Martin Gerhardt: Precision and innovation – New technologies in the abrasives industry

“Made in Rheinland-Pfalz” – The economy of Rhineland-Palatinate is character­ized by a strong medium-sized sector, particularly in the handcraft and ma­­chine construction industries. Thus, Rhine­­land-Palatinate’s machine construction in­­dus­­try, which employs around 33,500 peo­­ple, is the third largest industry in the manufacturing sector.

This industry branch is predominantly characterized on the market by small and medium-sized enterprises. These are specialists in the production of custom­er-specific solutions and are often market leaders in their segments. The sec­­tor is diverse. Overall, it is made up of numerous technical sectors from ar­­mature right up to machine tools. In the innovative tool manufactur­ing industry, modern technologies for the production of diamond and boron nitride tools are setting trends.

The best example which reflects the creativity of this industry is Günter Effgen GmbH. The medium-sized enterprise is setting new standards in its sector through its innovative strength. Originating from a client contract, the company developed new diamond-impregnated grinding and polishing tools in 2007.
The company was awarded the Innovation Prize Rhineland-Pa­­latinate 2008 for the development of “polishing tools for the de­­fined processing of hard and very hard workpiece surfaces, in particular for CNC grinders”.

_MG_1457-2

It specifically involved the creation of a defined rounding of a cutting edge and simultaneously a high-gloss polished flute. All this was to possibly take place in one process using a 5-axis CNC ma­­chine. By collaborating closely with clients, the process was performed on the machine in a matter of a few weeks. The high-per­­formance carbide drill cre­­ated in the “unmanned operation” is mass-produced in safe processing and shows a 200 per cent long­­er lifetime than the previous production method.

In preparation of the cutting edge, the following three focal points are to be taken into account: the cutting edge chipping, defined edge rounding as well as the refinement of the surface roughness on the cutting faces and tool flanks.

The difficulty in obtaining these properties lies in that a specifically pre­­pared and homogenous cutting edge in the micrometre range is to be created in the pro­duc­­tion process. After grind­­ing, the micro geo­metry of the cutting edge is characterized by chipping and unsteadiness, which is a hindering factor. The unsteadiness is hugely strained during the process and leads to micro raptures, which reduce the durability of the cutting edge and influence the quality of the workpiece surface being processed.

Image_0121-1

With the newly developed polishing tools of the company in Herrstein, a novel process-secure technology is revealed, which variably combines both the polish­­ing and rounding working processes. The herewith producible surface qualities lie in surface roughness values of Ra 0.02 micrometres. As a result, a significant­­ly better removal of chips and a much low­­er thermal load is guaranteed during the drilling process. Certain high-performance drills do not require additional sur­­face coatings and achieve an overall long­­er lifetime with the polished surface. In drill production, the “coating” working process is eliminated and production costs are therewith reduced by ten per cent.

A considerable advantage is that the machine operator is able to continue working at a cutting speed, feed rate and positioning parameter that he is used to and in the end, extract an optimally prepared cutting tool directly from the machine. The polishing discs are, amongst other things, divided into four basic hardness segments, which can be adapted for the respective requirements. The adjustable elastic properties of this resinoid bond essentially allows for the rounding performance to be controlled at the cutting edges. The variable struc­­ture of the bond and the application of special diamond grits permit the process­­ing of different substances such as car­­bide, HSS, zirconium oxide, glass, flame-sharpened alloys, hardened steel and germanium.

Image_0021

For Günter Effgen GmbH, innovation means the continuous development of new applications and the introduction of new production technologies. The rap­­id progress of new technologies in re­­cent years has also characterized the activities of other companies in Rhineland-Pa­­latinate. Today, handcraft and machine construction is synonymous to high tech­­nology. Those who wish to survive in the market have to adjust to these facts. Flexibility, initiative, innovation and cre­­ativity are indispensable companions of modern organizations that wish to en­­ter international markets. This is a huge challenge that the Rhineland-Palatinate organizations meet in future.

Martin-Gerhardt001The author, born in 1970, complet­ed his training as a certified technician for plas­­tics and rubber processing. He worked as a proc­­ess manager in ma­­te­­rials and pro­cess­­ing technology at a me­­dium-sized au­­to­­mo­tive supplier for nine years. He has been working at Günter Effgen GmbH since 2005. He is the product manager for the grind­­ing and polishing tools section as well as being responsible for R&D in that area.

Martin Gerhardt: Präzision und Innovation – Neue Techniken in der Schleifmittelindustrie

„Made in Rheinland-Pfalz“ – Die rheinland-pfälzische Wirtschaft ist geprägt von einem starken Mittelstand, insbesondere in den Branchen Handwerk und Maschinenbau. So liegt der Ma­­schi­nen­­bau in Rheinland-Pfalz mit rund 33.500 Beschäftigten auf Platz drei der größten Branchen des verarbeitenden Ge­­werbes.

Der Industriezweig ist überwiegend durch kleine und mittlere Unterneh­men auf dem Markt gekennzeichnet. Diese sind Spezialisten in der Anfer­ti­gung von kundenspezifischen Lösun­gen und häu­­fig Marktführer in ihrem Segment. Die Branche ist vielfältig. Ins­­gesamt be­­steht diese aus zahlreichen Fachzwei­gen von der Armatur bis zur Werkzeug­ma­schi­ne. In der innovativen Werkzeugindustrie sind moderne Techniken zur Herstellung von Diamant- und Bornitridwerkzeugen richtungweisend.

_MG_1457-2

Als bestes Beispiel spiegelt die Günter Effgen GmbH die Kreativität der Bran­che wider. Das mittelständische Un­­ter­nehmen setzt in seinem Sektor mit sei­­ner Innovationskraft neue Maßstä­be. In­­­­folge eines Kundenauftrages entwickelte das Unternehmen im Jahr 2007 neue diamant­­­durchsetzte Po­­lier- und Schleif­werk­zeuge. Für die Ent­­wicklung von „Polierwerkzeug zur de­­finierten Be­­ar­beitung von harten und hoch­­harten Werkstückoberflächen, ins­­besondere für CNC-Schleif­maschinen“ wurde das Un­­ter­­nehmen mit dem In­­novationspreis Rheinland-Pfalz 2008 ausgezeichnet.

Konkret geht es darum, an Zerspan­werkzeugen eine definierte Schneid­kan­tenverrundung und gleichzeitig eine hoch­­glanzpolierte Spannut zu erzeugen. Dies alles sollte möglichst in einem Arbeits­gang auf einer 5-Achs-CNC-Maschine geschehen. Durch die enge Zusammen­arbeit mit dem Kunden konnte innerhalb weniger Wochen der Prozess auf die Maschine geführt werden. Der nun entstehende Hochleistungsbohrer aus Hartmetall wird im „mannlosen Betrieb“ prozesssicher in Serie hergestellt und zeigt eine Standzeitverbesserung von 200 Prozent gegenüber der vorherigen Herstellmethode.

Bei der Schneidkantenpräparation sind die folgenden drei Schwerpunkte zu be­­rücksichtigen: Reduzierung der Schneid­­kanten­schar­­tigkeit, definierte Kanten­ver­­rundung sowie die Verbesserung der Oberflächenrauig­keit an Span- und Freiflächen.

Image_0121-1

Die Schwierigkeit, diese Eigenschaften zu erreichen, besteht darin, im Herstel­lungsprozess eine gezielt präparierte und homogene Schneidkante im Mikro­meter-Bereich zu erzeugen.
Die Mikrogeometrie der Schneidkante ist nach dem Schleifen durch Schartig­keiten und Unstetigkeiten gekennzeichnet, die im Einsatz hinderlich sind. Un­­stetigkeiten werden beim Einsatz stark belastet und führen zu Mikroausbrüchen, welche die Standzeit der Schneide re­­duzieren und die Qualität der bearbeiteten Werkstückoberfläche beeinflussen.

Mit den neu entwickelten Polierwerk­zeu­­gen des Herrsteiner Unternehmens zeigt sich erstmals eine prozesssichere Tech­­nologie, die beide Arbeitsgänge, Polie­ren und Verrunden, variabel miteinander kom­­biniert. Die hiermit erzeugbaren Ober­flächengüten liegen bei Rautiefenwer­ten von Ra 0,02 Mikrometer. Dadurch wird eine wesentlich bessere Spanab­fuhr und weitaus geringere thermische Belastung während des Bohrprozesses gewährleistet. Bestimmte Hochleis­tungs­­bohrer benötigen keine zusätzlichen Oberflächenbeschichtungen und erreichen mit den polierten Oberflächen ins­­­gesamt bessere Standzeiten. Beim Her­­stellen des Bohrers kann der Arbeits­schritt „Beschichten“ entfallen, die Her­­stellkosten reduzieren sich damit um zehn Prozent.

Image_0021

Ein entscheidender Vorteil liegt darin, dass der Maschinenbediener mit den ihm bekannten Parametern Schnittge­schwindigkeit, Vorschub und Zustellung weiterarbeiten und letztendlich ein op­­timal präpariertes Schneidwerkzeug di­­rekt aus der Maschine entnehmen kann. Abgestimmt auf den jeweiligen Bedarf sind die Polierscheiben unter anderem in vier Basishärten gegliedert. Mit dem einstellbar elastischen Charakter dieser Kunstharzbindungen wird im Wesent­lichen das Verrundungsverhalten an Schneid­­kanten gesteuert. Der variable Aufbau der Bindung und die Verwen­dung spezieller Diamantkörnungen er­­laubt die Bearbeitung verschiedenster Werk­stof­­fe, wie zum Beispiel Hartme­tall, HSS, Zir­­konoxid, Glas, flammge­spritz­­te Legierungen, gehärteter Stahl, Germa­ni­um.

Innovation bedeutet für die Günter Effgen GmbH stets neue Anwendungen zu er­­schließen und neue Fertigungstechni­ken einzuführen. Ein rasanter Fort­schritt bei neuen Technologien prägte in den letzten Jahren auch die Tätigkeit anderer rhein­­land-pfälzischer Unternehmen. Hand­­werk und Maschinenbau heißt heu­­te High­­tech. Wer am Markt bestehen möchte, muss sich diesen Gegebenheiten anpassen. Fle­­xibilität, Eigeninitiative, Innovations­fäh­­ig­­keit und Kreativität sind unabkömm­­li­che Wegbegleiter der modernen Unter­­neh­­men zur Erschließung der internationa­len Märk­­te. Eine große Herausfor­de­rung, der sich die rheinland-pfälzischen Un­­ternehmen in der Zukunft stellen.

Martin-Gerhardt001Der 1970 geborene Autor absolvierte seinen staat­­lich geprüften Techniker in der Fach­rich­tung Kunststoff- und Kaut­schuk­technik. Er übte eine neunjährige Tätig­keit als Pro­zess­ma­na­ger im Bereich Werk­­stoff- und Prozess­technik bei einem mittelstän­­dischen Au­­tomobilzulieferer aus. Seit 2005 ist er bei der Gün­­ter Effgen GmbH als F&E-Verantwortli­cher und Pro­­dukt­manager für den Be­­reich Fein­schleif- und Polierwerk­zeuge tätig.