Martin Proba: Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar – Networking for the supplier industry

The Rhine-Main-Neckar region is an im­­portant location for the automotive in­­dus­­try. 100,000 people directly or indirectly work in the automotive sector in the greater region. Many automobile companies manage their activities in Germany from the region: Opel, Seat and Škoda are among the European manufacturers, and the Asian brands include Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Mitsubishi and Suzuki. In Mannheim, Daimler’s bus division operates a large plant and the city is also home to John Deere’s largest European tractor plant. A large number of renowned suppliers are also represen­t­ed in the region: Continental in Frank­furt is one of the region’s largest employers, while Umicore can claim this distinction in Hanau, and technology produced by Freudenberg in Weinheim can be found in nearly all Western European automobiles. In addition, a wide range of small to medium-sized suppliers are at home in the region, which provide innovations, in part as market leaders, in their respec­­tive market niches: Curocon and Syn­­ventive in Bensheim, KLN Ultraschall in Heppenheim or Autoneum (formerly Rieter) in Roßdorf.

The Automotive-Cluster RheinMain­Neckar (www.automotive-cluster.org) is active along the entire automotive value chain and currently has 600 mem­bers. As a business cluster, it bundles the re­­gion’s know-how and promotes competitive cooperation. The cluster sees itself as a platform for establishing con­tacts bet­­ween companies from the region, as well as at a cross-national level, and supports the dialogue between bus­­iness, research, government and admin­is­tra­tion. The focus is on engineering. The engin­­eering service providers Bert­randt and EDAG have been supporting the cluster since its beginning. Several automa­kers have established their Euro­pean tech­nol­ogy and develop­ment centres in the Rhein-Main-Neckar region, fore­­­most Opel, but also Honda, Hyundai, Kia and Mitsu­bishi. However, the research and devel­op­ment capacities of the TIER1­suppliers, such as Conti­nental or Umi­core, are very diverse. The Auto­mo­­tive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar supports the cooperation between suppliers so that companies can maximise their potential – if not alone, then together. This can help win market shares, which have particularly remained out of reach for small and medium-sized businesses with their own, limited resources. In addi­tion, the cluster benefits from the excellent science-ba­sed infrastructure. The RheinMain and Darmstadt Univer­sity of Applied Sciences, as well as the Tech­ni­sche Universität Darm­stadt, possess a high de­­­gree of competence in vehicle con­­struc­tion. Further­more, the region’s Fraun­hofer Institutes, particu­larly the Fraun­hofer Insti­tute for Struct­ural Dura­bility and System Reliability LBF, deal with automobile-related issues.

 

Networking science and business. The cluster sees itself as an intermediary between business and science. This is successful because the network receives scientific advice from Prof. Dr. Birgit Scheppat of the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences. This allows bringing together the interests of companies and researchers quickly and easily. The cluster in particular supports smaller companies by assisting, together with contacts at scientific institutions, in finding suitable research partners. It also works together with experts from the Chamber of Indus­try and Commerce (IHK) Darmstadt in advising on legal or financing issues.

Networking between suppliers. However, the initiators of the Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar, IHK Darmstadt and the Business Development Board of the Groß-Gerau district, had anticipated an easier and above all quicker realisation of the networking of supply companies. Today, in 2013 – ten years after launching the cluster – the initiators are well aware that many of the companies in the cluster work together closely. Many aspects are subject to confidentiality agreements between the clients. Mutual familiarity and trust form the basis for the close co­­operation. Automotive companies in the cluster take advantage of the cooperation database and the cooperation exchanges, which the cluster organises for its members. The exchanges boast a very high success rate: these contacts have provid­ed the foundation for long-term business relationships for nearly 60 per cent of the participants. Five per cent of the partici­pants even sign agreements during these meetings. International relationships are established thanks to the networking with other European clusters. The automo­tive cluster from Konya in Turkey is a frequent guest, as are the supplier networks from Eindhoven in the Netherlands, Birming­ham and Derbyshire in Great Britain, from Haute-Normandie in France or the mem­bers of the automotive cluster in Slovenia.

 

Quantum leap in cooperation: project circles. So-called project circles were es­­t­ab­lished in the cluster in 2010. Here, ex­­perts from various companies dedicate themselves across company borders to very special issues related to the automo­bile supply industry. Electrical drives are a topic along with automation, project man­a­gement or the need for skilled work­ers. By concentrating on one issue, and the fact that this involves closed groups, the cluster creates even better conditions for bringing together cross-company com­­­petencies and interdisciplinary knowledge. The members of the Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar are convinced that this collaborative, trusting cooperation beyond the daily competition has a future. Along­side all the detail projects, several mem­bers got together and compiled a draft for an electromobility concept for rural areas. An electric vehicle represents the nucleus. However, an initial master plan covering development to production and mainten­ance has been formulated in which regen­erative energy generation also plays a major role. Current discussions with potential users focus on implementation opportunities.

 

Forum-bei-Opel-1-Kopie

Future opportunities provided by the cluster. The proven practice of a trusting cooperation within the cluster represents an excellent basis for mastering future challenges. The “mutual knowledge” makes it possible to tackle technological issues and develop solutions within the network. The topic concerning the need for skilled workers can also be handled better in a cluster than in a single company. An attrac­tive network offers its skilled workers a wide range of opportunities. This is in addition to the attract­ive location factors of the Rhein-Main-Neckar region, such as engineering science competence at the highest level, highly qualified skilled workers, an ex­­cellent transport infrastructure (roads, railways, air and water) as well as the extraordinary quality of life.

The Automotive-Cluster RheinMain­Neckar will in future continue to stand for quality workmanship made in Ger­many, which has its roots in a strong network, and a re­­gion known for its long tradition as a bus­iness location, cos­mopolitanism and quality of life.

 

Proba-1-KopieThe author was born in Straubing in 1965 and as an officer studied Eco­no­mics and Organizational Science in Ham­burg. Since 1995, he has worked for the Cham­­ber of Industry and Com­merce (IHK) Darm­stadt and heads the business areas Business Start-Up and Sup­port as well as International Affairs. He was one of the co-initiators of the Auto­motive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar in 2003.

Martin Proba: Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar – Netzwerkarbeit für die Zulieferindustrie

Die Region Rhein-Main-Neckar ist ein wichtiger Standort für die Automobil­industrie. 100.000 Beschäftigte in der Großregion arbeiten unmittelbar oder mittelbar im Automobilsektor. Viele Auto­mobilmarken steuern ihre deutschen Aktivitäten aus der Region: Opel, Seat und Škoda als europäische Hersteller, von den asiatischen Marken sind es Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Mitsubishi und Suzuki. In Mannheim hat die Bussparte von Daimler ein großes Werk und John Deere sein größtes europäisches Trak­torenwerk. Auch eine Vielzahl namhafter Zulieferer sind in der Region Rhein-Main-Neckar vertreten: Continental zählt in Frankfurt zu den größten Arbeit­gebern, Umicore kann dies für sich in Hanau in Anspruch nehmen und die Technologie von Freudenberg in Wein­heim findet sich in nahezu jedem westeuropäischen Automobil. Zudem findet sich eine Vielzahl kleiner Zulieferer, die in ihren Marktnischen innovativ und teil­weise Marktführer sind: Curocon und Synventive in Bensheim, KLN Ultraschall in Heppenheim oder Autoneum (früher Rieter) in Roßdorf.

Der Automotive-Cluster RheinMain­Neckar (www.automotive-cluster.org) ist entlang der gesamten automobilen Wert­schöpf­ungs­kette aufgestellt und hat aktuell 600 Mitglieder. Als Unterneh­­mens­cluster bündelt er das Know-how der Region und fördert wettbewerbsfähige Kooperationen. Der Cluster versteht sich als Plattform für die Kontaktanbahnung zwischen Firmen aus der Region, aber auch länderübergreifend, und unterstützt den Dialog zwischen Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Ver­waltung. Der Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich Enginee­ring. Die Ingenieurdienstleister Bertrandt und EDAG unterstützen den Cluster seit Beginn. Einige Hersteller haben ihre euro­päischen Technologie- und Entwick­lungszentren in der Rhein-Main-Neckar-Region angesiedelt, allen voran Opel, aber auch Honda, Hyundai, Kia und Mitsubishi. Aber auch die Forschungs- und Entwicklungs­kapa­zitäten der TIER- 1-Zulieferer, wie zum Beispiel Continental oder Umicore, sind vielfältig. Der Auto­motive-Cluster Rhein­MainNeckar unter­stützt die Zusammen­arbeit der Zulieferer untereinander, damit Betriebe ihr Poten­zial nutzen können – wenn nicht alleine, dann im Verbund. Damit lassen sich Marktanteile gewinnen, die insbesondere kleinen und mittleren Betrieben mit den eigenen, be­­schränkten Ressourcen verschlossen blieben. Weiterhin profitiert der Cluster von der hervorragenden Wissenschafts­infrastruktur: Die Hoch­schulen RheinMain und Darmstadt sowie die Tech­nische Universität Darm­stadt haben eine hohe Kompetenz im Fahrzeugbau. Zudem befassen sich Fraunhofer-Institute in der Region mit automobilen Frage­stellungen, allen voran das Fraunhofer-Institut für Betriebs­fes­­t­igkeit und Sys­temzuverlässigkeit LBF.

Vernetzung Wissenschaft – Wirtschaft. Der Cluster versteht sich als Mittler zwischen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Dies gelingt dadurch, dass das Netz­werk von Prof. Dr. Birgit Scheppat von der Hochschule RheinMain wissenschaftlich beraten wird. So lassen sich auf kurzem Weg die Interessen von Unter­nehmen und Forschern zusammenführen. Der Cluster unterstützt insbesondere kleine Unternehmen, indem er gemeinsam mit den Ansprechpartnern bei den wissenschaftlichen Einricht­ungen bei der Suche nach geeigneten Forschungs­­partnern hilft, aber auch mit den Ka­­pa­­zitäten der Industrie- und Handels­kammer (IHK) Darmstadt bei rechtlichen Fragen oder über Finan­zierungs­fragen berät.
Vernetzung zwischen Zulieferern. Die Vernetzung der Zulieferunternehmen hatten sich die Initiatoren des Auto­motive-Clusters RheinMainNeckar, die IHK Darm­stadt und die Wirtschaftsför­derung des Kreises Groß-Gerau, einfacher, vor allem aber schneller realisierbar vorgestellt. Heute, 2013 – zehn Jahre nach dem Start des Clusters ­– wissen die Initia­toren, dass eine Vielzahl der Unter­neh­men aus dem Cluster eng kooperieren. Vieles unterliegt den Geheimhaltungs­vereinbarungen der Auftraggeber. Die Basis der engen Zusammenarbeit ist das gegenseitige Kennen und Vertrauen. Automotive-Unternehmen aus dem Cluster nutzen die Kooperations­daten­bank und die Kooperationsbörsen, die der Cluster für seine Mitglieder organisiert. Gerade bei letzteren ist die Erfolgs­quote sehr hoch: Für rund 60 Prozent der Teilnehmer sind diese Kontakte Aus­gangspunkt für langfristige Geschäfts­beziehungen. Fünf Prozent der Teilnehmer schließen sogar bereits bei diesen Gesprächen Verträge. Durch die Ver­net­­z­ung in andere europäische Cluster hinein entstehen auch internationale Ver­bin­dungen. Das Automotive-Cluster aus Konya in der Türkei ist ebenso ständiger Gast wie die Zuliefernetzwerke aus Eind­hoven in den Niederlanden, Bir­ming­ham und Derbyshire (GB), der Haute-Nor­man­die in Frankreich oder die Mit­glieder des Automotive-Clusters Slowenien.

Quantensprung in der Zusammenarbeit: Projektkreise. Im Jahr 2010 haben sich im Cluster so genannte Projektkreise etabliert. Hier widmen sich die Fachleute aus den Unternehmen firmenübergreifend sehr speziellen Fragestellungen aus der Automobilzulieferindustrie. Elek­trische Antriebe sind ebenso ein Thema wie Automatisierung, Projekt­manage­ment oder Fachkräftebedarf. Durch die Konzentration auf eine Fragestellung und die Tatsache, dass es sich um ge­­schlossene Gruppen handelt, schafft der Cluster noch bessere Voraussetzungen für die Zusammenführung unterneh­­mens­übergreifender Kompetenzen und inter­disziplinären Wissens. Die Mitglieder des Automotive-Clusters RheinMain­Neckar sind davon überzeugt, dass diese kooperative, vertrauensvolle Zusam­­­men­arbeit jenseits des täglichen Wett­bewerbs Zukunft hat. Neben allen Detail­projekten haben sich einige Mitglieder zusammengetan und einen Entwurf für ein E-Mobilitätskonzept für den ländlichen Raum vorgedacht. Ein E-Fahrzeug ist dabei der Nukleus, jedoch wurde ein erstes Gesamtkonzept von der Entwick­lung über Produktion und Wartung formuliert, in dem auch die regenerative Energiegewinnung eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Aktuell diskutiert man mit potenziellen Anwendern die Realisierungs­chancen.

Forum-bei-Opel-1-Kopie

Zukunftschancen durch den Cluster. Die erprobte Praxis des vertrauensvollen Umgangs im Cluster ist eine gute Basis, die Herausforderungen der Zukunft zu meistern: Das „Voneinander-Wissen“ ermöglicht es, technologische Frage­stellungen im Verbund anzugehen und Lösungen zu entwickeln. Auch das Thema Fachkräftebedarf lässt sich im Cluster gemeinschaftlich besser bearbeiten als im Einzelunternehmen. Ein attraktives Netzwerk bietet seinen Fachkräften eine Vielzahl von Chancen. Hinzu kommen die attraktiven Standortfaktoren der Rhein-Main-Neckar-Region, wie zum Bei­spiel ingenieurwissenschaftliche Kom­pe­tenz auf höchstem Niveau, hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte, eine hervorragende Verkehrsinfrastruktur (Straße, Schiene, Luft, Wasser) sowie die außergewöhn­liche Lebensqualität.

Der Automotive-Cluster RheinMain­Neckar steht auch in der Zukunft für deutsche Wertarbeit, die aus einem starken Netz­werk hervorgeht, und für eine Region mit einer langen Tradition als Wirt­schaftsstandort, die für Welt­of­­fenheit und Lebensqualität bekannt ist.

Proba-1-KopieDer Autor wurde 1965 in Straubing ge­­boren und hat als Offizier an der Bundes­wehr-Universität in Hamburg Wirtschafts- und Organisationswissen­schaften studiert. Seit 1995 ist er bei der Industrie- und Handelskammer (IHK) Darmstadt tätig und leitet die Geschäfts­bereiche Existenzgründung und Unter­nehmens­förderung sowie International. Er war 2003 einer der Mitinitiatoren des Auto­motive-Clusters RheinMainNeckar.