Moritz Luft: Holiday destination Sylt – Sea. Passion. Life.

For many people, Stylt represents myth, cult and legend. Numerous tales surround Germany’s beloved holiday is­­land, and the fact that there is always more to discover greatly adds to its fas­­cination. Since time immemorial, Sylt has been a meeting place for those who con­­front themselves and others with cu­­riosity and open-mindedness. The is­­land offers variety ra­­ther than arbitrar­­iness and individuality rather than anonymity. Nearly 50 per cent of Stylt are a protected na­­ture area. Endless sandy beaches and sharp-edged cliffs create a di­­verse in­­terplay between the elements. Nature is and always was the is­­land’s strongest aspect.
The newest trends in tour­­ism therefore provide opportunities to reinforce these natural highlights fur­­­ther yet and to at­­tract a wider target group. The Sylt Marketing Gesell­schaft (SMG) has been focusing upon the re­­direction and reinforcement of the Sylt trade­­mark since 2003, with Sylt representing the epitome of lived na­­ture, pas­­sionate enjoyment and carefree life.

 

©-Sylt-Marketing_Kampen_Rotes-Kliff

Sylt is and remains the tourist flagship of the federal state Schleswig-Hol­­stein. In 2008, Germany’s northern-most hol­­iday island recorded a 2.7 per cent in­­crease in visitors. In comparison with 2007, the number of overnight stays rose by 1.7 per cent to over 6.6 million. As a countermove, the average duration of stays slightly decreased from 8.2 to 8.1 days – evidence of the constant trend towards shorter and repeated holidays in Germany. Sylt particularly reached peak values for its number of overnight stays during the summer months. With around 120,000 visitors, July tops year­­ly sta­­­tistics, closely followed by August (117,705 visitors) and May (99,908 visitors). But even during the winter months, more visitors came to Sylt in 2008 than in the year before – a sign that the North Sea island is also becoming attractive in months outside of the high season.
Sylt has become increasingly significant over the past few years as a tourist trademark. The island’s silhouette and uniform lettering have become unmistakable characteristics portrayed on all means of communications. The umbrella trademark, Sylt, was reborn as well as strategically and communicatively reoriented in 2003. The slogan “Sea. Passion. Life.” reflects the characteristics that Sylt particularly stands for: closeness to nature, health, wellbeing and enjoyment.

Owing to this new reorientation, Sylt already recorded an increase in visitors of ten per cent in November 2003. Over the following years, communication was con­­stantly being bit by bit developed.
In co-operation with the trademark com­­munication agency in Neuwied, Thiel­ker+Team, the SMG developed a new communication concept in 2009, which should particularly appeal to LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sus­tain­­ability), enthusiasts of health and environmentally conscious life.

©-Sylt-Marketing_Friesenhaus-in-Keitum

From oyster farm and shifting dunes – the island of superlatives
Sylt’s broad tourism range convinces through its diversity. At List harbour, modern ambience combines with maritime flair. ­
Germany’s only oyster farm and shift­­ing dunes attract the eye right here in the northern-most part of the is­­land. Kampen – indeed, Germany’s most distinguished location – is ex­­clusive, elegant and also extremely charm­­ing. Blossoming moors and far-reaching mud-flats in the east, rough North Sea surf and fine sandy beach­­es in the west; the location easily unites tradition with the modern world and creates space for music and literature. A true delight for the eye is also the famous “Whis­key Mile”, lined with its many clubs, bars and restaurants. Germany’s north­­ern-most golf course caters for sporting variety. Its one of four golf courses on the island. For families, in particular, the joint community Wenningstedt-Braderup boasts top opportunities.

 

©TS-Westerland_Fußball-am-Strand

Whether as small discoverer in the mud-flats or as clown in the island circus – here, particularly young guests receive their full money’s worth. The Frisian vil­­lages of Tin­num, Keitum, Munkmarsch, Arch­sum und Morsum form the green heart of the island. Surrounded by juicy meadows and mud-flats, the old­ Fri­sian houses, with their thatch­­ed roofs, stand for tradition and lived customs. The heart of the island beats in the Westerland, Sylt’s largest town. Visitors can experience glittering con­­­­certs there, comfortably stroll alongside the many boutiques and stores or withstand the sea’s surf on a surf board.

©-Georg-Supanz--l-Sylt-Marketing-Surf-World-Cup

A unique quality here is also gastronomic variety: matjes or oysters, haute cuisine and beach bistro. For fans of wellness, ayurvedic oil massage and Qi Gong courses in Westerland offer that long-desired change from the stresses of everyday life. Due to its central location, Westerland is also best-suited for Nordic Walking and island tours.
A mere stone’s throw away, in the Ran­­tum Dunes, holidaymakers can en­­joy the treasures of outstanding cuisine and wine cellars in a relaxed at­­mos­­phere. Many of Germany’s most talented chefs pamper the pallets of il­­lustrious guests at Sylt, which not lastly can be recognized by its high concentration of stars. Finally, far south, the community of Hörnum lures through its fantastic beaches and strong-scent­­ed hedge roses. As central service pro­­vider and community project of the various towns on the island, Sylt Mar­­keting GmbH promotes all of these treas­­ures and attractions. The host di­­rec­­to­­ry, the well-loved website www.sylt.de with its over three million visitors and further online appearances are all main­­tained by the SMG. In addition to this, the company presents the destination of Sylt at tourist exhibitions and co-operates with tourist service providers such as transport companies and other marketing organizations.

©-Georg-Supanz_Leuchtturm-List

Sylt, the “Frisian island of passion”, is the most powerful tourist destination trademark of Schleswig-Holstein; an island, which thanks to its singular range of services and the consequent re-orientation in the di­­rection of people’s needs, looks confidently and free of fear into the fu­­ture. To­­day more than ever.

Moritz-Luft-300dpi-KopieBorn in Kiel in 1975, the author studied tourism in Wilhelmshaven, following an education in hotel management at the Hamburger Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten. After this, he worked in the position of busi­­ness manager of tourism organizations in Brake and in Papenburg. Since 2006, Moritz Luft has been responsible for the Sylt Marketing GmbH.

Moritz Luft: Reiseziel Sylt – Meer. Leidenschaft. Leben.

Sylt gilt vielen als Mythos, Kult und Legende. Zahlreiche Geschichten ranken sich um Deutschlands beliebte Ferie­­n­insel. Dass es trotzdem immer wieder Neues zu entdecken gibt, macht ihre Faszination aus. Seit jeher ist Sylt Treff­punkt für Menschen, die mit Neugier und Offenheit sich selbst und anderen be­­gegnen. Die Insel bietet Vielfalt statt Beliebigkeit und Individualität statt An­­o­nymität. Knapp 50 Prozent Sylts sind Naturschutz­gebiet. Endlose Sand­strän­de, schroffe Kliffe – ein abwechslungsreiches Spiel der Elemente. Die Natur war und ist die Stärke der Insel.

Mit den neuesten touristischen Trends ergeben sich daher Chancen, diese natürlichen Highlights noch stärker hervorzuheben und neue Zielgruppen an­­zusprechen. Seit 2003 arbeitet die Sylt Mar­ke­ting Gesellschaft (SMG) an der Neu­aus­rich­tung und Fes­tigung der Marke Sylt. Sylt als Inbegriff für erlebte Natur, leidenschaftliches Ge­­nießen und ein un­­­beschwertes Leben.

©-Sylt-Marketing_Kampen_Rotes-Kliff

Sylt ist und bleibt das touristische Flagg­schiff des Bundeslandes Schleswig-Hol­stein. Deutschlands nördlichste Fe­rien­in­sel verzeichnete 2008 einen Gästezu­wachs von 2,7 Prozent. Die Übernach­tungen stiegen im Vergleich zu 2007 um 1,7 Prozent auf über 6,6 Millionen. Im Ge­­genzug sank die durchschnittliche Auf­­enthaltsdauer geringfügig von 8,2 auf 8,1 Tage – ein Beweis für den anhaltenden Trend zum Kurz- und Mehrfach­urlaub in Deutschland. Spitzenwerte er­­reichte Sylt besonders bei den Über­nachtungs­zahlen in den Sommermo­na­ten. Mit rund 120.000 Gästen führt der Juli die Jahres­statistik an, gefolgt vom August (117.705 Gäste) und Mai (99.908 Gäste). Aber auch in den Wintermonaten kamen 2008 mehr Besucher nach Sylt als im Vorjahr. Ein Zeichen dafür, dass die Nordsee-Insel auch außerhalb der Hauptsaison immer attraktiver wird.

Als touristische Marke hat Sylt in den letzten Jahren deutlich an Bedeutung ge­­­wonnen. Unverkennbar sind die Insel-Sil­houette und der einheitliche Schriftzug auf allen Kommuni­­ka­­tions­­mitteln. Die Dach­­­­­marke Sylt wurde 2003 wiederbelebt und strategisch sowie kommunikativ neu ausgerichtet. Der Slogan „Meer. Lei­den­­schaft. Leben.“ spiegelt wider, wofür Sylt besonders steht: für Natur­­verbun­den­heit, Gesund­­heit, Wellness und Ge­­nuss.

©-Sylt-Marketing_Friesenhaus-in-Keitum

Bereits im November 2003 verzeichnete Sylt aufgrund der Neuaus­rich­tung einen Gästezuwachs von zehn Pro­zent. In den folgenden Jahren wurde die Kom­muni­kation fortwährend Stück für Stück weiterentwickelt.
Gemeinsam mit der auf Markenkom­mu­ni­kation spezialisierten Neuwieder Agen­tur Thielker+Team entwickelte die SMG 2009 ein neues Kommunikations­kon­zept, das insbesondere die Zielgruppe der LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability), also gesundheits- und nachhaltigkeitsbewusste Ge­­nießer, an­­sprechen soll.

©TS-Westerland_Fußball-am-Strand

Von Austernzucht und Wanderdünen – die Insel der Superlative
Das touristische Angebot Sylts überzeugt durch seine Vielfältigkeit. Im Lis­­ter Hafen mischt sich modernes Am­­biente mit maritimem Flair. Hier, am nördlichsten Punkt der Insel, locken Deutschlands ein­zige Austernzucht und Wanderdüne. Kam­pen – Deutsch­­lands wohl prominentestes Dorf – ist exklusiv, chic und dabei sehr charmant. Blü­­hende Heide und weites Wattenmeer im Osten, raue Nord­see­bran­­­­dung und feiner Sand­­strand im Westen. Der Ort verbin­­det mit leichter Hand Tra­­­­­dition und Moderne und schafft Platz für Mu­­sik und Literatur. Im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes ein Hingucker ist die berühmte „Whiskymeile“ mit ihren Clubs, Bars und Restaurants. Für sportliche Abwechslung sorgt Deutschlands nörd­­lichster Golfplatz, einer von insgesamt vier Golfplätzen auf der Insel. Die Dop­­pel­­­gemeinde Wenningstedt-Bra­­de­­rup steht vor allem bei Familien hoch im Kurs: Ob als kleiner Entdecker im Watt oder als Clown im Inselzirkus – insbesondere die kleinen Gäste kommen hier voll auf ihre Kosten. Die Sylter Friesendörfer Tinnum, Keitum, Munk­­marsch, Arch­sum und Morsum bilden das grüne Herz der Insel. Umringt von saftigen Wiesen und Wat­ten­meer stehen die alten Frie­­senhäuser mit ihren Reetdächern für Tradition und gelebtes Brauchtum. In Westerland, dem größten Ort von Sylt, schlägt das Herz der Insel. Dort erleben Besucher rauschende Konzerte, bum­­meln gemütlich entlang der vielen Bou­­tiquen und Läden oder trotzen auf dem Surfbrett der Bran­dung.

©-Georg-Supanz--l-Sylt-Marketing-Surf-World-Cup

Einzigartig ist auch die gastronomische Vielfalt: Matjes oder Aus­tern, Ster­­ne­­kü­­che und Strandbistro. Für Wellness-Fans bieten ayurvedische Öl-Massagen und Qi Gong-Kurse in Westerland den er­­sehnten Ausgleich zum Alltagsstress. Auch für Nordic Walking und Inseltouren eignet sich Westerland durch seine zentrale Lage bestens.
Nur einen Katzensprung entfernt ge­­nie­­ßen Urlauber in den Rantumer Dünen bei ungezwungener Atmosphäre die Schät­ze ausgezeichneter Küchen und Wein­kel­­ler. Viele der talentiertesten Köche Deutsch­­­­­­lands verwöhnen auf Sylt die Gaumen ih­­rer illustren Gäste, was sich nicht zu­­letzt an der hohen Sterne-Dichte erkennen lässt. Ganz im Süden schließlich lockt die Gemeinde Hörnum mit traumhaften Strän­­den und duftenden Hecken­­rosen. All die­­se Schätze und Attraktionen kom­­muni­ziert die Sylt Marketing GmbH als zen­­tra­­ler Dienstleister und Gemein­schafts­­pro­­­jekt der verschiedenen Ort­schaf­­ten auf der Insel. Das Gastgeberver­zeich­nis, die mit über drei Millionen Be­­su­­chern sehr be­­lieb­­te Website www.sylt.de und weitere On­­lineauftritte werden von der SMG be­­treut. Zusätzlich präsentiert die Gesell­­schaft die Destination Sylt auf Tourismus-Messen und kooperiert mit touristischen Leis­­tungsträgern wie Ver­kehrsunternehmen und anderen Mar­­ke­ting­­organisationen.

©-Georg-Supanz_Leuchtturm-List

Sylt, die „friesische Insel der Lei­­den­­schaft“, ist die stärkste touristische Des­­tinations­marke des Bundeslandes Schles­­­wig-Hol­stein. Eine Insel, die dank ihres einmaligen Angebotes und der kon­­sequenten Neuaus­richtung an den Be­­dürfnissen der Men­schen selbstbewusst und unerschrocken in die Zukunft blickt. Heute mehr denn je.

Moritz-Luft-300dpi-KopieDer 1975 in Kiel geborene Autor hat nach einer Ausbildung zum Hotelkaufmann im Hamburger Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Touris­­­muswirtschaft in Wilhelmshaven studiert. Anschließend war er als Ge­­schäftsführer der Tourismusorga­nisa­tionen in Brake und in Papenburg tätig. Seit 2006 ist Moritz Luft verantwortlich für die Sylt Marketing GmbH.