­­­­­­si­­dent der Europa-Union Deutschland. 2009 wurde er zum Ersten Parlamentarischen Ge­­­­­­­schäftsführer der CDU/CSU-Bundes­­­tagsfraktion ernannt.