Michaela Sauer & Dr. Nina Traut: Realistic visions for increased cost effectiveness through organic electronics

Organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) are already in use in many high-tech products today. Because the OLEDs are extremely thin and flexible, they can be used in a wide range of lighting solutions, including as window glass, wafer-thin displays and large-scale luminous wall coverings. The possibilities offered by this unique technology are far from being exhausted.

 

Printed organic electronics is one of the technologies that has the potential to change the world over the next few years. This is partly because these technologies make environmentally-friendly energy generation, economical energy consumption and resource-saving production of electronic components possible. But it is also down to the special properties of these innovative products and applications: wafer-thin energy-saving lighting systems that need only half as much energy as today’s en­­ergy-saving light bulbs; highly-efficient solar cell films that transform the sun’s energy into electricity when applied to the outside of windows; intelligent plasters that measure the patient’s body temperature; or even miniature screens in magazines.
Funding from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of its top cluster competition and financial support from the state of Baden-Württem­berg provided the vital stimulus for establishing the “Forum Organic Electronics” (FOE) cooperation network in Heidelberg as one of the leading networks in printed organic electronics. Since the project won the top cluster competition in 2008, millions of euros have been in­vested in researching this future technology.

At the heart of the cluster is InnovationLab GmbH (iL) in Heidelberg, a new form of public-private partnership between industry and science. This was established to provide a shared site for the over 28 partners even after the funding period has expired, in order to safeguard in­­ter­­disciplinary cooperation between the partners along the entire value chain under one umbrella.
The inauguration of the joint research platform in Feb­­ruary 2011 gave fresh wind to the work of the FOE top clus­­ter around the iL. Since then, the 2,900 square metres of office and laboratory space have been home to over 100 researchers from the partner companies, working together on innovative lighting systems, highly-efficient solar cell films and printed electronics. The scientists and experts have the use of facilities including a 650 square metre clean room laboratory for their research. In this laboratory – the only one of its kind in the world – research­ers from a wide range of fields use specially-designed printing machines and the outstanding opportunities for characterisation and analysis to develop the foundations of printed organic electronics for innovative applications together, using methods that span multiple projects and applications. All key steps in the production process can now be investigated and coordinated in one place, instead of existing and being developed locally and independently of one another as they were before. It took just a short time to bring together the technological expertise in one place. As a flagship project, Heidelberger Druckmaschi­nen constructed a six-inch roll-to-roll printing press, which can deliver a throughput of 100 metres per minute. The facility is being adapted to the requirements bit by bit. The goal is the constant manufacture of a wide range of elec­­tronic components that can be used as system com­­­ponents, for example in the automotive industry and building architecture. Initial demonstration pieces de­­veloped through this cooperation have now been displayed to the public, including at this year’s industry trade fair drupa.



In the first funding period for the top cluster’s strategy implementation, the cluster’s development was characterised by the identification of fundamental issues and the establishment of the central research platform. Now the focus is on transferring the processes that have been developed from the laboratory to an industrial process environment. This was also mapped in an interdisciplin­ary way at the iL, which forms the hub of all cluster activ­­ities and is perfectly tailored and excellently equipped for the role.
But the top cluster is not limited to its region or even to Germany. Joint working and projects with Merck Chemicals Ltd’s Chilworth Technical Centre (UK) and EMD Chemicals in Boston (US) ensure that the development of the highly-efficient materials is in line with process developments at the iL. For example, the new generation of organic semiconductors for photovoltaic applications or circuits is being developed in Chilworth, England, and simultaneously adapted to the manufacturing process in the iL laboratories.


Alongside its various research projects, training the next generation of scientists is also very important to the clus­­ter, in order to cover the need for specialist staff in this future market. Students of physics, chemistry, materials science, engineering, information technology and even business economics receive interdisciplinary training at the shared site. A scholarship programme established in 2011 in cooperation with Dartmouth College, Massachu­­setts Institute of Technology and Princeton University allows young scientists to work together on interdiscip­linary projects across cultural boundaries.

The first steps in moving from vision to reality have already been taken. The “smart forvision”, a concept ve­­hicle designed by smart and BASF, was presented at the IAA in 2011. This smart demonstrates a mixture of vision­­ary materials, some of which are still at the laboratory stage, and technologies that have a good chance of enter­­ing series production. The organic pigment solar cells (OPV) used in the vehicle can transform sunlight into electricity, while semi-transparent organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) illuminate the vehicle’s interior without becoming hot. This prevents energy being lost through heat radiation.

The highlight of the Consumer Electronics Show 2012 in Las Vegas was an OLED television offering brilliant image quality, 1,000 times the speed of LED/LCD displays and pin-sharp depiction of movement with absolutely no blur­­ring or bleeding effects. With a screen diagonal of 140 cen­­timetres, weighing 7.5 kilogrammes and just 4 mm thick, the LG 55EM9600 is very light for a technological heavy­­weight. These examples show that organic electronics have already made their mark in the most significant industrial segments as a pioneering technology of the future and a driver of innovation. A study by NanoMarkets (2011) showed that portable devices are seen as a major field of application in the OPV segment, resulting in a pre­­dicted sales volume of USD 250 million by 2016. Glass applications in photovoltaic systems integrated into build­­ings are expected to generate another USD 113 million of turnover in 2016. In the field of OLED applications, the market for OLED materials is expected to grow from USD 500 million in 2012 to over USD seven billion in 2019.

Turning these visions into reality is the main goal of the top cluster FOE, which is why the partners involved have long been in favour of expanding the joint research plat­­form. The future of organic electronics has already started here.

The author gained a degree in chemistry from the University of Cologne. In her doctoral thesis, she worked on multi-layer phosphorescent OLEDs based on small molecules. She has been at Merck KGaA since 2009, and also works at InnovationLab GmbH in Heidelberg, a joint research platform that forms part of the top German cluster “Forum Organic Electronics”.
After studying economics and sociology at the Heidelberg University, the author worked in global corporate communication at SAP AG. Michaela Sauer is responsible for cluster management at the BMBF top cluster “Forum Organic Electronics”, which is part of InnovationLab GmbH, founded in 2008.

Michaela Sauer & Dr. Nina Traut: Realistische Visionen für mehr Wirt­­schaft­­lichkeit durch organische Elektronik

Organische Leuchtdioden (OLED) kommen schon heute in vielen High-Tech-Produkten zum Einsatz. Da die OLED-Leuchten extrem dünn und biegsam sind, lassen sie sich für unterschiedlichste Lichtlösungen einsetzen. Ob als Fensterglas, als hauchdünnes Display, oder als großflächig leuchtende Wand­tapete, die Möglichkeiten dieser einzigartigen Technologie sind noch lange nicht ausgereizt.

 

Die gedruckte organische Elektronik ge­­­­hört zu den Technologien, die das Po­­ten­­zial haben, in den nächsten Jah­­ren die Welt zu verändern. Dies liegt zum einen an der möglichen Reali­­sie­rung umweltfreundlicher Ener­­gie­­­ge­win­nung, sparsamer Energieverwendung und res­­sour­­censchonender Herstellung elek­­tro­­nischer Kom­­po­­nenten durch diese Tech­­­­no­­logien. Zum anderen aber auch an den speziellen Eigenschaften neuarti­­ger Pro­­­­dukte und Anwendungen: hauch­­dünne energiesparende Beleuchtungs­systeme, die nur halb so viel Energie wie heutige Energiesparlampen benö­­ti­­­gen, hoch­­effiziente Solarzellenfolien, die, an Fensterfronten angebracht, Son­­nen­­­­­­en­­er­­gie in Strom umwandeln, intelligente Pflas­­­ter, die die Körpertemperatur des Pa­­­tien­­ten messen, Miniatur-Bild­­schirme in Zeit­­schriften.

Wichtiger Impuls, um das Koope­ra­tions­­­­­netzwerk „Forum Organic Electronics“ (FOE) in Heidelberg als eines der führenden Netzwerke in der gedruckten organischen Elektronik zu etablieren, waren in erster Linie die För­­derung durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und For­­schung (BMBF) im Rahmen des Spitzen­­cluster-Wett­­bewerbs sowie die Förder­­maß­­­­nahmen des Landes Baden-Württem­berg. Seit dem Gewinn des Spit­­­zen­­cluster-Wett­­bewerbs im Jahr 2008 sind mehrere Mil­­lionen Euro in die Erforschung der Zukunfts­­tech­­no­­logie investiert worden.

Mittelpunkt des Clusters bildet die Inno­vationLab GmbH (iL) in Heidelberg, eine neue Form einer Public Private Partner­­ship von Industrie und Wissen­­schaft, die auch über den Förder­zeit­­raum hinaus als gemeinsamer Stand­­­­­ort der über 28 Part­­ner nachhaltig etabliert wurde, um die disziplinübergreifende Zu­­sammen­­arbeit der Part­­ner entlang der gesamten Wert­­schöpfungs­­kette unter einem gemeinsamen Dach sicherzustellen.

Mit der Einweihung der gemeinsamen Forschungs­platt­­form im Februar 2011 hat die Arbeit des Spitzenclusters FOE rund um die iL noch einmal Fahrt aufge­­nommen. Auf insgesamt 2.900 Qua­­drat­­­­metern Büro- und Labor­fläche ar­­bei­­ten seitdem über 100 Forscher der Partner gemein­­sam an neuartigen Be­­leuch­­tungs­­systemen, hoch­effizi­enten So­­­­­­­lar­­zellen­folien und der gedruckten Elek­­tronik. Für ihre For­­schungen steht den Wissenschaftlern und Experten unter anderem ein 650 Quadratmeter großes Rein­­raumlabor zur Verfügung. Ein welt­­­­weit einzigartiges Labor, in dem auf spe­­ziell designten Druckma­­schinen und mit heraus­­ragenden Charakterisierungs- und Analyse­­möglichkeiten Forscher ver­­schiedenster Fach­­richtungen gemeinsam projekt- und applikationsübergrei­­fend die Grundlagen der ge­­druckten organischen Elektronik für innovative Anwen­­dungen erarbeiten. An einem zen­­tralen Ort können alle wesentlichen Pro­­duktionsschritte un­­tersucht und auf­­einander abgestimmt werden, die bis dahin dezentral und unabhängig von­­einander existierten oder entwickelt wur­­­­den. Technologiekompetenz konnte hier in kürzester Zeit gebündelt werden. Als Flaggschiff hat Heidelberger Druck­­maschinen eine sechs-Zoll-Rolle-­­zu-Rolle-Druckmaschine aufgebaut, die einen Durch­satz von 100 Metern pro Minute liefern kann. Nach und nach wird die Anlage an die Erfordernisse angepasst. Ziel ist die kontinuierliche Her­­stel­­lung verschiedenster Elektronik­bauteile, die als Systemkomponenten beispiels­weise in der Auto­mobil­in­dus­trie und Ge­­bäude­­archi­tektur zum Ein­­satz kommen können. Erste in Zu­­sam­­men­arbeit er­­stellte Demonstratoren wurden unter anderem auf der diesjährigen Branchen­­messe drupa gezeigt.

Nachdem in der ersten Förderphase der Strate­gie­um­setzung des Spitzen­clus­ters die Identifizierung tech­­no­logisch grund­­legender Fragestellungen und der Auf­­bau der zentralen For­­schungs­­platt­­form die Ent­wicklung des Cluster ge­­prägt haben, steht nun die Umsetzung der er­­arbeiteten Prozesse von der Labor- auf eine in­dus­­trie­­nahe Prozess­­um­ge­bung im Vor­der­grund. Auch dies wird interdisziplinär auf der dafür optimal abgestimmten und ex­­zellent ausgestat­­teten Infrastruktur an der iL als Dreh­­­­­scheibe sämtlicher Clus­­ter­­­aktivitäten ab­­ge­bildet.



Aber der Spitzencluster ist nicht regional oder gar natio­nal beschränkt. Ge­­meinsame Arbeiten und Projekte mit dem Chilworth Technical Centre der Merck Chemicals Ltd (UK) und EMD Che­­micals in Boston (US) stellen sicher, dass die Entwick­­lung der hocheffizi­­en­­ten Mate­­­­ri­­­alien mit den Prozess­ent­­wick­­lungen an der iL im Ein­­klang stehen. So wird zum Bei­­spiel die neue Generation organischer Halbleiter für Photovoltaik-Anwendungen oder Schal­­­­tungen im englischen Chil­­worth entwickelt und zu­­gleich in den Laboren der iL an den Her­­stel­­lungs­prozess angepasst.

Neben den verschiedenen Forschungs­­projekten liegt dem Cluster die Aus­­bil­­dung von Nachwuchs­wissen­schaft­lern am Herzen, um den Fachkräftebedarf dieses Zukunfts­marktes decken zu kön­­­­nen. Am gemeinsamen Standort wer­­den Studierende unter anderem aus den Be­­­­reichen Physik, Chemie, Ma­­te­­rial­­­wissen­­­­schaften, Inge­­nieurwesen, Informatik, aber auch BWL interdisziplinär ausgebildet. Ein in 2011 in Zu­­sammenarbeit mit dem Darthmouth College, dem Massa­­chusetts Institute of Technology und der Princeton University etabliertes Stipen­­­diatenpro­gramm er­­mög­­licht es den Nach­­wuchs­­wissen­­schaft­­lern, inter­­disziplinär und interkulturell an gemeinsamen Pro­­­­jekten zu arbeiten.

Die ersten Schritte von der Vision zur Realität wurden bereits getan. Mit dem „smart forvision“ wurde auf der IAA 2011 ein Konzeptfahrzeug von smart und BASF vor­­­­gestellt. Dieser smart de­­mons­­triert eine Mischung aus visionären, teils noch im Laborstadium be­­find­­lichen Mate­­ri­a­­lien sowie Tech­­no­­­­lo­­gien, die gute Chancen auf eine Serien­­­­einführung ha­­ben. Die im Fahr­­zeug ver­­wen­­deten orga­­nischen Farb­­stoff-Solar­­­­zellen (OPV) können Sonnen­­­­licht in Strom um­­wan­­deln und semi­trans­­pa­­rente organische Leucht­­­­­­­dioden (OLEDs) beleuchten den Innen­­­­raum des Fahr­­zeuges, ohne heiß zu werden. So geht keine Energie durch abgestrahlte Wär­­me verloren.


Das Highlight auf der Con­­sumer Elec­­tronics Show 2012 in Las Vegas war ein OLED-Fernseher mit brillanter Bild­­­­­­qua­­lität, einer 1.000-mal höheren Ge­­­­schwin­­­­digkeit als LED/LCD-Displays so­­wie einer scharfen Wiedergabe von Be­­­­we­­gungen ohne jegliche Unschärfe- oder Bleeding-Effekte. Mit einer Bild­­schirm­­dia­­­­gonale von 140 Zenti­me­­­tern ist der LG 55EM9600 mit 7,5 Kilo­­gramm und ledig­­lich vier Milli­me­­tern Dicke ein technologi­­sches Schwer-, aber auch Leicht­­gewicht. Diese Bei­­spiele zei­­gen, dass die orga­­nische Elek­­tronik in den bedeutendsten Industrie­­­­zweigen als rich­­tungsweisende Tech­­no­­lo­­gie der Zu­­kunft und Inno­­va­­tions­­­­­­­­treiber bereits lan­­ciert ist. Laut einer Stu­­­­die von Nano­­Markets (2011) wird im Be­­reich der OPV ein großes Anwen­­dungs­­­­­­­­­feld bei tragbaren Geräten ge­­sehen. Da­­raus ergebe sich bis 2016 ein Um­­satz­vo­­­­lu­­men von 250 Millionen US­­-Dollar. Glas­­­­­­­an­­wen­­dun­­gen in der ge­­bäu­­de­­inte­­grier­­ten Photo­vol­­taik sollen 2016 weitere 113 Mil­­lionen US-­Dollar Um­­sätze erzeugen. Im Bereich OLED-Anwen­­dun­­gen wird ein Wachs­­tum des Marktes für OLED-Ma­­te­­­­rialien von 500 Millionen US-­Dollar im Jahr 2012 auf über sieben Milli­­arden US-­Dollar im Jahr 2019 erwartet.

Diese Visionen Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen, ist das Hauptziel des Spitzen­­cluster FOE und aus diesem Grund haben sich die beteiligten Partner schon längst für einen Ausbau der gemeinsamen For­­­­schungsplattform stark ge­­macht. Die Zukunft der organischen Elektronik hat hier bereits begonnen.

Dr. Nina Traut: Die Autorin absolvierte ein Chemie­­stu­­dium an der Universität Köln. Während ihrer Doktorarbeit beschäftigte sie sich mit auf kleinen Molekülen basierenden, mehrschichtigen, phosphoreszierenden OLEDs. Seit 2009 ist sie bei der Merck KGaA und darüber hinaus bei der Inno­­vationLab GmbH in Heidel­­berg tätig, eine gemeinsame Forschungs­platt­­form im Rah­­men des deutschen Spitzen­­clus­­­ters „Forum Organic Electronics“.
Michaela Sauer: Nach dem Volkswirtsschafts- und Sozio­­logiestudium an der Ruprecht-Karls-Uni­­versität Heidelberg arbeitete die Autorin in der globalen Unternehmens­­kommu­­­ni­kation der SAP AG. Michaela Sauer ist zu­­ständig für das Clustermanagement des BMBF-Spitzenclusters „Forum Organic Elec­­tronics“, der Teil der 2008 gegründeten InnovationLab GmbH ist.