Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brü­­der Trier: For the sake of brotherly love – committed to people


The Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brü­­­­der Trier (a Brothers of Mercy hospital) is one of five emergency med­­i­­cal centres in Rhineland-Palatinate and is one of the largest hospitals in this re­­gion. As a ter­­tiary care hos­pi­tal for the entire Trier region, it is currently equipped with 612 beds, 15 specialist med­­ical departments with ultra-modern scientific and techno­­log­ical standards as well as specialists for rare diseases. Medi­­cine, nursing and ther­­apy are closely connected and coordinated in the specialist medical de­­partments and the centres of the hos­­pital. A high standard of qual­­ity and per­­so­­nal devotion are our ultimate am­­bition. The range of services rendered in the special­­ist me­­dical de­­part­­ments covers almost all scopes of med­ical, diagnostic and thera­­­­­peutic re­­quire­­­­­ments. At medical competence cen­­tres, the patient re­­ceives com­­prehensive care centrally and benefits from the inter­­dis­­ciplinary collaboration of the different spe­­cialist departments.

DSC_0231The hospital is an establishment of the Barmherzige Brüder Trier e.V., an as­­so­­­­­­­­ciation of hospitals, specialised clinics as well as inpatient and nursing fa­­cil­­i­­ties. Since its foundation in 1850 by the blessed brother Peter Friedhofen, the Brothers of Mercy of Our Lady of Per­­petual Help practice their Christian duties of brother­ly love in the different establishments of the congregation.

  1. Adress

    Nordallee 1
    D-54292 Trier
    Telefon +49 (0) 651 208-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 651 208-1299
  2. Board of directors:

    Markus Leineweber
    (House Superior)

    Christian Weiskopf
    (Commercial Director)

    Prof. Dr. Dietmar A. Neisius
    (Medical Director)

    Aloys Adler
    (Director of Nursing)

  3. Year of foundation

  4. Employees

  5. patients

    around 27,000 per year
    around 50,000 per year
  6. Medical specialist departments

    Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Gefäßchirurgie,
    Anästhesie und Intensivmedizin,
    Herz- und Thoraxchirurgie, Innere Medizin I (Gastroenterologie, Hämatologie, Internistische Onkologie, Infektiologie)
    Innere Medizin II (Nephrologie und Dialyse, Hochdruckerkrankungen, Rheumatologie/
    Immunologie, Endokrinologie/Diabetologie/Angiologie), Innere Medizin III (Kardiologie, Pneumologie), Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichts­chirurgie, Neurologie und neurologische Frührehabilitation mit Schlaganfall­einheit, Neurochirurgie und Kinderneurochirurgie, Orthopädie, Unfall- und Wieder­her­­­stel­­lungs­chirurgie, Urologie und Kinderurologie, Zentrum für Augenheilkunde,
    Zentrum für Radiologie, Neuroradiologie, Sonographie und Nuklearmedizin