Klaus Haasis: Success through creativity – new ways of thinking for business

Since time immemorial the people in Baden-Württemberg have been known for their ingenuity and their love for research and development. But a techno­logical leading edge alone is no longer sufficient to be able to keep up with the international competition between top business locations. The resource of the future is creativity. Its growing influence in all areas of our society requires new ways of thinking from all concerned.

It is the same at the workplace and in the business world. In these cases, the creative industry has become an in­­creas­­ingly important sector of the economy – in the future, successful economic centres will develop where companies can call on sophisticated services. Knowl­­edge and creativity are crucial prerequisites for this.


European-Creativity-Dialogue

Well-known, diverse, competent – creative people in Baden-Württemberg. These are precisely the conditions offered by Baden-Württemberg. Its creative sector is an important sector of the economy, in which a wide range of knowledge services are provided and have been provided for many years. Baden-Württemberg has a long tradition in the area of creativity. For example, design legends such as Otl Aicher and Anton Stankowski or typo­­graphic geniuses such as Kurt Weidemann with his visual images for the Olympic Games, IBM, Lufthansa, Porsche or the Deutsche Bank have characterized not only the German but also the international design scene.

But nowadays the creative sector is still playing at the top level. Whether it’s the design or the music sector, the software or games industry or the press and ad­­vertising market – these and other com­­ponents of the creative sector are dem­­on­­strating unmistake­able growth drivers. Since 2000, annual average employ­­ment in the creative sector has increased by more than twice that of the economy as a whole.

Creative regions from all over Baden-Württemberg have contributed to this – for example, Mannheim und Karlsruhe – known for institutions such as the Pop­­academy Baden-Württemberg (Uni­­ver­­sity of popular music and music business) or the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe.

Also Pforzheim and Ulm, with their inter­nationally accredited design schools, Baden-Baden as the location of Südwest­rundfunk (Southwest Broad­casting Station) and Freiburg and Offenburg, traditionally strong printing and publishing centres, also play a crucial role.

BW-goes-mobile-Award

And last but not least, Stuttgart also plays an important role. This boasts well-known architecture companies such as Behnisch or Schlaich, unusual buildings such as the Art Museum Stuttgart, the Mercedes-Benz Museum and the Porsche-Museum and media companies such as Reclam, Klett or Motor Presse Stuttgart.

The regional advertising and design sector is also very diverse. A current example is the German Pavilion at the Expo 2010, which has been implemented by an agency from Baden-Württemberg. This is a parti­c­­ular strength of Baden-Württemberg – the link between engineering competence and creative thinking. In this form it is unique in Germany.

The creative sector in Baden-Württemberg thus leads everything but a niche existence. At 3.7 per cent, employment in this sector in Baden-Würt­temberg is even over the national average of 3.2 per cent.


CWF_Trailer_SL_cmyk_4242x2500

The mostly small-structured sector now employs some 155,000 people in 28,000 companies which earn a total revenue of some 19 billion euros. The software industry in particular is proving to be a real job motor. The percentage of em­­ployment in the software/games industry in Baden-Württemberg was re­­­cently put at 44 per cent, as opposed to only
33 per cent nationally.

These impressive figures prove that the local software industry has developed par­­tic­­ularly dynamically over the last few years. In these fields Baden-Württemberg is home to global players such as Alcatel-Lucent, IBM, Hewlett Packard and SAP, while numerous medium-sized “hidden champions” ensure sound growth rates. These include such companies as Gameforge from Karlsruhe, which is one of the world’s market leaders of internet-based browser games, along with development studios such as Acony from Villingen-Schwenningen or TriCAT from Ulm, with its virtual learn­­ing and training solutions.
Future challenges: promoting talent, linking sectors, driving innovations. In order for Baden-Württemberg’s crea­tive sector to continue to gain impetus, it is important now to select the right strategic direction, and support for crea­­tive, inno­vative talent is one of the most important tasks in this context. For this reason, Baden-Württemberg’s innovation agency for IT and media, the MFG Baden-Württem­­berg, is helping students to imple­­ment excellent interdisciplinary IT and media projects with the Karl Steinbuch Bursary. One current example is the PATRONUS project of Alexander Schwende, a student at the Karlsruhe Institute of Tech­­nology (KIT). With the help of this system, safe surroundings can be set up in residences of patients suffering from dementia.

MFG_CWF_a_DSC_9670_Vorstellung-Thermakey_KSS

 

As well as supporting talent over the long term, the targeted support for com­­pany start-ups is also particularly important for a creative location. From the idea to the business model – the business initia­­tive “Ba­­den-Württemberg: Connected” (bwcon) assists young, ex­­panding high-tech com­panies and innovative start-ups with a comprehensive, network-based offer of services on this long and often stony path.

Last but not least, it is increasingly impor­­tant nowadays to bring people together and link them with each other – ideally across national borders and sectoral lines.

Together with the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Economic Affairs, the innova­­tion agen­­cy for IT and media created a unique forum for new ideas under the motto “where Creativity meets Tech­nol­­ogy”: At the Creativity World Forum, we have linked over 2,000 creative leading minds from 29 different sectors and 28 countries and inspired them to learn from each other. The fruitful results of the ex­­change across national borders and sec­­toral lines can be seen in the “Creativity Think Tank”, for example. This interactive workshop had the task of developing 100 ideas in 100 min­­utes. When the 100 min­­utes were up, there were even 130 concrete suggestions and solutions.

Inspired by this impressive innovation potential, the creative industry in Baden-Württemberg can confidently face the chal­­lenges of the future. Further information can be found at: www.mfg-innovation.de.

Klaus-Haasis-MFG-Hintergrund-orange_kleiner-(2)The author has been managing director of MFG Baden-Württemberg – the state’s innovation agency for IT and media – since its formation in 1995. Today it is one of the leading European innovation agencies. The author has over 30 years of experience in the creative industry and the ITC sector. He is a much sought-after speaker, lecturer, author and advisor in the fields of business, society, politics and science.

Klaus Haasis: Erfolgsfaktor Kreativität – neue Denkweisen für die Wirtschaft

Die Menschen in Baden-Württemberg sind von jeher für ihren Ideenreichtum sowie ihre Freude am Forschen und Ent­­wickeln bekannt. Doch technologischer Vorsprung alleine reicht längst nicht mehr aus, um im internationalen Wett­bewerb der Spitzenstandorte bestehen zu können. Die Ressource der Zukunft heißt Krea­­tivität. Ihr wachsender Ein­fluss in sämt­­­lichen Bereichen unserer Gesell­schaft erfordert von allen Akteuren eine neue Denkweise.

So auch im Arbeits- und Wirt­schafts­le­­ben: Hier hat sich die Kreativwirtschaft zu einer zunehmend wichtigen Branche ent­­wickelt. Denn erfolgreiche Wirt­schafts­­zentren entstehen in Zukunft vorwiegend dort, wo Unternehmen auf anspruchsvolle Dienstleistungen zurückgreifen kön­­nen. Wissen und Kreativität sind da­­für entscheidende Voraussetzungen.


European-Creativity-Dialogue

Renommiert, vielfältig, leistungsstark – die Kreativen im Südwesten. Baden-Württemberg bietet genau diese Voraus­setzungen: Die Kreativwirtschaft ist hierzulande ein bedeutender Wirt­schafts­­­­­zweig, in dem vielfältige Wissens­­dienst­leistungen erbracht werden. Und das schon seit vielen Jahren. Denn Baden-Württemberg verfügt im Kreativbereich über eine lange Tradition: So prägten bei­­spielsweise Designlegenden wie Otl Aicher und Anton Stankowski oder Typo­­grafie-Genies wie Kurt Weidemann mit visuellen Erscheinungsbildern für die Olym­­pischen Spiele, IBM, Lufthansa, Porsche oder die Deutsche Bank nicht nur die nationale, sondern auch die in­­ter­­nationale Designszene.

Aber auch heutzutage spielt die Krea­­tiv­­wirtschaft in der oberen Liga mit: Ob Design- und Musikwirtschaft, Software- und Gamesindustrie oder Presse- und Werbemarkt – diese und weitere Teil­­branchen der Kreativwirtschaft weisen im Südwesten deutliche Wachstums­im­­pulse auf. Seit 2000 ist die Beschäfti­gung im Kreativsektor jahresdurchschnitt­­lich mehr als doppelt so stark gestiegen wie in der Gesamtwirtschaft.

Zu diesem Erfolg tragen Kreativregionen aus dem ganzen Land bei. So beispiels­­weise Mannheim und Karlsruhe – be­­kannt für renommierte Einrichtungen wie die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg oder das Zentrum für Kunst und Medien­tech­­no­logie Karlsruhe (ZKM). Aber auch Pforz­­heim und Ulm mit ihren international anerkannten Designschulen, Baden-Ba­­den als Standort für den Südwest­rund­­funk sowie Freiburg und Offenburg, die traditionell stark im Druck- und Ver­­lags­­wesen aufgestellt sind, spielen eine ent­­scheidende Rolle. Und nicht zu­­letzt kommt auch der Region Stuttgart eine wichtige Rolle zu.
Diese trumpft mit bekannten Archi­tektur­­büros wie Beh­­nisch oder Schlaich, außer­­gewöhnlichen Bauten wie dem Kunst­museum, dem Mercedes-Benz Museum sowie dem Porsche-Museum und Medien­­unter­neh­­men wie Reclam, Klett oder der Motor Presse Stuttgart.

BW-goes-mobile-Award

Sehr vielfältig zeigt sich die regionale Werbe- und Designbranche. Aktuelles Beispiel: Der Deutsche Pavillon auf der Expo 2010 wurde von einer Agentur aus dem Land realisiert. Hier zeichnet sich eine ganz besondere Stärke von Baden-Württemberg ab – die Verbindung von Ingenieurskompetenz mit kreativem Den­­ken. Das ist in dieser Form in Deutsch­­land einzigartig.

In Baden-Würt­temberg führt der Kreativ­­sektor somit alles andere als ein Ni­­schen­­dasein. Der Beschäftigungsanteil im Land liegt mit 3,7 Prozent sogar über dem Bundesdurchschnitt von 3,2 Pro­­zent. In der überwiegend kleinbetrieb­­lich struk­­turierten Branche arbeiten mitt­­ler­­weile rund 155.000 Erwerbstätige in 28.000 Unternehmen, die einen Gesamt­­umsatz von rund 19 Milliarden Euro er­­wirt­­schaften. Vor allem die Soft­­ware­­branche erweist sich dabei als regelrechter Job­­motor: Der Beschäftig­ten­an­­teil der Soft­­ware- und Games­industrie lag in Baden-Württem­berg zuletzt bei 44 Pro­­zent, bundesweit waren es nur 33 Prozent.


CWF_Trailer_SL_cmyk_4242x2500

Diese Zahlen belegen, dass sich die hei­­mi­­sche Software­bran­­che in den ver­­gan­genen Jahren be­­son­ders dy­­namisch entwickelt hat. Ba­­den-Würt­­­­temberg be­­her­­bergt in diesen Be­­rei­­chen Global Player wie Alcatel-Lucent, IBM, Hewlett Packard und SAP, aber auch zahlreiche mittel­ständi­­sche Hidden Cham­­pions sor­­gen für be­­acht­liche Wachs­­tums­­raten. Hier­­zu ge­­hören gerade auch Unter­­nehmen wie Game­forge aus Karls­­ruhe, das zu den weltweiten Markt­füh­­rern für inter­net­ba­­sierte Browser-Spiele zählt, so­­wie Ent­­wicklungs­studios wie Acony aus Villingen-Schwenningen oder TriCAT aus Ulm mit seinen virtuellen Lern- und Train­­ings­­lösungen.

Zukünftige Herausforderun­gen: Talente fördern, Branchen vernetzen, Innova­tionen vorantreiben. Damit die Kreativ­wirtschaft weiter an Fahrt gewinnen kann, kommt es nun da­­rauf an, die richtigen Weichen zu stellen. Die Förderung von kreativen, inno­va­tions­­freudigen Talenten gehört dabei zu den wesentlichen Aufgaben. Aus die­­sem Grund unterstützt die MFG Stif­­tung Baden-Württemberg mit dem Karl-Stein­­buch-Stipendium Stu­die­ren­de bei der Um­­set­­zung herausragender, inter­­dis­zi­­plinärer IT- und Medien­pro­jek­te. Ein ak­­tu­­elles Beispiel ist das Projekt PATRONUS von Alexander Schwende, einem Stu­­den­­­­ten am Karlsruher Institute of Tech­no­logy (KIT). Mithilfe seines Systems kann De­­menzpatienten eine gefahrlose Um­ge­­bung in ihrer eigenen Wohnung er­­mög­­licht werden.

MFG_CWF_a_DSC_9670_Vorstellung-Thermakey_KSS

 

Neben einer nachhaltigen Talent­för­de­­rung ist auch die gezielte Unterstüt­zung von Start-ups für einen erfolgreichen Kreativ­­standort besonders wichtig. Von der Idee zum Geschäftsmodell – auf die­­­­­­sem langen und oft steinigen Weg un­­ter­­stützt die Wirtschafts­initiative Ba­­den-Württemberg: Connected – bwcon – jun­­ge, expandierende High­tech-Un­­ter­­nehmen und innovative Grün­­der mit einem umfangreichen, netz­werk­­basier­­­­ten Service-Angebot. Nicht zu­­letzt kommt es heutzutage im­­mer mehr darauf an, Menschen zusammen­zu­führen und zu vernetzen – im besten Falle über Landes- und Bran­­chen­­grenzen hinweg.
Gemeinsam mit dem Wirtschafts­­minis­te­­rium Baden-Württemberg hat die Inno­­vationsagentur MFG Baden-Württemberg unter dem Leitgedanken „where Creativity meets Technology“ ein Forum für neue Ideen ge­­schaffen: Beim Creativity World Forum haben wir über 2.000 kreative Vor­­den­­ker aus 29 unterschiedlichen Branchen und 28 Ländern vernetzt und zum ge­­mein­samen Lernen angeregt. Wie er­­giebig der Austausch über Länder- und Branchen­­grenzen hinweg ist, zeigte sich beispiels­­weise im „Crea­tivity Think Tank“. In diesem interaktiven Workshop sollten in 100 Minuten 100 Ideen entwickelt werden. Nach Ablauf der Zeit waren so­­gar 130 konkrete Vorschläge und Lö­­sungs­ansätze vorhanden.

Von diesem beeindruckenden In­­no­­va­­tions­­potenzial beflügelt, kann sich die Kreativ­­wirtschaft in Baden-Württem­berg zuversichtlich den zukünftigen Heraus­forderungen stellen. Weitere Infor­ma­tio­­nen finden Sie unter: www.mfg-innovation.de.

Klaus-Haasis-MFG-Hintergrund-orange_kleiner-(2)Der Autor ist seit der Gründung 1995 Ge­­­schäftsführer der MFG Baden-Württem­berg – der Innovationsagentur des Landes für IT und Medien –, die heu­te zu den führen­­den europäischen In­­no­­vations­agenturen zählt. Er hat über 30 Jahre Erfahrung in der Kreativwirtschaft und im ITK-Sektor gesammelt. Er ist ge­­fragter Referent, Dozent, Autor und Bera­ter in Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft.