Markus Böhme & Nadine Böhme: Factory security – Quality pays

Tasks related to security and crime pre­­vention have long ceased to be only the police’s responsibility. Private security firms contribute a lot to protect people and companies. But whoever thinks of the classic picture of a security guard or even a burly doorman, is completely mistaken. Employees in the industrial security sector are highly qualified and have good technical know-how. Integrity, authority and competence are essential preconditions of success in the security industry. Debating security matters in public receives more and more attention.


DSC00626

An increasing number of large and me­­dium-sized companies as well as opera­­tors of public facilities opt for outsourcing property and personal protection tasks to external providers. Clients who, for ex­­ample, wish to outsource in-house in­­spec­­tion, porter or reception services give first priority to finding a provider who of­­fers appropriate know-how and qualified spe­­cialist personnel. Providers of security services who want to be continual successful will have to invest in further education and professional qualification measures for their staff, because there is often a lack of capable personnel.

The security market in Germany is currently worth 10.25 billion euros in turn­­over and has kept growing for years.
In 2008, more than 173,000 people were working in the alarm and security in­­dus­­try, plus an additional 30,000 as temporary staff. An unbalanced pay structure due to wage dumping leads to high la­­bour turnover rates in some areas.

One of the key purposes of personal and property protection is to prevent destruc­­tive processes from occurring. That is achievable with the deployment of qual­ified staff combined with the use of ap­­propriate security systems. There are three quite clearly defined core areas of services offered by the private security industry.
85 per cent of contracts are attributable to private households or property under private law without public access. These include, among others, factory and prop­­erty protection and emergency or service call centres.
Approximately ten per cent of the business is related to areas under private or pub­­lic law with public access, for in­­stance the protection of DB (German railway) premis­­es, shopping centres or fair grounds.
Only five per cent of the contracts come from public clients and pertain to public spac­­es. These are, for instance, tasks re­­­lated to properties of the German armed forc­­es or airports and traffic monitoring.


DSC00623

In any case, the purpose of all these meas­­ures is to avoid or minimize any physical or economic damage and to prevent breaches of the law.
Besides a confident manner and good physical condition, employees who are looking to build a successful career in the private security industry need to have a strong affinity for electronic se­­curity systems. Since many globally ac­­tive com­­­panies have foreign-language speaking visitors, communication and foreign lan­­guage skills are another es­­sential requirement. Security firms and their employees must always give consideration to the specific needs of each of their clients.

The monitoring of technical facilities such as fire detection or building management systems which have the purpose of en­­sur­­ing the security of a building is another important field of activity.
Men and women who undertake these tasks must have special qualifications. The attendance of a specialist training course according to §34a of the German Trade, Commerce and Industry Regu­­lation Act (GewO) with or without CCI examination, is a mandatory precondition in this profession. A dual system of professional training is in place for the occupations of safety and security specialist/service specialist. Career switchers who have al­­ready completed some job-related train­­ing may take a CCI test as certified safe­­ty and security specialist.

These qualifications normally improve the career prospects in a company. In addition, qualified workers receive higher wages. Further education opportunities are available to people who have completed professional training. They may be­­come CCI-certified Masters of Secu­rity and Safety or certified technical business management specialists or they may do subject-related study courses for se­­­curity business administrators/managers.

A number of other services requiring spe­­cialist qualification include, for in­­stance, aviation security. Aviation security as­­sist­­ants perform tasks like passenger, per­­sonal, luggage and freight screening. In regional public passenger transport, security firms offer protective services for passengers and employees besides other types of services.

 

PIC_0093
Specially trained security experts are required to develop reliable safety and security concepts for extensive premises or building complexes. These special­­ists carry out site inspections at regular intervals and, in cooperation with the client, conduct a needs analysis to meet their particular security requirements. In case of property protection, elements of building technology, electronic de­­vic­­es, master key or equipment protection systems must be assessed.
More and more clients opt for highly spe­­cialized monitoring systems. Particularly in large public squares, at train stations or airports, highly effective security so­­lutions can hardly be implemented with­­out the help of technical equipment. Even smaller firms increasingly tend to invest in electronic security systems to keep up with the latest developments.

PIC_0083

The “European Electronic Security Baro­­­meter”, a survey conducted in 2007, shows nevertheless that companies do not rely on technology alone to maintain security standards. 37 per cent of the interviewed companies intend to invest more money in security, another 45 per cent don’t plan on cutting down these areas. No doubt, technical devices have contribu­ted a lot to improve the professional prac­­tice in recent years and have enhanced the se­­curity sector. But what matters most is always the specialised personnel that carries out operation, maintenance and evaluation tasks.

At the end of the day, occupations in the security sector involve delivering a variety of demanding services. And it should not be forgotten that private security firms not only support government crime prevention strategies, but they also con­­tribute to creating new jobs.

 

Farbe_2291The author was born in 1964. He is a qualified Master of Security and Safety. From 1987 to 1996, he worked as a fa­­cility manager for two security firms. In 1996, he founded the ATG Sicher­heits­­ge­­sellschaft mbH, whose managing part­­ner he has been ever since. In addition, he is a member of the board of the South­­ern Bavarian regional district of the SME association “Die Familienunternehmer-ASU e.V.”.

 

 

Farbe_2335The author, born in 1977, trained as a banker. From 1999 to 2001, she worked as a management assistant at a mortgage bank. Since 2002, Nadine Boehme has been a partner and an authorized representative of ATG Sicherheits­ge­sell­­schaft mbH. In 2008, she joined the “Ver­­band deutscher Unter­neh­me­rinnen e.V.” and she is a member of the board of its Southern Bavarian branch.

Markus Böhme & Nadine Böhme: Werkschutz – Qualität macht sich bezahlt

Aufgaben in den Bereichen Sicherheit und Kriminalprävention sind längst nicht mehr nur Sache der Polizei. Private Si­­cher­heitsunternehmen leisten einen er­­heblichen Beitrag zum Schutz von Per­­so­­­­nen und Unternehmen. Wer da­­bei je­­doch an das klassische Bild des Wach­­manns oder gar grobmotorischen Tür­stehers denkt, könnte nicht falscher lie­­gen. Per­­sonen im Werk­schutz sind hoch­­qua­­li­fi­­zier­­te und technisch versierte Mitar­bei­­ter. Integrität, Souve­ränität und Kompe­tenz sind in der Si­­cherheitsbranche absolut erfolgs­entscheidend, da das Thema Si­­cherheit auch in der öffentlichen De­­bat­te immer mehr in den Vordergrund rückt.


DSC00626

Zunehmend entschließen sich immer mehr große- und mittelständische Unter­­nehmen sowie Betreiber öffent­­licher An­­lagen dazu, Aufgaben in den Be­­rei­chen Objekt- und Personenschutz an externe Anbieter zu vergeben. Für Kun­den, die beispielsweise firmeninterne Kontroll-, Pforten- und Empfangsdienste auslagern, ist es in erster Linie von Be­­deu­tung, einen Dienstleister mit entsprechendem Know-how und kompeten­tem Fachpersonal zu finden. Wer sich als Sicherheitsdienst­leister hier auf Dau­­er durchsetzen will, muss in die Weiter­bildung und beruf­liche Qualifikation seiner Angestellten in­­vestieren, da es oft an befähigtem Personal mangelt.
Der Sicherheitsmarkt in Deutschland umfasst heute einen Umsatz von 10,25 Milliarden Euro und wächst seit Jahren. Mehr als 173.000 Beschäftigte waren 2008 im Wach- und Sicher­heits­ge­­wer­­be tätig. Hinzu kommen rund 30.000 Aushilfskräfte. Durch Abweichungen im Gehaltsgefüge aufgrund von Dum­ping­­löhnen kommt es in Teilbereichen zu hoher Per­­so­nalfluktuation.
Destruktive Prozesse präventiv zu un­­ter­binden, durch die Präsenz qualifi­zier­­­ten Personals, in enger Abstimmung mit dem Einsatz technischer Sicherungs­sys­­teme, ist eine wesentliche Auf­gabe des Personen- und Objektschutzes. Das Leistungsbild im privaten Sicherheits­bereich ist dabei relativ deutlich durch drei Kernbereiche bestimmt. Diese glie­­dern sich zu 85 Prozent in einen privaten Auftrags- und privatrechtlichen Haus­­haltsbereich ohne öffentlichen Zugang.
Dazu zählen unter anderem der Werk- und Ob­­jektschutz, aber auch Notruf- und Ser­­vicedienststellen.
Ungefähr zehn Prozent entfallen auf den Bereich privat- und öffentlich-rechtlicher Aufgaben mit öffentlichem Zugang. Da­­zu zählen zum Beispiel Anlagen­si­che­rung der DB, Einkaufszentren oder Mes­­sen.

Lediglich fünf Prozent erfolgen in staat­­lichem Auftrag im öffentlichen Raum. Darunter fallen Liegenschaften der Bun­­­deswehr, Flughäfen oder die Ver­­kehrs­­überwachung.
Grundsätzlich dienen alle dieser Auf­ga­­ben der Vermeidung oder Minimie­rung von physischen, wirtschaftlichen Schä­­den und der Verhütung von Rechts­­­brü­chen.


DSC00623

Grundvoraussetzungen für Arbeitneh­mer, die im privaten Sicherheitsbereich be­­ruflich erfolgreich sein wollen, sind ne­­ben einem souveränen Auftreten und physischen Voraussetzungen auch eine ausgeprägte Affinität zu elektronischen Sicherheitssystemen. Da viele international tätige Unternehmen fremdsprachige Besucher empfangen, sind auch Kom­­munikationsfähigkeit und Fremd­spra­chenkompetenz ein wichtiges Qu­a­­li­­täts­merkmal. Für Sicherheitsunter­neh­­men und ihre Mitarbeiter bedarf es dabei stets der Berücksichtigung der individuellen Ge­­gebenheiten des jeweiligen Auftrag­ge­­bers. Die Überwachung technischer Einrich­tun­gen wie Brand­meldeanlagen oder Gebäudeleittech­nik, die der Si­­che­­rung des Gebäu­des dienen, ist ebenfalls wichtiger Bestand­teil.

Frauen und Männer, die sich diesen Auf­­gaben widmen, müssen über be­­son­­de­re Qualifikationen verfügen. Die Grund­­voraussetzung in diesem Berufsfeld ist die Teilnahme am Unterrichtungs­ver­fah­­ren nach § 34a GewO, mit oder ohne Sachkundeprüfung vor der IHK. Eine duale Ausbildung erfolgt in den Berufen Servicekraft- und Fachkraft für Schutz und Sicherheit. Für Quereinsteiger mit bereits vorhandener Berufsausbildung ist der Abschluss IHK-geprüfte Schutz- und Sicherheitskraft möglich.

Grundsätzlich erhöhen diese Qualifika­tionen die Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten im Unternehmen. Hinzu kommt, dass qua­­lifiziertes Personal entsprechend ent­­lohnt wird. Nach der Berufs­ausbildung stehen weitere Fortbildungs­maßnah­men zur Verfügung. Eine Weiterbildung zum IHK-geprüften Meister für Schutz und Sicherheit ist dabei ebenso möglich wie der technische Betriebswirt und fachbezogene Studiengänge zum Sicher­heits­­­fachwirt oder -manager.

PIC_0093

Eine Reihe weiterer Dienstleistungen, die spezielle Qua­­lifikationen erfordern, sind zum Bei­spiel Aufgaben in der Avi­­ation Se­­curity. Luftsicherheits­assis­ten­­­ten über­­­­­nehmen Aufgaben wie die Flug­­­gast-, Per­­­­­sonen-, Gepäck- und Fracht­kon­­trol­le. Im öffent­lichen Personen-Nah­­­ver­kehr bieten Si­­cherheitsdienstleister Schutz für Fahr­gäste und Betriebs­an­ge­hörige und über­­nehmen weitere Serviceaufgaben.
Um letztendlich Sicherheitskonzepte in großflächigen Anlagen oder Ge­­bäu­de­komplexen sicher zu gestalten, be­­darf es speziell ausgebildeter Sicher­heits­fach­kräf­te. Diese führen regelmäßig Be­­triebs­­be­geh­ungen durch und erstellen in Zu­­sammenarbeit mit dem Auftrag­ge­ber eine Bedarfsanalyse, die speziell auf dessen Sicherheitsbedürfnis abgestimmt ist. Im Objektschutz müssen dabei bautechni­sche Merkmale, Elek­­tronik, Schließ­an­la­­gen oder Inven­tar­schutz beurteilt werden.

PIC_0083

Immer stärker wird auch auf hochspezialisierte Überwachungsausrüstung ge­­setzt. Gerade an weitläufigen öffentlichen Plätzen, Bahnhöfen oder Flug­häfen ist eine umfassende Sicherheit ohne tech­­ni­­sche Hilfsmittel kaum mehr zu ge­­währ­­leisten. Auch kleinere Unter­nehmen in­­vestieren verstärkt in elektronische Si­­cherheitslösungen, um sich zeitgemäßen Sicherheitspraktiken anzupassen.
Die 2007 durchgeführte Studie „Euro­pean Electronics Security Barometer“ zeigt jedoch, dass Firmen zur Ab­­si­che­rung nicht nur auf Technik setzen. 37 Prozent der befragten Unternehmen wollen ihre Ausgaben auch beim Wach­personal er­­höhen, und immerhin über 45 Prozent planen in diesen Bereichen keine Kür­zun­­gen. Technische Hilfs­mit­tel haben das Berufsfeld in den letzten Jahren ohne Frage bereichert und führen zu mehr Sicherheit. Ent­schei­dend ist aber immer das Fachpersonal, welches Bedienung, Wartung und Aus­­wer­tung durchführt.

Berufe im privaten Sicherheitsbereich umfassen letztendlich eine Reihe von anspruchsvollen Serviceaufgaben. Es sollte nicht vergessen werden, dass pri­­vate Sicherheitsunternehmen nicht nur eine Unterstützung der staatlichen Kri­minalprävention sind, sondern auch zur Schaffung von neuen Arbeitsplätzen bei­­tragen.

Farbe_2291Der Autor wurde 1964 geboren. Markus Böhme ist Meister für Schutz und Sicher­­heit. Von 1987 bis 1996 arbeitete er un­­ter anderem als Objektleiter in zwei Si­­cherheitsunter­nehmen. 1996 gründete er die ATG Si­­cherheitsgesellschaft mbH, de­­ren ge­­schäftsführender Gesellschafter er ist. Zudem ist er Mitglied im Vorstand des Regionalkreises Südbayern im Ver­­band „Die Familienunternehmer-ASU e.V.“.

 

 

Farbe_2335Die Autorin wurde 1977 geboren und ab­­solvierte eine Ausbildung zur Bank­kauf­frau. Von 1999 bis 2001 arbeitete sie als Vorstandsassistentin einer Hypothe­ken­bank. Seit 2002 ist Nadine Böhme Mit­inhaberin und Prokuristin der ATG S­­i­cher­­heitsgesell­schaft mbH. 2008 trat sie in den „Verband deutscher Unter­neh­me­rinnen e.V.“ ein und ist Mitglied des Vor­­stands im Lan­desverband Bayern-Süd.