Johanna Rumschöttel: Munich county – The “golden ring” of the metropolis

The state capital of Munich is the un­­dis­puted core of the metropolitan area, but the region too, is very important, mainly as a recognized centre of business and industry. Let us, for example, look at the county of Munich, which almost complete­­ly surrounds the state capital like a “gol­­d­­en ring”.

With its approximately 320,000 inhabit­ants, the county of Munich, which in an area of 667 square kilometres compris­es two towns and 27 municipalities, is the third most populous administrative unit in Bavaria behind the city of Munich and Nuremberg, not counting the city districts. It enjoys great popularity as an attractive place to live and do business.

This is not only due to the excellently de­­veloped transport infrastructure including eight motorways, a dense network of public transport services (suburban and underground railways, regional bus lines) and the proximity to Munich Airport at Erdinger Moos.

Kloster_Schäftlarn

Business and science – successful partners in Munich county
A key factor for the significance of the county of Munich as an economic location is its status as a centre of science. Munich county is globally renowned for its four university locations (Garching, Martinsried, Neubiberg, Oberschleiß­heim) and numerous research institutions (in­­cluding six Max Planck Institutes, the München II research reactor, research facilities of EADS, the Allianz Insurance Group and General Electric). Several start-up centres in the vicinity of the universities provide room for young people to realize their ideas. One of the distinguish­­ing features of the region is the intensive cooperation between business and science, which makes sure that research findings are rapidly translated into mar­­ketable products.
This said, the large proportion of high­­ly qualified employees is not surprising. 21.1 per cent of the working population have a university level degree, while the German average is 7.8 per cent.

Balanced mix of industries and company sizes

The corporate landscape is characterized by a balanced mix of industries and com­­pany sizes and focuses on future-orien­t­­ed areas such as media, aerospace, bio­­technology, financial services, medicine and health care as well as communications and information technology.
In terms of productivity, the county takes first place in Germany (129,420 euros/resident – German-wide: 58,299 euros).

Nevertheless, the prosperity of a re­­gion does not merely depend on its econom­­ic power – actually, a number of additio­nal factors are necessary to fuel a strong business region. For ex­­am­­ple, Mu­­­­nich county has also an ex­­cel­lent so­­cial infra­structure. This in­­cludes a needs-oriented provision of child-care facilities, pro­­active youth work and ad­­e­­­­­­quate nursing services which are con­­­­tinuously adjusted to changing re­­­quire­ments. Increasing con­­sideration is be­­­­­­­ing given to social shifts and problems, for instance by establishing a well-developed network of advisory serv­­­­­­ices and an anti-poverty programme. Another priority issue is educational pol­­icy. A schools de­­vel­op­ment plan has been drawn up to show decision makers the way towards providing future-oriented educational offers at secondary school level.

Uni_Garching2

Forward-looking policy includes protecting the environment
Even though the county of Munich ranks first in all relevant league tables na­­tion­wide, it has to face the ever-chang­­ing eco­­logical challenges. To achieve this, the county council decided upon an En­­­­ergy Vision in 2006, which aims to re­­duce the energy de­­mand by 60 per cent and cover the remaining demand en­­tire­­ly from re­­newable resources by 2050. In the on­­going implementation, saving energy, the use of geothermal energy and the energy-efficient refurbishment of buildings are of key im­­por­­tance, the latter having a particularly positive ef­­­fect on the local construction sector.

Additional soft location factors include cul­­tural and social events and leisure fa­­cili­ties. The magnificent sights of the county, from Schäftlarn Abbey and Schleiß­­heim Palace to the abundant and diverse re­­mains of settlements left behind by Celts and Romans, comple­ment the rich cul­­tural heritage of the state capital. Many people are actively involved in club and church activities and the number of lei­­sure opportunities, both indoor and in natural sur­­roundings, is immense. To pre­­serve the diversity of this multifaceted natural environment despite increased development pressures, is a particularly demanding task for local policy makers.

Uni_Garching

Each crisis opens opportunities
In view of the present economic crisis, the significance of providing a broad ba­­sis for the county of Munich to es­­tablish itself as a business centre, once again becomes very clear. Forecasts are difficult to make at present, but in most cases crises hold chances as well. No doubt, the links between in­­dus­­try and commerce, science and gov­­ernment must be further developed if we want to emerge from this crisis stronger than before. The intensified cooperation within the metropolitan re­­gion will contribute a lot to this.

From the very beginning, the political decision makers in the county have ac­­tively participated in setting up the ini­­tiative to strengthen the Munich Me­­tro­politan Region MMR. In a catchment area of 5.4 million residents, which generates more than 50 per cent of the Bavarian gross domestic product, all parties involved benefit from great­­er collaboration. Intensive cooperation exponentially increases the wide range of existing expertise and strengths. In an ever fiercer European and international competition, the joint marketing of the region will yield significant ad­­vantages for all inhabitants.

And what is obviously true for the county of Munich is also true for the entire catchment area of the region: The state capital and the rural municipalities to­­gether reap the benefits of increased collaboration within the MMR.

J-R-Motiv2008-groThe author, born in 1946, has been the county commissioner of Munich county since 2008. From 2000 to 2008, the grad­­uated librarian, social education worker and cultural manager Johanna Rum­schöt­­tel was the first mayor of Neubiberg, prior to that she headed the cultural department of Unterhaching. Since 2009, she has been the deputy chairwoman of MMR.

Johanna Rumschöttel: Landkreis München – Der Goldene Ring der Metropole

Die Landeshauptstadt München ist un­­bestritten der Kern der Metropolregion – doch der Region kommt vor allem auch als ausgewiesener Wirtschafts­standort eine hohe Bedeutung zu. Der Landkreis München, der die Landeshauptstadt wie ein „goldener Ring“ beinahe ganz um­­schließt, soll hierfür beispielgebend sein.

Der Landkreis München vereinigt auf einer Fläche von 667 Quadratkilometern zwei Städte und 27 Gemeinden und ist mit seinen rund 320.000 Einwohnern, sieht man einmal von den Bezirken ab, nach München und Nürnberg die bevölkerungsreichste Gebietskörperschaft Bayerns. Sowohl als Lebensraum wie als Wirtschaftsstandort genießt er eine hohe Attraktivität und Anziehungs­kraft.

Hierfür sorgt nicht allein die gut ausge­­baute Verkehrsinfrastruktur mit acht Au­­tobahnen, einem weit verzweigten Netz an öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln (S- und U-Bahn, regionale Buslinien) sowie der Nähe zum Flughafen München im Er­­din­­ger Moos.

Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft – erfolgreiche Partner im Landkreis München

Ganz entscheidend für den Wirtschafts­standort Landkreis München ist sein Sta­­tus als Wissenschaftsregion. Mit sei­­nen vier Universitätsstandorten (Gar­ching, Martinsried, Neubiberg, Oberschleiß­heim) sowie zahlreichen Forschungs­ein­­rich­tungen (unter anderem sechs Max-Planck-Insitute, Forschungs­reaktor Mün­­chen II, Forschungseinrichtungen der EADS, der Allianz-Versicherung und Ge­­neral Electric) genießt der Landkreis München Weltruf. Mehrere Gründer­zen­­tren im Umfeld der Universitäten geben jungen Menschen Raum, ihre Ideen zu verwirklichen. Die intensive Kooperation zwischen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft gewährleistet eine schnelle Umsetzung von Forschungsergebnissen in marktrei­­fe Produkte und ist eines der wesentlichen Kennzeichen des Standortes.
Vor diesem Hintergrund überrascht auch der große Anteil an hochqualifizierten Ar­beitskräften nicht. 21,1 Prozent der Beschäftigten verfügen über einen Hoch­­schul- beziehungsweise Fachhoch­schul­­abschluss, bundesweit sind es 7,8 Pro­­zent.

Kloster_Schäftlarn

Ausgewogener Branchen- und Größenmix
Die Unternehmenslandschaft zeichnet sich durch einen ausgewogenen Bran­chen- und Größenmix aus und setzt zu­­kunfts­­orientierte Schwerpunkte unter anderem in den Bereichen Medien, Luft- und Raum­­fahrt, Biotechnologie, Finanz­­dienstleis­tungen, Medizin und Gesund­heit sowie Kommunikations- und Infor­mations­tech­nologie.
Bei der Produktivität belegt der Land­kreis deutschlandweit Platz 1 (129.420 Euro/Einwohner – bundesweit: 58.299 Euro).
Das Prosperieren einer Region ist je­­doch nicht allein auf ihre Wirtschafts­kraft zu­­rückzuführen, vielmehr bedarf es vieler anderer Faktoren, die einen star­­ken Wirt­­schaftsstandort begünstigen. So verfügt der Landkreis München zum Beispiel auch auf sozialem Gebiet über eine gute Infrastruktur. Dazu ge­­hö­­ren eine bedarfsorientierte Versorgung mit Kinder­betreuungseinrichtungen, eine ak­­tive Jugend­arbeit und Angebote im Pflege­bereich, die fortlaufend an dem sich verändernden Bedarf ausgerichtet werden. Aber auch den sozialen Ver­wer­­fun­gen wird ein verstärktes Augenmerk gewidmet, etwa mittels eines gut ausgebauten Netzes an entsprechen­­den Fach­­stellen und eines Armutsbekämp­fungs­planes. Ein weiterer Fokus liegt auf der Bil­dungspolitik. Ein Schulbe­darfs­plan soll den Entscheidungsträgern den Weg zu einem zukunftsorientierten Bil­­dungs­­­an­­ge­bot auf dem Sektor der wei­ter­­füh­­ren­den Schulen weisen.

Uni_Garching2

Zukunftsorientierung bedeutet auch, Ressourcen zu schonen
Auch wenn der Landkreis München in al­­len einschlägigen Studien deutsch­land­­weit erste Plätze belegt, stellt er sich den ständig wechselnden Heraus­for­de­­run­gen. So hat der Kreistag 2006 eine Energie­vision verabschiedet, die bis 2050 eine Reduzierung des Energie­be­darfs um 60 Prozent und die Deckung des Rest­­be­­darfs ausschließlich mit re­­ge­ne­­rativen Ener­gien vorsieht. Bei der jetzt laufenden Um­­set­zung spielen En­­er­­gie­einsparung, Geo­­ther­­mienutzung und en­­ergetische Gebäu­­de­­sanierung eine zentrale Rolle, insbeson­­de­­re Letzteres wirkt sich positiv auf die Baubranche in der Region aus.

Zu den weichen Standortfaktoren zählen auch das kulturelle und gesellschaft­li­che Leben sowie die Freizeitmöglich­kei­­ten. Zu­­sätzlich zu den Kulturschät­zen der Lan­­deshauptstadt bieten die Se­­hens­­wür­­dig­­keiten des Landkreises, angefan­gen vom Klos­­ter Schäftlarn und Schloss Schleiß­heim bis hin zu einer Fülle von Sied­lungs­­­­spu­­ren aus der Zeit der Kel­ten und Rö­­mer, eine wertvolle Ergänzung. Das Vereins- und kirchliche Leben ist ausgeprägt und die Zahl an Freizeit­an­geboten, sowohl „indoor“ als auch in der freien Natur, ist immens. Die Vielfalt der abwechs­lungs­­­­rei­chen Landschaft zu erhalten, ist da­­­­bei angesichts des hohen Siedlungs­drucks ebenfalls eine besondere Heraus­­for­de­rung für die Kommunalpolitik.

Schloss_Schleißheim

Jede Krise birgt Chancen
Vor dem Hintergrund der gegenwärtigen Wirtschaftskrise zeigt sich einmal mehr in aller Deutlichkeit, wie wichtig es ist, dass der Wirtschaftsstandort Landkreis München breit aufgestellt ist. Zukunfts­prognosen sind derzeit schwierig, doch bergen Krisen in aller Regel auch Chan­cen. Fest steht, dass eine noch stärkere Vernetzung von Wirtschaft, Wis­­senschaft und Politik unumgänglich ist, um aus der Krise gestärkt hervorzugehen. Die Intensivierung der Kooperation innerhalb der Metropolregion wird dabei gute Diens­­te leisten.
Die politisch Verantwortlichen im Land­kreis haben sich von Anbe­ginn an aktiv an der Initiative zur Stärkung der Eu­­ro­­pä­ischen Metropolregion Mün­chen EMM beteiligt. In einem Einzugs­gebiet von 5,4 Millionen Einwohnern, in dem mehr als 50 Prozent des bayerischen Brutto­­in­­landsproduktes er­­wirt­schaf­­tet werden, profitieren alle Be­­­­tei­­ligten von einer ver­­stärkten Zusam­men­arbeit. Die in mannig­­facher Weise vorhandenen Kom­­petenzen und Stär­ken werden durch eine intensive Koopera­tion potenziert. Die gemeinsame Posi­tio­nie­­rung der Region wird in ei­­nem immer ausgeprägteren eu­­ropäischen und in­­ter­­nationalen Wett­be­­werb zum ent­schei­­den­­den Standort­vor­­teil aller.
Was in besonderer Weise für den Land­kreis München gilt, hat für den gesamten Einzugsbereich der Region Gültig­keit: Die Lan­­deshauptstadt und die Kom­mu­nen in der Fläche profitieren ge­­mein­sam von einer verstärkten Zusammen­arbeit inner­halb der EMM.

J-R-Motiv2008-groDie 1946 geborene Autorin ist seit 2008 Landrätin des Landkreises München. Von 2000 bis 2008 war die studierte Dip­lom-Bibliothekarin, Sozialpädagogin und Kul­­turmanagerin Johanna Rumschöttel Ers­­te Bürgermeisterin der Gemeinde Neu­biberg, zuvor Kulturamtsleiterin in der Gemeinde Oberhaching. Seit 2009 ist sie stellvertretende Vorsitzende der EMM.