Michael Kliebenstein: Lower Bavaria has become a success story with bright prospects

Around the world, the location of Bavaria is primarily associated with the state capital of Munich and the BMW brand or is stereotypically identified by the major event, Oktoberfest. People deliberately overlook the fact that Bavaria is not only bigger but that BMW’s largest factory is located in Lower Bavaria and not in Munich.

Comparisons within Bavaria already show that Lower Bavaria enjoys prosperity and has the lowest rate of unemployment in the German success state of Bavaria. Although Lower Bavaria is largely characterised by its agriculture, the success speaks for the region. We share the Hallertau, the largest hop-growing region worldwide. The largest car manufacturing facility of the global brand BMW is also situated in the region. With 18,500 employees, BMW is the largest employer in Dingolfing where around 342,000 luxury cars roll off the production line every year.

P90114287-kopieren

In addition to the automotive sector, the engineering, electronics, services and tourism industries are amongst Lower Bavaria’s “big five”, which represent the cornerstones of a well-functioning economic driving force and in turn the prosperity in the former agricultural region. 76,000 companies and 21,000 craft enterprises and the scientific foundation represent the innovative capability of 1.2 million people within the surrounding economic area with its centres Passau, Landshut and Deggendorf. Despite the fact that around 361,000 work in the service sector today, it is industry that ensures the high degree of added value and sustainability. Therefore, it is particularly the engineering and electrotechnical industries, along with the automotive

sector, which have made the successful transition from mass production, which is suscep­­tible to competition, to niche pro­­duction. Due to this specialisation, they have made themselves less vulnerable to international competitors. To ensure that this driving force will continue to progress smoothly in the future, Lower Bavaria focuses specifically on boosting its potential.

This includes the undiminished potential of tourism which, to a certain extent, goes hand in hand with the health sector. For instance, Johannesbad, with its spec­­tacular thermal spa setting in Bad Füssing, is Europe’s most successful rehabilitation centre for treating musculoskeletal disorders. The Bavarian Forest National Park remains a unique asset for both the destination and the economic location of Lower Bavaria.

01a-Passau-Panorama

The strategy for increasing the economic opportunities:

– Supporting R&D and
– Promoting networking through cooperation and the formation of clusters.

Although large companies such as BMW and ZF are responsible for the high number of patent applications, a large proportion of innovative ideas come from flexible small and medium-sized enterprises. To promote these approaches to innovation, Lower Bavaria’s Chamber of Commerce and Industry places specific emphasis on the cooperation between companies and scientific institutions, such as the University of Passau. Support programmes help to implement new ideas and cooperation contributes to easing the load as part of risk man­­agement. One key advantage for Lower Bavaria, whether it concerns development, production or sales, is the fact that it is in close proximity to the metropolitan area of Munich as well as to its neighbouring countries Czech Republic and Austria.

kinder-am-Lusen_alteneder-kopieren

As a matter of fact, the northeast region of Lower Bavaria has plenty to offer. Using the motto “Niederbayern schafft Zu­kunft” (Lower Bavaria creates future), the Nied­er­bayern-Forum (Lower Bavarian Forum) has set itself the goal of emphasising the region’s advantages and strengths, repositioning Lower Bavaria and its cross-bor­der activities as a European success story and com­­municating this more strongly to the general public.

The Lower Bavarian Forum has now been running for three years. At the same time, our marketing and network platform is doing remarkably well and brings together new ideas for increasing the appeal of the Lower Bavarian region as a successful economic location as well as an attractive area to live, all in close cooperation with our partners. We now have 145 members – all important stakeholders of Lower Bavaria are represented: the government, district, chambers, universities, all towns, rural districts and municipalities, businessmen and women, Lower Bavaria’s ambassadors, artists, sportsmen and many others.

Baumwipfelpfad_alteneder-kopieren

Lower Bavaria has long freed itself from its image as a rural province and has morphed into a success story. Examples of this enormous transformation can be seen everywhere. Today, Lower Bavaria, within the attractive quadrangle of the cities of Munich, Salzburg, Linz and Regensburg, and near the Munich Airport, is a real hidden champion among the European economic regions and is also a hot spot for technology and the economy – a region that some people were not really aware of before. We can, with considerable self-confidence, point to the region’s unbeatable advantages: high technology and educational competence, strong economic growth and almost full employment all have a positive impact on Lower Bavaria’s image. The combination of affordable living costs, outstanding universities and technological campuses has now made us an interesting choice for qualified specialists and managers from other regions in Germany. So it is great that we can also offer a very high standard of living for families thanks to our beautiful landscape and intact natural environment, which increases the incentive for many highly specialised professionals from the North to relocate and reside in Lower Bavaria.

 

kliebenstein-presse-info-kopierenThe author was born in Cologne in 1960. He studied New Media in London and has been a freelance media consultant and a marketing manager since 1986, also for the brand of Lower Bavaria since 2008. Kliebenstein has been CEO of the new Niederbayern Forum e.V., Regionalagentur für Markenkommunikation.

Michael Kliebenstein: Niederbayern ist eine Erfolgsstory mit Zukunft

Weltweit wird der Standort Bayern zuerst auf die Landes­­hauptstadt München fokussiert und mit der Marke BMW oder dem Oktoberfest als Großevent klischeehaft beschrieben. Dabei wird geflissentlich übersehen, dass Bay­­ern nicht nur größer ist, sondern dass auch BMW sein größ­tes Werk nicht in München, sondern in Niederbayern hat.


P90114287-kopieren

Schon der inner-bayrische Vergleich zeigt: Niederbayern lebt im Wohlstand und hat die niedrigsten Arbeitslosen­zahlen im bundesdeutschen Erfolgsland Freistaat Bayern. Obwohl Niederbayern weitgehend landwirtschaftlich geprägt ist, spricht der Erfolg für die Region. Wir haben An­­teil an der Hallertau, dem größten Hopfenanbaugebiet welt­­weit. Die Weltmarke BMW hat in der Region ihr größ­tes Automobilwerk. BMW ist mit 18.500 Mitarbeitern der größte Ar­beit­­geber in Dingolfing, wo jedes Jahr rund 342.000 Edelkarossen vom Band rollen.

Neben Automotive zählen aber auch Maschinenbau, Elek­tronik, Dienst­leistung und Tourismus zu den „Big Five“ Niederbayerns, die die Eck­säulen eines rund laufenden Wirtschaftsmotors und damit des Wohlstands in der ehemaligen Agrarregion sind. 76.000 Unternehmen und 21.000 Handwerksbetriebe und der wissenschaftliche Unter­bau repräsentieren die Inno­va­tionsfähigkeit des 1,2 Mil­­lionen Menschen umfassenden Wirtschaftsraums mit seinen Zentren Passau, Landshut und Deggendorf. Auch wenn heute rund 361.000 Erwerbs­­tätige im Dienst­leis­tungs­­­­sektor beschäftigt sind, so sorgt die Industrie für das hohe Maß an Wertschöpfung und Zu­kunftsfähigkeit. So haben neben dem Automotive-Sektor vor allem der Ma­schi­nenbau und die elek­­­­trotechnische Indus­­trie eine Entwicklung von der wettbewerbs­anfälligen Mas­senher­stellung zur Nischen­produktion erfolgreich absol­­viert und durch diese Spe­zialisierung sich weniger angreifbar durch internationale Mitbewerber gemacht. Damit auch in Zukunft der Motor weiterhin rund läuft, setzt Niederbayern gezielt auf die För­derung seiner Potenziale.

01a-Passau-Panorama

Zu den Potenzialen zählt ungemindert der Touris­mus­sektor, der partiell auch mit dem Gesundheitssektor Hand in Hand geht. So ist etwa das Johannesbad mit seiner spek­­takulären Thermenlandschaft in Bad Füssing Europas er­­folgreichstes Rehabilitationszentrum zur Behandlung von Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates. Auch der Natio­­­nalpark Bayerischer Wald bleibt ein einzigartiges Asset für die Destination und den Wirtschaftsstandort Niederbayern.

Die Strategie zur Hebung der ökonomischen Chancen:

– Förderung von F&E und
– Vernetzungsförderung durch Kooperation und Cluster­bildung.
Zwar sind es Großunternehmen wie BMW und ZF, die für die hohe Zahl an Patentanmeldungen verantwortlich zei­­ch­nen, doch kommt ein Großteil der innovativen Ideen aus dem Bereich der flexiblen kleinen- und mittelständischen Unternehmen. Um diese Innovationsansätze zu fördern, setzt die Industrie- und Handelskammer Niederbayerns gezielt auf Kooperationen zwischen den Unternehmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen, wie etwa der Uni­ver­sität Passau. Förderprogramme helfen bei der Reali­sie­rung neuer Ideen und Kooperationen tragen zur Ent­las­tung als Teil des Risikomanagements bei. Ob Entwick­lung, Pro­duktion oder Absatz, ein essenzieller Vorteil Nie­derbayerns ist die Nähe zum Großraum München sowie die Nach­bar­schaft zur Tschechischen Republik und zu Österreich.

kinder-am-Lusen_alteneder-kopieren

Tatsächlich hat das nordostbayrische Niederbayern eini­­ges zu bieten. Die Vorzüge und Stärken der Region hervor­­zuheben, Niederbayern und seine grenzüberschreitenden Aktivitäten als europäische Erfolgsstory neu zu positio­nieren und dies stärker im öffentlichen Bewusstsein zu kom­­munizieren, hat sich das Niederbayern-Forum unter dem Motto „Niederbayern schafft Zukunft“ zum Ziel gesetzt.

Das Niederbayern-Forum gibt es nun seit drei Jahren. Un­sere Marketing- und Netz­werk­­plattform entwickelt sich dabei prächtig und bündelt neue Ideen, um die Region Nie­­derbayern als erfolgreichen Wirtschafts­­standort sowie als attraktiven Lebensraum in enger Zusam­­menarbeit mit unseren Partnern anziehender zu machen. Wir haben in­zwischen 145 Mitglieder – alle wichtigen Ak­­teure Nie­der­bayerns sind darin vertreten: Regierung, Be­zirk, Kam­mern, Hochschulen, alle Städte, Lan­dkreise und Ge­meinden, Un­­ternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, die Bot­­schafter Nie­­derbayerns, Künstler, Sportler und viele mehr.


Baumwipfelpfad_alteneder-kopieren

Längst hat sich Niederbayern von seinem Image als länd­liche Provinz gelöst und ist zur veritablen Erfolgsstory mutiert. Beispiele für den enormen Wandel sind allerorts sichtbar. Niederbayern ist heute innerhalb des attraktiven Städtevierecks München, Salz­­­­burg, Linz und Regensburg und des Airport München ein echter „hid­den champion“ unter den europäischen Wirtschaftsregionen und ein Techno­lo­gie- und Wirt­schafts­standort, den manche bisher nicht auf dem Radar hatten. Auf die unschlagbaren Vorteile der Re­gion dürfen wir selbst­­bewusst verweisen: Hohe Technologie- und Bildungs­kom­­petenz, starkes Wirtschaftswachstum und annähernde Vollbeschäftigung wirken sich positiv auf die Marke Nie­­derbayern aus. Gepaart mit günstigen Lebens­hal­tungs­kosten, hervorragenden Hochschulen und Technolo­gie­campi sind wir jetzt auch für Fach- und Füh­rungskräfte aus anderen Regionen Deutschlands interessant geworden. Da trifft es sich gut, dass wir mit unserer schönen Landschaft und der intakten Natur eine sehr hohe L­ebens­qualität für junge Familien anbieten können, was für viele hochspezialisierte Fachkräfte aus dem Norden den Anreiz erhöht, sich nach Niederbayern zu orientieren und dort zu leben.

kliebenstein-presse-info-kopierenDer Autor wurde 1960 in Köln geboren und hat Neue Medien in London studiert. Seit 1986 ist er freier Medienberater und Marketing Manager, seit 2008 auch für die Marke Niederbayern. Kliebenstein ist seit 2011 Geschäftsführer des neu gegründeten Niederbayern-Forum e.V., Regionalagentur für Markenkommunikation.