Norbert Kadau – A seal of approval for entrepreneurs

The number of business start-ups supported by Bürgschaftsbank Hessen is growing year on year. 2012 saw us collateralise 145 start-up projects with an average credit volume of around 240,000 euros. And our entrepreneurs are ex­­tremely successful: the proportion of those who have to close down again is just two per cent per year. This is very different to the proportion among other start-up projects in Germany. According to the Start-up Monitor published by the KfW in May 2013, almost one in every three entrepreneurs (31 per cent) had to give up their business between 2005 and 2012. But why is the chance of success so much higher for entrepreneurs who are supported by a security or guarantee from Bürgschaftsbank Hessen?


Körperkonzept

The answer is clear: anyone who wants to receive a credit security from Bürg­­schafts­­bank Hessen must first pass through a process of assistance and demands. Our consultants and those of the network of chambers and associations we work with provide the applicants with advice and practical help. At the same time, their start-up plans are subjected to strict quality controls. This review of the project helps the entrepreneurs to make realistic plans. As a result, those who go on to receive funding from the BBH have a very high probability of success.


Sabine_Schmitt_apfelgrün

There are two ways to obtain a security. Applicants who have a confident relationship with their bank should first pre­­sent their plans to them. If the project receives a good reception there, the issue of credit collateral will soon be raised. Entrepreneurs who are unable to provide enough collateral themselves need a part­­ner. As long as the collateralisation needed is not higher than 1.25 million euros, this is where the Bürgschaftsbank comes in. Our role begins much earlier in the second option, for entrepreneurs who have not yet built up a relationship with their bank – they can approach us with their business idea directly via the “Bürgschaft ohne Bank” (security without a bank, BoB) programme. If, once we have examined the plans, we agree to provide a security, the entrepreneur then takes this to a bank of his choice. The bank then finds it much easier to provide credit, as it knows that the concept has already stood up to scrutiny from a competent institution and is excellently collateralised, should it fail despite this. In most cases, this security also leads to better credit conditions.

The retail and service sectors were way out in front in 2012, with 39 entrepreneurs each. One of these was Julian Zimmermann, who took over the old-established company terranova Zimmer­­mann Touristik KG in Zeppelinheim in January 2012 – after over ten years on the staff, he is now the boss. terranova’s holidays are designed entirely independently to a high standard for demanding clients. In summer it is cycling tours that attract the most customers, while winter is the season for long-haul and cultural trips. The average customer is in his or her mid-fifties with a high level of education and a large income, and around 60 per cent are returning customers. These are also the people that bring in 70 per cent of new customers through word of mouth. In fact, terranova claims to have customers who have booked over 70 holidays through the company.


Mulke_Mutter-&-Tochter_-ESB-Jaguar

However, even successful companies have to face up to the challenge of generational change at some point. For the three Uhlig children, the second gener­­ation of the family who founded the busi­­ness 32 years ago, taking the company on was not an option. But it was for one of their staff, Julian Zimmermann, who holds a degree in Geography, majoring in Economics and Tourism. He joined terranova as far back as 2001 and was grad­­ually prepared for the take­­over of the company over the course of the last few years. He therefore does not need to worry about problems with the business, and both the family and the staff also see the change at the top as a very positive step. However, Zim­­mermann had neither the capital nor the collateral he needed to finance the takeover, so he contacted Bürgschafts­bank Hessen, who checked the plans thoroughly be­­fore offering him a security through the Bürgschaft ohne Bank programme. “The process was consistent and transparent, and both sides laid all their cards on the table,” says Zimmermann, looking back positively.

The same could be said by Antje Vetter, who was able to take over a physiotherapy practice in Mar­­­­burg; Chris­­tine Mulke, who founded her own business for organic potted herbs attached to her parents’ nursery in Wiesbaden; Giorgio De Luca, who was able to take over the ESB Auto­­klinik in Frankfurt; and Sabine Schmitt, who gave Frank­­furt’s Nordend a boost with her boutique Apfelgrün. Without the collateral provided by Bürg­­schafts­­bank Hessen, many of these businesses might not exist. By August 2013, BBH had al­­ready helped 85 entrepreneurs in Hes­­sen to make the leap to starting their own business. Once again, the front runner is the service industry. In the future, we at Bürg­­schafts­­bank Hessen will con­­tinue to do everything we can to support the start-up scene in Hessen.

Norbert_KadauThe forty-year career of this qualified bank clerk has included positions at a savings bank and a regional state bank. He has experience in the credit business, including over 30 years in corpor­ate banking. He has been managing director of Bürgschaftsbank Hessen since 1991 and his responsibilities are focused on the business fields of retail, industry, transport and the service sector.

Norbert Kadau – Ein Gütesiegel für Existenzgründer

Die Zahl der von der Bürgschaftsbank Hessen begleiteten Existenzgründungen steigt von Jahr zu Jahr: 2012 besicherten wir insgesamt 145 Gründungsvorhaben mit einem durchschnittlichen Kredit­vo­lumen von rund 240.000 Euro. Dabei sind unsere Gründer extrem erfolgreich: Die Quote derer, die ihre Pforten wieder schließen mussten, liegt pro Jahr bei gerade einmal zwei Prozent. Ganz an­­ders sieht das bei allen Grün­­dungs­­vor­­haben in Deutschland aus: Laut Grün­dungsmonitor, den die KfW im Mai 2013 herausgegeben hat, mussten von allen Gründern zwischen 2005 und 2012 bei­­nahe jeder Dritte (31 Prozent) aufgeben. Woran liegt es, dass Gründer, deren Vor­­haben von einer Bürgschaft oder Ga­­rantie der Bürgschaftsbank Hessen be­­gleitet werden, so viel höhere Erfolgs­­chancen haben?


Körperkonzept

Die Antwort liegt auf der Hand: Wer von der Bürgschaftsbank Hessen eine Kre­­dit­­bürgschaft bekommen möchte, durchläuft zunächst einen Prozess des För­­derns und Forderns: Die Berater unseres Hauses und des mit uns verbundenen Netzwerks aus Kammern und Ver­­bän­­den stehen den An­­tragstellern mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Gleichzeitig unterziehen sie deren Grün­­dungs­­vorhaben einer strengen Qualitäts­kontrolle. Die Prüfung der Vor­­haben hilft den Existenzgründern, realis­­tisch zu planen. Daraus resultiert: Wer es schafft, von der BBH gefördert zu werden, hat eine sehr hohe Erfolgs­wahr­­schein­lich­keit.


Sabine_Schmitt_apfelgrün

Zwei Wege können zu einer Bürgschaft führen: Antragsteller, die ein vertrauens­­volles Verhältnis zu ihrer Bank pflegen, sollten mit ihrem Anliegen zunächst dort vorsprechen. Stößt das Projekt dort auf Zuspruch, wird bald das Thema Kre­­dit­­sicherheiten aufkommen. Gründer, die diese nicht selbst in ausreichendem Um­­fang stellen können, brauchen einen Partner. Hier kommt, falls der Absiche­­rungsbedarf den Betrag von 1,25 Milli­­onen Euro nicht übersteigt, die Bürg­­schaftsbank ins Spiel. Das ist bei dem zweiten Weg für Gründer, die noch keine Beziehung zu einer Hausbank aufgebaut haben, viel früher der Fall; diese können nämlich über das Programm Bürgschaft ohne Bank, kurz BoB, mit ihrer Ge­­schäfts­­idee direkt zu uns kommen. Kommt es, nach erfolgreicher Prüfung, zu einer Bürg­­schaftszusage, geht der Gründer damit zu einer Bank seiner Wahl. Diese tut sich mit der Kreditvergabe nun viel leichter, denn sie weiß, dass das Konzept be­­reits der Über­­prüfung durch eine kompetente Insti­tu­tion standgehalten hat und erstklassig besichert ist, sollte es dennoch scheitern. In den meisten Fällen führt diese Sicherheit auch zu besseren Kredit­­be­din­­gungen.

Mit jeweils 39 Gründern lagen im Jahr 2012 die Bereiche Handel und Dienstleistung deutlich an der Spitze. Einer von ihnen war Julian Zimmermann, seit Januar 2012 Inhaber der alteingesessenen terranova Zimmermann Touristik KG in Zeppelin­­heim – nach über zehn Jahren als Mi­t­­arbeiter ist er nun der Chef. Die Reisen von terranova sind in kompletter Eigen­­regie für ein anspruchsvolles Publikum auf hohem Niveau konzipiert. Im Som­­mer ziehen Radtouren die meisten Kun­­den an, im Winter eher Fern- und Kul­­tur­­reisen. Einkommensstarke Mittfünfziger mit hohem Bildungsniveau, zu 60 Pro­­zent Wiederholungstäter, prägen das Bild des durchschnittlichen Kunden. Sie sind es auch, die durch ihre Empfehlung 70 Prozent der Neukunden mitbringen. Es soll sogar Kunden geben, die an über 70 Reisen von terranova teilgenommen haben.


Mulke_Mutter-&-Tochter_-ESB-Jaguar

Aber auch erfolgreiche Unternehmen müs­­sen irgendwann die Hürde des Ge­­ne­­rationenwechsels überwinden. Die drei Kinder des Ehepaars Uhlig, Gründer des Geschäfts vor 32 Jahren, kamen für eine Nachfolge nicht in Frage, wohl aber Julian Zimmermann. Der diplomierte Geograf mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaft und Touristik war bereits 2001 zu terranova gekommen und wurde seit einigen Jah­­ren konsequent auf die Übernahme der Firma vorbereitet. Probleme fachlicher Natur hatte er daher nicht zu erwarten, auch das familiäre Umfeld und die Be­­legschaft bewerteten den Wechsel an der Spitze sehr positiv. Doch Zimmer­­mann hatte weder das Kapital noch die Sicherheiten, die Übernahme zu finanzieren. Also wandte er sich an die Bürg­­schaftsbank Hessen, die ihm nach eingehender Prüfung eine Bürgschaft über das Programm Bürgschaft ohne Bank anbot. „Es war ein konsequenter und transparenter Prozess, bei dem stets mit offenen Karten gespielt wurde“, so Zimmermanns positive Rückschau.
Ebenso erging es Antje Vetter, die eine Praxis für Physiotherapie in Marburg übernehmen konnte, Christine Mulke, die angehängt an die elterliche Gärtnerei in Wiesbaden einen eigenen Betrieb für biologische Topfkräuter gründete, Giorgio De Luca, der die ESB Autoklinik in Frank­­furt übernehmen konnte, oder Sabine Schmitt, die das Frankfurter Nordend durch die Boutique Apfelgrün bereicherte. All diese Betriebe mit all ihren Arbeits­­plätzen würde es ohne die Sicherheit der Bürgschaftsbank Hessen vielleicht nicht geben. Bis August des Jahres 2013 hatte die BBH bereits 85 hessischen Gründern den Sprung in die Selbständigkeit ermöglicht und wieder hatte das Dienstleistungsgewerbe die Nase ganz vorn. Auch in Zukunft werden wir von der Bürgschaftsbank Hes­­sen unser Möglichstes dazu beitragen, die hessische Gründerszene zu unterstützen.

Norbert_KadauDer gelernte Bankkaufmann war in sei­­ner 40-jährigen Dienstzeit unter anderem bei einer Sparkasse und einer Landes­­bank tätig. Er verfügt über Erfahrungen im Kreditgeschäft, davon mehr als 30 Jahre im Firmenkundengeschäft. Seit 1991 ist er Geschäftsführer der Bürg­schafts­bank Hessen GmbH und schwer­­­punktmäßig zuständig für die Wirt­­schafts­­bereiche Handel, Industrie, Verkehr und den Dienstleistungssektor.