Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung: Basic research in soft matter

Ever since its foundation, the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research (MPI-P) in­­­ternationally has ranked among the top research centers in the field of polymer science. The focus on so-called soft matter and macro-­­molecular materials has re­­sulted in the worldwide unique position of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research and its research focus.

Polymers are very large molecules, which can be found in ordinary things like packaging, clothing, displays of mobile phones and laptops, as well as in proteins, cellulose or in the DNA, containing the human genome.

Scientists from over 40 nations work at the production and characterization of polymers and research their physical and chemical properties at the MPI-P. Thus, they can reach a better understanding of already known materials and develop new ones with specially designed properties. The MPI-P combines all the necessary specialized expertise – from the creative design of new materials, to their synthesis in the lab and their physical characterization as well as the theoretical under­­­­standing of polymer characteristics. For more than 25 years, the MPI-P has been extensively supporting junior researchers. The Max Planck Graduate Center offers an internationally attractive graduate training program in cooperation with the Jo­­­hannes Gutenberg University.

 


MNRV_rgb2-Kopie
  1. Adress

    Ackermannweg 10
    D-55128 Mainz
    Telefon +49 (0) 6131 379-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 6131 379-100
    info(at)mpip-mainz.mpg.de
    www.mpip-mainz.mpg.de
  2. Management

    Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester
  3. Board of directors

    Prof. Dr. Paul Blom
    Prof. Dr. Mischa Bonn
    Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Butt
    Prof. Dr. Kurt Kremer
    Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester
    Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen
  4. Year of establishment

    1983
  5. Employees

    502
  6. Fields of research

    Structure and Dynamics
    Surfaces and Interfaces
    Supramolecular Architectures
    Functional Materials and Devices Approaches to Synthesis
    Development of Methods
  7. Work groups

    Physics at Interfaces
    Molecular Spectroscopy
    Theory of Soft Matter
    Physical Chemistry of Polymers
    Synthetic Chemistry
    Molecular Electronics

Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung: Grundlagenforschung an weicher Materie

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Polymer­for­schung (MPI-P) zählt seit seiner Gründung zu den international führenden For­­schungs­zentren auf dem Gebiet der Poly­­­merwissen­­schaft. Durch die Fokus­sierung auf so genannte weiche Materie und makro­­­­mole­­kulare Mate­rialien ist das Institut mit seiner Forschungs­ausrichtung weltweit einzigartig. 

Polymere sind große Mole­­­­­­küle, die uns im täg­­lichen Leben be­­gegnen, zum Bei­­spiel in Verpackungen, Kleidung oder Bild­­­schirmen von Laptops und Handys, aber auch in Form von Proteinen, Zellulose oder der DNS, die unser Erbgut trägt. 
Ebenso vielfältig wie die Anwen­dungen sind die Forschungsprojekte. Wissen­schaf­­­tler aus über 40 Nationen arbeiten an der Herstellung und Cha­­­ra­­kteri­­sie­rung von Polymeren und der Unter­­­­su­­chung ihrer physikalischen und chemischen Ei­­gen­­­schaften. Bekannte Ma­­­teria­­­­­lien können so besser verstanden und ganz neue mit den gewünschten Eigen­­schaften entwickelt werden. Vom kreativen Design neuer Ma­­­teria­­­­lien über ihre Synthese und physikalische An­­­alyse bis hin zur theoretischen Auswertung vereint das MPI-P das dafür nötige Know-how. Seit 25 Jahren spielt auch die Nach­­wuchs­­­förderung im MPI-P eine grundlegende Rolle. Das Max Planck Gra­­­duate Center bietet mit der Johannes Gutenberg-Uni­­versität eine international attraktive Gra­­­d­u­ier­­­tenausbildung. 

MNRV_rgb2-Kopie
  1. Anschrift

    Ackermannweg 10
    D-55128 Mainz
    Telefon +49 (0) 6131 379-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 6131 379-100
    info(at)mpip-mainz.mpg.de
    www.mpip-mainz.mpg.de
  2. Vorstand

    Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester
  3. Direktoren am Institut

    Prof. Dr. Paul Blom
    Prof. Dr. Mischa Bonn
    Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Butt
    Prof. Dr. Kurt Kremer
    Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester
    Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen
  4. Gründungsjahr

    1983
  5. Mitarbeiter

    502
  6. Forschungsthemen

    Struktur und Dynamik
    Oberflächen und Grenzflächen
    Supramolekulare Architekturen
    Funktionale Materialien und Bauteile Neuartige Syntheseverfahren
    Entwicklung neuer Methoden
  7. Arbeitskreise

    Physik der Grenzflächen
    Molekulare Spektroskopie
    Theorie der Polymere
    Physikalische Chemie der Polymere
    Synthetische Chemie
    Molekulare Elektronik