Mag. Georg Kapsch: A strong location thanks to strong industry

The story of Austria’s development since 1945 is one of success. As a small eco­­nomy, we have succeeded in becoming one of the world’s wealthiest states. This would not have been possible without our industrial base. Despite structural changes, the role of industry in the econ­omy is becoming ever more important. As a consequence of the global economic crisis, during which it was shown that in­­dus­­trialised countries recover faster than others, the European Union recognised this and is therefore focusing on a re-in­­dustrialisation programme. A change in thinking is also being seen in the USA and UK. Today, hardly anyone talks about “de-industrialisation” through service so­­­­cieties. Instead, new services are emerging around the industrial centre .It is this servo-industrial sector which directly and indirectly secures 2.4 million jobs in Austria and generates around 60 per cent of domestic value creation. Yesterday’s state-owned companies have become today’s prosperous, interna­tion­ally-­­focused companies which are prov­­ing themselves in global competition, have successfully found their niches in the market and in many cases have even developed into world market leaders in their sectors.

Industry as an engine of productivity. In an age of globalisation, industry under­­stood the importance of seeing structural change as an opportunity for growth bet­­­ter than any other sector. As the sector ex­­­­posed to the toughest international com­­­­petition, industry recognised in good time that the only way to safeguard their competitiveness is through increases in productivity through product and pro­­cess in­­novations, constantly progressing auto­ma­­tion and an efficient distribution of work.

While the development of Austrian in­­dus­­trial productivity is among the best in the EU, productivity in the service sector has traditionally been more of a problem, in particular due to the large public sector. In no other economy is industry’s con­­tribution to the growth in productivity as high as it is in Austria.
A comparison of the development in improved in the service sector with that of the production sector (industry) over the past 30 years makes industry’s driving function clear. While the productivity (real value creation per employee) in the service sector rose by only 29 per cent in the 30 years before the financial and economic crisis, in the production sector it almost tripled, with a rise of 323 per cent.


VH_Heidenheim_Pernegg_Generator_SW_-(13)-Kopie IMG_1435-Kopie gr-ar2010-34620-06a-andritz-pumpenlaufraeder-end-Kopie gr-ar2008-010-photo-lars-behrendt-Kopie

Industry as an engine for innovation. Edu­­cation and training, research and innovation are a significant factor in securing the competitiveness of an economy for the future. 60 per cent of spending on re­­­­search and development come from the private sector (before the crisis, in 2007, it was actually two thirds or 66.6 per cent of total expenditure), and over 70 per cent of this comes from industrial companies, thus making up 46 per cent of total re­­search spending. Just 150 leading com­­panies in Austria, who generate 18 per cent of domestic value creation and make 18 per cent of all gross investments, con­­tribute 37 per cent of total domestic R&D spending. Industry thus plays a huge role in ensuring that our wealth will remain into the future.

Industry as the engine behind wages and purchasing power. A few other numbers also speak for themselves. On average, wages in industry are eight per cent higher than those in the service sector. A full time employee in the production sector receives an average gross hourly wage (median) of 14.20 euros. In the service sector it is just 13.60 euros (source: Statistik Austria). The average gross hourly wage in material goods production is as high as 14.52 euros, while in energy supply – both are consid­e­red part of the production sector – it is as high as 21.56 euros.
The Vienna Institute for International Eco­­no­­mic Studies (wiiw) has calculated that ex­­­­porting companies in Austria – which are predominantly industrial companies – pay 23 per cent higher wages and display 66 per cent higher productivity and 72 per cent higher investment intensity than non-­­exporting companies. This is a con­­sider­able “export bounty” and benefits not just the companies, but also their employees.

Industry as a key driver of energy efficiency. Industry is also the driving force when it comes to energy efficiency and en­­vironmental protection. In the last 30 years, energy consumption in industry has risen only half as much as value creation. This has led to a decrease in energy in­­tensity and an increase in energy efficiency of 48 per cent – more than in almost any other sector. While the energy intensity of the economy as a whole has hardly im­­pro­­ved over the last 30 years in real terms, i.e. adjusted for price, in industry it has fallen significantly from 9.4 terajoules per million euros value creation in 1976 to 4.8 terajoules in 2008, thus significantly increasing energy efficiency. Today, in­­dus­­try actually has a lower energy intensity than the economy as a whole, as well as playing a pioneering role in the de-car­­bonisation of energy. After all, the weight of the energy sources in industry has im­­proved more than in almost any other sector from an environmental point of view. The proportions of coal and oil in final energy consumption have sunk by 35 per cent and 28 per cent respectively since 1990 while, in contrast, the proportion of renewable energies has increased by 24 per cent.

VH_Limberg2_Reservoir_Back_View_06_NE_38-Kopie

Industry as the powerhouse of regional clusters. When a region specialises in a particular sector or technology and has built up the appropriate infrastructure for this, synergies grow up in these local asso­­ciations or “clusters” which would not be achievable through national or international business relations. This balling of competencies between science, industry, suppliers and service providers close to industry always forms around an industrial core. These clusters see the development of valuable spill-­­over and networ­king effects; a special pool of experts and important regional competence centres is formed. Examples of this include the Autocluster in the Graz area, the Rail Tech­no­­logy Cluster Austria (RTCA) in Vienna and the environmental technology cluster in Upper Austria.

Industry is carrying the recovery. The deep-rooted international economic crisis and now the budget crisis have once again clearly shown how important a healthy and stable industrial base is for the economy of a country. Industry is again acting as the engine of economic recovery. Three-quarters of the upturn seen since 2009 can be attri­­buted to industry and the service sector close to industry.

Carried by industry, Austrian foreign trade will continue to diversify geogra­phi­­­cally. The proportion of export mar­kets outside the OECD in Austria’s total exports will rise from 18 per cent in 2008 to 24 per cent by 2020. Following the first great wave of internationalisation when the Eastern states were open­ed in the year 1989, the next growth markets are now being speci­­fically targeted. This generates growth and jobs in our coun­­try.

36-print300-KopieThe author (born in 1959) studied Busi­­ness Economics at Vienna University of Eco­no­mics and Business. He has been president of the Federation of Austrian Industries (IV) since 2012. Before this, he had been president of the IV state group for Vienna. Mag. Kapsch has been CEO of the Kapsch Group since 2001.

Mag. Georg Kapsch: Starker Standort durch starke Industrie

Die österreichische Entwicklung seit 1945 ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte. Als kleine Volks­­wirtschaft ist es uns gelungen, zu einem der wohlhabendsten Staaten der Welt zu werden. Ohne industrielle Basis wäre dies nicht möglich gewesen. Trotz Struktur­­wandel nimmt die Industrie einen immer wichtigeren Stellenwert in der Volks­wirt­­schaft ein. Als Folge der Großen Krise, durch die sich gezeigt hat, dass industriali­­sierte Länder sich schneller erholen als andere, hat dies auch die Europäische Union erkannt und setzt auf ein entsprechendes Reindustriali­sierungs­pro­gramm. Auch in den Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika und in Groß­britannien wird umgedacht. Von „Dein­dus­trialisierung“ durch die Dienst­leis­tungs­­gesellschaft spricht heute niemand mehr. Es entstehen vielmehr neue Dienst­­leis­tung­en um die industriellen Kerne.

Es ist der servoindustrielle Sektor, der in Österreich direkt und indirekt 2,4 Milli­onen Arbeitsplätze sichert und rund 60 Prozent der heimischen Wertschöpfung erwirtschaftet. Aus den ehemaligen ver­­staatlichten Unternehmen sind heute pro­­sperierende, international aufgestellte Unter­­nehmen geworden, die sich täglich im glo­­­balen Wettbewerb bewähren, ihre Markt­­­nischen erfolgreich gefunden haben und sich in zahlreichen Fällen sogar zu Welt­­­­markt­­führern in ihren Branchen ent­wickelt haben.
Industrie als Produktivitätsmotor. Die Industrie hat es in Zeiten der Glo­ba­li­sie­rung wie kein anderer Sektor verstanden, den Strukturwandel als Wachstums­­chance wahrzunehmen. Als Sektor, der dem internationalen Konkurrenzdruck am härtesten ausgesetzt ist, hat die In­­dustrie rechtzeitig erkannt, dass nur Pro­­duktivitätszuwächse durch Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen, immer weiter fort­­schreitende Automatisierung oder effizientere Arbeitsteilung ihre Wett­bewerbs­fähigkeit absichern können.

Während die Entwicklung der österreichischen Industrieproduktivität an der Spitze der EU liegt, zählt die Produk­ti­vität im Dienstleistungssektor vor allem wegen des großen öffentlichen Sektors traditionell zu den Sorgenkindern. In keiner anderen Volkswirtschaft ist der Beitrag der Industrie zum Produktivitäts­wachstum so groß wie in Österreich.

Ein Vergleich der Produktivitäts­entwick­lung des Dienstleistungssektors mit der des produzierenden Bereichs der vergan­genen 30 Jahre verdeutlicht die Motorfunk­­­tion der Industrie: Während die Pro­duk­tivität (Wertschöpfung pro Beschäf­tig­tem) des Dienstleistungs­sektors in den 30 Jahren vor der Finanz- und Wirtschafts­krise nur um 29 Pro­­zent gestiegen ist, hat sie sich im produzierenden Bereich auf 323 Prozent mehr als verdreifacht.


VH_Heidenheim_Pernegg_Generator_SW_-(13)-Kopie IMG_1435-Kopie gr-ar2010-34620-06a-andritz-pumpenlaufraeder-end-Kopie gr-ar2008-010-photo-lars-behrendt-Kopie

Industrie als Motor von Innovationen. Bil­­dung und Ausbildung, Forschung und Innovation sind ein wesentlicher Faktor für die Absicherung der Wettbe­werbs­fä­hig­keit einer Volkswirtschaft für die Zukunft. 60 Prozent der Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung stammen aus dem Unternehmenssektor (vor der Großen Krise, im Jahr 2007, waren es mit 66,6 Prozent sogar zwei Drittel der Gesamtausgaben), und davon kommen mehr als 70 Prozent aus Industrie­unter­nehmen – insgesamt somit 46 Prozent der gesamten Forschungsausgaben. Alleine 150 Leitbetriebe in Österreich, die 18 Prozent der heimischen Wertschöpfung generieren und 18 Prozent der gesamtem Bruttoinvestitionen tätigen, tragen 37 Prozent der gesamten heimischen F&E-Ausgaben bei. Die Industrie sorgt damit in hohem Maß dafür, dass unser Wohlstand auch zukunftsfähig ist.

Industrie als Dynamo für Löhne und Kaufkraft. Auch einige weitere Zahlen sprechen für sich: Die Industrie zahlt im Durchschnitt um acht Prozent höhere Löhne als der Dienstleistungssektor. Ein Vollzeitmitarbeiter im produzierenden Bereich hat einen durchschnittlichen Bruttostundenlohn (Median) von 14,20 Euro. Im Dienstleistungsbereich liegt er lediglich bei 13,60 Euro (Quelle: Sta­­tistik Austria). In der Sachgüterer­zeu­gung liegt der durchschnittliche Brutto­stun­denlohn sogar bei 14,52 Euro und in der Energieversorgung – beide sind Teil des produzierenden Bereichs – sogar bei 21,56 Euro.

Das Wiener Institut für Internationale Wirtschaftsvergleiche hat errechnet, dass exportierende Unternehmen in Öster­­reich – und dabei handelt es sich vornehm­­lich um Industrie­unter­neh­­men – um 23 Prozent höhere Löhne zahlen, eine um 66 Prozent höhere Arbeits­pro­duktivität und eine sogar um 72 Prozent höhere Inves­­ti­­tionsintensität als nicht-exportierende Un­­ter­­nehmen aufweisen. Das ist eine ge­­wal­­tige „Exportprämie“, die nicht nur den Un­­­­­­t­­er­­nehmen, sondern auch den Ar­beit­­neh­­me­rinnen und Arbeit­nehmern zugutekommt.

Industrie als wesentlicher Treiber der Energieeffizienz. Darüber hinaus ist die Industrie die treibende Kraft bei Energieeffizienz und Umweltschutz. Der Energieverbrauch der Industrie ist in den vergangenen 30 Jahren um die Hälfte geringer gestiegen als ihre Wert­schöp­f­ung. Dies hat zu einer Verringerung der Energieintensität beziehungsweise einer Steigerung der Energieeffizienz um 48 Prozent geführt – so viel wie in keinem anderen Sektor. Während sich die En­­er­­­­gieintensität der Ge­­samt­­wirtschaft in realen Werten, also preisbereinigt, in den ver­­­­gan­­genen 30 Jahren kaum verbessert hat, hat sie sich in der Industrie von 9,4 Tera­joule je Million Euro Wertschöpfung im Jahr 1976 auf 4,8 Terajoule im Jahr 2008 deutlich verringert und damit die Ener­­gie­effi­zienz deutlich gesteigert. Heute hat die In­­dustrie sogar eine geringere Ener­­gie­in­tensität als die Gesamt­wirt­schaft – und ist auch der Vorreiter bei der Ent­kar­­­bo­­nisierung der Energie. Denn auch das Gewicht der En­­er­­gieträger hat sich aus umwelttechnischer Sicht in keinem Sek­­tor so verbessert wie bei der Industrie: Der Anteil von Kohle und Erdöl hat sich seit 1990 um 35 Prozent be­­­­ziehungsweise 28 Pro­­zent verringert, und im Gegenzug dazu hat sich der An­­teil an er­­neuerbarer Ener­­gie um 24 Pro­­zent erhöht.

VH_Limberg2_Reservoir_Back_View_06_NE_38-Kopie

Industrie als Kraft­­werk regionaler Clus­­ter. Wenn sich eine Region auf eine be­­stim­­mte Branche oder Technologie spe­­zialisiert und die dafür passende Infra­­­struk­tur aufgebaut hat, entstehen in solchen lokalen Verbünden oder „Clustern“ Syner­­gien, die durch na­­tionale oder inter­­nationale Geschäfts­­be­­ziehungen nicht er­­­­reichbar wären. Dieser Leistungs­verbund von Wissenschaft, In­­dustrie, Zulieferern und industrienahen Dienstleistungen bildet sich immer um einen industriellen Kern. In diesen Clus­­tern entstehen wert­­­­­­volle Spill-over- und Netzwerkeffekte, es bilden sich ein spe­­zieller Pool an Fach­­kräften und wichtige regionale Kompe­­tenzzentren. Beis­piele hierfür sind der Autocluster im Raum Graz, der Eisen­­bahn­­technologie-Cluster (RTCA – Rail Tech­­no­­logy Cluster Austria) in Wien und der Um­­welttechnik-Cluster in Ober­­österreich.

Industrie trägt den Aufschwung. Die tief­­gehende internationale Wirtschafts- und nunmehrige Haushaltskrise hat einmal mehr deutlich gemacht, wie wichtig eine gesunde und feste industrielle Basis für eine Volkswirtschaft ist. So fun­­giert die Industrie auch wieder als Motor der kon­­junk­turellen Erholung: Drei Vier­­tel des Aufschwungs seit 2009 gehen auf das Konto der Industrie und des industrie­­nahen Dienstleistungssektors.

Der von der Industrie getragene österreichische Außenhandel wird sich zudem auch weiterhin geografisch diversifizieren: Die Exportmärkte außerhalb der OECD werden anteilsmäßig an den österreichischen Gesamtausfuhren von 18 Prozent im Jahre 2008 auf 24 Prozent im Jahr 2020 ansteigen. Nach der ersten großen Inter­­na­­­tio­­nalisierungswelle durch die Ost­­­­öffnung im Jahr 1989 werden nun gezielt die nächsten Wachstumsmärkte angesteu­­ert. Das schafft Wachstum und Ar­­beits­­plätze in unserem Land.

36-print300-KopieDer Autor (Jahrgang 1959) studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Wirt­schafts­universität Wien. Seit 2012 ist er Präsident der Industriellenvereinigung (IV). Zuvor war er seit 2008 Präsident der IV-Landes­­grup­­pe Wien. Mag. Kapsch ist seit Ok­­­to­­ber 2001 CEO der Kapsch Gruppe.