Klaus Marschall: Somewhere between Titiwu and Morrowland

Generations of German children have grown up with Jim Button and Impy´s Island. For over 66 years, the little dolls of the Augsburg Puppet Theatre inspire young and old. Even today, at the historical Holy Spirit Hospital, constructed by the Augsburg city architect Elias Holl, the ensemble around theatre director Klaus Marschall still shows vivid theater for children and adults.

 

The Munich Metropolitan Region is impressive for the wide variety of its artistic and cultural offerings. Besides a theatre and opera houses of world renown, there are many more stages and theatres that are held in high esteem. One of these smaller establishments is standing out as an extraordinary gem, a gem that over the past decades has won an audience of millions throughout Germany.

In fact, there are not many children – and even fewer adults – who do not know them: “Urmel”, the baby dinosaur fidgeting on “Titiwu” Island, and his foster mother, a sow named “Wutz”; or the small island of “Morrowland” and its in­hab­itants “Jim Button” or “Luke”, the engine driver, who are known to millions of people. And these are just the most illustrious protagonists of the most famous of German pup­­pet theatres, the “Augsburger Puppenkiste”.
The marionette theatre, established by Walter Oehmi­chen and his family as “Puppenschrein” (puppet chest) in 1943, was continued after the war, from 1948, under the name of “Augsburger Puppenkiste”, by the same family.


Kasperl-auf-Bühne

The repertoire consisted of classic fairy tales from the Grimm Brothers’ collection, by Wilhelm Hauff and from One Thousand and One Nights, mostly performed by professional actors. In the 1960s, Otfried Preußler’s famous stories were added. The Robber Hotzenplotz (1966) became the most popular piece of the theatre. And The Little Witch (1971), too, has been performed without alterations since its inauguration.

Yet the topics addressed by Augsburger Puppenkiste are not exclusively aimed at children and young people. Oehmichen, who also worked as director at the municipal theatre of Augsburg, in 1951 achieved the breakthrough of the theatre with a challenging production of The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

Other sophisticated pieces include Bertolt Brecht’s Threepenny Opera, which was first staged in 1960, and Friedrich Dürrenmatt’s The Trial of the Donkey’s Shadow. Even some operas by Mozart served as source material for plays performed by the singing actors of Puppen­kiste. Whether The Magic Flute or The Abduction from the Seraglio, the performances were successful even without those great, stunning arias.

In the Mozart Year of 2006, Augsburger Puppenkiste staged the classical theme of Don Giovanni as Don Giovanni and the Stony Guest.

The part of Don Giovanni’s servant was played by the “Kasperl” marionette of Puppenkiste, which gave the show a funny touch of its own.

Kater-Mikesch-und-Freunde-(1)

Augsburger Puppenkiste has been considered a national cultural asset since the plays were broadcast nationwide on public television. The live performance by the Puppenkiste puppeteers of Peter and the Wolf, aired on 21 January 1953 by the North German broadcasting company NWDR from their Hamburg-based “bunker”, marked the beginning of a success story, which continues to this day. Later on, the programmes were variously recorded by the Bavarian and Hessian broadcasting corporations. Manfred Jenning, the usual Pup­penkiste author, developed a series for television. Because of the huge technical challenge and an increasing de­mand for sequel stories on TV, the stage performances were separated from the television programmes early on.

Some of the first “stars on strings” were – still filmed in black and white – The Moomin Family (1959/60, two serials), Jim Button and Luke, the Engine Driver (1961/62, two serials, re-produced in colour in 1976), The Fat Little Knight (1963), Klecksi, der Tintenfisch (Klecksi, the octo­pus, 1963), most of which was imprudently destroyed, and Purrkin, the Talking Cat (1964). Except for a short interval at Bavarian Broadcasting (1956–1958), as from 1954, all sequels were made in cooperation with the Hessian broadcasting corporation.


Kalle-Höhle

From 1965 on, Puppenkiste on TV was in colour, one of the most popular productions of the time being Urmel aus dem Eis (1969; later filmed as cartoon and translated Impy’s Island). But the audience enjoyed the Lion trilogy (1965–1967), The Robber Hotzenplotz (1967) and Bill Bo (1968) just as much. Max Kruse was one of the authors who provided most of the stories for the films. Besides Lion on the Loose, The Flying Lion, Well Roared, Lion and another Urmel story (Urmel spielt im Schloss – Urmel playing in the castle, 1974), the film Don Blech und der goldene Junker (Don Scrap and the golden squire, 1973) and the wild west adventure Lord Schmetterhemd (1978) were also based on his books.

The scripts for these TV successes were written by the late Manfred Jenning, who died in 1979.

The great successes of the 1960s and 1970s continued even after the advent of private television and the associated changes in television-programme culture.

Lukas,-Jim

In 1997, Augsburger Puppenkiste made it to the cinema with Die Story von Monty Spinnerratz, based on A Rat’s Tale by Tor Seidler, an American author of children’s books. The film was a success: about one million cinema goers watched (rat) marionettes and humans interact in the sewers and piers of New York. The film won the Bavarian Film Award for best children’s film.

In 2005/2006, “Schlaubär Ralphi”, a clever little bear, start­ed to explore the world on the Bavarian science channel BR-alpha, and has since dealt with a large variety of topics.

Augsburger Puppenkiste, which deserves to be considered a national cultural asset, includes a marionette museum extending over 570 square metres, which offers educational activities. This museum, called “die Kiste” (the chest), has meanwhile, like the theatre itself, become the most successful facility of its kind in the whole of Europe.

The Puppenkiste theatre is not only an integral part of the city of Augsburg and the Munich Metropolitan Region – today it is impossible to imagine German stages, theatres and television programmes without it.

 

Klaus155The author, born in 1961, is the director and owner of the marionette theatre Augs­burger Puppenkiste. Mr Marschall, who started his career as a puppeteer at the age of twelve, took over as director of Puppenkiste in 1992. Since 1948, the theatre has held almost 21,800 performances in front of more than four and a half million people. Puppenkiste has been aired on national television since 1953.

Klaus Marschall: Irgendwo zwischen Titiwu und Lummerland

Mit Jim Knopf und Urmel aus dem Eis sind Generationen von deutschen Kindern aufgewachsen. Seit über 66 Jahren begeistern die kleinen Puppen der Augsburger Puppenkiste. Im altehrwürdigen Heilig-Geist-Spital des Augsburger Stadtbaumeisters Elias Holl zeigt das Ensemble um Theaterleiter Klaus Marschall auch heute noch lebendiges Theater für Kinder und Erwachsene.

 

Die Metropolregion München überwältigt durch die Viel­schichtigkeit der Angebote an Kunst und Kultur. Neben Theater und Opernhäusern von internationalem Rang stehen Bühnen und Theater, deren Kunst Ansehen ge­­nießt. Aus diesem großen Reigen der kleineren Bühnen ragt ein Kleinod deutlich heraus, ein Kleinod, das sich seit Jahrzehnten bundesweit ein Millionenpublikum er­­spielt hat.

In der Tat: Es gibt in Deutschland nur wenige Kinder und noch weniger Erwachsene, die sie nicht kennen: das auf dem Eiland Titiwu zappelnde Dinosaurier-Baby „Urmel“ und seine Pflegemama, die Sau „Wutz“, oder etwa die kleine Insel „Lummerland“ und ihre Millionen Menschen bekannten Bewohner „Jim Knopf“ oder „Lukas“ der Loko­motivführer. Und dies sind nur die bekanntesten der be­­rühmten Schauspiel-Protagonisten der Augsburger Pup­­pen­kiste, des bekanntesten deutschen Marionettentheaters.
Das 1943 von Walter Oehmichen und seiner Familie als „Puppenschrein“ gegründete Marionettentheater führte die Familie nach dem Krieg 1948 als Augsburger Pup­penkiste weiter.


Kasperl-auf-Bühne

Gespielt wurden klassische Märchen aus der Sammlung der Gebrüder Grimm, nach Wilhelm Hauff und aus Tau­send­undeine Nacht von zumeist ausgebildeten Schau­spielern. In den 60er Jahren kamen die bekannten Ge­­schichten Otfried Preußlers auf den Spielplan. Der Räuber Hotzenplotz (1966) wurde das beliebteste Stück des Theaters. Und auch Die kleine Hexe (1971) wird seit ihrer Erstinszenierung unverändert gespielt.

Doch die Augsburger Puppenkiste ist nicht nur auf Kinder- und Jugendstoffe konzentriert. Oehmichen, der auch am Stadttheater Augsburg als Spielleiter tätig war, erreichte 1951 mit der anspruchsvollen Inszenierung des Kleinen Prinzen von Antoine de Saint-Exupéry den Durchbruch für das Theater.

Gehobener Stoff ist auch Bertolt Brechts Dreigroschen­oper, die 1960 erstmalig aufgeführt wurde, oder Friedrich Dürrenmatts Der Prozess um des Esels Schatten. Selbst Mozart-Opern wurden zur Vorlage für Inszenierungen der singenden Schauspieler von der Puppenkiste. Ob Die Zauberflöte oder Die Entführung aus dem Serail, die Auf­führungen waren auch ohne die gestrichenen großen Arien erfolgreich. Zum Mozartjahr 2006 inszenierte die Augsburger Puppenkiste den klassischen Stoff des Don Giovanni als Don Giovanni und der steinerne Gast.

Kater-Mikesch-und-Freunde-(1)

In die Rolle des Dieners von Don Giovanni schlüpfte der Kasperl der Puppenkiste und gab dem Stück den ihm eigenen Witz.

Den Rang des nationalen Kulturgutes gewann die Augs­burger Puppenkiste durch die bundesweite Übertragung der Stücke im öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen. Am 21. Januar 1953 spielten die Puppenspieler der Puppen­kiste im Hamburger Bunker des NWDR Peter und der Wolf für eine Liveübertragung – der Beginn einer bis heute anhaltenden Erfolgsgeschichte. Die Aufzeichnun­gen erfolgten später mal beim Bayerischen Rundfunk, mal beim Hessischen Rundfunk. Manfred Jenning, der Hausautor der Puppenkiste, entwickelte die Mehrteiler für das Fernsehen. Schon aufgrund des enormen technischen Aufwands und des steigenden Bedarfs nach Fortsetzungsgeschichten im Fernsehen wurden die Bühneninszenierungen von den Fernsehstücken schon früh abgekoppelt.

Zu den ersten großen „Stars an Fäden“ zählten – noch als Schwarzweißfilme produziert – Die Muminfamilie (1959/60, zwei Staffeln), Jim Knopf und Lukas der Loko­motivführer (1961/62, zwei Staffeln, Neuverfilmung in Farbe 1976), Der kleine dicke Ritter (1963), Klecksi, der Tintenfisch (1963), von dem leichtsinnigerweise fast alles vernichtet wurde, und der Kater Mikesch (1964). Produziert wurde seit 1954, abgesehen von einem kurzen Zwischenspiel beim Bayerischen Rundfunk (1956–1958), mit dem Hessischen Rundfunk.

Lukas,-Jim

Ab 1965 gab es die Puppenkiste im Fernsehen auch in Farbe: Eine der bekanntesten und beliebtesten Produk­tionen dieser Zeit war Urmel aus dem Eis (1969). Aber auch die Löwe-Trilogie (1965–1967) sowie der Räuber Hotzenplotz (1967) und Bill Bo (1968) erfreuten die Zu­­­schauer. Zu einem der meistverfilmten Autoren wurde Max Kruse. Er lieferte nicht nur die Vorlagen zu Der Löwe ist los, Kommt ein Löwe geflogen und Gut gebrüllt, Löwe sowie zu einer weiteren Urmelverfilmung: Urmel spielt im Schloss (1974), sondern auch zu Don Blech und der goldene Junker (1973) und dem Wildwest-Abenteuer Lord Schmetterhemd (1978).

Die Drehbücher zu diesen Fernseherfolgen lieferte der 1979 verstorbene Manfred Jenning.

Die großen Erfolge der 60er und 70er Jahre konnten auch nach der Einführung des privaten Fernsehens und dem damit einhergehenden Wandel der Fernseh-Pro­grammkultur fortgesetzt werden.

1997 schaffte die Augsburger Puppenkiste mit Die Story von Monty Spinnerratz des amerikanischen Kinderbuch­autors Tor Seidler erfolgreich den Sprung auf die Kino­leinwand. Etwa 1.000.000 Kinobesucher erlebten mit, wie (Ratten-)Marionetten und Menschen zusammen in der New Yorker Hafen- und Unterwelt agierten. Der Film wurde mit dem Bayerischen Filmpreis als bester Kinderfilm ausgezeichnet.


Kalle-Höhle

2005/2006 ging der „Schlaubär Ralphi“ für den Wis­­senskanal BR-alpha auf Erkundungstour und hilft seitdem dabei, verschiedenste Themen kindgerecht aufzubereiten.

Längst gehört zur Augsburger Puppenkiste, der man den Rang eines nationalen Kulturguts einräumen darf, ein auf 570 Quadratmetern ausgedehntes Puppenthe­a­termuseum mit entsprechender Museumspädagogik. Das Museum „die Kiste“ ist, analog zum Erfolg des Theaters, inzwischen das erfolgreichste Puppentheater­museum des Kontinents.

Die Puppenkiste gehört nicht nur zur Stadt Augsburg und zur Metropolregion München – sie ist aus der bundesweiten Welt der Bühnen und Schauspielhäuser sowie dem Fernsehen heute nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Klaus155Der 1961 geborene Autor ist Theaterleiter und Inhaber der Augsburger Puppen­kiste. Seit 1992 zeichnet Marschall, der bereits mit zwölf Jahren als Puppenspieler wirkte, als Theaterleiter für die Puppenkiste verantwortlich. Seit 1948 wurden in dem Marionettenheater fast 21.800 Vorstellungen für über viereinhalb Millionen Zuschauer gegeben. Seit 1953 ist die Puppenkiste auch bundesweit im Fern­sehen präsent.