Kanina Botterweck & Dr. Raimund Mildner: The BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck – A powerful ­connection between research, teaching, service and economy

The BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck is an outstanding life science campus in northern Germany. Here, highly specialised research competence and degree ­programmes as well as innovative high-tech businesses and service partners are united in a synergistic network with an above average positive regional development of city, economy and science. The BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus has become a regional focal point for the Life Science Nord cluster of the LSN e.V. sponsoring association.

The importance of the effect of scientific institutions on regional economies is mentioned often, but rarely quantifiable or backed by concrete figures. For the BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck, this question was answered in 2013 as part of a Prognos study. The direct and indirect value creation effect of joining excellent research, outstanding teaching, tailored service and a continuously growing economy on one campus within walking distance of each other amounts to 118 million euros. This is made possible by the clever orchestration of complementary competences from the various scientific institutions.

Transfer-OP, University of Lübeck

Transfer-OP, University of Lübeck

In addition, the BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus is also closely linked to the city. Lübeck is a city of science. In 2012 and led by science manager Dr. Iris Klaßen, Lübeck won the title of “City of Science”, a competition by the Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft. This great combination of BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus, the ‘House of Science’ and strongly science oriented foundations like the Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck and the Sparkassen­stiftung zu Lübeck makes it possible to provide the citizens of the city with scientific inspirations. Support­­ing projects, such as the university’s Schülerakademie (academy for pupils) and the junior campus of the Luebeck University of Applied Sciences, which offer pedagogically well-thought out programmes for pupils who are still in school, are a means to this end. Inte­grating scientific institutions into society in this manner is a certainly fundamental pillar of the BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus.

A second pillar is the successful cooperation of the Luebeck Univ­ersity of Applied Sciences and the University of Lübeck in the fields of biomedical engineering; this has developed into a supra-­­regionally competitive cluster structure over the years. Establishing the competence centre TANDEM (Technology and Engineering in Medicine) was promoted by the ERDF programme and the State Schleswig-Holstein. TANDEM is the umbrella organisation for the research college LUMEN (Luebeck Medical Engineering) of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research at which twelve up-and-­coming doctoral candidates are currently writing their theses in a cooperative process between the University of Lübeck and Luebeck University of Applied Sciences.

And last but not least, a third pillar consists of serendipity and people who are open to trusting each other. This situation enables profound cooperation with a high level of interconnectivity to be carried out. For the BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus, these people were the two past presidents of the University of Lübeck and Luebeck Uni­versity of Applied Sciences, Prof. Dr. med. Peter Dominiak and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Bartels, whose visionary strength made this composition of partners with complementary knowledge and a joint focus on life science possible.

Tumour growth simulation, Institute of Medical Engineering of the University of Lübeck

Tumour growth simulation, Institute of Medical Engineering of the University of Lübeck

Three-dimensional structure of the Zika virus protease

Three-dimensional structure of the Zika virus protease

The University of Lübeck and the Luebeck University of Applied Sciences are at the core of the BioMedTec Wissen­­schaftscampus, which developed from their contribution of content and long-term cooperation in the field of medical technology. The research profile of the University of Lübeck includes the research topics “Infection & Inflammation”, “Brain, Behaviour and Metabolism” and “Biomedical Engineering Science”. The application-oriented research areas of the Luebeck University of Applied Sciences, including “Bio­medical Engineering”, “Industrial Biotechnology” and “Electrical Engineering and Computer Science”, complement the university’s competencies. Two Fraunhofer institutions further extend the scientific spectrum. The Institution for Marine Biotechnology (EMB) is the leader in cell technology and the Fraunhofer MEVIS Project Group is a certified expert on all issues of image registration. The fifth publicly funded research institution to partner up with BioMedTec is the Research Center Borstel, a Leibniz Institute dedicated to infection and lung research.

IncubatorCube on Campus Lübeck

IncubatorCube on Campus Lübeck

In addition to the research institutions, the supporting partners also provide an important contribution to the stability of the network. The deep belief and commitment that strong research is an engine of growth for creating jobs in the region is what makes the network unique. Apart from the foundations in Lübeck, the Chamber of Commerce and Industry Lübeck and the Technikzentrum Lübeck TZL (technology centre) were the ones to make crucial contributions for the University of Lübeck to win the title of being one of six German EXIST start-up universities. The importance of high-tech spin-off companies as innovators and job drivers cannot be understated in the economic structure of Schleswig-Holstein, which is not marked by large companies. And finally, the cooperation with the ministries of Schleswig-Holstein is excellent for this very reason.

portrait-kaninabotterweckKanina Botterweck
Kanina Botterweck studied physics and business administration and worked in various management positions at Weidmüller and Philips for ten years before transferring to the University of Lübeck in 2010, where she expanded and headed the staff position for technology transfer. She was one of the main developers of the BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus concept and was responsible for its implementation. In 2016, she changed sides and became an entrepreneur, concentrating fully on the Infinite Science GmbH (www.infinite-science.de), a conference service provider and scientific publishing house.
foto-von-a1-plakat-tzlDr. Raimund Mildner
Dr. Raimung Mildner studied social sciences and economics. After working in industry-related research for several years, he built the TECHNIKZENTRUM Lübeck into one of the largest business incubators in Germany. The UniTranferKlinik is also headed by him and supports the Industrie-in-Klinik platform as well as the testing environment Industrie-4.0 in Lübeck, including FabLab and start-up support in the field of medical products.

Kanina Botterweck & Dr. Raimund Mildner: Der BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck – Ein kraftvolles Segel zwischen Forschung, Lehre, Dienstleistung und Wirtschaft

Der BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck ist ein herausragender Life-Science-Campus im Norden Deutschlands. Hier sind hochspezialisierte Forschungskompetenzen und Studiengänge sowie innovative High-Tech-Unternehmen und Dienstleistungspartner zu einem synergetischen Netz mit überdurchschnittlich positiver regionaler Entwicklung von Stadt, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft verbunden. Der BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus hat sich inzwischen als regionaler Schwerpunkt im Cluster Life Science Nord des Trägerverein LSN e.V. etabliert.

Die regionalökonomische Bedeutung der Wirkung wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen wird oft beschworen, ist jedoch häufig nicht quantifizierbar, nicht mit Zahlen zu belegen. Für den BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus in Lübeck hat man diese Frage 2013 im Rahmen einer Prognos-Studie beantwortet. 118 Millionen Euro stark sind die direkten und indirekten Wert­­­schöp­­fungseffekte des Schulterschlusses zwischen exzellenter Forschung, ausgezeichneter Lehre, zugeschnittener Dienst­­leistung und stetig wachsender Wirtschaft fokussiert auf einem gemeinsamen Campusgelände mit fußläufigen Ent­­fernungen zwischen den Einrichtungen. Dies gelingt durch geschickte Orchestrierung komplementärer Kompetenzen der verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen.

Transfer-OP, Universität zu Lübeck

Transfer-OP, Universität zu Lübeck

Der BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus ist darüber hinaus sehr eng vernetzt mit seiner Stadt. Lübeck ist Stadt der Wissen­­schaft. Im Jahr 2012 gewann Lübeck unter Leitung der Wissen­­schaft­­smanagerin Dr. Iris Klaßen den Titel Stadt der Wissen­schaft, ein Wettbewerb des Stifterverbandes der Deutschen Wissenschaft. Diese starke Achse vom BioMedTec Wissen­­schafts­­campus in die Stadt mit dem Haus der Wissenschaften auf der einen Seite und den stark den Wissenschaften zugewandten Stiftungen wie der Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck und der Sparkassenstiftung zu Lübeck auf der anderen Seite ermöglicht den Transfer wissenschaftlicher Inspiration tief in die Bürger­gesellschaft hinein. Dies geschieht unter anderem durch die Unterstützung von Projekten wie der Schüler­aka­­demie der Universität und dem Juniorcampus der Fachhochschule Lübeck, die pädagogisch differenziert ausgearbeitete Pro­­gramme für Schulkinder anbietet. Ganz sicher ist diese gesellschaftliche Einbettung der wissenschaftlichen Ein­rich­­tungen eine Säule des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus.

Eine zweite Säule ist die langjährig gewachsene erfolgreiche Kooperation der Fachhochschule Lübeck und Universität zu Lübeck im Bereich der Biomedizintechnik, die sich überregional zu einer kompetitiven Clusterstruktur entwickelt hat. Gefördert durch das EFRE-Programm und das Land Schleswig-Holstein wurde das Kompetenzzentrum TANDEM (Technology and Engineering in Medicine) aufgebaut, unter dessen Schirm das BMBF Forschungskolleg LUMEN (Lue­­beck Medical Engineering) eingeworben werden konnte, in dem derzeit zwölf Nachwuchswissenschaftler/-innen in einem kooperativen Verfahren zwischen Universität zu Lübeck und Fachhochschule Lübeck promovieren.

In einer dritten Säule sind es aber nicht zuletzt glückliche Fügungen und Menschen, die sich vertrauensvoll begegnen, die tiefgreifende Kooperationen mit hohem Vernetzungsgrad ermöglichen. Im Falle des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus waren diese Menschen die beiden Altpräsidenten der Uni­ver­­sität zu Lübeck und der Fachhochschule Lübeck, Pro­­fessor Dr. med. Peter Dominiak und Professor Dr.-Ing. Stefan Bartels, deren visionärer Stärke es zu verdanken ist, dass die Kompo­sition der Partner mit komplementären Expertisen bei gleichzeitiger Fokussierung auf die Life-Sciences gelingen konnte.

Tumorwachstumssimulation, Institut für Medizintechnik der Universität zu Lübeck

Tumorwachstumssimulation, Institut für Medizintechnik der Universität zu Lübeck

Dreidimensionale Struktur der Zikavirus-Protease

Dreidimensionale Struktur der Zikavirus-Protease

Die Universität zu Lübeck sowie die Fachhochschule Lübeck bilden den Kern des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus, der sich durch die inhaltliche Saat und die langjährige Kooperation im Bereich der Medizintechnik entwickelt hat. Das For­schungsprofil der Universität zu Lübeck wird gebildet durch die Forschungsschwerpunkte „Infektion und Ent­zün­­dung“, „Gehirn, Hormone und Verhalten“ sowie „Bio­me­di­­zintechnik“. Die anwendungsorientierten Forschungsbereiche der Fachhochschule Lübeck, z. B. „Biomedizintechnik“, „In­­dustrielle Biotechnologie“, „Elektrotechnik und Informatik“, ergänzen komplementär die Kompetenzen der Uni­ver­­sität. Zwei Fraun­­hofer-Aktivitäten verstärken das wissen­­schaftliche Spektrum weiter. Die Einrichtung für Marine Biotechnologie (EMB) ist führend im Bereich der Zell­technologie, die Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe MEVIS ist aus­­gewiesene Expertin für alle Fragen der Bild­re­gis­trierung. Fünfter BioMedTec-Partner im Bereich der öffentlich geförderten Forschungseinrichtungen ist das Forschungszentrum Borstel, das sich als Leibniz-Institut der Infektions- und Lungenforschung verschrieben hat.

GründerCube auf dem Campus Lübeck

GründerCube auf dem Campus Lübeck

Neben den Forschungseinrichtungen liefern die unterstützenden Partner einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Sta­bi­­lität des Verbundes. Besonders ist das klare Be­­kenntnis, dass starke Forschung als Wachstumsmotor Arbeitsplätze in der Region schafft. So haben neben den Lübecker Stiftungen gerade die IHK zu Lübeck und das Technikzentrum Lübeck TZL mit ihrem beispielhaften Engagement maßgeblich zu dem Titelgewinn der Uni­versität zu Lübeck als eine von bundesweit sechs Hoch­­schulen als EXIST-Gründer­hoch­schule beigetragen. In einer nicht durch Großunter­nehmen geprägten Wirt­schaftsstruktur des Landes Schleswig-Holstein ist die Bedeutung der High-Tech-Ausgründungen als Inno­vations- und Jobmotor nicht hoch genug einzuordnen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Ministerien des Landes Schleswig-Holstein ist nicht zuletzt deswegen exzellent.

portrait-kaninabotterweckKanina Botterweck
Kanina Botterweck studierte Physik und BWL und war über zehn Jahre in verschiedenen Managementfunktionen bei Weidmüller und Philips tätig, bevor sie im Jahr 2010 an die Universität zu Lübeck ging und dort die Stabsstelle Technologietransfer aufbaute und leitete. Sie entwickelte dabei maßgeblich die Konzepte des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus und verantwortete deren Umsetzung. Im Jahr 2016 wechselte sie die Seiten, um sich als Gründerin ganz auf die Infinite Science GmbH, einen Konferenzdienstleister und Wissen­schaftsverlag, zu konzentrieren (www.infinite-science.de).

foto-von-a1-plakat-tzlDr. Raimund Mildner
Dr. Raimund Mildner studierte Sozialwissenschaften und Volkswirtschaft. Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit in der industrienahen Forschung baute er das von der Lübecker Wirtschaft getragene TECHNIKZENTRUM Lübeck zu einem der größten Gründer-Zentren in Deutschland auf. Die auch von ihm geführte UniTransferKlinik betreut u. a. die Industrie-in-Klinik-Plattform sowie die Testumgebung Industrie-4.0 in Lübeck samt FabLab und StartUp-Unterstützung im Bereich der Medizinprodukte.