Norbert Steiner: Germany needs secure, long-term supplies of raw materials

An economy which is intended to function over the long term depends on raw materials. Economic success and prosperity are based to a large extent on the use of raw materials. Problems with the availability of raw materials can result in serious after-effects on industrial added value and hence on employment, growth and investment in Germany.

kalibergbau-11

Secure supplies of and free access to raw materials are crucial for competitiveness in Germany. At the same time, it is easy to overlook the fact that this does not concern just the mining of deposits in Asia, South America or Africa; Germany it­­self has its own raw materials to offer. But in order to obtain these resources, assistance from society and the state are essential.
In the current debate on the supply of raw materials to the German economy, metal-based raw materials – which have to be imported to a large extent – and energy feedstock are both in the public eye. By contrast, attention has scarcely been paid to the necessity of access to local sources of raw ma­­te­­rials, yet Ger­many’s raw ma­­te­rials in­­dus­­try is one of the main­­stays of its economy.

Kalibergbau-10

German industry de­­pends on suitable and fair basic conditions for se­­cure access to raw materials. This ap­­plies both to obtaining raw materials from abroad and to the use of locally-sourced raw materials. The real net output ratio is enormous, especially in the German potash and salt industry. The salt obtained from salt mines in Germany is used for a wide range of essential products for private, commercial and industrial uses. The range of uses of these products, which are also integral parts of our lives, is extraordinarily broad: potash and mag­­nesium fertilizers, which are essential for healthy plant growth, help to significantly increase agricultural crop yields in order to feed a heavily growing world population.
Whether it’s salt for one’s egg at breakfast, use as a highly pure preservative, medical infusion solutions, industrial and commercial salts used among other things to soften water and to manufacture plastics, aluminium and glass or road salt for use on roads in winter, the products of Germany’s potash and salt industry are much sought-after worldwide.

getreideernte

Apart from rock salt and potassium salts, Germany is also one of the world’s major producers of other raw materials such as lignite and chain clay (used to make clay and porcelain products). Germany is even able to supply all its requirements for sand, gravel, clay, chalk and gypsum. Every year, some 1.2 billion tonnes of raw materials are processed in Germany. Locally produced raw materials make Germany independent of imports while others are key export products, and all create jobs. With 200,000 employees in over 6.000 companies earning total sales of some 43 billion euros, Germany’s raw materials industry makes an important contribution to Germany’s national economy. A total of up to six million people are employed in the entire raw materials added value chain right up to the finished product.

Salzprodukte-6

The high level of awareness of energy and major industrial raw materials of which Germany has only insufficient reserves, is appropriate and important. But we need the knowledge that Germany can think itself lucky to have raw materials that make it independent and which are in demand abroad. The local raw materials market should receive the corresponding political and social attention and support.

steinerThe author (born 1954) studied law at the University of Heidelberg. He is chair­­man of K+S Aktiengesellschaft and a member of the Raw Materials Committee of the Federation of German Industries (BDI).

Norbert Steiner: Deutschland braucht eine langfristige Rohstoffsicherung

Eine nachhaltig funktionierende Volks­­wirtschaft ist auf Rohstoffe angewiesen. Wirtschaftlicher Erfolg und Wohl­­stand beruhen in hohem Maße auf der Nut­­zung von Rohstoffen. Beein­­träch­­ti­­gun­­­­gen bei der Verfügbarkeit von Roh­stoffen können schwerwiegende Aus­­wir­­kungen auf die industrielle Wert­­schöpf­­ung und damit auch auf Be­­schäftigung, Wachs­­tum und Investi­­tio­­nen am Standort Deut­­sch­­land zur Folge haben.

kalibergbau-11

Die sichere Versorgung und ein freier Zugang zu Rohstoffen sind entscheidend für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Pro­­duk­­tionsstandortes Deutschland. Da­­bei wird schnell übersehen, dass es nicht nur um den Abbau von Lager­­stätten in Asien, Südamerika oder Afrika geht. Deutschland bietet selbst eigene Rohstoffe. Für die Gewinnung dieser Ressourcen ist die Unterstützung aus Gesellschaft und Politik notwendig.

In der aktuellen Dis­­kus­­sion über die Roh­­stoff­­versorgung der deutschen Wirt­­schaft stehen neben den Energie­­roh­­­­stof­­fen vor allem metallische Roh­­stoffe, die weit­­gehend importiert werden müssen, im öffentlichen Fokus. Die Not­­­­wen­­dig­­keit des Zugangs zu heimischen Roh­­stoff­­­­quellen wird dagegen kaum be­­achtet. Dabei ist die Rohstoff­­wirt­­schaft Deutsch­­lands eine tragende Säule der Volkswir­­t­­schaft.

Kalibergbau-10

Für die sichere Versorgung mit Roh­­stoffen ist die deutsche Industrie auf geeignete und faire Rahmen­­be­­ding­­un­­gen angewiesen. Dies gilt zum einen für den Bezug von Rohstoffen aus dem Aus­­land, zum anderen aber eben auch für die Nutzung von in Deutschland ge­­winn­­baren Rohstoffen. Die Wert­­schöp­f­­­­ungs­­tiefe ist vor allem in der deutschen Kali- und Salzindustrie enorm. Aus den in Deutschland unter Tage ge­­won­­nenen Salzen ent­­steht eine breite und un­­ver­zichtbare Palette von Produkten für private, gewerbliche und industrielle Anwendungen. Die Vielfalt dieser Pro­dukte, die zu­­gleich elementare Be­­stand­­­­teile unseres Lebens sind, ist dabei außerordentlich groß: Kali- und Magne­­si­­umdüngemittel, die für gesundes Pflan­z­­enwachstum un­­verzichtbar sind, helfen dabei, die Er­­träge in der Land­­wirt­­schaft signifikant zu steigern, um eine stark wachsende Welt­­be­­völkerung künftig ernähren zu können.

getreideernte

Die Produkte der deutschen Kali- und Salzindustrie werden weltweit stark nachgefragt.
Ob Salz für das Frühstücksei, als Kon­­ser­­­­vierungsstoff oder als Pharma­­salz in hoch­­reiner Qualität für In­­fu­­s­­ions­­lö­­sun­­gen, In­­dus­­trie- und Gewer­­be­­salze, die unter anderem für die Wasser­­ent­­härtung sowie für die Kunststoff-, Aluminium- oder zur Glasher­stellung benötigt werden, und Auftausalz für die Sicherheit auf winterlichen Straßen.

Neben Stein- und Kalisalzen gehört Deutschland auch bei anderen Roh­­­­s­t­­offen wie Braunkohle und Kaolin (für die Herstellung von Ton- und Porzell­­an­­­­pro­­dukten notwendig) zu den weltweit größten Produzenten. Auch bei Sand, Kies, Ton, Kalk- und Gipsstein können wir unseren Bedarf selbst decken. Jährlich werden in Deutschland rund 1,2 Milliarden Tonnen an Rohstoffen verarbeitet. Die heimischen Rohstoffe machen uns un­­abhängiger von Im­­por­­ten, sind zum Teil Exportschlager und schaffen Ar­­beitsplätze: Mit 200.000 Beschäftigten in mehr als 6.000 Be­­trieben, die zu­­sammen einen Umsatz von etwa 43 Milliarden Euro erwirtschaf­­ten, leistet die deutsche Roh­­stoff­­­in­­­­dus­­trie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur volkswirtschaftlichen Gesamt­­rech­­nung. In der gesamten Roh­­stoff­­wert­­schöpf­­ungs­­­­kette bis zum fertigen Produkt sind hierzulande sogar bis zu sechs Millionen Men­­schen be­­schäftigt.

Salzprodukte-6

Die hohe Aufmerksamkeit auf Energie- und wichtige Industrierohstoffe, bei denen Deutschland nicht über ausreichende Vor­­kommen verfügt, ist richtig und wichtig. Aber wir brauchen wieder das Wissen darüber, dass Deutschland sich glücklich schätzen kann, über heimische Rohstoffe zu verfügen, die unabhängig machen und im Ausland gefragt sind. Daher sollte der heimische Roh­­stoff­­markt die entspre­ch­­en­­de politische und gesell­­schaftliche Auf­­merksamkeit sowie Für­­sprache erhalten.

steinerDer Autor (Jahrgang 1954) studier­te Rechtswissenschaften an der Uni­­versität Heidelberg. Er ist Vorstands­vorsitzender der K+S Aktiengesellschaft und Mitglied im Ausschuss Rohstoffpolitik des Bundes­­verbandes der deutschen Industrie (BDI).