Matthias Gräßle: FrankfurtRhineMain as a location for research – cornerstone for the region’s future viability

In the modern knowledge-based society, transfer is essential. Still, even in this digital era, the exchange of know-how arising from human collaboration works best in spatial proximity. In this respect, the science structures of a region also have an impact on the local innovation activities. Working clusters represent the most important factor in international location marketing in this context.

The research infrastructure in the Frank­furt RhineMain region offers the best con­­ditions for developing clusters. Cur­­rently, 30 universities at 37 locations, six Max Planck Institutes, three Fraun­­hofer Institutes and one Helmholtz Cen­­tre are active in the region. More­­over, there are about 80 research facil­ities not linked to any universities, some of which operate on a global scale. Lastly, there are four inter­­disciplinary research centres: the House of Finance, the House of IT, the House of Logistics and Mo­­­bility and the House of Clean Energy.

On the other hand, the knowledge re­­gion is characterised by approximately 200,000 students as well as almost 3,000 high-tech companies with a large number of employees working in research and development. Furthermore, 25 tech­­nology and entrepreneurship centres as well as 13 technology parks were estab­lished during the course of recent years.

Traditionally, the industrial strengths of the region are in the areas of chemistry, pharmaceuticals and life science. None­theless, considerable growth rates have also been observed in the automotive, avionics and electrical engineering fields in the past few years. A total of nearly 450,000 people work in the industrial sector and for industry-oriented service providers, generating al­­most a quarter of the regional value creation.

It is this variety that really predestines the Frankfurt RhineMain knowledge re­­gion to facilitate an intensive exchange between science and economy. It there­fore does not come as a surprise that quite a number of site networks – also referred to as clusters – exist in the region today alongside value chains. Synergy effects are created there which enable companies to establish strong ties to the region. However, the level of organisation of these clusters varies greatly. For example, only some of them are for­­mally organised. This applies in particular to the publicly subsidised cluster or network activities. In many cases, there are only rudimentary or no organisational structures at all. The most successful in­­formal clusters in Frankfurt RhineMain certainly include the industrial parks, led by the Frankfurt-Höchst industrial park. Here, 90 companies with 22,000 employees are concentrated within only a few square kilometres; most of them are chem­­ical or pharmaceutical companies as well as large research facilities and the private Provadis University.

An aerospace cluster has also formed around the airport. In the industrial sector, the cluster offers more than 4,000 industrial jobs. At Rolls-Royce in Ober­ursel alone, more than 1,000 employees develop and build state-of-the-art jet en­­gines. Rolls-Royce cooperates closely with the scientific environment. As part of this cooperation, the company, together with the Darmstadt University of Tech­­nology, has founded the University Tech­­nology Centre (UTC) called Combustor and Turbine Aerothermal Interaction. A focal point of the research is the increase of the environmental compatibility of jet engines by reducing their emissions while improving their efficiency.

Gräßle,-Matthias-kopierenThe banker, born in 1959, studied law in Frankfurt. In 1996, he became general manager of Frankfurt-based Assekuranz-Kontor GmbH before taking over the man­­agement of the executive board secretariat at mg technologies ag in 1997. He was appointed the company’s chief rep­­resentative in 2000. He has been general manager of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce in Frankfurt since April 2005.

Besides these informal structures, there are also numerous clusters in Frankfurt ­RhineMain which are organised in asso­­ciations or limited liability companies. In these cases, the supporting organisation takes care of organising the information exchange, creating networks and estab­lishing contacts. Apart from the economic promotion institutions, this task is often taken on by the chambers of commerce. An example of this is the Frankfurt Bio­­tech Alliance e. V. (FBA). This network has existed as an association for several years and views itself as a pacemaker for the biotechnology region. Consequently, the Frankfurt Biotech Alliance participated in the application process for the Cluster for Integrated Bioindustry (CIB), special­ising in industrial biotechnology, as part of the BioIndustry 2021 competition or­­gan­ised by the German Federal Min­istry of Education and Research (BMBF). Thanks to its success, the CIB was able to support pre-competition network re­­search projects of the fine chemistry and specialty chemicals with five million euros from 2008 to 2012.

Among the members of the Frankfurt Biotech Alliance are not only large and medium-sized enterprises but also a great number of start-ups. Furthermore, law firms, patent attorneys, venture capital and consulting businesses are also mem­­bers. The same is true for mst-Netzwerk Rhein-Main. Its goal is to support the micro-system technology sectors in a com­­prehensive way and develop market potentials. The network is organised as a non-profit association and is supported by the Hessian Ministry of Economy, Trans­­port, Urban and Regional Development.

 

Hochschulen in der Region bieten vielfältige und innovative Forschungsmöglichkeiten, etwa Praktikumslabore für Biologie.

Hochschulen in der Region bieten vielfältige und innovative Forschungsmöglichkeiten, etwa Praktikumslabore für Biologie.

Overall, the research infrastructure in the region represents an important cornerstone for the future viability of the Frank­furt RheinMain business location. Never­­theless, the increasing competition be­­t­­ween the metropolitan regions also for­ces the Frankfurt RhineMain region to in­­crease its marketing efforts even further in the future. So far, Frankfurt RhineMain has been selling itself under value here and has not managed to sufficiently high­­light the numerous advantages the region has to offer in the global competition of locations. Not only does the enormous knowledge and research potential of the region have to be presented in a clear way and made accessible to the general pub­lic; rather, in addition, the identity and image of the Frankfurt RhineMain know­ledge region has to be strengthened fur­­ther. The main challenge is, however, to link the research capacities of the univer­­sities and research facilities even more closely to the development, production and marketing capacities of the industrial companies. A variety of points of con­­tact exist to this end in the publicly fi­­nanced clusters as well as in the region­al networks.

Matthias Gräßle: Forschungsstandort Frankfurt RheinMain – Grundstein der Zukunftsfähigkeit der Region

Die moderne Wissensgesellschaft lebt vom Transfer. Doch auch im digitalen Zeitalter gelingt der Austausch von Er­­fahrungswissen, der aus der Zusam­men­­arbeit von Menschen hervorgeht, am besten in räumlicher Nähe. Insofern prä­­­gen die Wissenschaftsstrukturen einer Region zugleich das lokale Inno­vations­geschehen. Funktionierende Clus­ter stellen dabei den wichtigsten Faktor im internationalen Stand­ort­marketing dar.

Die Forschungsinfrastruktur in der Regi­on Frankfurt RheinMain bietet beste Vor­aussetzungen für die Bildung von Clus­tern. So sind in der Region derzeit 30 Hochschulen an 37 Standorten, sechs Max-Planck-Institute, drei Fraunhofer-In­­stitute sowie ein Helmholtz-Zentrum tätig. Darüber hinaus sind etwa 80 zum Teil weltweit tätige Forschungsein­rich­tungen außerhalb der Hochschulen an­­gesiedelt. Schließlich gibt es mit dem „House of Finance“, dem „House of IT“, dem „House of Logistics and Mobility“ sowie dem „House of Clean Energy“ vier interdisziplinäre Forschungszentren.

Auf der anderen Seite prägen etwa 200.000 Studenten die Wissensregion ebenso wie die knapp 3.000 Hightech-Unternehmen mit zahlreichen Mitarbei­tern in Forschung und Entwicklung. Zu­­­dem sind in den vergangen Jahren 25 Technologie- und Gründerzentren sowie 13 Technologieparks entstanden.

Die industriellen Stärken der Region lie­gen traditionell in den Branchen Chemie, Pharma und Life Science. Doch wurden auch in den Bereichen Automotive, Avi­onik und Elektrotechnik in den vergangenen Jahren beträchtliche Wachstums­raten verzeichnet. Insgesamt sind im industriellen Sektor und in den industrienahen Dienstleistungen fast 450.000 Menschen beschäftigt, die knapp ein Viertel der regionalen Wertschöpfung erwirtschaften.

Aufgrund dieser Vielfalt ist die Wissens­region Frankfurt RheinMain geradezu prä­destiniert, einen intensiven Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu ermöglichen. Es verwundert daher nicht, dass in der Region heute eine gan­ze Reihe von Standortverbünden, auch Cluster genannt, entlang von Wert­schöp­­f­ungsketten existieren. Dort werden Sy­­n­ergieeffekte erzielt, die eine hohe Binde­wirkung der Region für Unternehmen entfalten. Allerdings variiert der Organi­sationsgrad dieser Cluster teilweise erheblich. So ist nur ein Teil formell or­­­ganisiert. Dies betrifft vor allem die öffentlich geförderten Cluster- bzw. Netz­werkaktivitäten. Vielfach bestehen auch nur rudimentäre oder gar keine Orga­ni­sationsstrukturen. Zu den erfolgreichsten informellen Clustern in Frankfurt Rhein­Main zählen sicher die Industrieparks mit dem Industriepark Frankfurt-Höchst an der Spitze. Hier konzentrieren sich auf wenigen Quadratkilometern 90 Un­­­ter­nehmen mit 22.000 Beschäftigten, über­wiegend aus dem Chemie- und Pharma­bereich, sowie Großforschungs­einrich­tungen und die private Hoch­schule Pro­vadis.

Auch rund um den Flughafen hat sich ein Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik-Cluster gebildet. Im industriellen Sektor bietet das Cluster mehr als 4.000 industrielle Arbeitsplätze. Allein bei Rolls-Royce in Oberursel entwickeln und bauen mehr als 1.000 Mitarbeiter modernste Trieb­werkstechnik. Rolls-Royce arbeitet da­­bei eng mit dem wissenschaftlichen Um­­feld zusammen. So hat das Unter­nehmen mit der TU Darmstadt das Tech­nologie­zentrum (University Technology Centre UTC) „Combustor and Turbine Aerother­mal Interaction“ gegründet. Im Fokus der Forschung steht die Erhöhung der Umweltverträglichkeit von Trieb­werken durch Verringerung der Emis­sionen bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung des Wirkungs­grades.

Gräßle,-Matthias-kopierenDer 1959 geborene Bankkaufmann stu­­dierte Jura in Frankfurt. Er wurde 1996 Geschäftsführer der Frankfurter Asse­kuranz-Kontor GmbH, bevor er 1997 die Leitung des Vorstandssekretariats der mg technologies ag übernahm. 2000 wurde er zum Generalbevollmächtigten der Gesellschaft ernannt. Seit April 2005 ist er Hauptgeschäftsführer der Industrie- und Handelskammer Frankfurt am Main.

Neben diesen informellen Strukturen bestehen in Frankfurt RheinMain auch zahlreiche Cluster, die in Vereinen oder GmbHs organisiert sind. Dabei fungiert der Träger als „Kümmerer“. Er organi­­siert den Informationsaustausch, schafft Netz­werke und knüpft Kontakte. Neben den Wirtschaftsfördereinrichtungen überneh­men diese Aufgabe vielfach die Industrie- und Handelskammern. Als Beispiel sei hier der Frankfurt Biotech Alliance e.V. (FBA) genannt. Dieses Netzwerk besteht schon seit mehreren Jahren als Verein und versteht sich als Schrittmacher für die Biotechnologie-Region. So engagierte sich die Frankfurt Biotech Alliance bei der Bewerbung des auf industrielle Bio­technologie ausgerichteten Clusters für Integrierte Bio­industrie (CIB) im Rahmen des BMBF-Wettbewerbs „BioIndustry 2021“. Durch den Erfolg konnte das CIB von 2008 bis 2012 vorwettbewerbliche Verbund­forschungsprojekte der Fein- und Spezial­chemie mit fünf Millionen Euro fördern.

Zu den Mitgliedern der Frankfurt Bio­tech Alliance gehören neben großen und mittelständischen Unternehmen auch eine Vielzahl von Start-ups. Weiterhin zählen Anwaltskanzleien, Patentanwälte, Ven­ture-Capital- und Beratungsunter­neh­men zu den Mitgliedern. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit dem mst-Netzwerk Rhein-Main. Es hat zum Ziel, die Mikro­sys­tem­technik branchenübergreifend zu fördern und Marktpotenziale zu er­­schlie­ßen. Das Netzwerk ist als gemeinnütziger Verein organisiert und wird vom Hes­sischen Ministerium für Wirt­schaft, Ver­kehr und Landesentwicklung gefördert.

Hochschulen in der Region bieten vielfältige und innovative Forschungsmöglichkeiten, etwa Praktikumslabore für Biologie.

Hochschulen in der Region bieten vielfältige und innovative Forschungsmöglichkeiten, etwa Praktikumslabore für Biologie.

Insgesamt bildet die Forschungsinfra­struktur in der Region einen wichtigen Grundstein für die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Wirtschaftsstandorts Frankfurt Rhein­Main. Doch zwingt der wachsende Wett­be­werb zwischen den Metropolregionen auch die Region Frankfurt RheinMain dazu, sich zukünftig noch besser zu ver­­markten. Frankfurt RheinMain verkauft sich an dieser Stelle bislang unter Wert. So ist es bisher nicht hinreichend ge­­lungen, die vielen Vorzüge der Region im globalen Standortwettbewerb deutlich zu machen. Das vorhandene enorme Wis­sens- und Forschungspotenzial der Regi­on muss nicht nur einer breiteren Be­­völkerung transparent präsentiert und zugängig gemacht werden. Viel­mehr müssen da­­rüber hinaus auch die Iden­­­tität und das Image der Wis­sens­­region Frank­furt­ RheinMain weiter ge­­stärkt werden. Die zentrale Her­­aus­­for­der­ung ist jedoch, die Forschungs­­­ka­pa­zi­­tä­ten der Uni­ver­si­täten und For­schungs­ein­richtun­­gen noch stärker mit den Ent­wick­lungs-, Produk­tions- und Ver­­­markt­ungs­kapa­zi­täten der Indus­trie­­­un­ter­nehmen zu ver­­bin­den. Hier­für bie­­ten sich so­­wohl in den öffentlich finan­zier­­ten Clus­­tern als auch in den regionalen Netz­­wer­ken vielfältige Anknüpfungspunkte.