Martin Zeil: The Munich Metropolitan Region within the overall concept of Bavarian state policy

The core of the Munich Metropolitan Re­­gion consists of the regional centres of Munich, Augsburg, Ingolstadt, Lands­­hut and Rosenheim, plus the sur­­round­ing counties. Its impacts, however, reach far beyond and cannot be strictly de­­lim­­ited.

With its more than 4.6 million inhabitants, the Metropolitan Region is one of the leading business regions in Europe, and it is no doubt an outstanding centre of economic power. It holds a top position with regard to demographic develop­­ment, economic strength, power of in­­no­­vation and competitiveness com­­pared to other regions in Germany and Europe.

Der-neue-BMW-7er,-M-Sportpaket

The special strength of this metropolitan region lies in the wide variety of future-oriented industries, a mix of global play­­ers, long-established medium-sized com­­panies and start-ups, as well as a su­­pe­­rior quality of life and attractive land­­scapes. The region is a dynamically grow­­ing and excellent centre of service pro­­vision. For instance, Munich is the place in Ger­many where most insurance com­­panies are lo­­cated.
The region is also experiencing strong development in the media sector. The greater area of Munich is home to major publishing houses and numerous large TV and film production companies. Re­­search institutions of world renown, uni­­versities and other institutions of tertiary education generate a high potential for innovation and provide appropriately qualified workforce, even beyond the great­­er Munich area. In addition, the Me­­tropolitan Region stands out for its excellent transport infrastructure. The dense motorway and road network and the highly efficient railway system are complemented by several regional airports and, not least, by the large international “Franz Josef Strauß” Airport, which offers direct flights to destinations throughout the world. As an economical­­ly flourishing region, the Munich Metro­politan Re­­gion has succeeded in po­­si­tioning itself at the forefront of com­pe­tition at European level. Its economic dynamism and performance give it a pioneering role in the Free State of Bavaria.

The Bavarian economic policy will contin­­ue to actively support the development of the Munich Metro­politan Re­­gion. We think it is important to further de­­velop the interlinks between firms and re­­search institutions In the framework of the cluster initiative. Our aim is to further improve the innovative dynamism of the Bavarian economy.
In the Munich Metropolitan Re­­gion, the following clusters are considered fit for the future: automotive, aerospace, sat­­ellite navigation, biotechnologies, me­­dia as well as information and commu­­nications technology.

Q5090001_large

Bavarian economic policy aims to generate stimuli for the entire south of Bavaria through the dynamic de­­velopment of the Munich Metro­pol­itan Re­­gion. To achieve this, it is es­­sential to create the best pos­­sible conditions for businesses in the fu­­ture, too. To attract internation­­al companies, the Bavarian State Gov­­ernment relies on proactive location advertising. The appeal of the Munich Metropolitan Re­­gion is de­­liberately used to turn investors’ attention also to locations outside its core area. To the Bavarian State Government it is of particular im­­portance that the entire metropol­­itan region benefit from positive effects, rather than just the core areas.
The close cooperation between business and science, local authorities and chambers within the metropolitan re­­gion offers the unique opportunity to use the differences and qualities of each local area to optimize the development of the overall region by taking advantage of possible synergies.
Particularly due to the involvement of the areas surrounding the core region, the rural areas in the metropolitan re­­gion participate substantially in the de­­velopment process.

This occurs because, on the one hand, the rural areas share in the attraction and stimulating effects of the core re­­gion, and on the other, they have a sig­­nificant influence on the quality of the metropolitan region by developing their own priorities and activities. In addition, the rural areas not only benefit from the attraction and stimuli of the core re­­gion, but they are equal partners with their own right to all vital functions.

Participation and involvement of the areas surrounding the metropolitan core, in particular, are essential prerequisites for the long-term functionality and op­­timal development of a metropolitan re­­gion defined as a responsibility-sharing community. Another essential aspect of the Munich Metropolitan Re­­gion is the pioneering spirit kindled by the in­­ten­sive and voluntary cooperation of the local players. This “bottom-up” de­­velop­­ment has generated positive attitudes and lead to networking and collaboration activities across the region.

The ongoing positive development of the Munich Metropolitan Re­­gion is an essential precondition for the development of Bavaria as a whole. Besides fos­­tering internal regional development, for example in the fields of transport, tertiary education or tourism, the de­­vel­­opment of the two metropolitan regions of Munich and Nuremberg has a balanc­­ing effect on the structures of the various regions in Bavaria. On the whole, metropolitan regions play an important part for Bavaria to be able to succeed in the national and international location competition. They promote the state’s integration into German, European and global business networks and provide links with cross-national European trans­­port systems with relevant regional connections and access facilities. They are also an efficient means of enhancing Bavaria’s profile.

Mars---Schlucht-der-Morgenröte-mit-DLR-Kamera-aus-Oberpfaffenhofen-aufgen

The special focus of the Bavarian State Government on the metropolitan re­­gions does not mean at all that it abandons its traditional state de­­velopment policy, which has so far been guided by the prin­­ciple of “creating and maintaining equal living and working conditions in
all parts of the state”. On the contrary:
Ba­­var­ia sticks to the princi­ple of equal living and working conditions without ifs or buts – the met­­ropolitan regions and their development are clearly included in this concept. The Bavarian State Government continues to make every effort to guarantee equal opportunities for the citizens everywhere in the state.

The prospects are excellent for the Mu­­nich Metropolitan Re­­gion to continue its positive development. What matters most is to consistently follow the course it de­­cided to take and to make sure the met­­ropolitan region progresses in realiz­­ing true partnership between rural and ur­­ban areas.

MartinZeilLLThe author was born in 1956 and since 2008, he has been the Deputy Prime Min­­ister and Minister of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transport and Technology of the Free State of Bavaria. A lawyer, Martin Zeil was a member of the Ger­­man parliament, the Bundestag, be­­tween 2005 and 2008, and since 2008, he has been a member of the Bavarian state parliament. Mr Zeil is also the vice chair­­man of the Free Democratic Party (FDP) in Bavaria.

Martin Zeil: Die Metropolregion München im Gesamtkonzept der bayerischen Landespolitik

Die Metropolregion München umfasst im Kernbereich die Oberzentren Mün­chen, Augsburg, Ingolstadt, Landshut und Rosenheim sowie die sie umgeben­den Landkreise. Der Ausstrah­lungs­­be­reich reicht weit darüber hinaus und ist nicht starr abgrenzbar.

Die Metropolregion gehört mit ihren über 4,6 Millionen Einwohnern zu den führen­­den Wirtschaftsräumen Euro­­pas und ist zweifellos ein herausragen­­des wirtschaft­­liches Kraftzentrum. Sie nimmt hinsicht­­lich demografischer Entwick­­lung, Wirt­­schaftskraft, Inno­va­tions­stär­­ke und Wett­­bewerbsfähigkeit innerhalb Deutsch­lands und im europäischen Ver­­gleich eine Spitzenposi­tion ein.

Der-neue-BMW-7er,-M-Sportpaket

Die Stär­­ke und Besonderheit der Me­­tropolregion bestehen in der Vielfalt an zukunftsorien­­tierten Bran­chen, einem Mix aus Global Playern, traditionsreichen, mittelständischen Un­­ternehmen und Start-ups sowie höchster Lebens­qua­li­tät und attraktiver Land­­schaft. Die Re­­gion ist ein Top-Dienst­leis­­tungs­stand­ort mit dynamischem Wachs­­tum. So haben sich etwa in Mün­­chen die meisten Ver­­sicherungs­ge­sell­schaften innerhalb Deutschlands nieder­­gelassen. Die Region hat sich auch im Me­­dienbereich stark entwickelt. Der Groß­­raum Mün­chen ist bedeutender Verlags­­standort und Standort zahlreicher großer TV- und Film­produk­tions­fir­men. Welt­­weit anerkannte Forschungs­ein­­rich­tun­­gen, Uni­versitäten und Hoch­­schulen in der Me­­tropolregion sorgen über den Großraum München hinaus für hohes Innovations­potenzial und ein entsprechendes An­­ge­­bot an qualifizier­ten Ar­­beitskräften. Ferner zeichnet sich die Metropolregion München durch eine hervorragende Ver­­kehrsinfrastruktur aus. Das engmaschi­ge Autobahn- und Straßen­netz sowie das leistungsfähige Schie­nennetz werden durch mehrere Regio­nalflughäfen und nicht zuletzt durch den internationa­­len Großflugha­fen „Franz Josef Strauß“, der Direkt­flug­verbindungen in die gan­­ze Welt anbietet, ergänzt. Der Metropolregion ist es ge­­lungen, sich im europäischen Wett­be­­werb als wirtschaftlich prosperieren­­der Raum an vorderster Stelle zu po­­sitionieren. Durch ihre wirt­­schaftliche Dyna­mik und Leistungs­kraft nimmt sie eine Schrittmacherfunktion für den gan­­zen Freistaat Bayern ein.

Die bayerische Wirtschaftspolitik wird die Entwicklung der Metropolregion Mün­­chen auch künftig tatkräftig unterstützen. Im Rahmen der Clusterinitia­tive kommt es uns darauf an, die Ver­net­­zung von Un­­ter­nehmen und Forschungsein­rich­tun­gen weiter auszubauen. Damit soll die Inno­va­­tionsdynamik der bayerischen Wirt­schaft weiter verbessert werden.

Q5090001_large

Als zukunftsfäh­­ige Cluster gelten in der Metro­pol­re­­gion München die Bereiche Automotive, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Sa­­te­llitennavi­ga­tion, Bio­­technologien, Me­­dien sowie die In­­for­ma­tions- und Kommunikations­technik.

Ziel bayerischer Wirtschafts­po­litik ist es insbesondere, dass die dy­­namische Ent­­wicklung der Me­­tropolregion München Impul­­se für den gesamten südbayerischen Raum auslöst. Dabei kommt es we­­sentlich darauf an, auch künf­­tig best­­mögliche Rahmen­be­din­gun­gen für Un­­ternehmen zu bie­­ten. Um internationale Unternehmen anzu­­sie­deln, setzt die Baye­­ri­sche Staats­­­re­gie­­rung auf eine offensive Stand­­ort­­werbung. Bewusst wird die Aus­­strahlungswirkung der Me­­tropol­­region München ge­­nutzt, um Investoren auch auf Stand­­orte außerhalb ihres Kern­­raums zu lenken. Der Bayerischen Staats­­re­­gie­rung ist es ein be­­­sonderes Anlie­gen, dass dabei die gesamte Metropolregion und nicht nur der verdichtete Kern pro­­fitiert.
Die enge Zusammenarbeit von Wirt­schaft, Wissenschaft, Gebietskörper­schaf­ten und Kammern innerhalb der Me­­tropolregion bietet die große Chan­ce, die teilräumlichen Unterschiede und Qualitäten im Sinne von Synergie­ef­fek­ten zur bestmög­­lichen Entwicklung des Gesamt­raums zu nutzen.
Auch zur Ent­­wicklung des länd­­lichen Raums wird gerade innerhalb der Me­­tro­­polregion durch Einbindung des näh­­eren und weiteren Umlandes des Kern­­raums ein wesentlicher Beitrag ge­­leis­tet.
Dies erfolgt dadurch, dass die länd­­li­chen Räume einerseits an der Aus­­strah­­­­lungs- und Impulsgeberfunktion des Kern­­­­raums partizipieren und andererseits durch eigene Schwerpunktsetzun­gen und Ak­­tivitäten die Qualität der Me­­tro­­polregion maßgeblich mitbestim­men. Zudem ist der ländliche Raum nicht nur Nutz­nießer von Ausstrahlung und Im­­pul­­sen des ver­­dichteten Kerns, sondern dessen gleich­­berechtigter Part­ner, mit eigenem An­­spruch auf alle Daseins­funk­­tionen.
Gerade die Teilhabe und Ein­­bin­­dung des näheren und weiteren Um­­lan­des des metropolitanen Kerns sind we­­sentliche Voraussetzungen für eine dauerhafte Funktionsfähigkeit und op­­timale Entfaltung einer Metropolregion im Sinne einer Verantwortungs­gemein­­schaft. Ein weiterer wesentlicher As­­pekt der Metropolregion München ist, dass die intensive und frei­­wil­­lige Zusammen­arbeit der Ak­­teu­­re vor Ort zu einer Auf­­bruch­­stimmung geführt hat. Diese Ent­­wicklung „von un­­ten“ hat positive Men­talitä­ten in der Region geschaffen und zu einer innerregionalen Ver­­net­­zung und Kooperation geführt.

Mars---Schlucht-der-Morgenröte-mit-DLR-Kamera-aus-Oberpfaffenhofen-aufgen

Die weitere positive Entwicklung der Me­­tropolregion München stellt eine entscheidende Voraussetzung für die Ent­­wicklung in Bayern insgesamt dar. Ne­­ben innerregionaler Entwick­lung, etwa in den Bereichen Verkehr, Hoch­schul­we­­sen und Tourismus, trägt die metropolitane Ent­wick­lung mit den bei­­den Me­­tro­­pol­­regionen München und Nürn­­berg auch zu einer raumstrukturellen Aus­ge­wogenheit in Bayern bei. Metro­pol­re­gionen sind für Bayern insgesamt ein wichtiger Ansatz, um im nationalen und internationalen Stand­ortwettbe­werb be­­stehen zu können. Sie fördern die In­­te­gra­­tion des Landes in die deutschen, eu­­ropäischen und weltweiten Wirt­schafts­netze und sind An­­knüpfungspunkte an großräumige eu­­ropäische Verkehrs­net­­ze mit ent­spre­chen­­den regionalen Ver- und Anbin­dungsmöglichkeiten. Gleich­er­­­maßen sind sie ein wirksames Instru­ment zu Außendarstellung.
Die besondere Gewichtung der Metro­pol­­regionen durch die Bayerische Staats­­re­­gie­­rung bedeutet keinesfalls die Ab­­kehr von der bisherigen Landesent­wick­­lungs­­politik mit dem Leitprinzip „Schaf­­fung und Erhaltung gleichwertiger Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen in allen Landes­tei­len“. Im Ge­­genteil, Bay­­ern hält am Prin­­zip der gleichwertigen Le­­bens- und Ar­­beits­­bedingungen ohne Wenn und Aber fest – die Metropolre­gio­­nen und ihre Ent­­wicklung sind darin aus­­drücklich einbezogen. Die Bayeri­sche Staatsregie­rung setzt sich mit Nach­druck auch weiterhin für die Sicher­stel­­lung der Chancen­gleich­­heit für die Bevöl­­kerung in allen Landes­­teilen ein.
Die Metropolregion München hat beste Chancen, ihre positive Entwicklung fort­­zusetzen. Dabei kommt es ganz besonders darauf an, den eingeschlagenen Weg konsequent fortzusetzen und die Me­­tro­­polregion im Sinne einer Part­ner­­schaft von Stadt und Land weiter nach vorne zu bringen.

MartinZeilLLDer 1956 geborene Autor ist seit 2008 Stellvertreter des Ministerpräsidenten und Staatsminis­ter für Wirtschaft, Infra­­struk­­tur, Verkehr und Technologie des Frei­­staats Bayern. Der Jurist Martin Zeil war von 2005 bis 2008 Abgeordneter im Deut­­schen Bundestag, seit 2008 ist er Mit­­glied des Bayerischen Landtags. Zeil ist stell­­vertretender Lan­­desvorsit­zen­der der FDP.