Luc Haldimann: Swiss values digitalized

Silicon Valley, Redmond, Walldorf, software makers in India as well as the mostly Eastern European and Asian nearshore and offshore software development regions – these are all well known. Each of those regions has its own culture with individual characteristics and is known worldwide. Up until now, Switzerland had not been known as a software region, despite its considerable size and remarkable results. International software groups such as Google, IBM and Microsoft have discovered the Swiss values – quality, dependability, precision, innovation, open-mindedness, and flexibility – in the field of software development and have opened important research and development centres in Switzerland or acquired and integrated Swiss software makers.

Google, for example, devel­ops its map applications and central search algorithms in Zurich.

In light of the aforementioned lack of visibility and strong decline in the numbers of computer science students and trainees in recent years, anycase gmbh, with the support of a Swiss graphic de­­signer and 15 other Swiss software firms, including Avaloq, Crealogix and Day, created a label through a website on the occasion of the Swiss National Day on 1 August 2007. This gave shape to the branch: swiss made software.

Interop_Technology_Center_3

Label of origin and hallmark of excellence
Two conditions are required for a pro­­duct to obtain the Swiss Made indication of origin. These are established by law.

Firstly, the Swiss portion of the value must be at least 50 per cent of production costs. Secondly, the most im­­por­tant part of the manufacturing process must have taken place in Switzerland. In the future, the Swiss portion of the value may even be raised to at least 60 per cent. In the watch-making industry, it already is at least 80 per cent.
SGS, the worldwide largest certification company, is currently engaged with setting up a joint certificate with the help of the “swiss made software” label, which will verify both the indication of origin and the software quality according to ISO 25000 (formerly ISO 9126) standard. This is one step closer to taking the aspect of quality fully into account.

Interop_Technology_Center_2

Innovation location of Switzerland
The same fundamental values that are rooted in the Swiss culture and have found their expression in watches and other pre­­ci­sion tools for a long time now, can also be found in Swiss software. There is an enormous innovation and engineering po­­tential pre­s­­ent in Switzerland. Only very few are aware, for example, that the zip fastener was invented here or that the Logitech firm was founded in Switzer­land by the Swiss Daniel Borel. Those Swiss characteristics are given ex­­pression by Swiss-made software.

While the Swiss are proud of their products, they are often too reserved and humble to flaunt. Above all, Swiss software combines innovation and quality. Metaphorically speaking, it is the software version of the Swiss Army Knife. Due to its four national languages and 26 cantons, which are governed by direct democracy, Switzerland has always had considerable challenges to overcome in terms of software architecture. That is why solid products offering high flexibility and adaptability are commonly found here. There are, for example, nu­­merous Swiss ERP applications that boast complex functionality while being easy to integrate. Switzerland is the source of software for free secure online storage, standardized bank software, co-browsing software, frameworks for Ultra-Light-Clients, and security soft­­ware for every­day use, amongst others.

Interop_Technology_Center_1

State of the industry
In the past, Swiss software makers predominantly supplied the domestic market – not least due to the lack of visibility, about which much too little was done.

Software creators took only little attention to their own branch. When a single firm would occasionally gain international attention, it was usually bought up by a US software group. Mean­­while, the branch has gained more identity and confidence. Thanks to the country’s multilingualism, many companies are capable of supplying Germany, Austria, France and Italy with­­out any language barriers to overcome.

A_LucHaldimann_2565-KopieAfter graduating in computer science from ETH Zurich, the author co-founded the software firm Obtree, of which he was CEO until 2001. Subsequently, he was a manager for the Canadian firm Open Text. Currently, Haldimann offers a co-browsing standard software through unblu inc. and promotes the technology location of Switzerland through the initiative “swiss made software”.

Luc Haldimann: Schweizer Werte digital

Man kennt das Silicon Valley, Red­mond, Walldorf, Software-Fabriken in Indien und vornehmlich osteuropäische und asiatische Near- und Off-Shore-Software-Entwicklungs-Regionen. Jede dieser Re­­­­gionen hat eine eigene Kultur mit eigenen Merkmalen und ist weltweit bekannt. Die Schweiz als Software-Region war bisher aber unbekannt, ob­­wohl sie eine beachtliche Grösse hat und ausgezeichnete Resultate hervorbringt. Auch internationale Software-Konzerne wie Google, IBM oder Microsoft haben die Schweizer Werte – Qualität, Zuver­lässig­­keit, Präzision sowie Inno­vation, Offenheit und Flexibilität – in der Soft­ware-Entwicklung entdeckt und mittlerweile wichtige Forschungs- und Entwick­lungs-Zentren in der Schweiz aufgebaut oder Schweizer Software-Her­steller übernommen und integriert.
Google entwickelt beispielsweise seine Landkarten-Applikationen und zentralen Such-Algorithmen in Zürich.

Wegen oben genannter fehlender Sicht­bar­­­keit und weil zudem die Anzahl der Infor­­­matik-Studenten und -Lehrlinge seit einigen Jah­ren stark rückläufig ist, wurde von der anycase gmbh mit Unterstützung von einem Schweizer Grafiker und 15 weiteren Schwei­zer Software-Firmen, zu denen unter anderen Avaloq, Crealogix und Day gehörten, am Schweizer Na­­tional­­feie­­r­­tag, dem 1. August 2007, ein Label mit einer Website geschaffen. Die Branche hat damit ein Gesicht bekommen: swiss made software.

Interop_Technology_Center_3

Herkunft und Gütesiegel
Es gibt zwei Bedingungen, die erfüllt sein müssen, damit bei einem Produkt die schweizerische Herkunft angegeben werden darf. Diese sind gesetzlich verankert.

Erstens muss der schweizerische Wert­an­­teil an den Herstellungskosten mindestens 50 Prozent betragen und zweitens muss der wichtigste Fabrikationsprozess in der Schweiz stattgefunden haben. Künftig soll der schweizerische Wertanteil mindestens 60 Prozent betragen. In der Uhren­­bran­­che ist er sogar mindestens 80 Pro­­zent.
Die SGS, das weltweit grösste Zerti­­fizie­­rungs-Unternehmen, ist mit dem „swiss made software“-Label am Auf­­bau eines gemeinsamen Zertifikats be­­schäftigt, das die Er­­fül­­lung der Her­­kunfts­­­­angaben bestätigt und zudem die Soft­­ware-Qualität nach ISO 25000 (ehemals ISO 9126) Norm bescheinigen soll. Dieser Schritt soll dem Qua­­li­­täts­­aspekt noch stärker Rechnung tragen.

Interop_Technology_Center_2

Innovationsplatz Schweiz
Die Grundwerte, welche in der schwei­ze­ri­­­schen Kultur verankert sind und seit geraumer Zeit durch Uhren oder Präzi­sions­­werkzeuge zum Ausdruck kommen findet man in der Schweizer Software ge­­nauso. Es gibt in der Schweiz ein enor­­mes Innovations- und Ingenieur-Poten­­­zial. Die wenigsten wissen, dass hierzulande beispielsweise der Reiss­­ver­schluss er­­fun­­den oder dass die Firma Logitech vom Schweizer Daniel Borel in der Schweiz ge­­gründet wurde. Soft­ware aus der Schweiz bringt diese Schweizer Eigenschaften zum Aus­druck.

Die Schweizer sind zwar stolz auf ihre Produkte, aber meist zu scheu und be­­­schei­­den, diese zur Schau zu tragen. Schweizer Software verbindet vor allem Innovation mit Qualität. Bildlich kann vom Schweizer Taschenmesser in Soft­wareform gesprochen werden. Bedingt durch die vier Landes­­sprachen und die 26 Kantone, die basisdemokratisch re­­giert werden, hat die Schweiz von Beginn weg grosse Herausforderungen bei der Soft­­ware-Architektur meistern müssen. Solide Erzeug­­nisse, die dennoch einen hohen Grad an Flexibilität und Anpass­bar­­keit bieten, findet man in der Schweiz des­­halb oft. So gibt es beispielsweise viele Schweizer ERP-Software-Produkte, die einen komplexen Funktionsumfang haben, aber dennoch einfach integriert werden können. Aus der Schweiz kommt unter anderem Software für kostenlosen sicheren Online-Speicher, standardisierte Bankensoftware, Co-­­Brow­­s­­ing Software, Frameworks für den Bau von Ultra-Light-Clients und Security Soft­­ware für den täglichen Gebrauch.

Interop_Technology_Center_1

Stand der Branche
Die Schweizer Softwarehersteller haben in der Vergangenheit mehrheitlich den Heimmarkt beliefert. Dies nicht zuletzt wegen der mangelnden Sichtbarkeit, gegen die in der Vergangenheit viel zu wenig un­­­ternommen wurde.

Die Software-Schaffenden haben ihre eigene Branche zu wenig wahrgenommen. Wenn eine einzelne Firma einmal international sichtbar wurde, so hat sie meist ein US-­Software-Kon­zern aufgekauft. Mitt­ler­­weile hat die Branche aber mehr Iden­ti­­tät und Selbst­bewusstsein. Durch die Mehr­­sprach­­­ig­­keit im Land ist es für viele Un­­ter­­nehmen ohne Über­­win­­dung einer Sprachgrenze möglich, Deutsch­land, Ös­­terreich, Frank­reich und Italien zu beliefern.

A_LucHaldimann_2565-KopieLuc Haldimann ist ein an der ETH Zürich diplomierte In­formatiker. Er hat die Soft­­ware-Firma Obtree mitgegründet und leitete diese als Verwaltungsrats­präsident bis 2001. Anschliessend wirkte er leitend für die kanadische Firma Open Text. Luc Haldi­mann bietet mit unblu inc. eine Co-­Browsing Standard-Software an und fördert den Technologie­stand­­ort Schweiz mit der Initiative „swiss made software“.