Johannes Milla: The capital for communication and spatial multimedia design

German cities merrily compete for rank­­­ings. The Ger­­­­man advertising met­­ropolis is Ham­burg, although this may pain the people in Düssel­dorf. The capital of Ger­man cinema films is Munich. Front-runner in private TV pro­­duction is Cologne. But one thing is clear: Stuttgart is the German capital of spatial communication. The fact that the people of Stuttgart themselves just talk about it in puritan modesty can hard­­ly hide the con­­centrated competence.
Peo­­ple in no other place work as much on the design of science centres, museums, worlds of brand-experience, tempora­ry and perma­nent ex­­­­hibitions as they do here.


designhochdrei04

Productive alliances
What is the reason for this? That is very simple: Stuttgart is not the hot spot of one single discipline. There is rather a vivid network of creators from the most different fields of spe­­cia­li­zation. There are numerous con­­nec­tions from brand communication to its creative neighbouring disciplines, especially to architecture as well as to design and digital technology. Stutt­­­­gart is the home of advertisers, archi­­tects, communications designers, mul­­­­timedia and film art­ists, who do not only know their trade but who are al­­so willing to share their abilities and know­­ledge with others to make a change. Not to forget the stage designers, whose ex­­cellent work contributes to the fact that the opera and theatre has been among the three lead­ing venues of its kind for 30 years. In Stuttgart people combine spatial concepts and sceno­g­­raphy with design and multimedia installations as in no other town in Ger­many.

steiff_03

Architects who break limits
The cooperation between designers of brand communication and architecture is especially productive. That is no won­der, as Stuttgart has a lot to be proud of in terms of architecture.
The south-western metropolitan area is one of the best places for training build­­ers. Günter Behnisch not only went down in German architectural history with his buildings, like his drafts for the Olympic buildings in Munich (1972). The 86-year-old has also always considered architecture as a task of communication. He has left a deep imprint on the architects’ and com­munication scene. Frei Otto, Jörg Schlaich and Werner Sobek teach or taught at the “Institut für leich­te Flä­chen­trag­wer­ke” (institute for light­­weight surface struc­tures) of the university of Stuttgart. Only their airy, spectacular con­­structions of steel cables and glass made it possible to create uncountable prestigious and communicating build­ings like the tent-like roof of the Olympic stadium in Mu­­nich or the station Lehr­ter Bahnhof in Ber­lin.
The border between architecture and spa­­tial communication design is ex­­treme­­ly permeable in Stuttgart. In search of new fields of work beyond groups of re­­s­idential and office buildings, many an architectural office ventures to step into a world of brands or onto the stage of fair communication. The industry-form­­ing works of Kauffmann Theilig & Partner (Mercedes-Benz) or Wulf & Partner (adidas Factory Outlet in Her­­­zogenaurach) are especially successful examples. The engineers Jan Knippers and Thorsten Helbig, who both come from Stuttgart, too, were also involved in creating the roof over the entrance to the Expo of Shanghai, which measures almost one kilometre and spans the principal axis with elegantly suspended membranes and constructions of glass.


steiff_02

Communication experts and designers who think in three dimensions
The landscape of communication ex­­perts and designers who develop innovative brand and experimental environ­ments in Stuttgart is second to none, both in terms of quantity and in terms of quality. On the one hand, there are a lot of nationally active showroom desig­ners. Among them are Hans-Günter Merz and his office, who developed the showroom of the Mercedes-Benz museum in Stutt­gart (opened in 2006) and the Porsche museum in Zuffenhausen (opened in late 2008), the Atelier Brück­ner, which re-designed the BMW museum in Munich, and us, the scenographers at Milla & Partner, who are responsible for the interiors of the Ger­man Expo pavilions in Shanghai 2010, Hanover 2000 and Lis­bon 1998, as well as for designing the exhibition of the World of Steiff, the Siemens museum in Munich and in 2008, ThyssenKrupp’s IdeenPark, which is the world’s biggest temporary science cen­tre with 40,000 square metres of exhibi­­tion space. Our colleagues at Totems (Ger­man pavilion in Zaragoza 2008) and the very three-dimensionally thinking de­­signers of jangled nerves and design hoch drei also staked their claims on the Neckar. Young offices like space4 and LigaNova complement the scene. Ap­­prox­imately 50 per cent of the Ger­man productivity for spatial communication are probably in Stutt­­gart.

janglednerves01

Opportunities for co-operation that take you further
Agencies based in this area can not on­­­ly take advantage of the concentrated know-­how in spatial communication but also of a fine and detailed structure con­­­­sisting of all kinds of different creative serv­­ices. Advertisers, communication ex­­­­perts, spatial or multimedia de­­signers – whoever is carrying out a pro­­ject can easily find a suitable partner in Stutt­gart for realizing his project: from sce­­no­­gra­phers and designers to graphic art­­ists, multimedia specialists and tech­­ni­cians, all on an international level.

Stuttgart is the home of real luminaries in the field of communications de­­sign. One example is the delightful, 85-year-young “giant in typography”, Kurt Wei­de­mann, who penned the Mercedes-Benz logotype and the DB logo. The se­­c­ond generation of his students is active and well-known all over Germany: Büro Uebe­­le and Strichpunkt Design. Strich­punkt has continuously been among the top ten of European design offices and is one of the creative agencies with the most awards in the world.

 


ITFS_Festivalkino_Metropol

Inspiring multimedia know-how
Communications agencies in Stuttgart can draw on plentiful resources when it comes to putting their visions into prac­tice. In this region there are more ex­perts for digital communication and media de­­sign than anywhere else. This is not on­ly due to the high concentration of financially strong clients. Re­­nowned talent fac­tories provide a high level, for example the Media University and the Merz-Akademie in Stuttgart, the Film­aka­de­mie in Ludwigsburg and the Hochschule für Gestaltung (Uni­ver­­sity of Design) in Karlsruhe. An animated film scene has sprung out of the Kunst­­akademie (Aca­de­mie of Applied Arts). In this scene, nu­­merous companies have formed. The in­­ter­national Festival of Animated Film, the second biggest animated film festival in the world, featuring about 500 excellent films in the competition, is a highlight for inspiration and a reason for international ex­­change.

The permeability of disciplinary limits is decisive for the success of people like us who design meeting spaces. There is no other field of communication that has as many exciting overlapping contents with other specialist areas. Thanks to the high concentration of creative forc­es, we do not only find the suitable part­ner for every type of work in Stutt­­gart. In Stuttgart this permeability of disciplinary limits is as much part of the city’s culture as the multidimensio­nal­ity in the minds. Perhaps the topography, which is unique in Germany, is instrumental in developing the spatial way of thinking from childhood: Some­one who lives on, next to or at the bottom of one of the seven hills of Stuttgart, lives “spatial communication”.

 

Johannes-MillaThe author, born in 1961, studied drama, psycholinguistics and turkology in Mu­­nich. After some freelance jobs for the­­­atres, fashion shows and product shows, Johannes Milla joined the practical side of design: He has been the manager and co-owner of Milla & Partner since 1989. In 2002 he worked as a visiting professor for scenography at the Hoch­schule für Gestaltung (University of Applied Arts).

Johannes Milla: Hauptstadt für Kommunikation und multimediale Gestaltung im Raum

Munter wetteifern deutsche Städte um Ranglistenplätze. Die deutsche Wer­­be­metropole ist Hamburg, auch wenn das den Düsseldorfern wehtut. Die Haupt­stadt des deutschen Ki­­no­films ist Mün­chen. Standort Nr. 1 in den Pro­­duk­tions­mühlen des Privat­fern­se­hens ist Köln. Doch eines ist klar: Die deut­­sche Haupt­stadt für Kom­­mu­ni­ka­tion im Raum ist Stutt­­gart. Dass sich die Stuttgarter selbst dazu meist in pu­­ritanischer Zu­­rück­­haltung äußern, kann über die ge­­ballte Kompetenz kaum mehr hinwegtäuschen. Nirgendwo sonst wird so viel an der Gestaltung von Science-Centern, Museen, Marken-Erleb­­nis­wel­ten, tempo­­rären und permanenten Aus­­­stellungen gearbeitet wie hier.


designhochdrei04

Fruchtbare Allianzen
Wie kommt das? Ganz einfach: Stutt­gart ist kein Hot Spot einer einzelnen Disziplin. Hier existiert vielmehr ein le­­ben­diges Geflecht aus Kreato­­ren ver­­schiedenster Fachrichtungen, hier gibt es vielzählige Quer­ver­bin­­dun­gen von der Marken­kom­mu­nika­tion zu ihren schöpferischen Nach­bar­disziplinen, ins­­be­son­dere zur Ar­­chitektur sowie zu De­­sign und Digi­tal­­technik. In Stuttgart sind Wer­ber, Ar­­chitekten, Kommu­ni­ka­tions­­­de­signer, Multimedia- und Film­künst­ler zu Hau­se, die nicht nur ihr Hand­­werk verstehen, sondern auch wil­­lens sind, ihr Können und Wissen mit an­­deren zu teilen, um etwas zu bewegen. Nicht zu vergessen sind die Büh­nen­bildner, die mit ihrer her­vorragenden Arbeit dazu beitragen, dass das Opern- und Schauspielhaus seit 30 Jah­­ren zu den drei führenden Spiel­plät­zen seines Genres gehört. In Stutt­gart wer­­den Raumkonzepte und Szeno­grafie mit Design- und Multimedia-In­stal­la­tio­nen verbunden wie sonst in keiner Stadt Deutschlands.

steiff_03

Architekten, die Grenzen überschreiten
Besonders fruchtbar ist die Zusam­men­­­arbeit zwischen Gestaltern von Mar­ken­­­kommunikation und Archi­­tek­­tur. Kein Wun­der, denn in puncto Ar­­chitektur kann Stuttgart mit einigen Pfunden wu­­chern. Die Südwest-Me­­tropole ist einer der bes­ten Orte für die Ausbildung von Bau­meis­tern. Gün­­ter Behnisch hat sich mit sei­nen Bau­­ten nicht nur in die Annalen der bun­­desdeutschen Architek­­tur­­ge­schich­te eingeschrieben, etwa mit seinen Ent­­wür­fen für die Olym­pia­bauten in Mün­­chen (1972). Der heute 86-Jäh­­rige begreift Ar­­chitektur immer auch als Kom­mu­ni­ka­tionsaufgabe. Die Stutt­­garter Archi­tek­­ten- und Kommuni­ka­­tions­szene hat er tief geprägt. Am Ins­­titut für leichte Flä­chen­tragwerke der Universität Stutt­­gart lehren beziehungs­­weise lehrten Frei Otto, Jörg Schlaich und Werner Sobek.
Ihre luf­tigen, spektakulären Kon­struk­tio­­nen aus Stahlseilen und Glas machten un­­zäh­li­ge repräsentative und kommunizierende Gebäude, wie das Olym­pia­zeltdach in Mün­chen oder den Lehrter Bahnhof in Berlin, erst möglich.
Die Grenze zwischen Architektur und räumlichem Kommunikationsdesign ist in Stuttgart besonders durchlässig. Auf der Suche nach neuen Arbeitsfel­dern jenseits von Wohn- und Büro­kom­plexen wagt so manches Architek­tur­büro den Schritt in eine Markenwelt oder auf das Parkett der Messekom­mu­­nikation. Be­­sonders erfolgreiche Bei­spiele sind die branchenprägenden Ar­­beiten von Kauff­­­mann Theilig & Partner (Mercedes-Benz) oder Wulf & Partner (adidas Fac­tory Out­let in Herzogen­au­rach). Auch bei dem knapp einen Kilo­meter langen Dach am Shanghaier Expo-Eingang, das mit elegant gespannten Membra­nen und Glas­­konstruktionen die Haupt­achse über­spannt, legten Stuttgarter Hand an, die Ingenieure Jan Knippers und Thorsten Helbig.


steiff_02

Kommunikationsexperten und Designer, die in drei Dimensionen denken
Die Landschaft der Kommunikations­ex­perten und Designer, die von Stutt­gart aus innovative Marken- und Erleb­nis­räu­me entwickeln, sucht ihresgleichen, so­­wohl was die Quantität als auch was die Qualität angeht. Da gibt es zum Einen eine ganze Reihe von bundesweit agieren­den Ausstellungs­ge­stal­tern. Da­­zu zäh­­­len Hans-Günter Merz und sein Bü­­ro, das die Ausstellung für das Mer­cedes-Benz Mu­­seum in Stutt­gart (Er­­öffnung 2006) und das Porsche-Mu­seum in Zuf­fenhausen (Eröffnung Ende 2008) entwickelt hat, das Atelier Brück­ner, das das BMW-Mu­seum in Mün­chen neu gestaltete, und wir Szeno­grafen von Milla & Part­ner, die wir für das In­­nen­leben der deut­schen Expo-Pa­vil­lons in Shanghai 2010, Hannover 2000 und Lissabon 1998 verantwortlich sind, so­­wie für die Aus­stel­lungs­ge­stal­tung der Welt von Steiff, des Sie­­mens-Museums in München und des mit 40.000 Qua­dratmetern Ausstel­lungs­­­flä­che größten temporären Science-Cen­ters der Welt, des IdeenParks von Thys­sen­Krupp 2008. Auch die Kol­le­gen von Totems (Deut­scher Pavillon Zara­goza 2008) und die sehr räumlich den­kenden De­­sig­­ner von jangled nerves und design hoch drei haben ihre Claims am Neckar ab­­ge­steckt. Junge Büros wie space4 und Liga­Nova komplettieren die Szene. Schät­­zungsweise 50 Prozent der deutschen Produktivkraft für Kom­mu­ni­kation im Raum dürften in Stuttgart sitzen.

janglednerves01

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten, die weiter­­führen
Neben dem geballten Know-how für räum­­­­­­­­liche Kommunikation können sich hier ansässige Agenturen über eine feinteilig gewachsene Struktur verschie­­dens­­ter kre­a­tiver Dienstleister freuen. Wer­be­­ma­cher, Kommuni­ka­tions­exper­ten, Raum-­ oder Multimedia-Ge­stalter – wer auch im­­mer bei einem Projekt die Zü­­gel in der Hand hält, kann in Stuttgart leicht die passenden Partner für die Reali­sie­rung seiner Vorhaben finden: von Szeno­grafen und Designern bis hin zu Gra­fi­kern, Multi­media-Spe­zia­lis­ten und Tech­­nikern, alles auf internationalem Niveau.

Echte Koryphäen beheimatet Stuttgart im Bereich Kommunikationsdesign. Zum Beispiel den wunderbaren 85 Jahre jun­­gen „Typografiepapst“ Kurt Weide­mann, aus dessen Feder die Schriften von Mercedes-Benz sowie das DB-Logo kom­men. Aus seiner Enkelgeneration sind in der ganzen Republik bekannt und tä­­tig: Büro Uebele und Strichpunkt De­­sign. Konstant unter den Top Ten der eu­­ro­päischen Designbüros, gehört Strich­­punkt zu den meistausgezeichneten Kre­ativagenturen weltweit.


ITFS_Festivalkino_Metropol

Multimedia-Know-how, das inspiriert
Aus dem Vollen schöpfen können Kom­mu­­­ni­kationsagenturen in Stuttgart, wenn es um die multimediale Reali­sie­rung ih­­rer Visionen geht. Hier in der Region gibt es mehr Experten für digitale Kom­mu­nikation und Mediengestaltung als anderenorts. Das liegt nicht nur an der großen Dichte potenter Auftrag­ge­ber. Auch re­­nommierte Talent­schmie­den sorgen für gehobenes Niveau, et­­wa die Hoch­­schule der Medien und die Merz-Akademie in Stuttgart, die Film­akademie in Lud­wigs­burg und die Hoch­­schule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe. Aus der Kunst­akademie ist eine Trick­filmszene hervorgegangen, in der sich etliche Un­­ter­neh­men formiert haben. Inspi­ra­tionshighlight und Anlass des internationalen Aus­tausches ist das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stutt­gart (ITFS), das zweitgrößte Anima­tions­­­film­festival weltweit mit rund 500 herausragenden Wettbewerbsfil­men.

Als Gestalter von Begegnungsräumen ist für uns die Durchlässigkeit der Dis­ziplinengrenzen erfolgsentscheidend. Denn auf kaum einem anderen Gebiet der Kommunikation gibt es so viele span­­nende Überschneidungen zu anderen Fachgebieten. In Stuttgart finden wir, dank der hohen Konzentration kreativer Kräfte, nicht nur für jede Arbeit pas­sen­de Partner von internationalem Ni­­veau. In Stuttgart gehört diese Durch­­läs­­­sigkeit der Disziplinengrenzen ge­­nau­so zur Stadt­kultur wie die Mehr­di­men­sio­na­li­tät in den Köpfen. Viel­leicht ist es die in Deutschland einmalige Topo­grafie, die dafür sorgt, dass sich das räum­liche Denken hier von Kindes­bei­nen an entwickelt: Wer auf, an oder am Fuße eines der sieben Hügel Stutt­garts lebt, lebt „Kom­mu­nikation im Raum“.

Johannes-MillaDer 1961 geborene Autor hat in Mün­chen Theaterwissen­schaften, Psycho­lin­guis­tik und Turkologie studiert. Nach frei­­en Tä­­­­­­­tig­­keiten für Thea­ter, Mo­­de­­­schau­en und Produkt­shows kam Jo­­han­nes Milla zur angewandten Seite von Kre­­a­­tion: Seit 1989 ist er Ge­­schäfts­­füh­rer und Mit­in­haber von Milla & Part­­ner. Im Jahr 2002 nahm er eine Gast­pro­­fessur für Szeno­graphie an der Hoch­­schu­le für Gestal­tung wahr.