Michael Bode-Böckenhauer & Alexander Marschall: From powerhouse to house of culture

In 1999, the impressive, heritage-protected brick building of 1904, which used to house the third-largest power station in the world – after New York and Berlin – opened its doors as a cultural event operation. The transformation of the “central station for electrical lighting” to house of culture was essen­­tially based on the urban planning concept of utilizing the veteran industrial site in order to enhance the city centre. As early as 1998, Alexander Marschall and Michael Bode-Böckenhauer conceptualized the “Central­station project”, whose valuable and diverse cultural programme attracts a heterogeneous target audience and contributes to vitalizing the city centre.

Unbenannt-1

The event programme is presented on three floors: from concerts to readings, exhibitions and lectures to dance events.
The musical spectrum ranges from rock and pop to jazz and world music to classical. Artists such as Pat Metheny, Silje Nergaard, Till Brönner, Nouvelle Vague, Angélique Kidjo, Buena Vista Social Club, Axel Hacke, Max Goldt, Willy DeVille, Emilíana Torrini, and Tocotronic have performed at the Centralstation. With regular children’s hands-on concerts and the LegoLounge, even the littlest ones already have their own programme.

Saalkonzert

In 2010, the overall Centralstation project added on a social component: the non-profit integration company Integis, whose objective is to integrate people with severe physical, mental or learning disabilities into the general labour market, has taken on the daytime food service. The breakfast and lunch tables, café and cocktail lounge make the Centralstation a favourite meeting point for all demographic groups at any time of the day. With well over 300 events per year and approximately 250,000 yearly visitors as well as its extraordinary concept, the Centralstation strongly contributes to the vitalization of Darmstadt’s centre and has established itself beyond the Rhine-Main area as a cultural centre of attraction.

abWith the foundation of Cafékesselhaus, Michael Bode-Böckenhauer and Alexander Marschall have been active in cultural management since 1989. They also co-founded other projects in Darmstadt such as Hillstreetclub, Vinocentral, and Weststadtcafé. To date, they jointly manage Centralstation Kultur GmbH.

Michael Bode-Böckenhauer & Alexander Marschall: Vom E-Werk zum Kulturwerk

Das eindrucksvolle, denkmalgeschützte Klinkergebäude aus dem Jahr 1904, das früher einmal – nach New York und Berlin – das dritte Elektrizitätswerk weltweit beherbergte, öffnete 1999 die Türen als kultureller Veranstaltungsbetrieb mit Gastronomie rund um die Uhr. Für den Umbau der „Centralstation für elektrische Beleuchtung“ zum Kultur­­werk war der städte­­bauliche Gedanke maßgeblich, die ausgediente Industrie­­fläche zu nutzen und damit die Innenstadt aufzuwerten. Bereits 1998 konzipierten Alexander Marschall und Michael Bode-Böckenhauer das „Projekt Centralstation“, das mit seinem wertvollen und abwechslungsreichen Kultur­programm eine heterogene Zielgruppe anspricht und zur Belebung der Innenstadt beiträgt.


Unbenannt-1

Auf drei Etagen wird das Veranstaltungsprogramm präsentiert: von Konzerten über Lesungen, Ausstellungen und Vorträge bis zu Tanzveranstaltungen.
Das musikalische Spektrum reicht von Rock und Pop über Jazz und Weltmusik bis hin zur Klassik. Künstler wie Pat Metheny, Silje Nergaard, Till Brönner, Nouvelle Vague, Angélique Kidjo, Buena Vista Social Club, Axel Hacke, Max Goldt, Willy DeVille, Emilíana Torrini und Tocotronic waren in der Centralstation zu Gast. Und mit den regelmäßig stattfindenden Kinder-Mitmachkonzerten und der LegoLounge haben sogar die Jüngsten schon ihr eigenes Programm.

Saalkonzert

Im Jahr 2010 wurde das Gesamtprojekt Centralstation um eine soziale Komponente erweitert: Die gemeinnützige Integrationsfirma Integis, deren Ziel es ist, Menschen mit schweren Körper-, Sinnes- oder Lernbehinderungen in den allgemeinen Arbeitsmarkt zu integrieren, hat die Tagesgastronomie übernommen. Frühstück, Mittagstisch, Café und Cocktail-Lounge machen die Centralstation jederzeit zu einem beliebten Treffpunkt für alle Bevölkerungs- und Altersgruppen. Mit weit über 300 Veranstaltungen im Jahr und zirka 250.000 jährlichen Besuchern trägt die Centralstation mit ihrem außergewöhnlichen Konzept nachhaltig zur Belebung der Darmstädter Innenstadt bei und hat sich über das Rhein-Main-Gebiet hinaus als kultureller Anziehungspunkt einen Namen gemacht.

abSeit 1989, mit der Gründung des Cafékesselhaus, sind Michael Bode-Böckenhauer und Alexander Marschall im Kulturmanagement tätig. Darüber hinaus waren sie Mitbegründer weiterer Projekte in Darmstadt wie Hillstreetclub, Vinocentral und Weststadtcafé. Heute sind sie gemeinsam als Geschäftsführer der Centralstation Kultur GmbH tätig.