Karl-Heinz Streibich: Preserving Germany’s innovative strength with clusters

Innovative strength is increasing in significance as a competitive factor but innovations can only be developed in open cooperation with strong partners. On the international market, high levels of efficiency are necessary in order to be able to keep up with global competitive pressure, and companies can only be efficient by achieving economies of scale and optimizing their processes. Eco­­no­­mies of scale can only be achieved through size or cooperation, so global partnerships are necessary, but only local partnerships – or clusters – can create long-term competitive advantages, thereby generating economic growth.

But what are clusters, anyway? They are not geographical piles of companies in a given sector of the economy. Clusters focus on reinforcing a certain profile within a region and focus on a given sector or theme. The air travel cluster of the Ham­­burg metropolitan region is an example. Clusters are greater than the sum of their parts. Cluster first become real when there are concrete, common projects. Clusters become real when they have been inter­­linked and when they communicate and act with each other. Intensive contacts must be fostered within clusters and the key partners must be able to trust each other. Without knowing about each other, none of them can do business with the other(s) and without fundamental trust, partnerships cannot develop. Clus­ters mean short distances, intensive communication, speed and efficiency.

nokia-espoo-finland-1

This makes it possible to discern new trends and turn the results of research to marketable products or services more easily. This avoids dual research and creates value on a joint basis. It is axiomatic that the ability to commercialize research results in the market also means the ability to ensure growth and employment – and Germany certainly has the potential for that. While we known how to turn money into knowledge, we also need to know how to turn knowledge into money again. Successful clusters do this by forming a bridge between science and commerce – including in Germany. Clusters are the right instrument for directly promoting innovation and productivity and are also industrial crystallization centres and motors for innovation.

Successful clusters are more than the medium-sized sector and start-ups. The networks need medium-sized companies and start-ups but they also need global players as “locomotives”. Without global players, the smaller partners in a cluster cannot grow, and can turn the results of research into commercial success only with much difficulty. All figures in the innovation index point to this. Small-to-medium-sized companies often have difficulty in conquering new markets, especially on an inter­national basis. Nowadays, a single working life is no longer enough for a medium-sized company to build up its international visibility.
This is easier to do in association with larger companies. Medium-sized companies benefit from the strength of the “big guys”. And the “big guys” benefit from the flexibility of the “little guys”. The Finnish city of Oulu is a typical example; its economic region is commonly referred to as the most successful cluster in Europe. Indeed, without Nokia, Oulu would probably never have developed as much as it has over the last 20 years.

Clusters also create space for the new. The level of mobility and start-up activities is enormously high in clusters and they also have a large number of patents. Silicon Valley is a classic example. It has ideas, research, specialists, services and venture capital especially for the IT and software fields all packed closely together. Investors based in Silicon Valley do not need to be told about the importance of IT. With a good business idea and the corresponding business plan it is possible to obtain the necessary venture capital in Silicon Valley whereas such an application might be rejected elsewhere. Google, Yahoo or Facebook did not develop there just by chance. Venture capital enables companies to develop a critical mass quickly and for the long term. For SMIs in particular, investors are an important ingredient in generating growth.

011113_UEBERSICHT_01-Kopie

All this shows that, as an organizational principle, promoting clusters is the right method for implementing targeted and successful innovation, research and business policies. The top cluster competition sponsored by German Federal Research Minister Annette Schavan is an important step in reinforcing already-existing clusters in Germany. As part of its high-tech strategy, the German Federal Ministry of Research is investing the right amount of money for the right purpose. As with its Excellence Initiative, it makes use of existing strengths. The so-called “watering can” method is now history once and for all; Germany’s high-tech strategy is the path that this country must take and even the government coalition agreement points in this direction. Only if Germany strengthens its growth industries, that is its research and technology-intensive sectors, with high levels of added value, will it be able to maintain its competitive position as an exporting nation. According to estimates by the Prognos Institute, the software industry alone, which is of particular importance as a cross-sectional technology for the competitiveness of the German economy, will create over 400,000 jobs here by 2030. Positive predictions have also been made for other future-based sectors such as biotechnology, logistics and medical technology. Germany has not yet reached the end of its journey. On an international scale, its clusters are still too small. The potential is there and the country needs to make use of it now.

Karl-Heinz_Streibich_tcm16-41395The author was born in 1952 and studied information technology at the Offenbach Institute of Technology. He began his career at the Dow Chemical Company in 1981. In 1996 Streibich was appointed to the management of debis System­­haus GmbH, where he was responsible for the merger with T-Systems GmbH. Karl ­­Heinz Streibich has been chairman of the executive board of Software AG since 2003.

Karl-Heinz Streibich: Mit Clustern Deutschlands Innovationskraft sichern

Innovationskraft wird immer mehr zum Wettbewerbsfaktor. Innovationen lassen sich nur in offener Zusammenarbeit mit starken Partnern erzielen. Hohe Effizienz ist der Preis, um im globalen Wettbewerbsdruck bestehen zu können. Effizienz erreicht man nur durch Ska­len­erträge und Prozess­optimierungen. Skalenerträge lassen sich nur durch Größe oder Kooperation erzielen. Globale Partnerschaften sind daher notwendig, aber nur lokale Partner­schaften, eben Cluster, schaffen langfristige Wett­bewerbs­­­­vorteile und generieren somit Wirtschafts­­­­wachstum.

Aber was sind Cluster überhaupt? Geografische Anhäufungen von Unter­nehmen einer bestimmten Branche? Nein! Cluster fokussieren sich auf die Stärkung eines bestimmten Profils innerhalb einer Region. Cluster sind spezialisiert auf eine Branche oder ein Thema. So beispielsweise der Luft­­fahrt­­cluster der Metropolregion Hamburg oder der Softwarecluster. Cluster sind mehr als die Summe ihrer Einzelteile. Cluster werden erst real, wenn man konkrete gemeinsame Projekte hat. Cluster werden real, wenn man sich vernetzt, miteinander kommuniziert, miteinander agiert. Es müssen intensive Kontakte gepflegt werden und es muss ein Grund­­ver­­trauen unter den Schlüssel­­­partnern bestehen. Ohne das Wissen übereinander können keine Geschäfte ent­stehen und ohne ein grundlegendes Vertrauen­s­verhältnis keine Partner­schaften. Clus­ter bedeuten kurze Wege, intensive Kommuni­kation, Schnellig­­­keit und Effizienz.

nokia-espoo-finland-1

So können neue Trends erkannt und Forschungsergebnisse entsprechend leichter in Geschäft umgesetzt werden. Doppelforschungen werden so vermieden. Es entsteht eine gemeinsame Wert­schöpfung. Denn eines ist klar: Wer schneller Forschungsergebnisse erfolgreich am Markt etablieren kann, wird Wachstum und Beschäftigung sichern. Da besteht in Deutschland grundsätzlich noch Potenzial. Wir wissen zwar, wie man aus Geld Wissen macht, wir müssen das Wissen aber auch wieder zu Geld machen. Erfolg­reiche Cluster schaffen das. Sie bilden einen Brücken­schlag zwischen Wissen­schaft und Wirtschaft, auch in Deutsch­land. Cluster sind das richtige Instru­ment, um gezielt Innovationen und Produk­tivität zu fördern. Cluster sind industrielle Kristal­lisations­­zentren und Innovations­­mo­­toren.

Erfolgreiche Cluster sind mehr als Mittelstand und Start-ups. Die Netz­werke brauchen Mittelständler und Start-ups, aber sie brauchen auch Global Player als „Lokomotiven“.
Ohne Global Player können die kleineren Partner im Cluster nicht wachsen. Sie können For­schung­s­ergebnisse nur schwer in Markterfolg umwandeln. Alle Zahlen im Innovationsindex weisen darauf hin. Insbesondere bei der Inter­nationali­sie­rung tun sich kleine Mittel­ständler oft schwer, neue Märkte zu erobern. Heute reicht ein Berufs­leben nicht mehr aus, damit sich ein Mittel­ständler internatio­nale Sicht­barkeit verschaffen kann. Im Verbund mit größeren Unternehmen ist das leichter. Mittelständler profitieren durch die Wirkkraft der „Großen“. Und die „Großen“ profitieren durch die Flexi­bilität der „Kleinen“. Nehmen wir das Beispiel der finnischen Stadt Oulu, deren Wirt­schafts­region gemeinhin als eines der erfolgreichsten Cluster in Europa gilt. Ohne die Rolle von Nokia hätte sich Oulu wahrscheinlich nicht so entwickelt, wie es in den letzten 20 Jahren der Fall war.

Cluster schaffen auch Raum für Neues. Die Mobilität und die Gründungs­­­aktivitäten sind in Clustern enorm hoch. Auch die Anzahl von Patenten steigt. Nehmen wir als Beispiel das Silicon Valley. Dort gibt es Ideen, For­schung, Fachkräfte, Dienst­leist­ungen sowie Venture Capital, speziell für den IT- und Softwarebereich auf engstem Raum. Einem Investor, der in Silicon Valley sitzt, muss man die Bedeutung von IT nicht erst erklären. Mit einer guten Idee und dem entsprechenden Businessplan kommt man so an das notwendige Venture Capital heran, das einem woanders möglicherweise verwehrt bleibt. Google, Yahoo oder Facebook sind nicht zufällig dort entstanden. Unternehmen bekommen so schnell und nachhaltig eine kritische Größe. Gerade für KMU sind Investoren ein wichtiger Bestandteil, um Wachs­tum generieren zu können.

011113_UEBERSICHT_01-Kopie

Das alles zeigt: Clusterförderung ist als Organisationsprinzip die richtige Methode, eine zielgerichtete und er­folg­­reiche Inno­­vations-, Forschungs- und Wirtschafts­politik zu betreiben. Der Spitzen­­cluster­­wettbewerb von Forsch­ungs­­­­­­­­­­­ministerin Annette Schavan ist ein wichtiger Schritt für die Stärkung der bereits bestehenden Cluster in Deutsch­­­land. Das For­schungs­­mini­s­­te­r­­ium in­ves­­tiert im Rahmen der High­techstrategie die richtige Summe zum richtigen Zweck. Analog zur Exzel­lenz­initiative werden vorhandene Stär­ken gestärkt. Das Gießkannen­prinzip gehört endgültig der Vergangen­heit an. Das ist der Weg, den Deutsch­land gehen muss. Auch der Koalitionsvertrag der Regier­ungs­koalition weist in diese Richtung. Nur wenn wir die Wachstums­in­dustrien stärken, also die forschungs- und technologieintensiven Branchen mit einer hohen Wertschöpfung, können wir unsere Wettbewerbsposition als Export­­nation halten. Alleine die Soft­wareindustrie, die als Querschnitts­technologie für die Wettbewerbs­­fähigkeit unserer Volks­wirtschaft von essen­­zieller Bedeutung ist, soll nach Schät­z­ungen des Prognos-Instituts bis 2030 über 400.000 Arbeitsplätze in Deutsch­land schaffen. Andere Zukunfts­­bran­chen wie die Bio­techno­logie, die Logistik­­branche oder die Medizin­technik haben ebenfalls positive Prognosen. Denn wir sind noch nicht am Ziel. Unsere Cluster sind im internationalen Vergleich immer noch zu klein. Die Potenziale sind da, wir müssen sie jetzt nutzen.

Karl-Heinz_Streibich_tcm16-41395Der 1952 geborene Autor studierte Nach­­richtentechnik an der Fach­hoch­schule Offenbach. 1981 begann er seine beruf­­liche Laufbahn bei der Dow Chemical Company. 1996 wurde er in die Geschäfts­­führung der debis Systemhaus GmbH berufen, deren Fusion mit T-Systems GmbH er verantwortete. Karl-Heinz Streibich ist seit 2003 Vor­­standsvorsitzender der Software AG.