Mag. Elmar Wieland: A logistics hub for Europe

Austria certainly remains an excellent busi­­ness location: a triple-A credit rating, high level of productivity, social balance, gen­­­erally high quality of living – all in all, life in this beautiful country works very well. Key economic factors include an affinity to Eastern and especially South Eastern Europe and the image Austria enjoys in these countries; a taxation policy that allows losses from associated companies abroad to be offset; the role the country plays as an intermediary, primarily in the Balkans; and much more.

Banks, insurance companies, countless production and trading companies and above all the Austrian transport sector have made excellent use of this climate. The transport sector has established market shares accordingly: both in trans­­port from West to East and vice versa, and locally within the countries themselves. From the point of view of the trans­port sector, Austria is and always has been a transit country for traffic from Northern and Western Europe to Central and South Eastern Europe. The Austrian transport sector, especially haulage companies, have understood the significance of estab­­lishing operations in Central and South Eastern Europe and establishing networks. These are now fully integrated into their European and even global networks, allowing high-quality transport services to be provided and handled. This high-quality service includes guaranteed delivery times, data communication systems for exchanging information relevant for ship­­ments, bar code and scanning systems which provide up-to-date information on the shipment at all times, and much more. Of course, the necessary infrastructure – primarily terminals and offices – has now been established, which required appropriate investment funding. However, there is still much to be done in this regard in countries in Central and South Eastern Europe, where the differences between the capital cities, major cities and rural areas are still considerable.

0704-393-Kopie

As a „hub“, Austria is losing market share in traditional collection and partial load transport due to the increasing number of direct connections, although some creative and innovative haulage companies have been able to at least partially offset these losses by introducing innovative services. For example, DB Schenker has developed a sophisticated traffic system for the distribution of high-tech products in Eastern and South Eastern Europe, which ensures a high degree of security and makes it possible to deliver these pro­­ducts, which generally come from the Far East by air freight, safely to the end cus­­tomer. The same applies to the distribution in Western and Northern Europe of high-tech equipment manufactured in Eastern Europe.

Another speciality in this area is block trains, which DB Schenker and its partners organise at the Austrian-Hungarian border and the Austrian-Slovakian border for trans­­port to South Eastern Europe and Turkey, and vice versa. At specific locations, such as Sopron on the Austrian-Hungarian border, individual wagons or groups of wagons from Western or Northern Europe are collected and then sent on to their destinations in South Eastern Europe, Greece and Turkey in combined block trains. The number of railway authorities involved and the interfaces and other barriers involved mean this is not an easy under­­taking, but – as the more than 2,000 trains running every year prove – it is achieved very successfully.

Other solution approaches can be attri­­buted to real supply chain management, for example, when automobile components from Japan are routed via Vienna, stored tempo­­rarily there and then delivered to pro­­duc­­tion plants (OEMs) in Slovakia just in time.

In Austria, and even more so in Eastern and South Eastern Europe, new challenges are to be found in „green logistics“. Inno­­vations are particularly needed here in order to meet the ever more important environ­mental objectives and boost the image of the entire transport and traffic sectors. Along with a shift from road transport to railways, there is considerable need for action regarding better use of the river Danube. However, a considerable number of measures for optimising traffic flows and saving fuel, as well as a number of other environmentally friendly objectives, have already been implemented.

salzburg_hub_nacht_MG_5973-Kopie

Austria and the Austrian transport sector thus still have the resources they need for the optimum control of freight and traffic flows via Austria, or originating from Austria, in the interest of their customers. This is all made possible by the excellently trained and highly motivated skilled workers. The two-tier education system, univer­­­sities of applied science specialising in logistics, and the Institute for Transport and Logistics Management of the Vienna University of Economics and Business provide the foundation for this. In addition, large companies invest considerable amounts in internal training and continuing education.

 

MagThe author (born in 1948) is chairman of the executive board of Schenker & Co AG and is regional director in the global cor­­poration responsible for the Southern Europe region. The freight forwarding specialist studied at Vienna University of Economics and Business, obtaining a masters degree in social and economic sciences. Elmar Wieland has worked at Schenker & Co AG since 1974.

Mag. Elmar Wieland: Logistikdrehscheibe für Europa

Österreich ist sicherlich nach wie vor ein guter Wirtschaftsstandort: Die hohe Produktivität, die soziale Ausgewogen­heit, die generell hohe Lebens­­­­qualität – insgesamt gesehen funktioniert das Leben in diesem schönen Land sehr gut. Wirt­schaftlich von Bedeutung ist die große Affinität zu Ost- und vor allem Süd­­ost­europa, das damit verbundene Image Öster­­reichs in diesen Ländern, eine Steuer­­politik, die es erlaubt, Verluste von Be­­­tei­­l­­igungs­­gesellschaften im Ausland ergeb­­nis­­­wirksam abzusetzen, die Mittlerrolle, vor allem auf dem Balkan, und vieles andere mehr.

Genutzt haben dieses Klima Banken, Ver­sicherungen, zahlreiche Pro­­duktions- und Handelsbetriebe und vor allem auch die österreichische Verkehrs­­wirtschaft. Sie hat sich entsprechende Marktanteile erarbeitet: In den Ver­kehren von West nach Ost sowie umgekehrt, aber auch lokal in den einzelnen Ländern. Transport­wirt­schaft­­lich gesehen war und ist Österreich in hohem Maße ein Transit­­land für Ver­­kehre von Nord- und West­europa nach Zentral- und Südosteuropa und vice versa. Die öster­­reichische Ver­­kehrs­­wirt­schaft und hier vor allem die Speditionen haben es her­­vorragend verstanden, in den Ländern Zentral- und Süd­­ost­europas Betriebe zu er­­­öffnen und Netz­­werke ent­stehen zu lassen. Diese sind mittler­­weile in deren euro­­päische und sogar globale Netzwerke voll und ganz integriert, sodass weltweit hoch­­wertige Verkehrs­dienstleistungen angeboten und abgewickelt werden. Zu dieser Qualität gehören garantierte Liefer­­­fristen, Datenkom­mu­nikationssysteme zum Aus­­tausch aller sendungsrelevanten Informa­tionen, Bar­­code- und Scanning­systeme, um stets über den Verbleib der Sen­dung­en Aus­kunft geben zu können, und vieles an­­­­­dere mehr. Natürlich wurden mittlerweile auch die notwendigen Infrastruk­turen – in erster Linie Terminals und Büros – geschaffen, für die entsprechende Investitionsmittel eingesetzt werden mussten. In dieser Hin­­sicht ist in nahezu allen Ländern Zentral- und Südost­­europas aber noch viel zu tun, denn die Unterschiede zwischen den Haupt­städten, den zentralen Orten und dem Hinterland sind noch immer enorm.

0704-393-Kopie

Österreich als „Drehscheibe“ verliert durch die zunehmenden Direktverbindungen an Aufkommen in den klassischen Sammel- und Teilladungstransitverkehren, wobei kreative und innovative Speditionen durch die Entwicklung neuer Dienstleistungen diese Verluste zumindest teilweise kom­­pensieren können. So hat DB Schenker ein ausgefeiltes Verkehrssystem für die Verteilung von Hightech-Produkten in Ost- und Südosteuropa entwickelt, das ein Höchstmaß an Sicherheit gewährleistet und es ermöglicht, dass diese Produkte, die in der Regel aus Fernost per Luftfracht in Wien eintreffen, sicher bei den End­kunden landen. Dasselbe Angebot gilt für die Verteilung der in Osteuropa produzierten Hightech-Geräte nach West- und Nordeuropa.

Eine andere Spezialität in diesem Sinne liegt in der Organisation von Ganzzügen, die DB Schenker mit Partnern ab der öster­­reichisch-ungarischen beziehungs­weise österreichisch-slowenischen Grenze nach Südosteuropa und der Türkei, aber auch vice versa, abfertigt. An bestimmten Orten, wie zum Beispiel in Sopron an der österreichisch-ungarischen Grenze, werden Waggons oder Waggongruppen aus West- beziehungsweise Nordeuropa gesammelt und dann in formierten Ganzzügen an die Bestimmungsstationen in Südosteuropa, in Griechenland und in der Türkei weiter­geleitet. Durch die Vielzahl der involvierten Bahnverwaltungen, der damit verbundenen Schnittstellen und anderer Barrieren ein nicht einfaches Unterfangen, das jedoch ­– wie die mehr als 2.000 jährlich gefahrenen Züge belegen – sehr erfolgreich gemeistert wird.

MagDer Autor (Jahrgang 1948) ist Vorstands­­­vorsitzender der Schenker & Co AG und als Regionaldirektor im weltweiten Kon­zern für die Region Südeuropa verantwortlich. Der Speditionskaufmann studierte an der Hochschule für Welt­handel in Wien mit dem Abschluss als Magister der Sozial- und Wirtschafts­wissenschaften. Elmar Wieland ist seit 1974 für die Schenker & Co AG tätig.

Andere Lösungsansätze sind dem echten Supply-Chain-Management zuzuordnen, wenn etwa Fahrzeugkomponenten aus Japan über Wien geroutet, hier zwischen­gelagert und dann „just in time“ an Pro­­duk­­tionswerke (OEMs) in der Slowakei ausgeliefert werden.

Neue Herausforderungen liegen in Öster­­reich, aber vor allem auch in Ost- und Südosteuropa im Bereich der sogenannten „Green Logistics“: Gerade hier sind Innovationen notwendig, um die immer wichtiger werdenden Umweltziele zu erreichen und auch das Image der gesamten Transport- und Verkehrswirtschaft zu heben. Neben der Verlagerung auf die Schiene gibt es hier zweifellos noch Handlungsbedarf in Verbindung mit der Benützung der Donau, andererseits wird jedoch bereits eine Fülle von Maßnahmen zur Verkehrsoptimierung, zur Treibstoff­ein­sparung, aber auch zu anderen um­­welt­­schonenden Maßnahmen, umgesetzt.

salzburg_hub_nacht_MG_5973-Kopie

Österreich und die österreichische Ver­kehrswirtschaft verfügen also nach wie vor über entsprechende Stellschrauben, um Güter- und Verkehrsströme optimal im Sinne der Kunden über Österreich oder aus Österreich heraus zu steuern. Dass all das möglich ist, ist auf die gut aus­­gebildeten und hochmotivierten Fach­­kräfte zurückzuführen. Wesentliche Grund­­lage dafür sind das duale Ausbildungs­system, die auf Logistik spezialisierten Fachhochschulen aber auch das Institut für Transportwirtschaft an der Wirtschafts­universität Wien. Darüber hinaus investieren die großen Betriebe enorme Beträge in die interne Aus- und Weiterbildung. Sie leisten damit einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Sicherung einer erfolgreichen Zukunft.