Concentration and cooperation: The University of Rostock – Your partner in the north

The University of Rostock (UR) is Germa­­ny’s third-oldest university and the oldest in the Baltic coast region. Its 14,000 students and 1,700 academic staff make it the largest further education establishment in the state of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. The full uni­­versity offers 120 degree programmes in nine faculties.

In 2007, the UR became the first uni­­versity in Germany to found an interdisciplinary faculty. The research focuses are concentrated in four profiling fields. They include topic areas from the fields of natural and engineering sciences; medicine; oceanic and coastal research; demographics; life sciences; and knowledge cultures. Research is conducted in­­to global issues such as climate change and the energy supply of the future. Focuses in medical research include de­­men­­tia research and regenerative medicine.

 

Close cooperation connects the UR with the region’s scientific institutions. Five Leibniz Institutes (for Catalysis, Baltic Sea Research, Atmospheric Physics, Plasma Science and Farm Animal Biology); the Max Planck Institute for Demograph­­ic Research; the Fraunhofer Institutes for Computer Graphics Research and Large Structures in Production Engineering; and the Thünen Institute for Baltic Sea Fisheries make widely varied scientific cooperation possible.



  1. Address

    Universitätsplatz 1
    18055 Rostock
    Tel +49 381 498 1004
    Fax +49 381 498 1006
    rektor@uni-rostock.de
    www.uni-rostock.de
  2. Rector

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schareck
  3. Chancellor

    Dr. Mathias Neukirchen
  4. Year of establishment

    1419
  5. Employees

    3,000 (not including University hospital)
  6. Total budget

    Total budget

    147.3 million euros
    Third-party funds
    53.2 million euros

  7. Business activity

    Scientific teaching and
    research in almost every field.
    Renowned research focuses:
    Science and technology of life,
    light and matter,
    Maritime systems,
    Knowledge – culture – transformation
    The ageing of the individual
    and society

Konzentration und Kooperation: Die Universität Rostock – Ihr Partner im Norden

Die Universität Rostock (UR) ist die dritt­­älteste Universität Deutschlands und die älteste im Ostseeraum. Mit 14.400 Studierenden und 1.700 Wissenschaftler­Innen ist sie die größte Hochschule Mecklenburg-Vorpommerns. Die Voll­uni­­versität bietet an neun Fakultäten 120 Studiengänge.

2007 gründete die UR als erste Universität Deutschlands eine Interdisziplinäre Fakul­­tät. In vier Profillinien sind die Forschungs­­schwerpunkte konzentriert. Sie umfassen Themengebiete aus den Bereichen Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaf­­ten sowie Medizin, Meeres- und Küstenfor­­schung, Demographie, Lebens­­­­­wissen­­­­schaf­­ten und Wissenskulturen. Erforscht werden globale Fragen wie Klimawandel und die Energieversorgung der Zukunft. Schwerpunkte in der medizinischen For­­schung sind Demenzforschung und rege­­nerative Medizin.

Eine enge Kooperation verbindet die UR mit den wissenschaftlichen Instituten der Region. Fünf Leibniz-Institute (für Katalyse, Ostseeforschung, Atmosphärenphysik, Plasmaphysik und Nutztierbiologie), das Max-Planck-Institut für demographische Forschung, die Fraunhofer-Institute für Graphische Datenverarbeitung und Groß­­strukturen in der Produktionstechnik und das Thünen-Institut für Ostseefischerei ermöglichen breit gefächerte wissenschaftliche Kooperationen.



  1. Anschrift

    Universitätsplatz 1
    18055 Rostock
    Tel +49 381 498 1004
    Fax +49 381 498 1006
    rektor@uni-rostock.de
    www.uni-rostock.de
  2. Rektor

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schareck
  3. Kanzler

    Dr. Mathias Neukirchen
  4. Gründungsjahr

    1419
  5. Mitarbeiter

    3.000 (ohne Universitätsmedizin)
  6. Haushaltsvolumen

    Haushaltsvolumen
    147,3 Millionen Euro
    Drittmittel
    53,2 Millionen Euro
  7. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Wissenschaftliche Lehre und
    For­­­­schung auf nahezu allen Gebieten.
    Renommierte Forschungsschwerpunkte:
    Leben, Licht und Materie,
    Maritime Systeme,
    Wissen – Kultur – Transformation,
    Altern des Individuums
    und der Gesellschaft