Nikolaus Bachler: How culture and business promote the location through performance and passion

“Our culture is a mixed forest rich in diversity providing us with vital fresh air”, once stated the former Federal President Richard von Weizsäcker when addressing the preservation of the cultural landscape. But the large houses of creative artists, in particular, come with a large price tag. However, companies along with the state can make a contribution to this as the example of the Bavarian State Opera shows.

 

Night for night, over 2,000 guests at the Bavarian State Opera follow the stories taking place on stage, and witness the emotions and conflicts of the characters and the dramatic interaction between the instruments and voices. In music, harmonics describes the consonance of the sounds. Both in the music and in the scenic interpretation it is the unexpected, even the dissonant and the awkward, that catch the attention of our eyes and ears. The Greek goddess Harmonia was the daughter of Mars and Venus – to this day synonyms for contra­­dictory but comple­­mentary principles. Thus, harmony does not mean agreement without conflict, but the union of opposites to form a harmonious entirety. Or as Heraclitus put it: “Out of discord comes the fairest harmony.” And the same applies to the arts and business. The emotional and intuitive nature of art is contrasted by the rational economic efficiency of business.

 

Staatoper_innen_Wilfried-Hösl

As a business location, Bavaria is among the strongest economic regions in Europe. However, the attractiveness of a location is not only defined by its economy and the revenues generated there. Com­­­­­­pan­ies create jobs. Employees relocate the centre of their lives to the region. Highly qualified employees, often a company’s most valuable resource, are particularly likely to take a region’s cul­­tural environ­­ment into account when choosing their location. And there is no need to emphasise that culture has a significant influence on education. Thus, these two factors alone make culture essential for business. In addition, a rich and diverse range of cultural activities makes people more likely to take a de­­tour to the region and produces a creative environ­­ment, further increasing the location’s innovative potential. The existing culture also has a direct influence on the attrac­­tiveness of a region for tourism. People want to be where their needs are satisfied, so both a region’s economic factors and its cultural activities play a significant role in its attractiveness as a location. It is not without good reason that Bavaria’s constitution declares it to be a cultural state.

The current social and financial develop­­­­ments require, on the one hand, cultural institutions to be more orientated on economic principles and, on the other, businesses to adopt a new approach when it comes to corporate culture and social commitment. Cultural sponsoring makes it possible to satisfy each aspect while benefitting from the strengths of the other. This will allow the differences between business and art to be used to create added value that neither could create alone. If this is successful, it will strengthen both parties and, as a re­­sult, the regional location. Looking at the rela­­tionship between business and art in Germany, the situation appears more like that of two planets orbiting at great distance from one another, rather than mutually attracting poles. Donations and sponsoring amount to about 30 million euros – just one per cent of the total budget of approx. 2.8 billion euros for Germany’s theatres, so there is tremendous potential for development.

This requires cultural sponsoring to be­­come more professional. As with all things – be it in the business world or the arts – good intentions are commend­­able, but intentions alone rarely produce top results. Need­less to say, scattergun or random approaches can at best lead to lucky successes. The Bavarian State Opera began professionalising sponsoring activities back in 2002, succeeding in increasing its fundraising income by 490 per cent. The number of sponsors has since grown from three corporate partners to 170. Many partnerships have been in place for many years and are being continually expanded.

In contrast to donations, where the donor makes a financial contribution without receiving a service in return, sponsoring involves a mutual exchange of services. But what does an equivalent exchange of services between business and the arts look like?

While cultural institutions can achieve an increase in their revenues, which allows them to implement additional projects such as children’s and youth theatre or contemporary and innovative experiments (although generating third-party income cannot be seen as a substitute for the necessary and socially justified sub­­­sidies), the main advantages of cultural sponsoring for businesses lie primarily in improving their reputation, motivating staff and encouraging customer loyalty. Sponsoring involvement is generally well-received and improves the company’s image. Customers’ confidence in the com­­pany increases and has a positive effect on customer relations. In addition, overall satisfaction and the willingness of employees to recommend companies involved in cultural sponsoring increase.

 

Staatsoper_Felix-Löchner

However, the connection has to be perceived as a partnership rather than a business relationship in order to fully exploit the advantages and synergies which can be generated by cultural sponsoring. Coordinating expectations and objectives, consensus on values and perfectly matching identities form the basis for professional cultural sponsoring activities. The company’s brand should fit the cultural institution, and the target groups should correspond with one another. Only then can a true and authentic partnership develop, both internally and in terms of the external image.

Furthermore, connection to the region plays a major role. Cultural sponsoring is particularly effective for companies when it demonstrates social responsibility and involvement where employees and customers can best benefit from them.

The reputation of the Bavarian State Opera makes it Bavaria’s “cultural flagship”. Prominent conductors, exciting directors, and excellent singers and musi­­cians create an innovative and sensual programme, season for season, which defines our long-term artistic profile. More than 500,000 visitors each year and a sell-out rate of 96 per cent confirm the importance of the Bavarian State Opera for Bavaria’s attractiveness as a business location and hint at the impact cultural sponsoring can have.

The regional connection between business and the arts has another crucial advantage, too: it makes it possible to create and maintain networks. Many of our sponsors have been brought together in sponsoring circles, whose attractiveness is partly based on a sense of belonging. Together, the members jointly support a cultural insti­­­tution whose values they identify with.

The Premium Circle of the Bavarian State Opera, for example, is not only a selected circle of sponsors from top companies, but also a shared forum and top-class net­work of representatives from business and culture. This provides the opportunity to discuss topics relevant to both the arts and industry.

Cultural sponsoring therefore involves not only exchan­ging money or services, but also joint commitment. And the result is far more than just a business relationship. Part­ner­­ships and friendships evolve as the parties work towards shared goals. This makes it possible for the arts and business to take on responsibility for the region and society together.
Just as Mars and Venus created Har­monia despite or perhaps due to their differences, sponsoring partnerships be­­tween business and the arts can create unique compositions out of complemen­­tary opposites, making a significant contri­­­bution to the attractiveness and promotion of the Free State of Bavaria as a business location.

 

Nikolaus-Bachler-c)-Markus-Jans_052The author studied Drama at the Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna and became the artistic director of the Staatliche Schauspielbühnen in Berlin in 1987. In 1990, he joined Taller Europe Paris; in 1991 he became director of the Vienna Festival and then director of the Volksoper in Vienna. From 1999 to 2008, Nikolaus Bachler was the direc­­tor of the Vienna Burgtheater. Since then he has served as the director of the Bavarian State Opera.

Nikolaus Bachler: Wie Kultur und Wirtschaft mit Leistung und Leidenschaft den Standort fördern

Unsere Kultur sei ein vielgestalteter Mischwald, der für lebensnotwendige Frischluft sorge“, konstatierte einmal Alt-Bundespräsident Richard von Weizsäcker zur Pflege der Kulturlandschaft. Doch insbesondere die großen kulturschaffenden Häuser kosten auch viel. Neben dem Staat können allerdings auch Unternehmen dazu einen Beitrag leisten, wie das Beispiel der Bayerischen Staatsoper zeigt.

 

Abend für Abend folgen über 2.000 Zu­­schauer der Bay­­­eri­­­­schen Staatsoper den Geschichten auf der Bühne, den Emoti­onen und Konflikten der Figuren, der Dramatik des Zu­­­­­­sam­­menspiels der Ins­­trumente und Stimmen. In der Mu­­­­sik beschreibt Harmonik den Zusammen­klang der Tö­­ne. Dabei ist es in der Musik wie auch in der szenischen Inter­pretation das Unerwartete, auch Dis­sonante und Sperrige, was uns aufhorchen beziehungsweise auf­­blicken lässt. Die griechische Göttin Harmonia war die Tochter von Mars und Venus – noch heute Syno­­nyme für zwei gegen­sätz­liche, aber sich ergänzende Prinzipien. Harmonie meint also nicht konfliktlose Übereinstimmung sondern Verei­­ni­­gung von Entgegenge­setztem zu einem stimmigen Ganzen. Oder wie Heraklit es ausdrückte: „Die schönste Harmonie entsteht durch Zusammenbringen der Gegensätze“. Und so verhält es sich auch mit Kunst und Wirt­­schaft. Das Emo­­­tionale und Intuitive der Kunst steht der ökonomisch rati­­onalen Effizienz der Wirtschaft gegenüber.

 

Staatoper_innen_Wilfried-Hösl

Der Wirtschaftsstandort Bayern gehört zu den wirtschaft­­lich stärksten Regionen Europas. Die Attraktivität eines Stand­orts definiert sich aber nicht nur über die ansässige Wirtschaft und die dort ge­­nerierten Erträge. Unter­­neh­men schaffen Arbeitsplätze. Arbeitnehmer verlagern ihren Lebens­­mittelpunkt in die Region. Besonders hochquali­fizierte Arbeitneh­mer, häufig die wertvollste Ressource eines Unternehmens, machen dabei ihre persönliche Stand­­ortentscheidung auch vom Kulturangebot einer Region ab­­hängig. Und es muss nicht extra betont werden, dass Kultur einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf Bildung hat. Schon auf Grund dieser zwei Faktoren ist Kultur für die Wirt­­­­schaft elementar. Außerdem produ­ziert ein reichhaltiges Kulturangebot Um­­wegrentabilitäten und ein kreatives Klima, was die Innovationsfähigkeit des Stand­­ortes erhöht. Dazu hat die vorhandene Kultur direkten Einfluss auf die Attrak­tivität einer Region für den Tourismus. Dort wo ihre Bedürfnisse erfüllt werden, möchten die Menschen sein. Neben wirt­­schaftlichen Faktoren trägt also auch das kulturelle Angebot einer Region maß­­geblich zur Stand­ortattraktivität bei. Nicht umsonst ist Bayern laut Ver­­­fassung ein Kulturstaat.

Die gegenwärtigen gesellschaftlichen und finanziellen Ent­­wicklungen erfordern einerseits eine stärkere Orien­­tie­rung der Kultureinrichtungen an ökonomischen Prinzip­ien, und andererseits eine Neu­orientierung der Wirtschafts­­unterneh­men im Hinblick auf Unternehmenskultur und ge­sellschaftliches Engagement. Kul­­tursponsoring erlaubt es, die Bedürf­nisse beider Seiten zu erfüllen und von den Stärken des anderen zu profitieren. Die Unterschied­lich­­keit von Wirtschaft und Kunst kann somit zur Schaffung eines Mehrwerts genutzt werden, den keiner der beiden allein zu erzeugen ver­­mag. Gelingt dies, werden beide und in der Konsequenz auch der regionale Stand­­ort nachhaltig gestärkt. Wenn man sich die Beziehung zwischen Wirt­schaft und Kunst in Deutschland ansieht, vermittelt sich allerdings immer noch eher das Bild von weit voneinander entfernt dahintrudelnden Planeten als von sich gegen­sei­tig anziehenden Polen. Spenden und Spon­­soring nehmen mit rund 30 Milli­onen Euro insgesamt gerade einmal 1 Prozent des Gesamtbudgets von rund 2,8 Mil­liarden Euro der Deutschen Theater ein. Es gibt also großes Entwicklungs­potential.

Vorausgesetzt Kultursponsoring wird professionell be­­trieben. Denn wie bei allem, sei es in der Welt der Unter­­nehmen oder der Kunst, ist Absicht zwar löblich, führt aber allein selten zu Spitzenergeb­nissen. Gießkannen- und Zu­­fallsprinzip können auch bestenfalls zu Zufallser­folgen führen. Die Bayerische Staatsoper hat 2002 begonnen ihre Sponsoring-Aktivitäten zu professionalisieren und konnte dadurch ihre Fundraising-Einnah­­­­men um 490 Prozent stei­­gern. Die Zahl unserer Sponsoren ist seit dem von 3 Un­­ter­­nehmenspartnern auf 170 gewachsen. Viele Partner­schaften bestehen dabei seit mehreren Jahren und werden kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Im Gegensatz zu Spenden, bei denen der Förderer einen finanziellen Beitrag ohne Gegenleistung gibt, geht es im Sponsoring um gegenseitigen Leistung­saustausch. Wie aber sieht ein gleichwertiger Leistungsaustausch zwischen Wirtschaft und Kunst aus?

Während auf Seiten der Kulturinstituti­onen eine Erhöh­ung­­ der Eigeneinnahmen und dadurch unter anderem die Ver­­wirk­­lichung zusätzlicher Projekte wie Kinder- und Jugend­­theater und zeitgenössischer und innovativer Ex­­pe­­rimente erreicht werden kann (obwohl die Generierung von Drittmitteln nicht als ein Ersatz für notwendige und gesellschaftlich auch gerechtfertigte Subventionen ver­­standen werden darf), liegen die Haupt­vorteile des Kultur­­sponsorings für Unter­nehmen vor allem in den drei Be­­rei­chen Repu­tationssteigerung, Mitarbeitermoti­vation und Kundenbindung. So werden Sponsor­ingengagements in der Regel positiv wahr­­genommen und verbessern das An­­­­sehen der Unternehmen. Das Ver­trauen der Kunden gegen­­­­über dem Unter­neh­men steigt und wirkt sich so positiv auf die Kundenbeziehung aus. Zudem er­­höhen sich sowohl die Gesamtzufrie­den­heit als auch die Weiter­empfeh­lungs­­­be­reitschaft der Mitarbeiter von Unter­neh­men, die Kultur­­sponsoring betreiben.

 

Staatsoper_Felix-Löchner

Um allerdings die Vorteile und Synergien, die sich aus Kultursponsoring ergeben können, zur Gänze auszuschöpfen, muss die Verbindung als Partnerschaft und nicht nur als Geschäftsbeziehung verstanden werden. Die Abstim­mung von Erwartungen und Zielen, sowie die Über­­ein­stimmung von Werten und Passgenau­igkeit der Identi­täten ist die Grundlage professioneller Kultursponsoring Aktivi­­­täten. Die Marke des Unternehmens sollte zur Kultur­­einrichtung passen und die Zielgruppen einander entsprechen. Nur so kann sich eine wirkliche, nach innen und außen authentische Partnerschaft entwickeln.

Darüber hinaus spielt regionale Anbin­dung eine große Rolle. Für Unternehmen ist Kultursponsoring besonders wirkungs­­­­voll, wenn gesellschaftliche Verantwor­tung und Engage­ment dort demonstriert werden kann, wo Mit­arbeiter und Kunden davon profitieren.

Die Bayerische Staatsoper ist mit ihrem internationalen Renommee das „kulturelle Flaggschiff“ Bayerns. Heraus­­ragende Diri­­genten, spannende Regisseure, exzellente Sänger und Musiker kreieren Spielzeit für Spielzeit ein innovatives und sinnliches Programm, das unsere künstlerisches Profil nachhaltig bestimmt. Weit über 500.000 Besucher pro Jahr und eine Auslastung von über 96 Pro­­zent bestätigen die Bedeutung der Bayeri­schen Staats­oper für die Attraktivität des Wirtschaftsstandortes Bayern und lassen erahnen, welche Reichweite durch Kultur­sponsoring möglich wird.

Und die regionale Verbindung von Wirt­schaft und Kunst hat einen weiteren ent­­scheidenden Vorteil. Sie erlaubt den Auf­­bau und die Pflege von Netzwerken. Ein Großteil unserer Sponsoren ist in Spon­sorenzirkeln zusammengefasst, deren Attraktivität auch von einem Zugehörig­keits­gefühl herrührt: Gemeinsam unter­­stützen die Mitglieder eine Kulturinsti­tution mit deren Werten sie sich identifizieren.

Der Premium Circle der Bayerischen Staats­­oper ist also zum Beispiel nicht nur ein ausgewählter Kreis von Spon­­­soren aus Top-Unternehmen, sondern bildet auch ein ge­­meinsames Forum und hoch­­karätiges Netzwerk aus Ver­­tretern von Wirtschaft und Kultur. Dies bietet die Mög­lichkeit zu Diskussionen über Themen, die sowohl für die Kunst als auch die Industrie relevant sind.

Im Kultursponsoring geht es also nicht nur um den Aus­­tausch von Geld oder Leistung sondern auch um ge­meinsames Engagement. Und was daraus entsteht ist mehr als ein Geschäftsverhältnis. Es entstehen Partner­­schaften und Freund­schaften im Streben nach gemeinsamen Zielen. Damit gelingt es Kunst und Wirt­­schaft zu­sammen Verantwortung für die Region und die Gesell­schaft zu über­­nehmen.

Und so wie aus Mars und Venus trotz oder wegen ihrer Verschiedenartigkeit Harmonia entstand, ermöglichen Spon­soring-Partnerschaften zwischen Wirt­­schaft und Kunst einzigartige Kompo­sitionen aus sich ergänzenden Gegen­sätzen, die maßgeblich zur Attraktivität und Förderung des Standortes Freistaat Bayern beitragen.

 

Nikolaus-Bachler-c)-Markus-Jans_052Der Autor wurde am Wiener Max Rein­hardt Seminar in Schauspiel ausgebildet und 1987 künstlerischer Leiter an den Staatlichen Schauspielbühnen Berlin. 1990 wech­­selte er zum Taller Europe Paris, 1991 als Intendant zu den Wiener Festwochen und anschließend als Direk­tor der Volksoper Wien. Von 1999 bis 2008 leitete Niko­laus Bachler das Wiener Burgtheater. Seit­her ist er Intendant der Bayerischen Staats­oper.