Michael Kolmer: Development prospects for the science city Darmstadt until 2050

150409-01-Kopie

For some years the lore of demographic change has continued to dominate the media and politically-seasoned debates – “threatened by emaciation”, “collapse” or “ageing” are examples of the most frequent terms that are heard.

According to information from Germany’s Federal Statistical Office, the population in Germany has actually dropped every year over the last few years by up to 0.2 per cent, or by 200,000 people (as of 2009). These figures normally fluctuate from year to year – in 2010 it was “only” 51,000 people fewer.
In its “medium”, or realistic variation, the population forecast, the Federal Statis­tical Office expects the population level in Germany to fluctuate only between 64.7 and 70.1 million people in 2060. The age pyramid, whose “pear-shape” we have since become familiar with, will gradually take on a “mushroom” shape in the 2020s – the ageing-peak in German society will then have been reached. Also, the fact that Germany – contrary to suggestions in the recent, more or less knowledgeable, public debates – has no longer been a real country of immigration since the early 2000s can be seen in the statistics. In 2010, 798,000 people came to Germany while 671,000 left during the same period. With the excep­­tion of 2008 and 2009, when Germany was a net emigration country for a short period, annual immigration has always been under 100,000 since 2004. In the case of German citizens, emigration losses of 40,000 were recorded in 2009; in 2010 this figure was minus 26,000.

To put it in a nutshell, it can be said that “Germany is shrinking”; “Germany is age­­ing”; “Germany does not play first violin in global migration”.
To put it another way, Germany is not only faced with a radical social and demo­­graphic change, this process has already begun.

If one transfers these plain facts to Ger­­many’s states, regions or even cities, the risk of serious errors at strategic, planning and even investment level become appar­­ent – not only for the public purse but also for the private sector. The main­­stream atti­tude that “demographic change equals shrinking” may often be correct; however, this is not always the case. On the contrary, demographic change has extraordinary effects and, in many cases, contributes to a heavy increase in regio­­nal disparities.

If one looks at population trends at dis­­trict and municipal level until 2020, then – apart from the massive losses in rural areas in Eastern Germany – it is very obvious that even the states of former Western Germany geographically adjacent to former Eastern Germany are still over­­whelmingly passive regions, this means regions with population loss. Another line of major population loss runs southeast from the Ruhr region, through Northern Hessen and down into the Bavarian Forest. Particularly noticeable losses can also be seen in the Saarland and the west of Rhineland-Palatinate. The active areas, those with population growth, include not only Munich and Southern Bavaria and Stuttgart and the Central Neckar, but also the Rhine-Main region. However, due to development over the last ten years (as from 2002), it can be assumed that the major urban centres in the region in particular, also including Darmstadt, would show greater population increases if these figures were re-calculated.

In a synthesis of the three major trends in demographic change, population dynam­­ics, ageing and a greater number of peo­­ple with an overseas background, Ger­many’s Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning (BBR) shows the con­­sequences that will result for town planning in Germany. The winner regions of demographic change show a clear population increase across the board and a simultaneous increase in the number of the very old people and in the num­ber of people immigrating to Germany, without whom the number of people of compulsory school age would drop significantly. Darmstadt, as can be easily seen, is centrally situated in a growth belt running south of Stuttgart to not quite north of Frankfurt am Main and in a south-western bypath to Freiburg and Basle. What is very clear here is a devel­­opment axis of continental significance covering three metropolitan regions (Stutt­­gart, Rhine-Neckar, Rhine-Main). As a cue, the use of the international orientation by the Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning should be understood against this background. Migration and its social side-effects should be understood less exclusively in respect of inte­­gration problems and more as an oppor­­tunity and potential for an urban society.

This observation is confirmed on a na­­tional scale and is refined in the interpretation of qualified forecasts for Hessen and for the science city of Darmstadt itself respectively. The population forecast by the Hessen Agentur from 2009 to 2050 shows extremely clearly how this state is divided. A strongly shrinking north (except Kassel) contrasts with the prospering Frankfurt/Rhine-Main metro­­politan region in which the major centres (in particular Frankfurt, Darmstadt and Offenbach) together with the Main-Taunus district will, in the long term, be the engines of population development. How small-scale the impacts of demographic change will be, however, is shown in an intraregional comparison. In Southern Hessen, too, the majority of districts can expect slight-to-medium decreases in population. What is more, if broken down at municipal level, it has been shown that even a few kilometres’ distance from an urban core or a commuter transport route can have considerable effects on population trends.

Population development in Darmstadt itself has not been steady since 1960 by any means; on the contrary, it can be subdi­vided into phases. By 1972, it had grown to a population of just over 142,000 resi­­dents. This was followed by waves until 1998, each of which took Darmstadt to an even lower base level – the city had be­­come a victim of suburbanisation, residents de­­parting to the direct surrounding region.

In the mid-1980s, there were even fears that Darmstadt’s population would slide to under the 130,000 mark (as of 31 December 1985, it had 132,685 residents). Since the late 1990s, it has started to grow continually again and wave-like movements are now no longer apparent. The trend to move back to the city, altered mobility patterns, the modernisation of the traditional concept of the family with all consequences in respect of family management in cases of two working parents in a household and Darmstadt’s attractiveness as a business-cum-scien­­tific centre all reinforce each other. Con­sequently, re-urbanisation reached the historic mark of 142,237 residents in late 2009. Darmstadt has never had so many residents ever since it was founded in 1330.

Since those days, this trend has continued. Recently, the special effect of the introduction of a tax on second residences is still in the process of losing its effectiveness in the face of the still-increasing property values. In late June 2011, 146,182 residents were registered as having pri­mary residences in Darmstadt.

In terms of further development, the Hes­­sen Agentur assumes that Darmstadt will see further population increases to 153,000 (2030) and 157,000 residents (2050); to a large extent these calculations corre­spond to the forecasts in the city’s own 2008 Demography Report.

In times in which the far-sighted compa­nies have long since learned to distinguish between a short-term economically-based shortage of skilled employees and a long-term demographically-based shortage, it is not only the absolute number of resi­­dents in and around a given location that is important. Apart from the excellent tertiary and other educational institutions for which Darmstadt is particularly well-known, another crucial factor for the future availability of skilled employees is in par­­ticular the so-called “youth quota”, the percentage of the population aged under 20 years. If this youth quota drops significantly, the “carpet will be pulled away from under German society’s feet”, there will be no more young recruits for the employment market and the natural pop­­u­­lation trend will lose its base. Although the percentage of older people in Darmstadt will increase, particularly from 2030, fore­­casts assume that the youth quota will remain stable or even increase slightly. This statement is doubtlessly one of the most important findings which will cause urban development in Darmstadt to mush­­room. For the private sector, this is also a signal that investment in Darmstadt is very rewarding since, from a de­­mographic point of view, the local social structures will remain stable and, in spite of the competition for qualified skilled employees here, recruiting will be easier than elsewhere.

In short, the science city of Darmstadt offers both security and opportunities for growth. It is no island but an active part of the prospering Rhine-Main region, one of the leading urban agglomerations in Europe with ideal opportunities for the future.

 

Kolmer,MichaelThe author was born in 1970 and studied geography at Darmstadt University of Technology. After various positions there and for the Baden-Württemberg state government, he has been deputy head of the Darmstadt business development corporation since 2000. He has been head of Darmstadt Department of Eco­­nomy and Urban Development since 2005.

Michael Kolmer: Entwicklungsperspektiven der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt bis 2050

150409-01-Kopie

Seit einigen Jahren begleitet uns die Kunde vom demografischen Wandel kon­­ti­­nuierlich in den Medien und bei Dis­kus­­sionen mit politischem Hintergrund. „Von Auszehrung bedroht“, „Niedergang“ oder „Über­alte­­rung“ sind Beispiele für die häufigsten Begrifflichkeiten, die dabei vorkommen.

Tatsächlich ging die Bevölkerungszahl in Deutschland in den letzten Jahren, den Angaben des Statistischen Bundes­amtes zufolge, jährlich um bis zu 0,2 Prozent oder absolut ausgedrückt um ungefähr 200.000 Personen zurück (Rückgang 2009). Naturgemäß schwanken die Werte von Jahr zu Jahr. Im Jahr 2010 waren es „nur“ 51.000 weniger.

Die Bundesstatistiker rechnen in ihrer „mittleren“, das heißt realistischen Vari­­ante der Bevölkerungsvorausberechnung mit einem Bevölkerungsstand in Deutsch­land, der sich im Jahr 2060 nur mehr zwischen 64,7 und 70,1 Millionen Menschen be­­we­­gen wird. Die Alterspyramide, an deren Birnen­­form wir uns zwischenzeitlich gewöhnt hatten, wird sich in den 2020er Jahren verblüffend einer Pilzform annähern – ein Höhepunkt der Überalterung unserer Gesell­­schaft wird dann erreicht sein. Auch dass die Bundesrepublik, entgegen dem Ein­­druck, den die mehr oder minder quali­fizierten öffentlichen Debatten der jüngeren Zeit sug­­gerieren, seit den frühen 2000er Jahren kein ausgesprochenes Zuwan­derungs­­land mehr ist, geht aus der Statistik hervor. 2010 standen 798.000 Zuzügen nach Deutschland 671.000 Fortzüge gegenüber. Mit Ausnahme von 2008 und 2009, in denen Deutschland sogar kurzzeitig ein Abwanderungsland mit negativem Saldo war, lag das Wanderungsplus zuvor seit 2004 stets unter 100.000 Personen. Bei Menschen mit deutscher Staats­ange­­hörig­­keit ist 2009 ein Abwanderungs­verlust in Höhe von 40.000 zu verzeichnen ge­­wesen. 2010 lag der Wert bei minus 26.000.

Prägnant auf den Punkt gebracht ist also festzustellen: Deutschland schrumpft – Deutschland wird älter – Deutschland spielt im globalen Migrationsgeschehen keine erste Geige. Anders ausgedrückt: Deutschland steht ein tief greifender sozi­­aler und demografischer Wandel nicht nur bevor. Dieser hat längst begonnen.

Überträgt man diese Fakten nun unreflektiert auf Bundesländer, Regionen oder sogar Städte, so besteht die Gefahr von schwerwiegenden Fehl­entschei­dun­gen auf strategischer, planerischer oder inves­­tiver Ebene für die öffentliche Hand, aber auch für Unternehmen. Die Mainstream-Haltung „demografischer Wandel = Schrumpfung“ mag oft zu­­treffend sein. Dies ist jedoch keinesfalls zwingend der Fall. Im Gegenteil, der demografische Wandel wirkt sich außerordentlich differenziert aus und trägt vielfach dazu bei, regionale Dispa­­ri­­täten massiv zu steigern.

Betrachtet man die Bevölkerungs­ent­wick­lung auf Ebene der Kreise und Städte bis 2020, so sticht neben den massiven Ver­­lusten, die den ländlich geprägten Raum in den neuen Bundesländern geradezu dramatisch betreffen, heraus, dass auch die ehemaligen Zonenrandgebiete der „Alt-BRD“ weiterhin überwiegend Passiv­­räume sind. Eine andere Linie gewichtiger Bevölkerungsverluste zieht sich vom Ruhr­­gebiet nach Südosten über Nordhessen bis in den Bayerischen Wald. Markant stechen auf der Negativseite außerdem das Saarland und die Westpfalz hervor. Zu den Aktivräumen mit positiven Wachstums­­raten zählt neben München/Oberbayern und Stuttgart/Mittlerer Neckar zum Beispiel das Rhein-Main-Gebiet, wobei aufgrund der Entwicklung im letzten Jahrzehnt (Ausgangsjahr war hier 2002) davon aus­­zugehen ist, dass insbesondere die Groß­­städte der Region, also auch Darmstadt, bei einer Neuberechnung noch deutlicher im Plus hervortreten würden.

In einer Synthese der drei großen Trends des demografischen Wandels, Bevölke­rungs­­dynamik, Alterung und Inter­natio­­na­­lisierung im Sinne des Anteils der Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund, zeigt das Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung (BBR) auf, welche Konse­­quenzen sich für die Raumentwicklung in Deutschland ergeben werden. Die Gewinnerregionen des demografischen Wandels weisen durch die Bank eine deutliche Zunahme der Bevölkerung auf, bei gleichzeitiger Zunahme der Hoch­betagten und einer verstärkten Inter­na­­tionalisierung, ohne dass jedoch die Zahl der Schulpflichtigen signifikant sinken würde. Darmstadt liegt – unschwer zu erkennen – zentral in einem Wachs­tums­­gürtel, der sich südlich von Stuttgart bis knapp nördlich von Frankfurt am Main erstreckt und in einem südwestlichen Nebenpfad bis Freiburg und Basel reicht. Ganz offensichtlich sehen wir hier eine Entwicklungsachse von kontinentaler Bedeutung, die drei Metropolregionen (Stuttgart, Rhein-Neckar, Rhein-Main) umfasst. Als Fingerzeig ist vor diesem Hintergrund die Verwendung des Para­­meters Internationalisierung durch das BBR zu verstehen. Migration und ihre gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen sollten zukünftig weniger ausschließlich hinsicht­­lich der Integrationsproblematik, sondern mehr als Chance und Potenzial einer Stadtgesellschaft verstanden werden.
Die Beobachtung im nationalen Maß­stab bestätigt und verfeinert sich bei der Interpretation der qualifizierten Prog­nosen für Hessen beziehungsweise für die Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt selbst. Die Bevölkerungsprognose der HA Hessen Agentur von 2009 bis 2050 zeigt über­­deut­­lich die Zweigeteiltheit des Bundes­­landes auf. Ein stark schrumpfender Norden (außer Kassel) steht einer prosperieren­den Metropol­region FrankfurtRheinMain gegenüber, in der die Großstädte (insbesondere Frankfurt, Darmstadt und Offenbach) neben dem Main-Taunus-Kreis langfristig die Motoren der Bevölkerungs­­ent­wick­lung sein werden. Wie kleinräumig sich der demografische Wandel allerdings auswirkt, belegt der intraregionale Ver­­gleich. Auch in Südhessen hat die Mehr­­zahl der Landkreise mit leichten bis mittleren Bevölkerungsrückgängen zu rechnen. Noch weiter, nämlich auf Gemeindeebene heruntergebrochen, ist oftmals zu beobachten, dass bereits wenige Kilometer mehr oder weniger Abstand zu einem urbanen Kern oder einer Verkehrsleitlinie deutliche Aus­wirkungen auf die Bevölkerungs­ent­wick­lung haben können.
Die Bevölkerungsentwicklung von Darm­­stadt selbst ist seit 1960 bei Weitem nicht gleichförmig verlaufen, sondern lässt sich in Phasen unterteilen. Bis 1972 wuchs die Stadt auf damals knapp über 142.000 Einwohnerinnen und Ein­wohner. Danach folgten bis 1998 Wellen­be­we­gungen, welche Darmstadt jeweils auf ein immer niedrigeres Sockel­­niveau führ­­ten – die Stadt war voll von der Suburbanisierung, der Abwan­de­rung von Bevölkerung ins unmittelbare Um­­land, erfasst. Mitte der 1980er Jahre war sogar ein Abrutschen unter die 130.000-­Einwohner-­­Marke zu befürchten (Stand 31.12.1985: 132.685 Ein­woh­ner). Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre wächst die Stadt wieder kontinuierlich. Wellen­bewe­­gungen sind nicht mehr zu beobachten. Der Trend zurück in die Stadt, verändertes Mobilitätsverhalten, die Moder­ni­sie­rung des tradierten Familienbegriffes mit allen Konsequenzen hinsichtlich des Fami­lien­managements bei Mehrfach­berufs­tätig­keit innerhalb eines Haushalts sowie die Attraktivität des Wirtschafts- und Wissenschaftsstandorts verstärken sich gegenseitig. Folgerichtig erreichte die Reurbanisierung zum Jahresende 2009 eine historische Marke mit 142.237 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern. Nie hatte es seit der Stadtwerdung im Jahr 1330 mehr Darmstädterinnen und Darmstädter gegeben.

Dieser Trend hat sich seither fortgesetzt. Jüngst legt sich noch der Sonder­effekt der Einführung einer Zweit­wohnungs­steuer über die ohnedies steigenden Werte. Ende Juni 2011 waren 146.182 Menschen mit Erstwohnsitz in der Wissenschaftsstadt gemeldet.

Für die weitere Entwicklung geht die HA Hessen Agentur von einem weiteren Anstieg auf 153.000 (2030) sowie 157.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner (2050) in Darmstadt aus – Berechnungen, die sich mit den Prognosen der Stadt in ihrem eigenen Demografiebericht aus dem Jahr 2008 weitestgehend decken.

Wichtig ist in Zeiten, in denen die weitblickenden Unternehmungen längst gelernt haben, fein zwischen einem kurzfristigen konjunkturell und einem langfristig demo­­grafisch bedingten Fachkräftemangel zu unterscheiden, nicht nur die absolute Bevölkerungszahl im Umfeld eines Stand­­orts. Entscheidend für die zukünftige Verfügbarkeit von Fachkräften ist neben der exzellenten Ausstattung mit Bil­dungs­­einrichtungen und Hochschulen, für die Darmstadt in besonderer Weise steht, vor allem der sogenannte Jugend­quo­tient, der Anteil der Unter-20-Jährigen an der Bevölkerung. Sinkt der Jugend­quotient signifikant ab, so wird der Gesell­­schaft quasi der „Teppich unter den Füßen weggezogen“ – junge Arbeits­kräfte rücken nicht nach, die natürliche Bevölkerungsentwicklung verliert ihre Basis. Obwohl der Altenquotient auch in Darmstadt besonders ab 2030 nach oben gehen wird, gehen die Prognosen davon aus, dass der Jugendquotient stabil bleibt oder sogar leicht steigt. Diese Aussage ist ohne Zweifel eines der wich­­tigsten Pfunde, mit denen die Darmstädter Stadtentwicklung wuchern kann. Für die Wirtschaft ist dies zu­­gleich ein Signal, dass Investitionen in den Standort sehr lohnenswert sind, da die lokalen gesellschaftlichen Struk­turen in demografischer Hinsicht stabil bleiben werden und bei aller Konkurrenz um qualifizierte Fachkräfte hier das Recru­i­ting leichter fallen wird als anderswo.

Kurz gesagt: Die Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt bietet Sicherheit und Wachs­­tumschancen zugleich – und sie ist keine Insel, sondern ein aktiver Teil der prosperierenden Rhein-Main-Region, einer der führenden Verdichtungsräume in Europa mit besten Zukunfts­aus­sichten.

Kolmer,MichaelDer Autor (Jahrgang 1970) studierte Geo­­grafie an der TU Darmstadt. Nach beruf­­lichen Stationen an der TU Darmstadt und beim Land Baden-Württemberg war er seit 2000 stellvertretender Leiter der Darmstädter Wirtschaftsförderung. Seit dem Jahr 2005 leitet er das Amt für Wirtschaft und Stadtentwicklung.