Jochen Flackus: Nano- and biotechnologies in focus – Future “Made in Saarland”

Without a doubt: If nanotechnology in Germany is mentioned abroad to­­day the term “Nano-Valley-Saar” is heard on a regular basis. Thus the appreciation is expressed, which is now paid to Saar­land’s nanotechnology.

The basic idea behind this success sto­ry was simple: “The research of today is our source of a good standard of living for tomorrow”. The Leibniz In­­stitute for New Materials (INM) was founded in Saar­land in 1987. Here, investigating the world of small particles started soon­­er than in other re­­gions.

Twenty years after this decision, Saar­land can count itself as one of the leading nano- and nanobioregions in Eu­­­rope. Eleven spin-off companies work suc­cess­­fully and can compete in the glo­­b­­al mar­­ket. More than 1,000 sustainable jobs have been created by the spin-off companies developed since 1995.

ab06

Successful networking of research and development
In order to promote cooperation be­­tween research, business, politics and society, the non-profit association Na­­noBioNet was founded in 2002 with financial sup­­port from the Saarland Ministry of Eco­nomics and Science. This association moderates an efficient network of universities, re­­search institutes, hospitals, businesses and ex­­perts from the fields of technology transfer, patenting, economy and financing. The members come from different industries, their common interest is in research and development and the practical applications of nano- and biotechnology.

Another important network with headquarters in Saarland is the competence centre cc-NanoChem, which is equally ac­­­tive nationwide and located at the Leib­­niz Institute for New Materials (INM).
NanoBioNet and cc-NanoChem cooperate closely with each other.

The players of the network support a variety of projects with the aim to further expand on the leading role in the area of nano- and biotechnology and to strengthen the region nationally and in­­ternationally as a competitive location. Main responsibilities include as­­sis­­t­­ing and training, promoting research and development and active public re­­lations. Whether it is through their pres­­ence at a shared booth or in a bro­­chure – NanoBioNet and cc-NanoChem provide for members on different platforms the opportunity to communicate competencies.

sc14

Since 2006 the collaboration of the busi­­ness players has been intensified with the platform Saarland Empowering Na­­no, to actively promote Saarland’s competencies.
Together with the Economic De­­vel­op­ment (gwSaar) and the Leibniz Institute for New Materials (INM), “Na­no made in Saarland” is advertised throughout the world.

Its customer base is international and encompasses all possible sectors.

Dwarfs with gigantic potential
The substantive foci of research and de­­velopment in Saarland are in chemical nanotechnology and nanobiotechnology. One concern lies in the antimicrobial, also known as antiseptic effect caused by several nano-coatings. In addition to the food industry, nanotechnology also opens new perspectives in med­­icine and pharmacology, both in analysis and therapy. Researchers hope for quicker diagnoses in or­­der to detect diseases at an early stage – such as cancer, cardiovascular diseas­es or vi­­­ral in­­fections – and they hope for innovative therapies by new molecules.

A world market
The job market for nano- and biotechnologists is currently located mainly in the large industrial research institutions. In Germany there are about 150 compa­nies with a main area of business in na­­­no­­technology, and approximately 600 es­­tablishments which touch on nano­­technology.
In Saarland, currently about 40 companies can be counted working in the field of nanotechnology and pharmaceutical biotechnology. A value of up to 18 billion euros is estimated worldwide by the year 2015, with 160,000 jobs in the field of nanotechnology alone.

 

sc03

Fill young professionals with enthusiasm early on
NanoBioNet and cc-NanoChem are en­­gaged in particular to inspire students for nano- and biotechnology. To achieve that, Na­­noBioNet developed the Na­­no­School­­Box, an experimental kit for physics, chem­­istry or biology lessons, which could be dis­­tributed to secondary schools and vo­­cational schools thanks to the support of the state. However, also internationally the student experimental kit is a major export success and contributes to the re­­putation of the research location.

But not only students are in the fo­­cus when it comes to demonstrating and explaining a promising future in technology such as nanotechnology.
An­­­other focus, in addition to the academic training, is the training of skilled workers and technicians. Here Nano­Bio­­Net developed and organized its own training modules and workshops.

Prospects
Experts predict that big breakthroughs yet lie ahead in nano- and biotechnol­ogy. They will revolutionize computer tech­­nol­­ogy, open up completely new possibilities in medical diagnosis and therapy as well as produce materials with entirely new qualities that allow for new kinds of products. So far it is still not foreseeable how many of the optimistic expectations actually can be realized.

But what can already be said today: These technologies offer very good growth opportunities today and in the near future. And Saarland will profit from this.

Flackus_02The author studied political science, eco­­nomic policy and psychology at the University of Bonn and has been business director of the Leibniz In­­sti­­tute for New Materials (INM) since 2005. Jochen Flackus is CEO of NanoBioNet e.V. and a founding member of Saar­land Empowering Nano.

Jochen Flackus: Nano- und Biotechnologien im Fokus – Zukunft „Made in Saarland“

Kein Zweifel: Wenn heute im Ausland von Nanotechnologie aus Deutsch­­land die Rede ist, fällt regelmäßig der Be­­griff „Nano-Valley-Saar“. Damit kommt die Anerkennung zum Ausdruck, die man der saarländischen Nanotechnologie mitt­­lerweile zollt.

Die Grundidee dieser Erfolgsgeschichte war einfach: „Forschung heute ist unsere Wohlstandsquelle für morgen“. Im Jahr 1987 wurde im Saarland das Leibniz-Institut für Neue Mater­­ia­­lien (INM) ge­­gründet. Hier wurde früher als in anderen Regionen begonnen, die Welt der kleinen Teilchen zu erforschen.

Zwanzig Jahre nach dieser Entschei­­dung darf sich das Saarland zu einer der führenden Nano- und Nano­­bio­­­­re­­gi­­o­­nen in Europa zählen.
Elf ausgegründete Unternehmen arbeiten erfolgreich und können sich auf dem glo­­balen Markt behaupten. Über 1.000 zu­­kunfts­­fähige Arbeitsplätze sind durch die seit dem Jahr 1995 erfolgten Aus­­grün­­dun­­gen entstanden.

ab06

Erfolgreiche Vernetzung von Forschung und Entwicklung
Um die Zusammenarbeit zwischen For­­­­­­schung, Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesell­­schaft zu forcieren, wurde 2002 mit fi­­nan­­­­zieller Unterstützung des saarländischen Minis­­ter­­iums für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft der gemeinnützige Verein NanoBioNet gegründet. Er moderiert ein leistungsstarkes Netzwerk aus Hoch­­schu­­len, For­­schungsinstituten, Kliniken, Unter­­neh­­men und Experten aus den Be­­reich­­en Tech­­no­­­logietransfer, Patentwesen, Wirt­­­­schaft und Finanzierung. Die Mitglieder kommen aus unterschiedlichen Wirt­­schafts­­­­z­wei­gen, ihr gemeinsames Inter­­es­­se gilt der Forschung und Entwicklung sowie den praktischen Anwendungen der Nano- und Bio­­technologie.
Ein weiteres wichtiges Netzwerk mit Sitz im Saarland ist das ebenfalls bundesweit aktive Kompetenzzentrum cc-NanoChem, das im Leibniz-Institut für Neue Mater­­ia­­lien (INM) angesiedelt ist. NanoBioNet und das cc-NanoChem kooperieren eng mit­­einander.

Die Akteure der Netzwerke betreuen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Projekte mit dem Ziel, den Vorsprung auf dem Ge­­biet der Nano- und Biotechnologie weiter auszubauen und die Region national wie international als wettbewerbsfähigen Stand­­­­­­ort zu stärken. Zu den wichtigsten Auf­­ga­­ben gehören die Un­­ter­­­­stützung der Aus- und Weiterbildung, die Förderung von Forschung und Ent­­wick­­lung und eine aktive Öffent­­lich­­keits­­arbeit. Ob durch Prä­­senz auf einem ge­­mein­­sa­­men Messe­­stand oder in einer Bro­­schü­re – NanoBioNet und das cc-NanoChem bieten den Mit­­gliedern auf unterschiedlichen Platt­­for­­men die Mög­­lichkeit, Kom­­pe­­tenzen zu kommunizieren.

sc14

Die Zusammenarbeit der unternehmerischen Akteure wurde seit 2006 mit der Plattform Saarland Empowering Nano weiter intensiviert, um gezielt die saarländischen Kompetenzen zu fördern. Zu­­sammen mit der Wirtschaftsförderung (gwSaar) und dem Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien (INM) wird weltweit für „Nano made in Saarland“ geworben.
Die Kun­­denstruktur ist international und umfasst alle denkbaren Branchen.

Winzlinge mit Riesenpotenzial
Die inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte der For­­schung und Entwicklung im Saarland liegen in der chemischen Nano­­tech­­no­­lo­gie und der Nanobiotechnologie. Ein Interesse liegt etwa in der an­­ti­­mikro­biel­len, also keimtötenden Wir­kung, die ei­­nige Nanobeschichtungen hervorrufen. Neben der Lebensmittelindustrie eröffnet die Nanotechnologie auch in der Me­­di­zin und Pharmazie neue Per­­spek­­ti­­ven, in der Ana­­lytik wie Therapie. Forscher er­­hoffen sich ra­­sche­­re Dia­g­no­sen, um Krankheiten be­­­reits im Früh­sta­dium nachweisen zu können – etwa bei Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Krank­­­­hei­ten oder vi­­ralen Infekten – und neuartige Thera­­pien mit Hilfe von neuen Molekülen.

Ein Weltmarkt
Der Arbeitsmarkt für Nano- und Bio­­tech­­nologen liegt zurzeit vor allem in den großen Forschungseinrichtungen der In­­­dustrie. In Deutschland gibt es ungefähr 150 Unternehmen mit dem Haupt­­ge­­schäfts­­feld in der Nanotechnologie und etwa 600 Einrichtungen mit Berühr­­ungs­­punkten zur Nanotechnologie. Im Saar­­land zählt man derzeit etwa 40 Un­­ter­­neh­­men, die auf dem Gebiet der Nano- und der pharmazeutischen Bio­­tech­­no­­logie arbeiten.
Weltweit rechnet man bis zum Jahre 2015 mit einer Wertschöpfung bis zu 18 Milliarden Euro und mit 160.000 Arbeitsplätzen allein im Bereich der Nanobiotechnologie.

sc03

Den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs früh begeistern
NanoBioNet und cc-NanoChem engagieren sich in besonderem Maße dafür, Schüler für die Nano- und Bio­­tech­­no­­lo­­­­gie zu begeistern. Dafür hat Nano­­Bio­­Net die NanoSchoolBox entwickelt, einen Ex­­perimentierkoffer für den Physik-, Che­mie- oder Biologieunterricht, der, dank Unterstützung des Landes, an allen Gymnasien und Beruf­­sschu­­­len des Saar­­landes verteilt werden konnte. Aber auch international ist der Schüler­­ex­­peri­men­­tierkasten ein Exportschlager und trägt zur Bekanntheit des For­­schungs­­stand­­ortes bei.

Doch nicht nur die Schüler stehen im Fokus, wenn es darum geht, eine zu­­kunftsträchtige Technologie wie die Na­­notechnologie zu zeigen und zu er­­klä­­ren. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt neben der akademischen Ausbildung in der Weiterbildung von Facharbeitern und Technikern. Hier entwickelt und or­­­ga­­ni­­siert NanoBioNet eigene Fort­bildungs­­module und Workshops.

Ein Ausblick
Experten prophezeien, dass die großen Durchbrüche in der Nano- und Bio­­tech­­nologie noch bevorstehen. Sie werden die Computertechnik revolutionieren, in der Medizin völlig neue Möglichkeiten der Diagnose und Therapie eröffnen sowie Werkstoffe mit völlig neuen Eigen­­schaf­­ten hervorbringen, die neuartige Pro­­duk­­te ermöglichen. Noch lässt sich nicht absehen, wie viele der optimistischen Er­­war­­tun­­gen sich tat­­sächlich realisieren lassen.

Was man aber schon heute sagen kann: Diese Technologien bieten heute und in näherer Zukunft sehr gute Wachs­­tums­­chancen. Und das Saarland wird davon profitieren.

Flackus_02Der Autor hat an der Universität Bonn politische Wissenschaften, Wirtschafts­politik und Psychologie studiert und ist seit dem Jahr 2005 kauf­männischer Geschäfts­­führer des Leibniz-Instituts für Neue Mater­­ia­­lien (INM). Jochen Flackus ist Vorstandsvorsitzender von Nano­Bio­­Net e. V. und Gründungsmitglied von Saarland Empowering Nano.