Nina Prigge & Sören Mohr: IT in Schleswig-Holstein – A field is formed

Whether at the North Frisian coast or in the county’s cities, where internet use is concerned, the people of Schles­­wig-Holstein are positioned right at the front. A good 70 per cent of the popu­la­­tion in the time being makes use of the virtual net. Schleswig-Hol­stein oc­­cu­­pies the third place in the countries ranking for areas of low pop­­ulation and the sixth place altogether. This statistic indicates what other num­­­bers point towards: not only rapeseed is growing rapidly in Schleswig-Hol­­stein, but also lively IT and media fields. From 1990 up until this day, the num­­­ber of IT and media companies has tripled and risen to around 15,000. With a portion of 20 per cent in the service area, in the time being, they count towards the most im­­portant lines of business in the state.

Yet not only the quantity, but also the quality is convincing: the Schles­­wig-Hol­­stein IT company c.a.r.u.s HMS GmbH is currently developing a new software programme to the name of “ViSoR – Virtual Screening optimizing the Reali­­ty” and in this venture is sup­­ported by the state’s Zukunfts­pro­gramm Wirt­­schaft. Through computer-supported calculation operations, “ViSoR” shall signi­­ficantly simplify and speed up the de­­­ve­­lopment of new me­­dication in the future.

b+m Informatik AG from Melsdorf at­­tracted a lot of interest towards the end of the year 2008 at the “Medica” – the world-largest exhibition in the medical field – with its product “b+m op manager”. The software supports out-patient operation room centres, op­­ti­­mizes calendar and resources management and breaks down overcapa­­city, which is unavoidable in times of increasing financial pressure within the health sector.

 

b+m-health

The IT company b+m Informatik AG develops innovative software for the medical field.

In comparison, another IT company in Schleswig-Holstein is successful in the banking and insurance sectors: over 600 German banks have already in­­te­­grated the VISOR computer check by the company Coronic in Kiel into their online-banking services. This check al­­lows clients to be able to make sure that their internet connection is secure, be­­fore carrying out financial business on the internet. Knowing about the flaws and potentials of the medium internet also aided the Schleswig-Holstein com­­pany Cliplister in its path to success. The 2007 founded company meanwhile is at the top of the European market in the distribution of video clips for on­­line shops.

Whether in the health sector, financial field or trade, modern information and communication technologies are im­­plemented everywhere. As cross-section technologies, they have the po­­ten­­tial to be innovation drivers and to support the region’s competitiveness in a sustainable way.

 

Beratungsbild
The IT and media landscape of Schles­­wig-Holstein is marked by many in­­no­­vative, yet smaller and medium-sized companies. Networking is therefore one of the most important building blocks for the road to success. Al­­ready by the end of the 1990s, companies from the IT and media fields got together and founded the two organizations “SH://MIT – Schleswig-Holsteinischer Verband für Multimedia und Infor­mations­tech­­­no­logie e.V.” and “Community Treff – För­­der­­kreis Digitale Wirtschaft e.V.” With numerous net­­working events, seminars and workshops, the new lobby of the field formed a lively knowledge transfer and mu­­tu­­al exchange of information. The num­­ber of the members grew consistent­­ly. Also the state government of Schles­­wig-Holstein soon recognized the po­­­tential of the field and its organizatio­­nal structures. It has supported the IT and media fields since 2006 through the establishment of the cluster manage­­ment Digitale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holstein.

ViSoR_Imagebild
The main aim of the cluster management is the support of the competitiveness of the contributing companies and associations as well as the creation of future-directed work places. In particular, this points towards im­­proved cooperation between economy and science, the intensification of knowledge and technology transfer as well as the support of innovations through cooperation. The clus­­ter management carrier is WTSH, Wirt­­schaftsförderung und Tech­no­logie­trans­­fer Schleswig-Holstein GmbH. Through integration into the WTSH, the cluster management offers the best possible access to other fields and tech­­nological fields of interest as well as also to the state’s possibilities for grants. The cluster management is par­­­­tially subsidized by the state within the context of the “Zukunfts­pro­­gramm Wirtschaft”. The remaining financial sup­­port is based on the contributions of the cluster companies as members of the organization Digitale Wirt­­schaft. It is not least of all for this reason that cooperation between the organization Digitale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Hol­­stein e.V. and the cluster management is very close. Together, they are programm­­ing the digital economy of Schles­­wig-Holstein to carry out its best perfor­­mance!

Nina-Prigge_version2The author was born in 1971 and studied in Hamburg and Ireland. Following her state examination, she worked at Double­­Click International Techsolutions in Dub­­­lin. In 2005 she transferred to the Di­­gi­­tal Hub Development Agency, who are res­pon­­sible for the largest digital media cluster in Ireland. In 2009 she took over the pro­­ject leadership in cluster management of Digitale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holstein.

 

 

soeren_portrait_2_18x20The author studied Business Administration in Kiel. He was media spokesman and mar­­ket­­ing head of Hansapark Sierks­dorf. Follow­­ing this, he took over the head of custo­­mer services for fluxx AG and in 2000 founded the Kiel market­­ing agency New Communication. He has been on the board of governors of the organization Digitale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holstein e.V. since 2005 and since 2007, their chairman.

Nina Prigge & Sören Mohr: IT in Schleswig-Holstein – Eine Branche formiert sich

Ob an der nordfriesischen Küste oder in den Städten des Landes – in Sa­­chen In­­ternetnutzung sind die Schles­­wig-Hol­­steiner ganz vorne mit dabei. Gut 70 Prozent der Bevöl­ke­rung nutzen mitt­­lerweile das virtuelle Netz. Im bundeswei­­ten Ranking belegt Schleswig-Holstein damit den dritten Platz bei den Flä­­chen­­ländern, Platz sechs insgesamt. Die­­se Sta­­tistik deutet an, was weitere Zah­­len belegen: In Schles­­wig-Hol­­stein wächst und gedeiht nicht nur der Raps, sondern auch eine le­­ben­­dige IT- und Me­­dienbranche. Von 1990 bis heute hat sich die Zahl der IT- und Medien­un­ter­­nehmen hier glatt verdrei­­facht und ist auf rund 15.000 angestie­gen. Mit ei­­nem Anteil von 20 Prozent am Dienst­­­­leis­tungsbereich gehören sie in­­zwi­­schen zu den wichtigsten Bran­chen im Land.

Aber nicht nur die Quantität, auch die Qualität überzeugt: Aktuell entwickelt das schleswig-holsteinische IT-Unter­neh­­men c.a.r.u.s. HMS GmbH eine neuartige Software mit dem Namen „ViSoR – Virtual Screening optimizing the Reali­­ty“ und wird bei diesem Vor­­haben aus dem Zukunftsprogramm Wirt­­schaft des Landes gefördert. Durch com­­puterunterstützte Rechen­opera­tio­nen wird „ViSoR“ die zeit- und kos­­ten­­in­ten­­sive Labor­ar­­beit bei der En­t­­wick­­lung neuer Medi­ka­­men­­te in Zu­­­kunft er­­heb­-lich vereinfachen und be­­­­schleu­nigen.
Die b+m Informatik AG aus Melsdorf sorgte Ende des Jahres 2008 auf der „Medica“, der weltgrößten Messe in der Medizinbranche, mit seinem Produkt „b+m op manager“ für großes Interesse. Die Software unterstützt ambulante OP-Zentren, das Termin- und Res­sour­cen­­management zu optimieren und Über­­kapazitäten abzubauen – in Zeiten des zunehmenden Kostendrucks im Ge­­sundheitswesen unumgänglich.

b+m-health

Die IT-Firma b+m Informatik AG entwickelt innovative Software für die Medizinbranche.

Ein anderes schleswig-holsteinisches IT- Unternehmen ist dagegen erfolgreich im Banken- und Versicherungswesen: Über 600 deutsche Banken haben den VISOR-Computercheck der Firma Coro­nic aus Kiel bereits in ihr Online-Bank­ing-An­­ge­bot integriert. Mithilfe dieses Checks kön­­nen Kunden vor der Ab­­wick­­lung ih­­rer Geldgeschäfte sicherstellen, dass die In­­ternetverbindung sicher ist. Das Wis­­sen um die Mängel und Po­ten­­ziale des Me­­diums Internet hat auch der schleswig-holsteinischen Firma Cliplis­ter zum Er­­folg verholfen. Mittlerweile gilt das 2007 gegründete Unternehmen als Markt­­­­füh­­rer in Europa für die Distribu­tion von Videoclips für Online-Shops.

Ob im Gesundheitswesen, in der Fi­­nanz­­branche oder auch im Handel – moderne In­­formations- und Kommuni­kations­tech­­nologien werden überall eingesetzt. Als Querschnittstechnologien haben sie das Potenzial, auch in anderen Branchen In­­novationstreiber zu sein und die Wett­­be­­werbsfähigkeit der Region nachhaltig zu unterstützen.

Beratungsbild

Die IT- und Medienlandschaft Schles­wig-Holsteins ist von vielen innovativen, aber eher kleinen und mittelständischen Fir­­men geprägt. Networking ist daher einer der wichtigsten Bausteine zum Erfolg. Bereits Ende der 1990er Jahre kamen Unterneh­mer der IT- und Medienbranche zusammen und gründeten die beiden Vereine „SH://MIT – Schleswig-Hol­stei­ni­­scher Verband für Multimedia und In­­­formations­tech­no­lo­gie e.V.“ und „Com­mu­­nity Treff – För­der­­kreis Digitale Wirt­­schaft e.V.“ Im Jahr 2005 fu­­sio­­nierten sie zu „DiWiSH – Di­­gi­­tale Wirtschaft Schles­­wig-Holstein e.V.“ Mit zahlreichen Networking-Ver­an­stal­­­tun­­gen, Seminaren und Workshops sorgte die neue In­­te­­res­­senvertretung der Bran­­che für einen re­­gen Wissens­transfer und gegenseitigen Austausch. Die Zahl der Mitglieder wuchs beständig. Auch die Landesregierung Schles­wig-Holstein er­­kannte bald das Po­­ten­zial der Branche und ihrer organisatorischen Strukturen. Seit 2006 fördert sie die IT- und Me­­dienbranche durch Ein­richtung des Clus­­termanagements Di­­­­gi­­tale Wirt­schaft Schles­­wig-Holstein.

ViSoR_Imagebild
Oberstes Ziel des Clusterman­age­ments ist die Förderung der Wettbewerbs­fä­hig­­­­keit der beteiligten Unternehmen und Einrichtungen sowie die Schaffung zu­­kunftsgerichteter Arbeitsplätze. Im Ein­­­­zelnen bedeutet dies eine verbesserte Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wirt­­schaft und Wissenschaft, die Inten­si­vie­­rung des Wissens- und Tech­no­lo­gie­­trans­fers so­­wie die Förderung von In­no­va­­tio­­nen durch Kooperationen. Trä­ger des Clus­­ter­man­­­­agements ist die WTSH – Wirt­­schafts­förderung und Techno­lo­gie­­­trans­­fer Schles­­­wig-Hol­­stein GmbH. Durch die Ein­bin­dung in die WTSH bietet das Clus­­­­ter­man­­agement besten Zugang so­­wohl zu anderen Bran­­chen und tech­­nologischen Schwer­punkt­­­bereichen als auch zu den För­der­mög­­lichkeiten des Lan­des. Das Clus­­ter­­man­­agement wird im Rahmen des Zu­­kunfts­­pro­gramms Wirt­schaft durch das Land teilgefördert. Die restliche Fi­­nanzie­rung basiert auf den Beiträgen der Cluster­un­ter­neh­­men als Mitglieder des Vereins Digitale Wirt­­­schaft. Nicht zu­­letzt deswegen ist die Zusam­men­ar­beit zwischen dem Ver­­ein Digi­tale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Hol­­stein e.V. und dem Clustermanage­ment sehr eng. Ge­­­meinsam programmieren sie die di­­gitale Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holsteins auf Höchstleistung!

Nina-Prigge_version2Die Autorin wurde 1971 geboren und stu­­dierte in Hamburg und Irland. Nach dem Staatsexamen arbeitete sie bei Double­­Click International Techsoultions in Dub­­lin. 2005 wechselte sie zur Digital Hub Development Agency, die für den Aus­­bau des in Irland größten digitalen Me­­­­­dien­clusters zuständig ist. 2009 übernahm sie die Projektleitung im Clus­­ter­­manage­­ment der Digitalen Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holstein.

 

 

soeren_portrait_2_18x20Der Autor wurde 1968 geboren und studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Kiel. Von 1993 bis 1994 war er Pressesprecher im Han­sa­park Sierksdorf, bis 1997 Mar­ket­ing­­leiter des­­­selben. Anschließend übernahm er die Leitung der Kundenberatung der fluxx AG und gründete 2000 die Kieler Werbe- und Marketingagentur New Com­­mu­ni­ca­tion. Seit 2005 ist er im Vorstand des Ver­­eins Di­­gitale Wirt­­schaft Schles­­wig-Hol­stein e.V., seit 2007 dessen 1. Vor­­­­sitzender.