Lars Wöhler: Meetings, conferences and events in Darmstadt

According to the International Congress and Convention Associa­tion’s 2010 Statistics Report, Germany is the No. 1 conference country in Europe and is in second place behind the USA on an international scale. With 6,420 con­­­­ference and event venues, the meeting and conference market is of major signi­­ficance for the German eco­n­omy. In 2010, some 2.7 million events with an average duration of 1.6 days were held. Germany-wide, Hessen is in third place as one of Germany’s top event locations and in a comparison of Germany’s metro­­­­politan regions, the Rhine-Main region is in second place after Berlin.

Based in the Rhine-Main region and close to the scientific community, the science city of Darmstadt offers excellent conditions for a successful conference and event centre. Some 6,000 events with almost 500,000 attendees who stayed an average of 1.79 days were held at a total of 37 event venues, inclu­­d­ing seven event centres, twelve conference hotels and 18 special locations in unusual places such as castles, palaces, museums and reno­­vated factories. The venues ranged from the Orangerie in the south of Darmstadt through the Western City Bar and the central railway station towards the west of the city to the more centrally located darmstadtium; in this context the Science and Con­­fe­rence Centre makes a crucial contribution. With its avant-garde architecture, an excellent IT infrastruc­­ture and sustain­able eco-management, the darmstadtium conference building is one of the most successful in Germany. For seminars, con­­ferences, meetings, trade fairs, or discus­sions for large or small numbers of parti­­cipants, business travellers find a very wide and varied selection of con­­fe­­rence venues in Darmstadt. An equally important part element here is the already exis­ting variety of conference hotels in the city.

darmstadtium_pano_rgb[eciRGBv2]_50cm

 

Which factors characterise an ideal conference location? The selection of suitable premises depends primarily on whether the location is available on the desired dates. At the same time, the price-performance ratio, good trans­­port connections and a central contact point are the essential criteria for the organisers. The number of participants and the theme of the event should also be appropriate to the offer. And the neces­­sary equipment must be available, as must full restaurant facilities and sufficient parking spaces. The event loca­­tion should be easy to get to for visitors, including with the use of public transport, and overnight accommodation must be nearby.

Which advantages does Darmstadt have for organisers? Darmstadt is easy to get to via the Rhine-Main and Rhine-Neckar metropolitan regions. The proximity to Frankfurt Airport, fast rail connections and the direct proximity to the A5/A67/A661 motorways are also regarded as positive. The inner-city infra­­structure en­­sures that the conference venues are easy to reach via public trans­­port. Darmstadt is compact and gains points with its short dis­­tances from point to point. Restaurants, cafés and hotels play their part as a “feel-good” factor in ensuring that Darmstadt’s inner-city atmo­­sphere is pleasant and inviting. Darmstadt’s cafés and restau­­rants have a total of some 6,000 places available, of which some 3,000 are in the open air, and local hotels have over 4,200 beds. However, a study by the European Institute for the Meetings Industry (EITW) noted that the hotel situation in Darmstadt did have potential for improvement. The planned construc­­tion of a hotel, parti­cu­­­­l­­arly in the 4-star category, was regarded as significant. As a result, an increase in demand in both conference and overnight accommodation can be expected.

DSC_5715-Kopie
Darmstadt offers com­­petitive advantages over other cities, especially due to the close link between business and science. Darmstadt lives up to its name in the conference sector. According to a survey of providers of the EITW 2010, science-related associations make up a considerable part of total demand. 39.3 per cent of the organisations hosting conferences are industry as­­sociations and societies, 11.4 per cent are universities and institutes, 29 per cent are made up by the private sector, and 20.3 per cent are from other providers. darmstadtcongress has taken on the task of continuing to reinforce Darmstadt’s posi­­tion and function as a conference and event location for busi­­ness and science. The association of com­­panies and orga­­nisations partici­­pating directly and in­­directly in organising events in Darmstadt advises orga­­nisers in matters such as accommodation, hospitality, designing a back­­ground pro­­gramme or selecting a loca­­tion for eve­­ning get-togethers. Providers of venues, hotels, restaurants/cafés, trans­­port com­­panies, the Darmstadt Chamber of Industry and Commerce and the city marketing orga­­nisation are also represented, as are event and communications agencies and the local brewery.

Besides the conference market, culture is another important pillar of the tourist and leisure market in Darmstadt. This offers tourists and conference visi­­tors a varied programme in which exhibitions at the Mathildenhöhe or in the Kunsthalle art gallery, concerts in the Centralstation, the theatre or operas in the state theatre and excursions to the World Nature Heritage site at the Messel Pit, to the Odenwald or to castles and villas in the immediate area are further highlights for Darmstadt as an event location.

Saalkonzert-Kopie

 

Sustainability in the event sector is a trend. The 2011 Germany Meeting & Event Barometer shows that sustainability for the conference sector is becoming an increasingly important issue. Some 85 per cent of Germany’s event planners are of the opinion that the significance of the so-called “green meetings” will remain constant or rise. When talking about sustainability, Germany is one of the world’s leading nations. More and more conference buildings are organised in a more resource and climate-friendly manner and win the “Green Globe” quality seal. The certification is highly regarded in the tourist and MICE indus­­try (Meeting, Incentive, Congress, Event) and is supported among other things by the European Association of Event Centres (EVVC). Besides energy efficiency, condi­­tions imposed by “Green Globe” include the purchase of regionally produced products and services and training employees in ecological, economic and social issues. Darmstadt’s darmstadtium fulfils these conditions and is thus one of the top 25 German conference providers that are permitted to use this quality seal. Through the comprehensive use of geothermal heat, biomass and solar energy, the science and conference centre supplies the building with an almost complete supply of renewable energy. However, the darmstadtium is not only considered to be a flag­­ship of this conference and event loca­­tion in terms of sustain­­ability. As part of the campus of the Darmstadt Uni­­versity of Technology, the centre is closely linked with the University and thus has a clear selling point compared with other conference centres. The darmstadtium thus functions as a crucial platform for the increasingly important practice of the transfer of knowledge.

The conference and events sector both in Darmstadt and in Germany is confident about the future. According to the meeting and event barometer, all types of events are on the increase. Along with seminars and conferences (64 per cent), the number of exhibitions and presentations is also growing and makes up ten per cent of the total for Germany. This is reflected not least in the increase in the available budgets of over 60 per cent of organisers. The Rhine-Main region is considered to be Germany’s most attractive location after Berlin. This fact also lends the conference market in the science city of Darmstadt many advantages. The availability of function venues is clearly competitive compared to other cities. The enormous potential has already been recognised and must now be continuously expanded in future.

 

woehler_MG_8837_01c_XThe author was born in 1973. He studied economic geography at the universities of Marburg, Bayreuth and Birmingham. He was general manager of the congress and tourism departments and the city marketing promotion association of the city of Aschaffenburg from 2006 to 2010. He has been managing director of Wissen­­schafts- und Kongresszentrum Darmstadt Verwaltungs-GmbH darmstadtium since December 2010.

Lars Wöhler: Tagungen, Kongresse und Veranstaltungen in Darmstadt

Deutschland ist laut dem International Congress and Convention Association Statistics Report 2010 das Kongress­land Nummer eins in Europa und liegt weltweit – hinter den USA – auf dem zweiten Platz. Mit 6.420 Tagungs- und Veranstaltungs­stätten hat der Kongress- und Veran­stal­­tungs­markt eine wichtige Bedeutung für die deutsche Volkswirtschaft. Rund 2,7 Millionen Ver­­anstaltungen mit einer durch­­schnittlichen Dauer von 1,6 Tagen wurden im Jahr 2010 durchgeführt. Im bundesweiten Länder-Ranking liegt Hessen auf dem dritten Platz der Top-Veran­stal­­tungs­­standorte. Vergleicht man die Metro­­pol­regionen mit­­einander, dann präsentiert sich das Rhein-Main-Gebiet nach Berlin sogar auf dem zweiten Rang.

Mit ihrer Lage im Rhein-Main-Gebiet sowie der Nähe zur Wissenschaft bringt die Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt sehr gute Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Kongress- und Veranstaltungs­destination mit sich. In insgesamt 37 Veranstaltungs­­stätten, davon sieben Veranstaltungs­zen­­tren, zwölf Tagungshotels und 18 Special Locations – außergewöhnliche Orte wie Burgen, Schlösser, Museen oder Fabrik­hallen – fanden rund 6.000 Veranstaltungen mit annähernd 500.000 Besuchern statt, die eine Aufenthaltsdauer von durchschnitt­­lich 1,79 Tagen hatten. Das Angebot reicht von der Orangerie im Süden der Stadt über die Weststadt-Bar und die Central­­station in der Innenstadt bis hin zum zentral gelegenen darmstadtium. Das Wissen­­schafts- und Kongresszentrum leistet hierbei einen entscheidenden Bei­­trag. Mit seiner avantgardistischen Archi­­tektur, einer ausgezeichneten IT-Infrastruktur und einem nachhaltigen Ökomanagement zählt das Kongresshaus zu den erfolgreichsten in Deutschland. Ob Seminare, Konferenzen, Versammlungen, Messen, Besprechungen oder Meetings für kleine oder große Teilnehmerkreise, Geschäfts­­reisende finden in Darmstadt eine ab­­wechs­­lungsreiche Auswahl an Tagungs­möglich­­keiten. Ein ebenso wichtiger Bestandteil hierbei ist die bereits bestehende Vielfalt der Tagungshotellerie in der Stadt.

Saalkonzert-Kopie

 

Welche Faktoren zeichnen einen idealen Veranstaltungsort aus? Die Wahl der ge­­eigneten Räumlichkeiten hängt in erster Linie davon ab, ob die Location zum ge­­­­wünschten Zeitpunkt verfügbar ist. Da­­neben stellen das Preis-Leistungs­-Ver­­hält­­nis, eine gute Verkehrsanbindung sowie ein zentraler Ansprechpartner die wesentlichen Kriterien für die Veranstalter dar. Teilnehmeranzahl und Thema des Events sollten mit dem Angebot übereinstimmen. Auch muss die benötigte Technik vorhanden sein, ebenso ein umfangreiches gastronomisches Angebot und Park­plätze. Der Veranstaltungsort sollte für die Be­­sucher zudem mit den öffentlichen Ver­­­­kehrs­mitteln leicht erreichbar sein und mit Übernachtungs­möglichkeiten in un­­mittel­­­barer Nähe aufwarten können.

Welche Vor­­teile hat Darmstadt für Ver­­anstalter? Die Stadt ist über die Metropolregionen Rhein-Main und Rhein-Neckar optimal erreichbar. Die Nähe zum Frankfurt Airport, schnelle Verbindungen über das Bahnnetz und die direkte Lage an den Autobahnen A5/A67/A661 sind ebenfalls als positiv zu bewerten. Die innerstädtische Infrastruktur sorgt dafür, dass die Tagungsstätten mit den öffent­­lichen Verkehrsmitteln gut erreichbar sind. Die Stadt ist kompakt und kann durch kurze Wege punkten. Gastro­nomie und Hotellerie tragen als „Wohlfühl­faktor“ ihren Teil dazu bei, dass das innerstädtische Ambiente als angenehm empfunden wird. In der Darmstädter Gastronomie stehen insgesamt rund 6.000 Sitz­plätze zur Ver­­fügung, von denen etwa 3.000 im Freien liegen. In den Hotels vor Ort sind über 4.200 Betten buchbar. In einer Studie des Euro­päischen Instituts für TagungsWirt­schaft (EITW) ist jedoch angemerkt worden, dass die Hotelsituation in Darmstadt Verbesserungs­­potenziale aufweist. Als interessant wurde hierbei der Neubau eines Hotels, insbe­­son­­dere in der 4-Sterne- Kategorie, an­­ge­­sehen. Infolgedessen wäre mit einer Nach­­frage­erweiterung sowohl im Tagungs- als auch im Übernachtungs­bereich zu rechnen.

DSC_5715-Kopie

 

Wettbewerbsvorteile gegenüber anderen Städten bietet Darmstadt vor allem durch die enge Vernetzung von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Im Kongress- und Tagungs­­bereich wird die Wissenschaftsstadt ihrem Namen gerecht. Laut Anbieter­befragung des EITW 2010 bestimmen (Wissenschafts-)Verbände einen wesent­lichen Teil der Gesamtnachfrage. 39,3 Pro­­zent der Ver­­anstalter sind Verbände und Ver­­eini­­gungen, 11,4 Pro­zent sind Univer­si­täten und Ins­­titute, 29 Prozent macht die Privat­­wirt­­schaft aus sowie 20,3 Pro­­zent sons­­tige An­­bieter. Darmstadt als Kongress- und Ver­­anstaltungsort für Wirt­­schaft und Wissen­­schaft weiter zu festigen, hat sich darmstadtcongress zur Aufgabe gemacht. Der Verbund von direkt und in­­direkt an der Um­­setzung von Ver­an­stal­­tungen betei­­l­igten Unter­­nehmen und Organi­sa­­tionen in Darmstadt berät Veranstalter in Sachen Über­nach­­tung, Gastlichkeit, Gestaltung eines Rahmen­­programmes oder zur Aus­­wahl einer Location für das abendliche Get-together. Vertreten sind Anbieter von Räumen, Hotels, Gastro­nomie- und Trans­­­­portunter­nehmen, die IHK Darmstadt und die städtischen Marketing­organi­­sationen genauso wie Event- und Kom­munika­tions­­­­agenturen oder die ortsansässige Brauerei.

Neben dem Tagungsmarkt ist die Kultur eine wichtige Säule der Tourismus- und Freizeitwirtschaft in Darmstadt.
Diese offeriert Touristen wie auch Tagungs- und Kongressbesuchern ein abwechslungsreiches Programm: Aus­­stellungen auf der Mathildenhöhe oder in der Kunsthalle, Konzerte in der Central­­station, Theater oder Oper im Staats­theater sowie Ausflüge zur Weltnaturerbestätte Grube Messel, in den Odenwald oder zu Burgen und Schlössern in der näheren Umgebung stellen weitere Pluspunkte für Darmstadt als Veranstaltungsort dar.

darmstadtium_pano_rgb[eciRGBv2]_50cm

 

Nachhaltigkeit im Veranstaltungs­bereich ist ein Trend. Das Meeting- & Event­Baro­­meter Deutschland 2011 zeigt, dass Nach­­haltigkeit für die Tagungs- und Kongress­­branche ein zunehmend wich­­tigeres Thema wird. Rund 85 Prozent der deutschen Veranstaltungsplaner sind der Meinung, dass die Bedeutung der soge­­nannten „Green Meetings“ gleich bleiben oder steigen wird. Wenn es um Nach­­haltigkeit geht, gehört Deutschland welt­­weit zu den führenden Nationen. Immer mehr Tagungshäuser sind ressourcen- und klimaschonend organisiert und erwerben das Gütesiegel „Green Globe“. Die Zerti­fi­zierung besitzt in der Tourismus- und MICE-Branche („Meeting, Incentive, Congress, Event“) einen hohen Stellenwert. Es wird unter anderem vom Europäischen Ver­­band der Veranstaltungs-Centren (EVVC) unterstützt. „Green Globe“-Auflagen sind neben der Energieeffizienz der Einkauf regionaler Produkte und Dienst­­leis­­tungen sowie Mitarbeiterschulungen zu ökolo­­gischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Frage­­stellungen. Diese Bedingungen erfüllt in Darmstadt das darmstadtium und ge­­hört damit zu den ersten 25 deutschen Tagungs­­häusern, die dieses Gütesiegel verwen­­den dürfen. Durch die umfangreiche Nutzung von Erdwärme, Biomasse und Solar­energie erreicht das Wissen­schafts- und Kongress­­zentrum eine nahe­­zu vollständige Ver­­sorgung des Gebäudes durch erneuerbare Energien. Nicht nur in Fragen der Nach­­haltigkeit gilt das darmstadtium als Flagg­­schiff des Kon­­gress- und Ver­­anstaltungs­­­standortes. Das Zentrum ist – als Teil des Campus – mit der TU Darmstadt eng verbunden und hat dadurch ein eindeu­­tiges Allein­­stellungs­merkmal gegenüber in anderen Städten liegenden Tagungs­­stätten. Damit fun­­giert das darmstadtium als ent­­schei­­dende Plattform für den immer wichtiger werdenden Wissen­schafts-Praxis-Transfer.

Sowohl in Darmstadt als auch in Deutsch­­land kann die Tagungs- und Veranstaltungsbranche optimistisch in die Zukunft blicken: Alle Arten von Ver­­anstaltungen sind laut Meeting- & Event­Barometer im Aufwind. Neben Semi­naren, Tagungen und Kongressen (64 Prozent) legen Ausstellungen und Präsen­ta­tionen zu und erreichen zehn Prozent im bun­­des­­weiten Vergleich. Dies kommt nicht zu­­letzt durch die Erhöhung der zur Ver­­fügung stehenden Budgets bei über 60 Prozent der Veranstalter zum Aus­­druck. Das Rhein-Main-Gebiet gilt dabei – nach Berlin – als Standort mit der höchsten Attraktivität. Diese Statistik bescheinigt auch dem Tagungs- und Kongressmarkt der Wissen­schafts­stadt Darmstadt große Chancen. Das Angebot an Veranstaltungsstätten ist im Ver­­gleich zu anderen Städten absolut wett­­bewerbsfähig. Das enorme Potenzial wurde bereits erkannt. Nun gilt es, dieses auch zukünftig kontinuierlich auszubauen.

woehler_MG_8837_01c_XDer Autor (Jahrgang 1973) hat Wirt­­schafts­­geografie an den Universitäten in Marburg, Bayreuth und Birmingham studiert. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er als Geschäftsführer der Kongress- und Touristikbetriebe sowie des Fördervereins Stadtmarketing der Stadt Aschaffenburg tätig. Seit Dezember 2010 ist Lars Wöhler Geschäftsführer der Wissen­­schafts- und Kongresszentrum Darmstadt Verwaltungs-GmbH – darmstadtium.