Klaus Wurpts M.A.: Dresden, Saxony, Middle Germany – Regional cooperation as competitive advantage

Regional cooperation is considered an im­­portant location advantage by economic experts. When organizations “look beyond their own noses” and collaborate with other organizations or research in­­stitutions in the vicinity, they can, by way of cost reductions and specialization, achieve specific competitive advantages in the market.
For many organizations in Dresden this cooperation does not only stretch across its own city borders. In numerous supplier- and cooperation relations they profit from a re­­gi­­o­­nal involvement over the Saxony state borders and beyond, far away into Saxony-­­Anhalt and Thuringia. The regional net­­working in Middle Ger­many not only contributes towards a stronger economic growth “on its own strength”, however also offers new in­­vestors an attractive environment and radiates accordingly. Hence, this process is actively promoted by politics with the “Initiative Mittel­­deutsch­­land” (Middle Ger­­many Initiative) of the Prime Ministers, as also by the nationwide unique Indus­­trial Initiative for Central Germany, which is supported by the organizations. For, this is the motto of the economic initiative: If the organizations are doing well, the region also does well and vice versa. The economy knows no state boundaries.
The perhaps most prominent examples of cross-national cooperation are the automotive and photovoltaic industry. In addition, there are also numerous networks in areas such as information technology or biotechnology, of the Dresden organizations and research institutions with partners, right up to the well-connected Middle German centres in Leipzig, Erfurt and Magdeburg.

Gieseler-Wurpts-Frank-Kopie

The Dresden automotive location is generally known by Volkswagen’s glass manu­­facture. Besides several suppliers and automotive-related mechanical engineering companies, the Dresden University of Technology (TU Dresden) could additionally distinguish itself here, in particular with the institutions for automotive technology, for vehicle technology as well as for lightweight construction and plastics technology. Regional integration stretches across the Saxony Automotive Supplier Network (AMZ) into all parts of Eastern Germany. Upon the aspiration of organizations, the “Automotive Cluster Ost­­deutsch­­land” (ACOD), was accordingly founded.
This also connects the Dresden automotive location with the OEM works of Daimler in Ludwigsfelde or Opel in Ei­­sen­­ach. The range of activities encompasses joint research and development accomplishments, joint topic-centred work­­shops as well as varied marketing acti­­vi­­ties.

It is similar in the photovoltaic industry, which not only represents an important future technology for Dresden and its surroundings. Here, the entire Middle Germany has developed itself into one of the leading photovoltaic regions in the world. 90 per cent of solar cells produced in Germany come from here, which amounts to almost 20 per cent of the global market share. In several segments, the organizations in Middle Germany are counted amongst the market leaders. Like many locations in Middle Germany, the Dresden economic region has a very specific competitive edge here. Besides the excellent infrastructure and the great support measures, there are in particular many highly qualified employees available. The reason for this is the ever-in­­creasing interlocking of the solar industry with the microelectronic industry, which was established decades ago. The “So­­larvalley Mittel­­deutsch­­land” – initiated by 30 firms, ten research institutions and four universities from Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia – was distinguished by the Federal Research Ministry as the national “top cluster” and with numerous research funds is now until 2015 working on reducing the costs of producing solar energy down to the price of conventional energy sources.

The cross-national cluster building processes are being supported by the three state authorities of Saxony, Saxony-An­­halt and Thuringia in an exemplary manner. The coordination from the promoters’ side even comprised the granting of funding for activities which extend beyond the respective own state – a re­­markable rarity in German competitive federalism, which nevertheless clarifies the achieved regional cooperation status. “Strengthen growth industries” is accordingly one of the objectives of the political “Middle Germany Initiative”, which is also decisively pushed forward from Dresden. In addition to numerous cooperation projects on administrative level, the policies of the three states have given further ambitious objectives for collaboration: In this way, “optimal con­­ditions for investments and entrepreneurial initiatives” should be created as well as the joint development and networking of research and innovation potential.

MD_Karte_grau

Numerous organizations of the three states also support cross-national “Mid­­dle German thinking” through the “Industrial Initiative for Central Ger­­many” association, which in collaboration with cities and chambers, considers itself the “action platform for structure-determining organizations” for the “development and marketing of the long-established Middle Ger­­man economic region”. The already more than 60 members of the initiative, which was founded in 2000, promote cross-national cluster and network building through internal fi­­nan­cing and management capacities, they support promising innovation pro­­jects and con­­­­tribute towards the security of re­­gional qualified employee de­­mand with the “Absolventenmesse Mittel­­deutsch­­land” (alumni trade show), de­­signed as the leading trade show.

In addition to the already achieved eco­­nomic integration in Middle Germany, a current Middle German collaboration is being channelled on a municipal level. The prospect of a future European Union (EU) funding policy aligned in so-called “metropolis regions” – modelled on the organizations and research institutions – also provide for close cooperation be­­tween the largest municipalities in Middle Germany. For many, this even represents one of the important decisions for the future of the economic region.

 

Klaus_WurptsThe author has been the managing di­­­rec­tor of the Industrial Initiative for Central Germany since 2005. He was born in Lower Saxony and studied politi­cal science in Paris and Leipzig. He worked as a scientific officer at various institutions as well as being a journalist. From 2003, he was a project manager for the cross-national cluster process at the former Regionen­mar­ke­ting Mittel­deutsch­­land.

Klaus Wurpts M.A.: Dresden, Sachsen, Mitteldeutschland – Regionale Kooperation als Wettbewerbs­­vor­­teil

Regionale Kooperation gilt bei Wirt­­schafts­­experten als ein wichtiger Stand­­ortvorteil. Wenn Unternehmen „über den eigenen Tellerrand hinausschauen“ und mit anderen Unternehmen oder For­­schungs­­einrichtungen in der Um­­ge­­bung zusammenarbeiten, können sie durch Kostensenkung und Spezialisierung besondere Wettbewerbsvorteile am Markt erzielen.
Für viele Unternehmen in Dresden er­­streckt sich diese Kooperation nicht nur auf die eigene Stadt. In zahlreichen Zu­­lieferer- und Koo­­per­­a­­tions­­ver­­hält­­nis­­sen profitieren sie von einer regionalen Ein­­bin­­dung über die sächsischen Län­­der­­grenzen hinaus bis weit hinein nach Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen. Die re­­gi­­onale Vernetzung in Mittel­­deut­sch­­land trägt dabei nicht nur zu einem verstärkten wirtschaftlichen Wachstum „aus eigener Kraft“ bei, sondern bietet auch neu­­en Investoren ein attraktives Umfeld und strahlt entsprechend aus. Deshalb wird dieser Prozess sowohl durch die Politik mit der „Initiative Mittel­­deutsch­­land“ der Minister­­prä­­si­­den­­ten als auch durch die von Unternehmen getragene, bundesweit einmalige Wirt­­schafts­­ini­­ti­­a­­tive für Mittel­­deutschland aktiv gefördert. Denn, so lautet das Motto der Wirt­­schafts­­initiative: Wenn es den Unternehmen gut geht, geht es auch der Region gut, und umgekehrt. Dabei kennt Wirtschaft keine Ländergrenzen.
Die wohl prominentesten Beispiele für länderübergreifende Kooperationen sind die Automobil- und die Photo­­vol­­taik­­ In­­dustrie. Daneben gibt es auch in Be­­reichen wie der Infor­­ma­­tions­­tech­­no­­lo­­gie oder der Biotechnologie zahlreiche Ver­­bin­­dun­­gen Dresdner Unte­r­­neh­­men und For­­schungs­­einrichtungen mit Part­­nern bis hin zu den gut an­­ge­­bundenen mitteldeutschen Zen­­tren in Leipzig, Erfurt und Magdeburg.

Gieseler-Wurpts-Frank-Kopie
Der Automobilstandort Dresden ist ge­­meinhin durch die Gläserne Manu­­faktur von Volkswagen bekannt. Außer einigen Zulieferern und Automotive-nahen Ma­­schinenbauern konnte sich hier zu­dem die Technische Universität (TU) Dres­­den, insbesondere mit den Instituten für Auto­­mobiltechnik, für Fahr­­zeug­­tech­­nik sowie für Leichtbau und Kunst­­stoff­­technik, be­­sonders profilieren. Die regionale Inte­­gration erstreckt sich über das sächsische Auto­­mobil­­zu­­liefer­­er­­netz­­werk AMZ in alle Teile Ostdeutschlands. Auf Be­­stre­­ben der Unternehmen hat sich entsprechend das „Automotive Cluster Ost­­deutsch­­land“ (ACOD) ge­­grün­­det. Dieses verbindet den Auto­­mo­­bilstandort Dres­­den auch mit den OEM-­­Werken von Daimler in Ludwigsfelde oder Opel in Eisenach. Das Spektrum der Aktivitäten umfasst gemeinsame For­­schungs- und Entwicklungsleistungen, gemeinsame themenzentrierte Workshops wie auch vielfältige Marketingaktivitäten.
Ähnlich ist es in der Photo­­vol­­tai­k­­in­­dus­­trie, die nicht nur für Dresden und Um­­ge­­bung eine wichtige Zu­­kunfts­­tech­­no­­lo­­gie darstellt. Hier hat sich ganz Mittel­­deutsch­­land zu einer der weltweit führenden Pho­­to­­voltaik-Re­­gionen entwickelt. 90 Prozent der in Deutschland produzierten Solar­­zellen kommen von hier, das macht fast 20 Prozent Weltmarktanteil. In ei­­ni­­gen Se­­g­­menten zählen Unternehmen aus Mittel­­deutschland zu den Marktführern. Wie viele Standorte in Mitteldeutschland, hat die Wirtschaftsregion Dresden hier einen ganz besonderen Wett­­bewerbs­­vor­­teil. Neben der hervorragenden Infra­­struk­­tur und den hohen Förder­­mög­­lich­­keiten stehen vor allem zahlreiche hoch qualifizierte Fachkräfte zur Verfügung. Grund dafür ist die zunehmende Ver­­zahnung der Solarbranche mit der seit Jahr­­zehn­­ten aufgebauten Mikro­­elek­­tro­­nik. Das von 30 Firmen, zehn For­­schungs­­ein­­rich­­tun­­gen und vier Hochschulen aus Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen initiierte „Solarvalley Mittel­­deutsch­­land“ wurde vom Bundes­­for­­schungs­­minis­ter­­ium als na­­tionales „Spitzencluster“ ausge­­zeich­­net und arbeitet mit umfangreichen Forschungsgeldern nun daran, bis zum Jahr 2015 die Kosten für die Her­­stellung von Solarstrom auf den Preis herkömmlicher Energieträger zu senken.
Beispielhaft wurden die länderübergrei­­fenden Clusterbildungsprozesse von den
drei Landesverwaltungen in Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen unterstützt. Die förderseitige Abstimmung umfasste sogar die Ausreichung von Mitteln für Aktivitäten über das jeweils eigene Bundesland hinaus – eine bemerkenswerte Seltenheit im deutschen Wett­­bewerbsföderalismus, die jedoch den erreichten regionalen Koo­­per­­a­­tions­­sta­­tus verdeutlicht. „Wachstumsbranchen stärken“ lautet entsprechend eines der Ziele der auch maßgeblich aus Dres­­den angeschobenen politischen „Initiative Mitteldeutschland“. Neben zahlreichen Kooperationsvorhaben auf Ver­­waltungs­­­­ebene hat sich die Politik der drei Län­­der weitere ambitionierte Ziele für die Zu­­sam­menarbeit gegeben: So sollen „optimale Bedingungen für Investitionen und unternehmerische Initiativen“ ge­­schaf­­fen sowie Forschungs- und Inno­­va­­tionspotenziale gemeinsam ausgebaut und vernetzt werden.

MD_Karte_grau

Den länderübergreifenden „mitteldeutschen Gedanken“ unterstützen auch zahlreiche Unternehmen aus den drei Bundesländern mit dem Verein „Wirt­­schaftsinitiative für Mittel­­deutsch­­land“, der sich im Zu­­sammenspiel mit Städten und Kammern als „Aktions­­platt­­­­form struk­­turbestimmender Unter­­neh­­men“ zur „Ent­­wicklung und Ver­­marktung der traditionsreichen Wirt­­schafts­­re­­gion Mittel­­deutschland“ versteht. Die be­­reits über 60 Mitglieder der im Jahr 2000 gegründeten Initiative fördern die länderübergreifende Cluster- und Netz­werk­­­­bildung mit eigenen Finanzmitteln und Managementkapazitäten, sie unterstützen zukunftsträchtige Innovations­­pro­­jekte und tragen mit der als regionale Leit­­messe konzipierten „Absolventen­­mes­­se Mittel­­deutschland“ zur Sicher­­ung des regionalen Fachkräftebedarfs bei.

Neben der bereits erreichten wirtschaft­­lichen Integration in Mittel­­deutsch­­land bahnt sich derzeit auch eine mitteldeutsche Zusammenarbeit auf kommu­­naler Ebene an. Die Perspektive einer künftig an so genannten „Metro­­pol­­re­­gi­­onen“ ausgerichteten Förderpolitik der Europäische Union (EU) lässt – analog zu den Unternehmen und For­­schungs­­ein­­richtungen – auch die größten Kommunen aus Mitteldeutschland en­­ger kooperieren. Für viele stellt dieses gar eine der wichtigen Weichen­­stell­­un­­gen für die Zukunft des Wirt­­schafts­­stand­­orts dar.

Klaus_WurptsDer Autor ist seit 2005 Geschäftsführer der Wirtschaftsinitiative für Mittel­deutsch­­land GmbH. Der gebürtige Nie­der­sachse hat Politikwissenschaft in Paris und Lei­­p­­zig studiert und als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an verschiedenen Instituten sowie als freier Publizist gearbeitet. Ab 2003 war er Projektleiter für den län­­der­­­­übergreifenden Cluster­prozess beim ehe­­maligen Regionen­mar­ke­ting Mittel­­deut­­sch­­­­land.