Michael Pehl: The courage to take risks – The misjudged industry of pharmaceuticals

Hardly any industry combines as wide a variety of expert knowledge as the pharmaceutical industry. Hardly any in­­dustry invests as much in research and development as the pharmaceutical in­­dustry. Hardly any industry involves such a high amount of entrepreneurial risk. And hardly any industry has to fight so hard to gain public recognition for its achievements.

High risks – low prospects of success
The development of innovative medicines is risky, time-consuming and expensive. On an average, ten to twelve years pass before a new substance is approved for marketing. The chances of a substance that is in phase 1 clinical trials to be­­come a success at the time of its approv­­al many years later, are only about ten per cent on average. When the new drug is finally approved, it has to recoup the costs of its own development, the costs of the 90 per cent of failed developments, plus the costs of future medicines. As with an inter-generational contract: To­­day’s sales will ensure tomorrow’s in­­no­­vations. Just an example: In oncology, only three in ten approved drugs are successful enough after approval to earn their own costs of research and develop­­ment accrued so far.

labor6

Target identification and target validation
To find a new agent for the treatment of an illness, it is important, in the first place, to understand which processes in the human body are not functioning properly.
Once a so-called target has been identi­fied, that is, a molecule or a biochemical structure whose manipulation might help to alleviate the symptoms of or even cure an illness, it will be validated for pharmacological use. Only when its molecular biological and biochemical functions have been understood is it possible to find out which effects that manipulation may be expected to have on the condition. Testing approaches help researchers to measure and visualize the biochemical processes in cells that are to be investigated. They are specifically developed for the identified target and enable in vitro analysis in test tubes.

Lead identification and lead optimization
After this, complete classes of agents (leads), which are available in libraries, are tested to determine if and how they interact with the target.
Those classes that have shown to have a significant impact on the target are then further analyzed in vitro.

Unbenannt-1

Preclinical and clinical phases
Only very few agents, whose effective­ness and safety have been tested on animals, enter the preclinical phase. If the test results in that phase are positive the selected agents will subsequently be tested on humans during clinical trials. Such trials have to meet the high­­est legal requirements that are laid down in national and international re­­g­­ulations and laws. In addition, clinical trials are reviewed by the relevant ap­­proval authorities and independent ethics committees.

Approval
It is not until the results of the clinical trials have shown that the new agent is both effective and safe that an appli­cation for approval can be submitted. Na­­­­­tional and international authorities de­­cide if the accumulated data is convincing enough to grant the pharma­ceu­tical company the approval that is ne­­ces­­sary to start marketing the new substance.
Pharmaceutical research and development enters new territories, day after day. This makes it expensive and risky. However, a risk usually holds a chance. For instance, the decreasing cancer mor­­tality rates in first-world countries are mainly due to innovative therapeutic strategies which pharmaceutical companies have been developing and conti­­n­­ue to develop in cooperation with lea­­d­ing scientific institutions.
Celgene is a globally active biopharma­ceutical company founded in New Jersey, USA, in 1986. Celgene engages in the research, development and commercia­l­­ization of innovative medicines, mainly for the treatment of various forms of can­­cer and diseases of the im­­mune system. The German subsidiary of the company, Celgene GmbH, was established in Munich-Riem in 2006.

Michael_PehlThe author studied molecular biology at Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich. From 1991 to 2002, he held leading posi­­tions at AMGEN GmbH in Munich and AMGEN In­­ternational in Switzerland. In 2006, Mr Pehl joined Celgene and set up the company’s German subsidiary in Munich. Since 2009, he has been the Regional Vice Pre­sident of Celgene International with re­­sponsibility for the Central European operations.

Michael Pehl: Mit dem Mut zum Risiko – Pharma, die verkannte Branche

Kaum eine Branche vereint so viel un­­terschiedliches Expertenwissen wie die phar­­­mazeutische Industrie. Kaum eine Bran­che investiert so viel in For­­schung und Ent­­wicklung wie die pharmazeutische In­­dustrie. Bei kaum einer Branche ist das un­­ternehmerische Ri­­si­ko so hoch. Und: Kaum eine Branche muss so sehr um die öffentliche Wert­­schätzung ihrer Leis­tun­gen kämpfen.

Großes Risiko – kleine Aussicht auf Erfolg
Die Entwicklung von innovativen Me­­dika­menten ist riskant, zeitintensiv und teuer. Bevor eine neue Substanz die Marktzu­las­­sung erhält, vergehen im Durchschnitt zehn bis zwölf Jahre. Die Aussichten, dass sie von der Pha­se I der klinischen Ent­­wick­­lung bis zur viele Jahre späteren Zu­­las­­sung erfolgreich ist, betragen im Durch­­schnitt nur circa zehn Prozent. Ist ein neu­­es Me­­di­­kament schließlich zugelassen, muss es die Kosten für seine eigene Ent­wick­­lung, die Kosten für die 90 Pro­­­­zent der fehlgeschlagenen Entwick­lun­­gen sowie die Kos­­ten für zukünf­ti­­­ge Medi­ka­men­te erwirt­schaf­­ten. Wie bei einem Ge­­ne­ra­tio­nen­ver­­trag: Die heutigen Umsät­ze sichern die In­­nova­tio­nen von morgen. Um ein Beispiel zu nennen: In der Onkologie sind nur drei von zehn Arzneimitteln nach ihrer Zu­­las­sung so erfolgreich, dass sie ihre eigenen, bis dahin angefallenen Kosten für For­schung und Ent­­wick­lung wieder einbringen.

labor6

Target-Identifizierung und Target-Validierung
Um einen neuen Wirkstoff gegen eine Krankheit zu finden, gilt es zuerst zu verstehen, welche Prozesse im menschlichen Körper gestört sind. Ist ein so genanntes Target identifiziert, also ein Molekül oder eine biochemische Struktur im Körper, dessen oder deren Manipu­lation dazu führen könnte, die Symp­to­me einer Krankheit zu lindern oder sie gar zu heilen, erfolgt dessen Validierung für die pharmakologische Anwendung. Erst wenn seine Molekularbiologie und Biochemie verstanden sind, kann man herausfinden, wie sich die Manipulation auf die Erkrankung auswirken könnte. Testansätze helfen den Forschern, die zu untersuchenden biochemischen Pro­­zesse in Zellen messbar und sichtbar zu machen. Sie werden speziell für das iden­tifizierte Target entwickelt und er­­mög­­lichen seine Untersuchung im Rea­genz­­glas, in vitro.

Lead-Identifizierung und Lead-Optimierung
Dann werden ganze Substanzklassen (Leads), die in Bibliotheken zur Ver­fü­­gung stehen, daraufhin getestet, ob und wie sie mit dem Target interagieren.
Die­jenigen Substanzklassen, die einen signifikanten Einfluss auf das Target zeigen, werden näher in vitro untersucht.

Unbenannt-1

Präklinik und Klinik
In die präklinische Phase kommen nur sehr wenige Substanzen, die jetzt auf ihre Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit im Tiermodell überprüft werden. Sind diese Tests positiv, werden die ausgewählten Substanzen im Rahmen von klinischen Studien danach am Menschen untersucht. Derartige Stu­dien müssen hohen gesetzlichen Stan­dards genügen, die in nationalen und inter­­na­tionalen Richtlinien und Gesetzen vorgegeben sind. Klinische Studien werden zusätzlich durch die Zu­­las­sungsbehör­den und unabhängige Ethik­­­­kommissionen geprüft.

Zulassung
Erst wenn die Ergebnisse der klinischen Studien Wirksamkeit und Unbedenk­lich­­keit der neuen Substanz gezeigt ha­­ben, kann ein Zulassungsantrag gestellt wer­­den. Nationale und internationale Be­­hör­den entscheiden darüber, ob die gesammelten Daten überzeugend ge­­nug sind, um dem pharmazeutischen Unter­­neh­men die Zulassung zu erteilen, die es berechtigt, den neuen Wirkstoff schließ­­lich auch zu vermarkten.
Pharmazeutische Forschung und Ent­wick­lung betritt Neuland, jeden Tag. Da­­her ist sie teuer und risikointensiv. Aber: Ein Risiko birgt meist auch eine Chance. Die sinkende Krebsmortali­tät in den Län­­dern der ersten Welt beipielsweise be­­ruht im Wesentlichen auf innovativen Thera­pie­­strategien, die pharmazeutische Un­­ternehmen in Kooperation mit füh­­­ren­den wissenschaftlichen Einrich­tung­en ent­­wickelten und weiter entwickeln.
Celgene ist ein globales biopharmazeu­tisches Unternehmen, das 1986 in New Jer­­sey, USA, gegründet wurde. Celgene er­­forscht, entwickelt und vertreibt in­­no­­vative Arzneimittel, hauptsächlich zur Be­­­­­­handlung von Krebserkrankungen und Krank­heiten des Immunsystems. In Deutsch­­­­­land ist Celgene seit 2006 durch die Celgene GmbH in München-Riem ver­treten.

Michael_PehlDer Autor studierte Molekularbiologie an der LMU Mün­­­­­­­chen und war von 1991 bis 2002 für AMGEN in München sowie für AM­GEN International in der Schweiz lei­tend tätig. 2006 wechselte Pehl zu Cel­gene und baute die deut­­sche Nie­­der­las­sung in Mün­chen auf. Seit 2009 ist er für Celgene Inter­natio­nal als Regional Vice President für das opera­tive Ge­­schäft in Zentral­eu­ropa zuständig.