Lutz Dietzold: Is product design art?

The question whether (product) design is art or not is by no means new. Actually, it has preoccupied members of various professions since the birth of design already, that is a little over one hundred years ago.

The seemingly simple and obvious answer that everything that is created in view of serial production is to be subsumed as design, however, seems hasty on closer con­­sider­ation – and certainly after Walter Benjamin’s essay “The Work of Art in the Age of Its Technological Repro­duc­ibility”. In this article, we will contemplate how – or even whether – the initial question can be answered unequivocally.


Unbenannt-1

Design as an established discipline is still relatively young compared to the classic arts. The influence of art (and of artists) on design has been noticeable since the beginning. Early on, a mutual exchange, an interdisciplinarity evolved, which also made an impact on the artists and craftsmen. To date, architects have designed furniture as well as other interior decoration products and – as was the case at the time of the New German Design in the 1980s – entire generations of sculptors have influenced design. Conversely, designers have recently called attention to themselves as artists with limited editions.

As mentioned already, almost all disciplines related to design – graphic art, architecture or artisan crafts – are considerably older. Amongst others, they have in common that they contain the word “art”, which in the eyes of some makes them more venerable – an issue that has eaten away at the self-confidence of design and designers.

It seems indeed that, even after more than one hundred years of existence, the design discipline is still not met with appropriate acceptance. If, for instance, you look up a design theme in the German National Library, you will inevitably fall on the subject groups “Drawings, Handicrafts,” “Architecture” or even “Management”. In short: the country’s most extensive library does not yet offer the subject group “Design”.

MyPan_0409

Now, this ignorance toward the design discipline as well as the traditional closeness to its neighbouring disciplines could be an indication that the products of design are indeed art. However, that answer would be hasty as well, as is demonstrated by Darmstadt’s history. The Darmstadt artist colony, namely – do not let the name mislead you – is a very early and good example of how art and design can be clearly differentiated.

Among the artists and architects of the Darmstadt artist colony (1899–1914), several members produced independent design accomplishments – free from any art attitude. Peter Behrens is but a single example. Originally a painter and graphic artist, Behrens later worked as an architect. His work for AEG in the fields of product design and commu­­­nication design has earned Behrens the reputation, among others, of being one of the founders of industrial design as well as modern corporate design.

The works of Emanuel Josef Margold are no less superb. A pupil and assistant of Josef Hoffmann, he was also an architect and had been a member of the artist colony since 1911. With his work, Margold as well con­­tributed considerably to the in­­de­pen­­­dence of design. His corporate design for the Hermann Bahlsen cookie factory in Hanover, for instance, generated a consistent business image, extending from packaging to window dressing to design and realization of the Bahlsen shop on the Kurfürstendamm in Berlin.


MyPan_0110

Thus, the foundation for the emancipation of design vis-à-vis the arts was laid early on, and artists as well as designers do not seem to have a problem with the dif­­ferentiation. The fact that nowadays it is still being debated how much artistic potential is contained in de­­sign has actually more to do with designers’ daily work, where they play a growing and vital interface role.

Designers see themselves as intermediaries or translators between engineering achievements and customer expectations. While an engineer’s responsibility in the development process is to make sure that this something, which often is not even a product yet, is developed to be technically flawless and to function, a designer ensures that it will eventually become an easy-to-understand product for the customer. It is apparent that this part of the process requires a considerable creative potential. However, this should not hide the fact that it differs fundamentally from the artistic creative process. For, despite all the creative close­ness to the arts and artists: designers mostly work on behalf and for the purpose of companies and customers – a priority that hardly any independent artist would want to claim for themselves.

In conclusion, the answer to the initial question “Is product design art?” must be answered in the negative – maybe not unconditionally, but more and more confidently indeed.

RFF_Portrait_130809_LST-5435_printLutz Dietzold has been general and technical manager of Hessen Design in Darmstadt since 2007. He studied art history, classical archaeology and German philology in Frankfurt. After working independently in the field of design communication for national and international clients, he was general manager of the Hessian branch of the German commercial association Deutscher Werk­­bund e.V. in Frankfurt (on the Main) from 1999 to 2001. In 2002, he became general manager of the German Design Council in Frankfurt (on the Main). For the purpose of developing a strategic reorientation of the pro­­motion of design in Hesse, he became general manager of Design­­zentrum Hessen in 2006. As a result of that process, the association Hessen Design e.V. was founded in 2007 as a central authority for the promotion of design in Hesse.

Lutz Dietzold: Ist Produktdesign Kunst?

Die Frage, ob (Produkt-)Design Kunst sei oder nicht, ist keineswegs neu. Genau genommen beschäftigt sie die Angehörigen verschiedener Fachrichtungen schon von der Geburtsstunde des Designs an, also seit etwas mehr als hundert Jahren.

Die vermeintlich einfache, weil naheliegende Antwort, dass alles, was im Hinblick auf die Serienproduktion her­­gestellt werde, unter Design zu subsumieren sei, erweist sich aber bei näherer Betrachtung – und spätestens seit Walter Benjamins Aufsatz „Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit“ – als vorschnell. Im Folgenden sollen deshalb ein paar Betrachtungen angestellt werden, wie – und ob überhaupt – die eingangs gestellte Frage eindeutig zu beantworten ist.


Unbenannt-1

Das Design als ausgewiesene Disziplin ist, im Vergleich zu den klassischen Künsten, noch relativ jung. Von Anfang an ist der Einfluss der Kunst (und der Künstler) auf das Design spürbar. Früh bildete sich ein gegenseitiger Aus­­tausch, eine Interdisziplinarität, die sich auch auf die Akteure der jeweiligen Künste und Gewerke auswirkte. Bis heute entwerfen etwa Architekten Möbel und andere Interieurprodukte oder haben – wie etwa zu Zeiten des Neuen Deutschen Designs in den 1980er Jahren – ganze Generationen von Bildhauern das Design beeinflusst. Umgekehrt machen in jüngster Vergangenheit Designer mit limitierten Editionen als Künstler auf sich aufmerksam.
Wie bereits erwähnt, sind nahezu alle verwandten Disziplinen des Designs, die bildende Kunst, die Baukunst oder auch das Kunsthandwerk, sehr viel älter. Gemeinsam ist jenen darüber hinaus, dass sie die Kunst im Namen führen und das macht sie in mancher Augen auch ehrwürdiger, ein Punkt, der von jeher am Selbstvertrauen des Designs sowie der Designer nagt.

Tatsächlich scheint es so, dass der Disziplin Design auch nach über hundert Jahren ihres Daseins noch immer nicht die ihr gebührende Akzeptanz entgegengebracht wird. Recherchiert man etwa in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ein Designthema, so landet man in den Sachgruppen „Zeichnungen, Kunsthandwerk“ oder „Architektur“ oder auch „Management“. Kurzum: Eine eigene Sachgruppe „Design“ gibt es in der umfangreichsten Bibliothek des Landes bis heute nicht.
Nun könnten diese Ignoranz gegenüber der Disziplin Design sowie die traditionelle Nähe zu den Nachbardisziplinen ein Hinweis darauf sein, dass die Produkte des Designs Kunst sein könnten. Auch diese Antwort wäre vorschnell, wie ein Blick in die Darmstädter Geschichte zeigt. Die Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie nämlich – und hier sollte sich der Leser nicht vom Namen in die Irre leiten lassen – ist ein sehr frühes und gleichzeitig gelungenes Beispiel dafür, wie sich Kunst und Design sehr trefflich differenzieren lassen.

MyPan_0409

Unter den Künstlern und Architekten der Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie (1899–1914) finden sich mehrere Mitglieder, die eigenständige Designleistungen – frei von jeglicher Kunst-Attitüde – hervorgebracht haben. Peter Behrens ist hier unter anderem zu nennen. Ursprünglich Maler und Grafiker, arbeitete Behrens später als Architekt. Durch seine Tätigkeit für die AEG im Bereich der Produkt­gestaltung und des Kommunikationsdesigns gilt Behrens darüber hinaus als einer der Begründer sowohl des Industriedesigns als auch des modernen Corporate Designs.

Nicht minder grandios sind die Arbeiten von Emanuel Josef Margold. Dieser, Schüler und Assistent von Josef Hoffmann, war ebenfalls Architekt und seit 1911 Mitglied der Künstlerkolonie. Auch Margold leistete mit seinen Arbeiten einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Eigenständigkeit des Designs. Mit seinem Corporate Design für die Keksfabrik Hermann Bahlsen in Hannover etwa generierte er einen konsistenten Unternehmensauftritt, der von der Warenverpackung über Schaufensterdekorationen bis hin zur Konzeption und Ausführung des Bahlsen-Verkaufs­ladens am Berliner Kurfürstendamm reichte.
Der Grundstein für die Emanzipierung des Designs gegenüber den Künsten wird also früh gelegt und Künstler wie Designer scheinen mit der Abgrenzung kein Problem zu haben. Dass dennoch bis heute immer wieder diskutiert wird, wie viel künstlerisches Potenzial denn nun im Design liege, hängt eher mit der täglichen Arbeit der Designer zusammen, wo sie eine entscheidende, immer wichtiger werdende Schnittstellenfunktion einnehmen.


MyPan_0110

Designer sehen sich in der Rolle des Vermittlers oder Übersetzers zwischen Ingenieurleistungen und Kundenwünschen. Während der Ingenieur im Entwicklungsprozess dafür geradesteht, dass ein Etwas, das oftmals noch gar kein Produkt ist, technisch einwandfrei entwickelt wird und funktioniert, trägt der Designer dafür Sorge, dass daraus am Ende ein für den Kunden klar verständliches Produkt wird. Dass dieser Teil des Prozesses hohen schöp­ferischen Potenzials bedarf, liegt auf der Hand. Es darf aber nicht darüber hinwegtäuschen, dass dieser sich grund­­legend vom künstlerischen Schaffensprozess unterscheidet. Denn bei aller kreativen Nähe zu den Künsten und den Künstlern: Designer arbeiten vornehmlich im Auftrag und im Sinne von Unternehmen und Kunden – eine Priorität, die wohl kein freier Künstler für sich reklamieren wollte.

Die Antwort auf die eingangs gestellt Frage „Ist Produkt­design Kunst?“ ist also schließlich mit einem Nein zu beantworten – vielleicht nicht mit absoluter Entschiedenheit, aber durchaus mit wachsendem Selbstbewusstsein.

RFF_Portrait_130809_LST-5435_printLutz Dietzold ist seit 2007 Geschäftsführer und fachlicher Leiter von Hessen Design in Darmstadt. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte, Klassische Archäologie und Germanistik in Frankfurt. Nach selbstständiger Tätigkeit im Bereich der Designkommunikation für nationale und internationale Kunden war er von 1999 bis 2001 Geschäftsführer des Deutschen Werkbundes Hessen in Frankfurt am Main. Im Jahr 2002 wurde er zum Geschäftsführer des Rates für Formgebung/German Design Council in Frankfurt am Main. Im Rahmen der Erarbeitung einer strategischen Neuausrichtung der Designförderung in Hessen wurde er 2006 Geschäftsführer des Designzentrums Hessen. Als Ergebnis dieses Prozesses wurde 2007 Hessen Design e.V. als zen­trale Instanz für die Designförderung in Hessen gegründet.