NAsPIII/V GmbH: Silicon photonics – revolutionary opto-electronic components

According to “Moore’s Law”, the density of the transistors on a chip doubles every two years. However, the production of continually smaller semi-conductor parts has its physical limits. NAsPIII/V GmbH, a spin-off from the Institute of Materials Science at the Philipps University in Marburg, has developed a unique III/V semi­conductor material system (GaNAsP) which solves this challenge, making possible transmission speeds of up to the terabyte range.

To date, more than 18 million euros have been spent on research, financed in par­­ticular by programmes administered by the German Federal Ministry of Edu­ca­tion and Research and by venture capital from Hessen’s state government. After a seven-year development period, negotiations are currently under way with international partners in industry on technology trans­­fer from the development stage to the mass production stage.

The benefits of the opto-electronic com­­ponents developed by NAsPIII/V GmbH compared to today’s data transmission solutions are obvious. Mobile telephones, PCs, industrial process controls or auto­­mobiles are only a few of the areas in which this technology can be used. If these new components become accepted, future product sales based on NAsP tech­­nology may be worth billions of euros.

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Address

    Am Knechtacker 19
    D-35041 Marburg
    Telefon +49 (0) 6421 282-5696
    Telefax +49 (0) 6421 282-8935
    Wolfgang.Stolz@NAsP.de
    Bernd.Scheld@NAsP.de
    www.nasp.de
  2. Year Of Establishment

    2004
  3. Business Activity

    development of revolutionary semiconductor material systems for Si Photonics

NAsPIII/V GmbH: Silicon-Photonics – revolutionäre optoelektronische Bauelemente

Nach dem „Moore’schen Gesetz“ wird sich die Dichte der Transistoren auf einem Chip alle zwei Jahre verdoppeln. Aller­dings stößt die Herstellung von immer kleineren Halb­­leiterbauelementen an phy­­si­­kalische Gren­­zen. Die NAsPIII/V GmbH – eine Aus­­grün­­dung aus dem Material­wissen­schaft­­lichen Ins­­ti­­tut der Philipps-Uni­ver­­­­sität Marburg – hat ein einzigartiges III/V-Halb­­­­leiter­­­mate­ri­al­­­system (GaNAsP) ent­­wickelt, das diese Heraus­for­de­­rung löst und Übertragungs­ge­schwin­­dig­keiten bis in den Terabyte-Bereich ermöglicht.

Bis heute wurden für die Forschung mehr als 18 Millionen Euro eingesetzt, finanziert insbesondere durch BMBF-Pro­gramme und durch Wagniskapital des Landes Hessen. Nach einer Entwicklungszeit von sieben Jahren laufen derzeit Verhand­lungen mit internationalen Industrie­part­­nern über den Technologietransfer von der Ent­wick­­lung zur Massen­pro­duk­tion.

Die Vorteile der durch die NAsPIII/V GmbH entwickelten optoelektronischen Bau­ele­­mente gegenüber heutigen Daten­über­­­tra­­gungslösungen sind evident. Handy, PC, industrielle Prozesssteuerung oder Automobilindustrie bezeichnen nur einige der Anwendungsbereiche. Sofern sich die neuen Bauelemente durchsetzen, würden künftige auf NAsP-Technologie basierende Produktumsätze möglicherweise im Milliardenbereich liegen.

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Anschrift

    Am Knechtacker 19
    D-35041 Marburg
    Telefon +49 (0) 6421 282-5696
    Telefax +49 (0) 6421 282-8935
    Wolfgang.Stolz@NAsP.de
    Bernd.Scheld@NAsP.de
    www.nasp.de
  2. Gründungsjahr

    2004
  3. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Entwicklung von revolutionären Halbleitermaterialsystemen für Si-Photonics