John Dew: Darmstadt making theatre history

Is there a company with a staff of 500 from some 35 countries in a city of only 142,000 inhabitants? Yes, indeed! The Darmstadt state theatre happens to be one such rarity.

jesus_christ_superstar_07

How is that possible? I believe it has to do with the inter­national renown of Darmstadt’s culture. For a connoisseur of theatre history, Darmstadt is of particular interest. The tradition of a permanent theatre operation has been around here for 300 years. Here, theatre history was made multiple times. In the 19th century, for example, Germany’s largest ballet was found here, and during the Weimar Republic, this was among Europe’s most exciting scenes. After World War II, theatre life flourished again thanks to the broad support of the citizens of Darmstadt and the state of Hesse.

Artists from a vast variety of cultural circles were drawn to Darmstadt to enter the great tradition of this theatre. Interestingly, visitors often marvel at the harmony that results from the collaboration between people from so many cultures and countries. One may think that commu­­nication alone would be an insurmountable obstacle. But that is not the case, and I think that language alone will never become such an obstacle. Case in point: many a staff member switches between German, English, Italian, French or Russian with ease.

gisei_08

Given such cross-cultural coexistence, I often wonder about the meaning of “dominant culture”. Here in Darmstadt, we perform plays from a variety of different countries, but still have no trouble identifying with the German cultural tradition.

My conviction is that only the merging of the various influences by the theatre staff with the rootedness in German culture is what enables us to open up new theatre directions. In my opinion, tradition is like a tree – one must take care of the roots to be able to grow fruit. Incidentally, a big problem I find with our school system is that it neglects those roots. Culture is history, and without learning where we come from, we cannot know why we are here nor where we would like to go.


figaro_01

Even though the union between artist and audience seemed to break in the wake of the change following the movement of 1968, my goal is precisely to rebuild that bridge. The success of that endeavour can be meas­­ured by the rising number of our visitors. As a matter of fact, we have been put in the fortunate position of re­­cording the highest level of visitors since 1989. The enormous rise in the number of youths and students who have visited the theatre in recent years demonstrates that the much cited demographic imbalance of our society has not condemned theatre to death. On the contrary, so long as art remains creative, it will always find an audience.

Neues-BildJohn Dew was born in Cuba in 1944 and grew up in New York, where he studied art history and set design. From 1982 to 1995, Dew was opera stage director at the Bielefeld city theatre. He has had productions in Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig, Zurich, Cologne, Düsseldorf, Stuttgart, Karlsruhe, Paris, Prague, London, Madrid, Houston, Taipei, Salzburg, and Vienna. From 1995 to 2001, the author was director of the Dortmund theatre. Since the 2004/2005 season, he has been artistic direc­­tor of the Darmstadt state theatre. Darmstadt productions to date: “Oedipus the Tyrant”, “Antigonae”, “Apollo et Hyacinthus/The Obligation of the First Commandment”, “The Wise Woman”, “Parsifal”, “La Juive”, “The Mastersingers of Nuremberg”, “Turandot”, “Katja Kabanowa”, “Gisei, the Sacrifice/De temporum fine comoedia”, “Anatevka”, “Fidelio”, and more.

John Dew: Darmstadt schreibt Theatergeschichte

Gibt es einen Betrieb mit über 500 Mitarbeitern aus circa 35 Ländern in einer Stadt mit nur 142.000 Ein­wohnern? Ja, das gibt es! Das Staatstheater Darmstadt ist ein solches Unikum.


jesus_christ_superstar_07

Wie kommt es dazu? Ich denke, das hängt mit dem inter­nationalen Ruf der Darmstädter Kultur zusammen. Für die Kenner der Theatergeschichte ist Darmstadt von besonderem Interesse. Seit 300 Jahren besteht hier die Tradition eines festen Theaterbetriebs. Mehr­fach wurde hier Theatergeschichte geschrieben. Im 19. Jahrhundert war zum Beispiel das größte Ballett Deutschlands in Darmstadt zu finden und während der Weimarer Republik war hier eine der aufregendsten Bühnen in Europa. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg blühte dank der großen Unterstützung der Darmstädter Bürger und des Landes Hessen das Theaterleben wieder auf.
Künstler aus den verschiedensten Kulturkreisen werden nach Darmstadt gezogen, um in die große Tradition dieses Theaters zu treten. Dabei staunen Besucher oft über die Harmonie, die entsteht, wenn Menschen aus so vielen Kulturen und Ländern zusammen arbeiten. Man würde denken, dass allein die Kommunikation dabei eine nicht zu überwindende Hürde darstellt. Dem ist nicht so, und ich denke auch, dass Sprache allein nie zu einer solchen Hürde werden kann. So wechseln viele Mitarbeiter mit Leichtigkeit zwischen Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch, Französisch oder Russisch.

gisei_08

Angesichts eines solch interkulturellen Miteinanders frage ich mich immer, was „Leitkultur“ sein soll. Hier in Darmstadt spielen wir Stücke aus vielen verschiedenen Ländern und haben keine Schwierigkeiten, uns dennoch mit der deutschen Kulturtradition zu identifizieren.
Ich glaube, dass erst das Zusammenschmelzen der ver­schiedenen Einflüsse durch die Mitarbeiter des Theaters mit der Verwurzelung in der deutschen Kultur es uns ermöglicht, neue Richtungen des Theaters entstehen zu lassen. Für mich ist Tradition wie ein Baum – man muss die Wurzeln pflegen, um Früchte zu ernten. Ich sehe hier übrigens ein großes Problem in unserem Schulsystem, das eben diese Wurzeln vernachlässigt. Kultur ist Geschichte und ohne gelernt zu haben, woher wir kommen, können wir nicht wissen, warum wir hier sind oder wohin wir gehen möchten.


figaro_01

Wenn auch im Zuge der Veränderung nach der 1968er Bewegung die Einheit zwischen Künstler und Publikum zu zerbrechen schien, ist es mein Ziel, gerade diese Brücke wieder aufzubauen. Den Erfolg die­­ses Versuchs kann man an der steigenden Anzahl unserer Besucher ablesen.
So sind wir jetzt in die glückliche Lage versetzt worden, den höchsten Stand an Besuchern seit 1989 zu verzeichnen. Auch der enorme Anstieg an Jugend­lichen und Studierenden, die das Theater in den letzten Jahren besucht haben, zeigt, dass die viel beschworene demografische Schieflage unserer Gesellschaft nicht zum Tod des Theaters führt. Im Gegenteil, so lange die Kunst schöpferisch bleibt, wird sie immer ein Publikum finden.

Neues-BildJohn Dew, geboren 1944 auf Kuba, wuchs in New York auf und studierte dort Kunstgeschichte und Bühnenbild. Von 1982 bis 1995 war Dew Ober­­spiel­­leiter der Oper am Stadttheater Bielefeld. Er hatte Inszenie­­rungen in Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig, Zürich, Köln, Düsseldorf, Stuttgart, Karlsruhe, Paris, Prag, London, Madrid, Houston, Taipeh, Salzburg und Wien. Von 1995 bis 2001 war der Autor Generalintendant des Theaters Dortmund. Seit der Spielzeit 2004/2005 ist er Intendant des Staatstheaters Darmstadt. Bisherige Ins­ze­nierungen in Darmstadt: „Oedipus der Tyrann“, „Antigonae“, „Apollo et Hyacinthus/Die Schuldigkeit des Ersten Gebots“, „Die Kluge“, „Parsifal“, „La Juive“, „Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg“, „Turandot“, „Katja Kabanowa“, „Gisei – Das Opfer/De temporum fine comoedia“, „Anatevka“, „Fidelio“ und andere.