Josef Unger: From Austria to Central and Eastern Europe

Economic growth in Central and East­­ern European (CEE) countries is continuing unabated. The total economic perform­­ance of the ten newest EU mem­­­­­­bers in Eastern Europe is predicted to increase by 1.5 per cent in 2012 and 3.2 per cent in 2013, although the gap between Po­­land, the Czech Republic and Slovakia and the countries with weaker growth and lower incomes is expected to widen. Des­­pite this, many CEE countries remain at­­tractive markets; Poland, Ukraine and of course Russia are currently particularly interesting. Predicted eco­­nomic growth in Russia is currently 4.3 per cent – reason enough for many Aus­­trian companies to expand into the East­­ern Euro­­pean market.

For the Unger Steel Group, Russia – along with other CEE countries – is a re­­levant and strategic target market. As a ‘first mover’, the Unger Steel Group began driving forward its own expansion be­­yond Aus­­tria’s borders dec­­ades ago. Examples include Russia, Hun­­gary, Ro­­­­mania, Turk­­­­­me­nis­­tan and Moldo­­va. As a specialist and ge­­neralist in the divisions in steel construc­­tion, general contracting and real estate, the Unger Steel Group ma­­n­­­­­ages nu­­merous projects in Austria and international.


UngerReferenz_Porsche_Moskau_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie UngerReferenz_Neue_Mitte_Lehen_Salzburg_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group_002-Kopie UngerReferenz_Gebrueder_Weiss_Bukarest_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie UngerReferenz_Galzigbahn_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie

Requirements for market development in Eastern Europe. In order to be able to make investments in CEE countries and realize construction projects quickly, safely and as desired, it is essen­­tial to be very familiar with the market re­­quire­­­­­­ments and have the appro­­priate exper­­tise in the country.

Trust plays a major role in expansion abroad. Unger provides its customers with long-term sup­port in their mar­­ket ex­­pansion and always accompanies them wherever their projects are planned. The key advan­­­­­tage of cooperation between Unger and its partner companies is mu­­tual understanding when it comes to high quality standards, adherence to schedules and general values such as trust and sense of responsibility. Aus­­trian expertise and quality are highly valued in Eu­­rope and around the world. In the CEE countries themselves, every effort is being made to achieve West­­ern standards quickly, making Unger a sought-after on-site part­­­ner. Both clients and companies in the various countries value this work at a high level, allowing the Unger Steel Group to implement con­struction projects of various sizes in the CEE area and around the world, to meet European quality standards and to bring added value into the country.

The Unger Steel Group stands for punc­­tuality when implementing its projects. Unger stands for punctual completion of its services. Many construction pro­­jects are implemented and completed long be­­­­fore the planned end of con­­struc­­­­tion – that means often earlier. In this way, Unger sup­­ports its customers’ success sustainably by ad­­her­­ing to schedules, re­­gard­­less of the country and its market conditions at the time. This guarantees the client a secure planning and safety in project handling. Timings are kept and goals achieved.

UngerReferenz_Burj_Khalifa-Kopie

Unger’s many years of presence in CEE and its specific country and industry ex­­per­­tise result in practical benefits and make actions on the market easier for the long term. Extensive market knowl­­­­edge, also in new countries, and many years of experience across mul­­ti­­ple sectors throughout the entire con­­­­struc­­tion indus­­try support Unger’s serv­­ices. Unger is familiar with the general requirements and conditions and has the key certi­­fi­ca­­­tions and construction permits, as well as an inter­­­­­national net­­work of sup­­pliers and stable partnerships.

Despite completing a high proportion of the work itself, attention is paid to re­­gio­nal value of each country, supporting the com­­­­­pany’s good reputation as a fair part­­ner and ensuring a strong alliance with the coun­­try in question – a factor which cre­­ates enormous benefits for the customers and makes regional implemen­­tation much easier. Along with competence and exper­­­­tise, it is flexibility and orientation to­­wards solutions which have earned Unger the reputation which allows the company to act so quickly and suc­­cessfully abroad.

Unger-Headquarter_Oberwart_Luftaufnahme-Kopie

Unger Steel Group in CEE. Unger’s suc­­cess began 20 years ago in Russia. OOO Unger Steel has had an office in Moscow since 1992, right in the centre of the city on Strastnoj Boulevard. From this branch, the Unger team supports customers in Russia and beyond its bor­­­­ders. With around 100 staff, the team works closely together with the headquarters in Aus­­tria, guaran­­teeing the best possible cus­­tomer service. From finding a plot, to plan­­ning, implemen­­tation and construc­­­tion, all the way to the handover of a ready-to-use project – Unger re­­pres­­­ents full service in con­­struc­­­­­­tion pro­­jects of all kinds.

Along with numerous references in plant engineering, hall constructions, industrial buildings and office buildings, the Unger Group’s portfolio includes shopping centres, power plants and sports-, leisure- and multi-purpose constructions, exhibitions and event buildings, car dealerships, airports, multi-storey car parks, hotel- and housebuildings as well as architectural steel constructions.

Romania has been established as an­­other central lo­­cation for the Unger Group in Eastern Europe. Based in Bucha­­rest, Unger Steel Buildings SRL was founded in 1998 as a 100 per cent subsidiary of the Austrian Unger Stahl­­bau Ges.m.b.H. With 35 staff in customer support and assembly, the company also offers di­­rect access to all Unger Group services from here. Cus­­tom­­­ers from Ro­­­mania and the rest of Eu­­rope benefit from proximity to the Unger Group; ex­­amples include Baumit, Gebrueder Weiss, Draexlmaier Group and Metro. The highest building in Bucha­­rest, the Bu­­charest Tower Center, is a famous reference project realized by the Unger Group.

Unger_Steel_Middle_East-(2)-Kopie

From Austria and the United Arab Emi­­rates to the world. The Unger Steel Group has two high-performance production plants – one in Aus­­tria and one in the Emi­rate Sharjah in the United Arab Emi­­rates. Both plants serve as lo­­gistical hubs for first-class deliveries in the shortest amount of time and thus make Unger an attractive and competitive partner in the international market. With a total annual capacity of 70,000 tonnes of the two plants, a wide variety of projects, any­­thing from small projects to complete solutions for complex and tech­­nically demanding construction projects, can be executed quickly and efficiently.

Josef-Unger_CEO-Unger-Steel-Group_1-KopieBorn in 1954, the author is the owner and managing director of the Unger Steel Group. Engineer Josef Unger took over his father’s business in 1986 with just five staff. Unger was named “Best Fam­­ily Business” by Wirtschaftsblatt in 2010. Today, the Unger Steel Group, an Aus­­trian corporation with over 20 branches in the executing construction industry, is one of Europe’s leading and most interna­­tionally successful industrial companies.

Josef Unger: Von Österreich nach Zentral- und Osteuropa

Das Wirtschaftswachstum in den zen­­tral- und osteuropäischen Ländern ent­­­­­­­­wickelt sich stetig weiter. Insge­samt wird die Wirt­­schaftsleistung der zehn jüngsten Mitglieder der Euro­pä­ischen Union in Osteuropa vor­­aus­­sicht­­­­­­­­lich um 1,5 Prozent wachsen und im Jahr 2013 auf 3,2 Prozent ansteigen, wobei sich Polen, Tschechien und die Slo­­wa­­­kei deut­­lich absetzen werden. Den­­­­noch bleiben viele Central Eastern Eu­­rope (CEE) Län­­der weiterhin attrak­­tive Märkte; derzeit interessant sind Polen, die Ukraine und natürlich Russ­­­land.

Zur Zeit liegt das prognos­­ti­zierte Wirt­schaftswachstum in Russ­­land bei 4,3 Pro­­­zent. Grund genug für zahlreiche österreichische Unter­­neh­­­­­men, in die ost­­­­­­­­­­euro­­päischen Märkte zu expan­­dieren.

Für die Unger Steel Group ist Russland, neben anderen CEE-Ländern, ein re­­le­­­­vanter und strategischer Zielmarkt. Die Unger Steel Group hat als „First Mover“ bereits vor Jahrzehnten die eigene Ex­­­­pan­­sion über die Grenzen Österreichs vor­­angetrieben. Dies gilt beispielsweise für Russland, Ungarn, Rumänien, Turk­­­menistan oder Moldawien. Als Spezia­­list und Generalist in den Bereichen Stahl­­­­­­bau, Generalunternehmung und Real Estate managt die Unger Steel Group dabei etliche Projekte im In- und Aus­­land.


UngerReferenz_Porsche_Moskau_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie UngerReferenz_Neue_Mitte_Lehen_Salzburg_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group_002-Kopie UngerReferenz_Gebrueder_Weiss_Bukarest_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie UngerReferenz_Galzigbahn_(c)-Unger-Steel-Group-Kopie

Voraussetzungen für die Markt­ent­wick­­­­­­lung in Osteuropa. Um in den CEE-Län­­­­dern Investitionen in Form von Bau­­­vor­­haben zügig, sicher und wunsch­ge­­mäß umsetzen zu können, gilt es, die markt­­spezifischen Rahmen­­bedin­gun­gen exakt zu kennen und die entsprechende Kom­­­­­­petenz im Land zu haben.

Bei der Expansion ins Ausland spielt Ver­­­­­­trauen eine zentrale Rolle. Unger steht seinen Kunden langfristig bei deren Markt­­­­­­erweiterung zur Seite und be­­glei­­tet sie stets dorthin, wo Projekte ge­­plant sind. Der wesentliche Vorteil der Zu­­sam­­men­arbeit zwischen Unger und seinen Part­­nerunternehmen liegt im ge­­gen­­sei­­tigen Verständnis, was den hohen Quali­­täts­an­­spruch, die Termin­­treue und allgemeine Werte wie Ver­­trauen und Ver­­­­ant­­­wor­tungs­­bewusst­sein betrifft. Know-how und Qualität aus Öster­­reich treffen auf große Wertschätzung in Europa und welt­­weit. In den CEE-Län­­dern selbst ist man bestrebt, zügig die westlichen Stan­­­­dards zu erreichen, was Unger zum be­­gehr­­ten Baupartner vor Ort macht. So­­­­wohl Auf­­traggeber als auch Firmen im jeweiligen Land schätzen die Arbeit auf hohem Ni­­veau und so ist die Unger Steel Group in der Lage, Bau­­pro­­jekte unterschiedlicher Größenordnung im CEE-Raum und weltweit zu reali­­­sie­­­­ren, da­­bei den europäischen Quali­­täts­an­sprü­­­chen gerecht zu werden und gleich­­zeitig einen Mehrwert ins Land zu bringen.

Die Unger Steel Group steht für Ter­­min­­­­treue bei der Umsetzung seiner Pro­­jek­­te. Viele Bau­vor­­haben werden deut­­lich vor dem geplanten Bauende – somit frühzeitig – realisiert und fertig gestellt. So unterstützt Unger den Er­folg seiner Kunden nachhaltig durch die Ein­­­­haltung der zeit­­lichen Vorgaben, unabhängig vom jewei­­ligen Land und den aktu­­ellen Rahmen­­bedingungen. Dies ga­­ran­­tiert dem Auf­­traggeber Planungs­­sicherheit und Sor­­gen­­freiheit. Timings werden gehalten und Ziele erreicht.

UngerReferenz_Burj_Khalifa-Kopie

Die jahrelange Präsenz in CEE und die spezifischen Länder- und Branchen­­kom­­­­­­petenzen bringen praktischen Nutzen und erleichtern das Agieren am Markt nachhaltig. Umfassende Markt­kenntnis, auch in neuen Ländern, sowie die lang­­jährige und branchenübergreifende Er­­­fah­rung in der gesamten Bauindustrie unterstützen die Leistungen. Unger kennt die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und verfügt über die wesentlichen Zerti­­fi­zie­­­­rungen und Bauzulassungen sowie über ein internationales Zulieferer-Netz und stabile Partnerschaften.

Trotz des hohen Eigenleistungsanteils wird auf die regionale Wertschöpfung geachtet, was den guten Ruf des Unter­­nehmens als fairer Partner unterstützt und für eine starke Allianz mit dem jeweiligen Land sorgt. Ein Umstand, der Kunden enorme Vorteile verschafft und regionale Abwicklungen sehr verein­­fa­chen kann. Flexibilität und Lösungs­orien­­tiert­­heit haben Unger – neben Kom­pe­tenz und Know-how – jene Reputation eingebracht, mit der das Unternehmen heute im Ausland so erfolgreich wie schnell agieren kann.

Unger-Headquarter_Oberwart_Luftaufnahme-Kopie

Unger Steel Group in CEE. Vor 20 Jah­­ren startete Unger erfolgreich in Russ­­land. Die OOO Unger Steel hat seit 1992 ein Büro in Moskau, unmittelbar im Stadt­­­­zentrum am Strastnoj Boulevard. Von dieser Niederlassung aus betreut das Unger-Team Kunden im russischen Raum und über die Grenzen hinaus. Das rund 100 Mitarbeiter starke Team ar­­beitet eng mit dem Hauptsitz in Öster­­reich zu­­sam­­men, wodurch ein optimaler Kun­­­­den­­ser­­vice gewährleistet wird. Begin­­nend von der Grundstückssuche über die Pla­­nung, Abwicklung und Montage bis hin zur schlüsselfertigen Übergabe, steht Unger für Full-Service bei Bau­­pro­­­­jekten aller Art.

Neben zahlreichen Referenzen im An­­­lagenbau, Hallen- Industriebau und Büro­­­­­bau zählen auch Einkaufszentren, Kraft­­­­­­werke oder Sport-, Freizeit- und Mehr­­zweckbauten sowie Messe- und Ver­­an­­stal­­tungsbauten, Autohäuser, Flug­­häfen, Parkhäuser, Hotel- und Wohn­­bauten als auch der architektonische Stahlbau zum Portfolio der Unger Gruppe.

Ein weiterer zentraler Standort Ost­­­­eu­­­­ro­­pas hat sich für die Unger Gruppe in Ru­­mänien etabliert: Unger Steel Build­­ings SRL mit Sitz in Bukarest wurde 1998 als hundertprozentige Tochter­­fir­­ma der österreichischen Unger Stahl­­bau Ges.m.b.H. gegründet. Mit 35 Mit­­­­­­ar­­bei­­­­tern in Kundenbetreuung und Mon­­tage bietet das Unternehmen auch hier den direkten Zugang zu sämtlichen Leis­­­­tungen der Unger Gruppe. Kunden aus Rumänien ebenso wie aus dem rest­­lichen Europa profitieren von der ört­­lichen Nähe der Unger Gruppe: so bei­­­­­­­­spielsweise auch der Baustoffhersteller Baumit, Gebrüder Weiss, Dräxlmaier Group oder Metro. Ein renommiertes Vorzeigeobjekt der Unger Gruppe ist das höchste Gebäude in Bukarest, das Bu­­charest Tower Center.

Unger_Steel_Middle_East-(2)-Kopie

Von Österreich und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten in die Welt. Die Unger Steel Group verfügt über zwei leistungsstarke Produktionsstätten, eine in Österreich und eine im Emirat Sharjah in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Beide Werke bilden logistische Dreh­­scheiben für erstklassige Lieferungen in kürzester Zeit und machen Unger im internationalen Umfeld attraktiv und wettbewerbsfähig. Mit einer Gesamt­­ka­pazität beider Werke von 70.000 Tonnen jährlich werden vielfältigste Projekte, beginnend mit Kleinprojekten bis hin zur Komplettlösung komplexer und technisch anspruchsvoller Bauvor­haben, rasch und effizient abgewickelt.

Josef-Unger_CEO-Unger-Steel-Group_1-KopieDer 1954 geborene Autor ist Eigentümer und Geschäftsführer der Unger Steel Group. 1986 hat er den väterlichen Be­­­trieb mit fünf Mit­­arbeitern übernommen. Unger wurde 2010 vom Wirt­­schaftsblatt als „Bestes Familien­­unter­­nehmen“ ausgezeichnet. Heute zählt die Unger Steel Group in der ausführenden Bauindustrie zu den international erfolg­­reichsten Indus­­­­triebetrieben Europas.