Minister für Wissenschaft, Weiterbildung und Kultur Prof. Dr. Konrad Wolf: Good education as a prerequisite for an autonomous life and successfully securing skilled personnel

According to a current study by the Cologne Institute of Economic Research, Germany is heading for a serious shortage of skilled employees in the so-called “STEM” fields (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). In Rhineland-Palatinate alone, there will be shortage of about 25,000 qualified skilled employees in these fields. What can we do about it? The Rhineland-Palatinate state government has started a STEM initiative in order to even better link up and further develop the many existing measures and programmes.

In order to examine existing approaches and to develop new ones, we invited all involved parties to a STEM round table meeting. Together with representatives from the commercial sector, trade unions, the German Employment Agency and industry associations, we will engage in constructive discussions on how to successfully secure skilled personnel. This dialogue-oriented approach has more than proven its worth at the Oval Table meetings with the Rhineland-Palatinate State Premier. Within this framework, experts from the above-mentioned fields have been discussing ways to secure skilled employees for many years and have put into condensed form numerous measures in the state’s strategy for securing skilled employees between 2014 and 2017. This strategy will be further developed over the coming year and updated for the years thereafter.

In Rhineland-Palatinate, we agree that an essential basis for successfully securing skilled employees is an efficient, open and socially just education system that guarantees all children and young people decent opportunities for a good education. At the same time, a good education is also a key requirement for an independent life.
One very central step for one’s further life and career takes place after gaining one’s first school leaving certificate. What am I suited for? Dual vocational training? Or should I go to university? Or should I do both? What is the right choice? In order to support young people and young adults in this phase as far as possible, we have continued to expand school-based vocational and tertiary studies orientation over the last few years. Vocational and tertiary fairs are held at all “secondary modern plus” schools, integrated comprehensive schools and grammar schools where experts from the commercial sector, universities and colleges and the German Federal Employment Agency introduce the various training and educational paths available as equal options. In this way, grammar school pupils learn about the options involved in vocational training and pupils from secondary modern and comprehensive schools find out about the options involved in doing a university degree.

It is also about making clear that the decision to do vocational training is by no means a decision to rule out tertiary studies. In Rhineland-Palatinate, many years ago we opened up access to tertiary studies for those with vocational qualifications and are among the top states in Germany to do so. Anyone who has completed vocational training and can demonstrate at least two years’ related job experience is eligible to take up tertiary studies with no restrictions at a university of applied sciences, but with restrictions at university depending on the subject. There is direct eligibility for access to all tertiary studies for master tradesmen and holders of other comparable advanced qualifications.

At the same time, the “duales Studium” (combined vocational courses and tertiary studies) is an attractive option for those wishing to combine an intensely practical and vocational qualification and a tertiary qualification, where practically-oriented learning in a company is combined with a high-level academic education. The training locations of company and university/college coordinate with each other so that everything runs smoothly and the components of theory and practice complement each other optimally.

Dual vocational/academic courses are attractive not only to students but also to companies that want to hold onto highly-­qualified employees during the training stages and that can also benefit from the contacts with the university/college concerned. The development of dual vocational/academic in Rhineland-Palatinate shows that this is a successful model. Accordingly, the number of courses offered incresaed from 17 in the 2008/2009 winter semester to 67 in the 2015/2016 winter semester, thereby almost quadrupling. The number of students in these courses rose from 800 to over 2,600 in the same period. We intend to retain this development in future.

Professionally qualified and “sandwich students” – these are two examples that show how colourful and diverse the world at universities and colleges has become. To make sure degree courses can react more flexibly to varying kinds of life situations and target groups, the Rhineland-Palatinate state government is supporting universities and colleges in trying out innovative study formats as part of the German Tertiary Education Pact. From 2016 to 2020, universities and colleges in Rhineland-Palatinate will receive funding of 53.5 million euros for programmes that will improve the quality of teaching, the inclusion of women in academia and removing artificial barriers between academic education and vocational training. This funding will finance almost 100 individual projects, ranging from digitalisation to supporting STEM teaching and offer much potential for identifying successful methods which will be transferred to universities/colleges and subjects and which may thus lead to improvements generally.

All this shows that education and science have top priority in Rhineland-Palatinate: they are crucial for the social and economic efficiency and future viability of our state.

Prof. Dr. Konrad Wolf
After working at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics in Garching and at the Fraunhofer Institute for Microelectronic Circuits and Systems, Konrad Wolf received a professorship in Microelectronic Components and Semiconductor Technology at the Kaiserslautern Institute of Technology in 2001, which he also represented as Vice-President of Teaching and Research from 2005 to 2009. He was elected President of the Kaiserslautern Institute of Technology in 2009. From 2010 to 2012, he was Deputy Chairman and from 2012 to 2014 Chairman, of the State Tertiary Education Conference (LHPK). Since 18 May 2016, he has been Minister of Science, Higher Education and Culture of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Minister für Wissenschaft, Weiterbildung und Kultur Prof. Dr. Konrad Wolf: Gute Bildung als Voraussetzung für ein selbstbestimmtes Leben und erfolgreiche Fachkräftesicherung

Laut einer aktuellen Studie des Instituts der deutschen Wirtschaft (IW) steuert Deutschland auf einen gravierenden Fachkräftemangel im Bereich MINT (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik) zu. Allein in Rheinland-Pfalz fehlen in den nächsten Jahren rund 25.000 qualifizierte Fachkräfte in diesem Bereich. Was tun wir dagegen? Die rheinland-pfälzische Landesregierung hat eine MINT-Initiative gestartet, um die zahlreichen bereits bestehenden Maßnahmen und Programme noch besser zu verknüpfen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Zur Prüfung der bestehenden und Entwicklung neuer An­­sätze haben wir alle Beteiligten zu einem runden Tisch MINT eingeladen. Gemeinsam mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Wirtschaft, Gewerkschaften, Arbeits­agen­­turen und Verbänden werden wir konstruktiv über erfolgreiche Wege zur Fachkräftesicherung beraten. Dieser dia­­logorientierte Ansatz hat sich beim Ovalen Tisch der Minister­­präsidentin sehr bewährt. In diesem Rahmen erörtern Expertinnen und Experten aus den genannten Bereichen seit einigen Jahren Wege zur Fachkräfte­­siche­­­­rung und haben zahlreiche praktische Maßnahmen in der Landesstrategie zur Fachkräftesicherung 2014 – 2017 zu­­sammengefasst. Diese Strategie wird im Laufe des nächsten Jahres weiterentwickelt und für die nächsten Jahre fortgeschrieben.

In Rheinland-Pfalz sind wir uns einig: Wesentliche Grundlage für erfolgreiche Fachkräftesicherung ist ein leistungsfähiges, durchlässiges und sozial gerechtes Bildungssystem, das allen Kindern und Jugendlichen gute Bildungschancen garantiert. Zugleich ist gute Bildung auch zentrale Vor­aus­­setzung für ein selbstbestimmtes Leben.
Eine ganz zentrale Weichenstellung für den weiteren Lebens- und Berufsweg findet nach dem ersten Schulabschluss statt. Was passt für mich? Eine berufliche Ausbildung im dualen System? Oder doch lieber studieren? Oder eine Mischung von beidem? Welches ist der richtige Weg? Um Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene in dieser Phase möglichst gut zu unter­­stützen, haben wir in den letzten Jahren die schulische Be­­rufs- und Studienorientierung weiter ausgebaut. An allen Real­­schulen plus, integrierten Gesamtschulen und Gym­nasien werden Tage der Berufs- und Studienorientierung durch­­ge­führt, bei denen Expertinnen und Experten aus Wirtschaft, Hoch­­schulen und Agentur für Arbeit die unterschiedlichen Aus­bil­­dungswege gleichberechtigt darstellen. So werden Schüler­innen und Schüler am Gymnasium über die Chancen einer be­­ruflichen Ausbildung ebenso informiert wie Gleich­altrige an der Real­­schule plus über die Möglichkeiten eines Hochschulstudiums.

Nicht zuletzt geht es auch darum, deutlich zu machen, dass die Entscheidung für eine berufliche Ausbildung keines­­wegs die endgültige Absage an ein Studium bedeutet. Denn in Rheinland-Pfalz haben wir den Hochschulzugang schon seit vielen Jahren für beruflich Qualifizierte geöffnet und liegen bei der Öffnung der Hochschulen für beruflich Qualifizierte bundesweit in der Spitzengruppe. Wer eine berufliche Ausbildung erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat und mindestens zwei Jahre Berufserfahrung vorweisen kann, dem steht der Weg in ein Studium offen – an Fachhoch­schulen uneingeschränkt und an Universitäten fachgebunden. Eine unmittelbare Hochschulzugangs­be­rech­ti­gung für alle Hochschulen gibt es darüber hinaus für Meister und die Absolventinnen und Absolventen vergleich­­barer Fortbildungsqualifizierungen.

Daneben gibt es für alle, die eine starke Praxis- und Berufs­­orientierung mit einem Hochschulabschluss verbinden möchten, mit dem dualen Studium ein attraktives Angebot. Praxis­­orientiertes Lernen im Betrieb wird mit einer akademischen Ausbildung auf hohem Niveau verknüpft. Die Ausbildungsorte Betrieb und Hochschule stimmen sich miteinander ab, damit organisatorisch alles reibungslos funktioniert und die Bau­steine Praxis und Theorie sich optimal ergänzen können.

Duale Studiengänge sind sowohl für Studierende als auch für Betriebe und Unternehmen attraktiv, die hoch qualifizierte Fachkräfte schon während der Ausbildung an sich binden und von den Kontakten mit der jeweiligen Hochschule zusätzlich profitieren können. Die Entwicklung der dualen Studiengänge in Rheinland-Pfalz zeigt, dass dies ein Erfolgs­­modell ist. So ist die Zahl der angebotenen Studiengänge von 17 im Wintersemester 2008/2009 auf 67 im Wintersemester 2015/2016 gestiegen und hat sich damit nahezu vervierfacht. Die Zahl der dual Studierenden ist im selben Zeitraum von rund 800 auf über 2.600 gestiegen. Diese Dynamik wollen wir auch in Zukunft erhalten.

Beruflich Qualifizierte und dual Studierende – zwei Beispiele, die zeigen, wie bunt und vielfältig die Welt auch an den Hoch­schulen geworden ist. Damit Studienangebote noch flexibler auf unterschiedliche Lebenssituationen und Zielgruppen reagieren können, unterstützt die Landesregierung die Hochschulen bei der Erprobung innovativer Studienformate im Rahmen des Hoch­­schulpakts. Die rheinland-pfälzischen Hochschulen erhalten von 2016 – 2020 für Programme zur Verbesserung der Qualität in der Lehre, der Teilhabe von Frauen in der Wissenschaft und der Er­­höhung der Durchlässigkeit zwischen akademischer und beruflicher Bildung Mittel in Höhe von 53,5 Mio. Euro. Daraus werden fast 100 Einzelprojekte gefördert, die von der Digitali­sierung bis zur MINT-Förderung reichen und großes Potenzial für die Identifikation erfolgreicher Maßnahmen bieten, die auf alle Hoch­­schulen und Fächer übertragen werden und damit zu Ver­b­ess­erungen in der Breite führen können. .

All dies zeigt: Bildung und Wissenschaft haben in Rhein­­land-Pfalz hohe Priorität. Sie sind entscheidend für die gesell­­schaftliche und ökonomische Leistungs- und Zukunftsfähigkeit unseres Landes.

Prof. Dr. Konrad Wolf
Nach Tätigkeiten am Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik in Garching und am Fraunhofer- Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme erhielt Konrad Wolf 2001 eine Professur für Mikroelektronische Bauelemente und Halbleitertechnologie an der Hochschule Kaiserslautern, die er ebenfalls als Vizepräsident für Lehre und Forschung in den Jahren 2005 bis 2009 vertrat. 2009 wurde er zum Präsidenten der Hochschule Kaiserslautern gewählt. Von 2010 bis 2012 war er Stellvertretender Vorsitzender, von 2012 bis 2014 Vorsitzender der Landeshochschulpräsidentenkonferenz (LHPK). Seit dem 18. Mai 2016 ist er Minister für Wissenschaft, Weiterbildung und Kultur des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz.