Max-Planck Institute for Informatics: Informatics research at the top level

In Saarbrücken the Max Planck So­­cie­­ty offers talented scientists and aca­­dem­­ics an excellent research and work en­­viron­­ment at a top international lev­el. At the Max Planck Institute for Infor­ma­­tics (MPI), about 220 scientists conduct daily re­­search in the field of in­­forma­­tion techno­­logy on current, in­­novative topics of in­­formatics. There­­by the spectrum ranges from basic to applied re­­search.
In particular, we intend to be and re­­­­main visible with our work nationally and in­­ternationally as outstanding re­­­­search lo­­cation. This is best achieved with con­­sistently high-quality scienti­­fic work. It in­­­­cludes publications and books but also prototypical software systems. Cur­rent­­­ly the focus of our re­­search is on algorithms for very large multimodal volumes of data such as text, language, images, videos, graph­­ics and high-dimensional geometry. More and more fre­­­­quently the results of our ba­­sic re­­search find their way into the economy, through spin-offs or cooper­ative pro­­jects.

The training of junior staff also plays a major role at the MPI. Therefore we pro­­­­­­mote talented up-and-coming re­­searchers, provide focused mentoring and ac­­com­­pany them until the completion of their doctorates and ideally also afterwards. We also initiate and coordinate large research programmes and take on tasks on important committees, such as the Science Council. Thus, the MPI in­­creasingly succeeds in standing out as an attraction for talent at home and abroad. Of the 220 researchers at the institute already half are from abroad.

 

Vorlage_Logos

 

  1. Address

    Campus E1 4
    D-66123 Saarbrücken
    phone +49 (0) 681 9325-0
    fax +49 (0) 681 9325-999
    info@mpi-inf.mpg.de
    www.mpi-inf.mpg.de

  2. Year of foundation

    1990
  3. CEO

    Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn
  4. Employees

    5 directors, 260 employees,
    among them approximately 220 scientific
  5. Business activity

    Basic research in the fields:
    • Algorithms and Complexity
    • Computational Biology and Applied Algorithmics
    • Computer Graphics
    • Databases and Information Systems
    • Automation of Logic

Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik: Informatik-Forschung auf Spitzenniveau

In Saarbrücken bietet die Max-Planck-Ge­­sellschaft talentierten Wissenschaftlern und Akademikern ein exzellentes For­­schungs- und Arbeitsumfeld auf interna­tionalem Spitzenniveau. Am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik (MPI) forschen auf dem Gebiet der Informatik täglich etwa 220 Wissenschaftler an aktuellen, inno­­va­­­­tiven Themen der Informatik. Dabei reicht das Spektrum von der Grundla­gen­­for­schung bis zur angewandten Forschung.
Insbesondere wollen wir mit unserer Ar­­beit national und auch international als her­­ausragender Forschungsstandort sicht­­­­­bar sein und bleiben. Das gelingt vor al­­lem durch konsequent hochwertige wissen­­schaft­­liche Arbeit. Dazu zählen Pub­li­ka­­tio­­nen und Bücher, aber auch prototypi­sche Softwaresysteme. Zurzeit kon­­zen­­trie­ren sich unsere Arbeiten auf Al­­gorithmen für sehr große multi-modale Datenmen­gen wie etwa Text, Sprache, Bilder, Vi­­deos, Gra­­phen und hochdimen­sionale Geo­­me­­trie. Immer häufiger fin­den dabei Er­­geb­­nis­­se unserer Grundlagen­for­­schung auch ihren Weg in die Wirt­schaft, etwa durch Aus­grün­­dungen oder Ko­­ope­­ra­tions­­pro­­jekte.

Auch die Ausbildung von Nachwuchs spielt am MPI eine tragende Rolle. So fördern wir talentierte Nach­­wuchs­for­­scher, bie­­ten ihnen gezieltes Mentoring, be­­glei­ten sie bis zum Abschluss ihrer Pro­­mo­tion und idealerweise auch an­­schließend. Wir initiieren und koordinieren au­­ßer­­dem große Forschungs­pro­gram­­me und wir übernehmen Aufgaben in wichtigen Gremien, et­­wa dem Wissen­schafts­­rat. So gelingt es zu­­nehmend, das MPI auch als Anziehungs­­punkt für Talent aus dem In- und Aus­­land hervorzuheben. Von den 220 For­­schern und For­sche­­r­­­innen im Institut stammt jetzt schon etwa die Hälfte aus dem Aus­­land.

Vorlage_Logos

 

  1. Anschrift

    Campus E1 4
    D-66123 Saarbrücken
    Telefon +49 (0) 681 9325-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 681 9325-999
    info@mpi-inf.mpg.de
    www.mpi-inf.mpg.de

  2. Gründungsjahr

    1990
  3. Geschäftsführender Direktor

    Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn
  4. Mitarbeiter

    5 Direktoren, 260 Mitarbeiter,
    davon etwa 220 wissenschaftlich
  5. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Grundlagenforschung in den Bereichen:
    • Algorithmen & Komplexität
    • Bioinformatik und Angewandte Algorithmik
    • Computergraphik
    • Datenbanken und Informationssysteme
    • Automatisierung der Logik