Jochen Drexler & German Haimerl: Corporate architecture as a reflection of corporate culture

The US architect Richard Meier once stated that architecture in the best of cases is direct interaction with people.

IMG_0605

Meier’s statement is particularly worth pondering when the relevant structure is located in a public space, that is, when it is exposed to active interaction. Ar­­chi­­tecture has always had a lasting impact on society – just think of the many ep­­ochs of human history that were named after major stylistic movements. For ex­­ample the works of Gian Lorenzo Berni­ni, who had a signif­icant influence on the Italian Baroque and shaped a whole city (Rome) and its culture. At that time, the Roman-Catho­lic Church commissioned Berninis works, and of course they were intended to achieve a clear purpose: A building was to represent a place and to serve and communi­cate a distinct message.
Basically, this process has not changed very much up to our present-day society. If the owner of a building is a (modern) company, the underlying intentions are probably the same. Ancient cathedrals and the skyscrapers of a contemporary city like New York have many things in common.
In this context, one might be justified in arguing that in the grey architectural uni­­formity of large modern cities the prin­­ciple of rationality and expedien­­cy pre­­­vails over quality and design. Al­­though this objection cannot be dismissed, fun­­­damental changes have tak­­­en place in re­­cent years and thanks to the possibil­i­­ties of modern engineering, it is no long­­er an unavoidable fact. Effi­ciency and de­­­sign do not necessarily exclude each other.
The ever stronger pervasion of specific corporate identities inevitably had an impact on architecture. Over the past decades, besides institutions, companies have increasingly been using the possibilities of architectural design to create their own unique profiles and stand out from the competition. Recent history provides the first indications of that. Some examples include: Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau in Dresden; the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen AG; the four-cylinder-shaped BMW tower, which was designed by Karl Schwanzer, built in 1972 and inaugurated in 1973; or the renovated Munich RE headquarters in Gedonstraße, Munich.
As we all know, companies spend huge amounts of money on advertising and sponsoring just to find out that much of the information is never really noticed by consumers. Merely due to its lasting and visible presence, architecture can be much more effective. Today more than ever, a room, a building or a square are intended to attract people’s attention, while at the same time offering more than just a standard message, to make sure they are not overlooked as a consequence of the dematerialization of in­­for­­mation. Thus, a property, instead of be­­­­ing part of the brand, can become a brand itself and contribute a lot to com­­­municating the company’s ideas. How­ever, Drexler + Partner do not consider ar­­­chitecture as anonymous corporate ar­­­chitecture which only aims to create max­­­imum presence, but as a characteristic feature, as a reflection of the company’s individual philosophy and culture. At the end of the day, constructing a building to meet these requirements means more than producing a “built structure” that conveys a certain message. Too much im­­portance has often been attached to the divergence between interior design and architecture, which partly continues to exist to this day. To Drexler + Partner, cooperating with companies means con­­tributing to each of these companies’ culture, and in this context the overall concept weighs more than just a striking facade.

yantan_07Here are some examples: Among other things, Drexler has specialized in de­­sign­­ing modern health care centres. For in­­stance, the company was the general con­­tractor for design services in charge of the Omooma – Private Hospital for Women in Kuwait City. The clinic’s focus is on obstetric medicine. The whole build­­­ing is much more than a place where patients are treated.
Great importance was placed on the at­­­mosphere created through interior de­­­sign, which strikes a delicate balance between comfort, elegance and state-of-the-art technology.
Since Drexler + Partner work exclusively on private sector medical projects, it is crucial that particular consideration be given to characteristic features of the business or company. Private clinics are fully exposed to competition for pa­­tients. Patients have to be regarded as clients whose wishes must have first priority.

Therefore construction must not focus only on functionality, because people need special environments. People in need of care have different requirements than active athletes, seniors and young people also have different needs. The standards in the premium health care market are particularly high. Architec­ture, interior design, ambience, staff and serv­­ice comply with the criteria for top qual­­ity hotels. Medical performance and med­­ical equipment meet the highest re­­­­quire­­ments without compromising the atmos­­phere of the rooms.

03_10

There are more examples in and around Munich. The European Cyberknife Cen­t­er in Munich-Großhadern clearly dem­­onstrates that high-tech medicine and warm, harmonious interior furnishings do not have to be contradictory, quite the contra­­ry: They can be arranged to com­­plement each other to the benefit of patients. Here, fancy design is combined with modern LED technology and quality medical care.
Private health & hospitality are the con­­sistent element that characterizes the planning and design of health care cen­tres. The Isar Medical Centre goes to prove, once again, that patients do know the difference and have long ceased to be satisfied with a sterile, grey-green at­­mosphere and bleak corridors. Its cen­­tral location in Sonnenstraße alone is an argument in favour of the Isar Medical Centre. Wood, carpets, leather and glass emphasize quality and make the client the centre of attention ­– in fact, external architecture would be nothing but an empty shell without a functional and transparent interior design. In other words: Good architecture does not end at the doorstep.

Numerous projects carried out by Drex­ler + Partner, mainly in the million-strong metropolis of Lanzhou, attest to the fact that these quality features are gaining ground, even in far-off China. Contrast­ing with the monotony of the typical Chinese development projects, one-of-a-kind residential, sports and multi-pur­­­pose buildings are created in the city in the upper reaches of the Yellow River, for example the Riverside Development with terraced building complexes, ho­­tels, offices and parks. The major challenges construction projects face in the Far East include regulations by local urban planners, client demands, integration with the natural environment and the representation and preservation of Chinese traditions. China’s path between tradition and modernity holds many challenges, but also unique new opportunities.

 

r1

The renowned Swiss architect Peter Zumthor stated recently: “It seems to me that a piece of architecture that on­­ly tells a cosmopolitan and visionary story without having any resonance in its local area is lacking sensual bonds with that specific environment (…).” Drex­­ler + Partner have successfully trav­elled down this road and managed to find the best possible solution for bridging the gap between maintaining their own quality standards, satisfying client demands and realizing an integrated, consistent overall concept, which is a key economic factor in architecture.

Jochen-Drexler--AtelierThe author, born in 1942, studied civil engineering at the technical university of Karlsruhe and architecture at the TU Munich. After completing his studies, Jochen Drexler worked for Behnisch + Partner and in 1974, he started working as a freelance architect. Drexler­ +­ Part­ner Architekten, where he is a managing partner, was established in 1985.

 

 

DSC_0083The author, born in 1968, studied ar­­chi­­tecture at the Munich university of tech­­nology, TUM. German Haimerl was pri­­marily active in media projects – among others for broadcasting stations – and in the areas of health care and high-qual­­ity interior finish. In 1998 he be­­came a managing partner of Drexler + Partner Architekten.

Jochen Drexler & German Haimerl: Corporate Architecture als Ausdruck von Unternehmenskultur

Der US-amerikanische Architekt Rich­ard Meier hat einmal das Sprichwort ge­­prägt: „Architektur ist im Idealfall im­mer di­­rek­­te Auseinandersetzung mit den Men­schen.“

IMG_0605

Interessant wird Meiers Zitat spätestens dann, wenn sich das Objekt im öffentli­chen Raum befindet und da­­mit einer In­­teraktion aktiv ausgesetzt ist. Ar­­chi­tek­tur hat die Ge­­sellschaft schon immer nach­­haltig beeinflusst, man den­ke nur an die vielen Epo­chen der Mensch­heit, die nach den großen Stil­richt­un­gen benannt wur­­den. Beispiels­weise die Arbeiten von Gian Lorenzo Berni­ni, der den italienischen Ba­­rock und ei­­­ne gan­ze Stadt (Rom) und ihre Kul­tur geprägt hat. Auftraggeber für Berni­nis Werke war zur damaligen Zeit die rö­­misch-ka­tho­li­sche Kirche, die mit die­sen Werken natürlich kla­re Ab­­sichten verfolg­te: die Cha­rak­te­ri­sie­rung ei­­nes Ortes durch ein Gebäude, welches ei­­nen bestimmten Zweck erfüllt oder ver­­mitteln soll.
Im Prinzip hat sich an diesem Pro­zess bis in unsere heutige Gesellschaft hi­­nein nicht viel verändert. Ist der Auf­trag­ge­ber ein (mo­­dernes) Un­­ter­neh­men, ist die da­­hinter lie­gen­de Ab­­sicht vermutlich nicht anders. Zwi­­schen al­­ter­­tümlichen Kathe­d­ra­len und den Wol­ken­kratzern einer Stadt wie New York finden sich viele Pa­­r­al­le­len.
Man könnte an dieser Stelle zu Recht ein­werfen, dass sich im architektonischen Ein­heits­grau moderner Großstädte das Prin­zip der Ratio­na­li­tät und Zweck­dien­lichkeit über Quali­tät und Design hinweg­ge­­setzt hat. Der Einwand ist zwar nicht von der Hand zu weisen, allerdings in den letzten Jahren einem grundlegenden Wan­­­del ausgesetzt und mit den Mitteln der modernen Ingenieurskunst längst nicht mehr unumstößlich. Wirt­schaft­lich­keit und Design müssen sich gegenseitig nicht ausschließen.
Mit der immer stärker werdenden Durch­­­­­dringung der firmenspezifischen Cor­po­rate Identities wurde zwangsläufig auch die Architektur beeinflusst. Neben Ins­ti­tutionen sind es in den letzten Jahr­­zehn­­ten zunehmend Unternehmen, wel­­che die Möglichkeiten architektonischer Ge­­stal­­tung nutzen, um sich im Wett­bewerb un­­verwechselbar zu positionieren. Bereits in der jüngeren Ge­­schichte finden sich ers­te Hinweise. Zum Bei­spiel die Deut­schen Werk­stätten Hell­­erau in Dresden, die Glä­serne Manu­fak­tur der Volkswagen AG, das 1972 er­­rich­tete und 1973 bezogene BMW-Gebäude in Form eines Vierzylin­ders von Karl Schwan­zer, oder der Um­­bau der Münch­­ner Rück in der Ge­­don­straße in München.
Unter­nehmen geben bekanntlich unge­heu­re Summen für Werbung und Spon­soring aus, nur um festzustellen, dass ein Groß­teil der Informationen vom Kon­su­­m­­­en­ten gar nicht wahrgenommen wird. Ar­­chi­tek­tur kann hier, schon auf Grund ihrer dau­erhaften und offensichtlichen Präsenz, viel effektiver wirken. Der Raum, das Gebäude oder der Platz sind heu­te mehr denn je aufgefordert, Aufmerk­sam­keit zu wecken und gleichzeitig mehr als nur Standard zu bieten, um infolge der Ent­ma­te­ri­a­li­sie­rung von Informa­tio­nen nicht übersehen zu werden. Die Immo­bi­lie kann dann nicht nur ein Teil, sondern direkt zur Marke wer­­den und erfolgreich zur Komm­unikation von Firmeninhalten beitragen. Architektur wird bei Drexler + ­Partner allerdings nicht als gesichtslose Cor­porate Architecture angesehen, de­­ren einziges Ziel maximale Präsenz ist, son­dern als spezifisches Cha­­rakter­is­ti­kum, als Ausdruck einer individu­ellen Un­­ter­­neh­mens-Philosophie und Ei­­gen­stän­­digkeit. Die Konstruktion eines Ge­­­bäu­des nach diesen Maßstäben ist letzt­­end­lich mehr als nur „Gebautes“ und Ver­mitt­ler einer bestimmten Botschaft. Die zum Teil bis heute bestehende Di­­ver­genz zwischen Außen- und In­­nen­ar­chi­tek­tur, ist dabei oft zu hoch gespielt geworden. Drex­ler + ­­Partner sehen die Zu­­sam­men­­arbeit mit Unternehmen als Teil der je­­weiligen Un­­ter­nehmenskultur, und da­­bei entschei­det nicht nur eine signifikante Fas­sade, sondern das Gesamt­konzept.

yantan_07
An dieser Stelle einige Beispiele. Drex­ler ist unter anderem spezialisiert auf die Ge­­stal­tung moderner Gesund­heits­zen­tren. Für das Omooma – Private Hos­pi­tal for Wo­­men in Kuwait City war man un­­ter anderem als Generalplaner zuständig. Die Klinik legt den Schwer­punkt auf die Ge­­­burtsmedizin. Das gesamte Bauwerk ist dabei viel mehr als nur ein Platz, an dem Patientinnen behandelt werden.
Be­­­son­­de­ren Wert wurde auf die in­­nen­archi­tek­to­nische Atmosphäre gelegt, die sich ge­­schickt zwischen Ge­­bor­gen­­heit, Ele­ganz und moderner Technik anordnet.
Da Drexler + Partner ausschließlich Me­­di­zin­pro­jek­­te im privaten Sektor bearbeiten, ist die Be­­rücksichtigung be­­stimm­ter Fir­men- oder Un­­ter­neh­mens­merk­ma­le be­­son­ders ent­­scheidend. Private Kliniken sind dem Wett­bewerb um den Patienten besonders stark ausgesetzt. Patienten müssen als Kun­den gesehen werden und Kunden­wün­sche besonders bedacht werden.

Eine rein funktionale Bauweise ist da­­bei nicht alles, denn Menschen benötigen be­­sondere Räume. Hilfs­bedürftige andere als sportlich Aktive, Ältere wiederum an­­dere als junge Menschen. Der Premium­Healthcare-Markt gibt hier besonders hohe Standards vor. Architektur, Innen­architektur, Atmo­sphä­re, Personal und Ser­­vice entsprechen den Qualitäts­kriterien herausragender Ho­­tels. Die me­­­dizinische Lei­stung und medizi­ni­sches Equipment entspre­chen den höchs­ten Anfor­derun­­gen, ohne die Atmosphäre der Räume zu dominieren.

03_10

Weitere Beispiele finden sich in Mün­chen und Umgebung. Dass High­tech-Medizin und warme, harmonische Innen­ein­rich­­tun­­gen keine Wieder­sprü­che dar­­stellen müssen, sondern sich im Gegen­­teil als ausgesprochen patienten­freund­lich ar­­ran­­gieren können, wird im Euro­pä­ischen Cy­­­ber­knife Zen­trum in München-Groß­hadern deutlich. Extra­va­gantes De­­­sign wird hier mit moderner LED-Tech­nik und medizi­nischer Qua­lität kombiniert.
Private Health & Hospitality stehen bei der Planung und Gestaltung von Ge­­sund­heitszentren als einheitliches Element. Das Isar Medizin Zentrum ist ein weiterer Be­­weis, dass Patienten sehr wohl zu differenzieren wissen und sich längst nicht mehr mit einer sterilen grau-grü­nen At­­­mosphäre und trostlosen Fluren zufriedengeben. Für das Isar Medizin Zentrum spricht allein schon seine zentrale Lage an der Sonnen­straße. Holz, Tep­pich, Le­­der und Glas bekunden Qualität und se­­hen den Kunden im Mittelpunkt, denn ohne ein funktionelles und transparentes Innen­design wäre die Außen­ar­chi­tek­tur bloß eine Hülle ohne Seele. Anders aus­gedrückt: Gute Architektur endet nicht an der Türschwelle.

Dass sich diese Qualitätsmerkmale mitt­lerweile auch im fernen China durch­set­­zen, beweisen zahlreiche Pro­jekte, die Drex­ler + Partner vor allem in der Millio­nen­me­tro­pole Lanzhou umsetzen. Im Ge­­­gen­satz zur Monotonie üblicher chinesischer Pro­jekt­entwicklungen entstehen in der Stadt am Oberlauf des Gelben Flus­ses einzigarti­ge Wohn-, Sport- und Mehr­zweckgebäude, wie zum Beispiel das Ri­­ver­side Develop­ment mit terras­sen­förmig angelegten Be­­bau­ungen, Hotels, Büros und Parks. Die großen Heraus­for­der­un­gen für Bau­pro­­­jekte im Fernen Osten lie­­gen in den Re­­gle­men­tierungen durch die Stadt­planer, den Wünschen der Bau­her­­­ren, der In­­te­­­gra­tion in die Natur und der Umsetzung und Wahrung chinesischer Traditionen. Chinas Weg zwischen Tra­di­tion und Mo­­der­ne hält hier große Her­aus­for­derungen aber auch einzigartige neue Wege bereit.

r1

„Erzählt ein Stück Architektur nur Welt­läu­figes und Visionäres, ohne seinen kon­kre­ten Ort zum Mitschwingen zu brin­gen, ver­­­misse ich die sinnliche Ver­an­kerung des Bauwerks, (…)“, be­­kundete un­­längst der bekannte Schwei­zer Ar­­chitekt Peter Zumthor. Drexler­ + ­Partner sind diesen Weg be­reits erfolgreich gegangen und ha­­ben den Spagat zwischen der Bewahrung der eigenen Qua­litätsmaßstäbe, der Er­­fül­lung der Kun­denwünsche und der In­­te­gra­tion in ein stimmiges Ge­­samt­kon­zept bestmöglich gemeistert, die für ei­­ne Ar­­chi­tektur als wirtschaftlicher Faktor er­­folgs­­entscheidend ist.

Jochen-Drexler--AtelierDer 1942 geborene Autor studierte Bau­­­­ingenieurwesen an der Technischen Uni­­versität Karlsruhe sowie Architektur an der Technischen Hochschule in Mün­chen. Nach dem Studium arbeitete Jo­­chen Drex­­ler bei Behnisch + Partner und ist seit 1974 selbstständig tätig. Im Jahr 1985 erfolgte die Gründung von Drexler + Part­­ner Architekten, wo er ge­­schäftsführender Partner ist.

 

 

DSC_0083Der 1968 geborene Autor hat Architektur an der Technischen Universität in Mün­chen studiert. German Haimerl war über­wiegend in Projekten der Bereiche Me­­di­en – unter anderem für Rundfunksender – und Gesundheit tätig sowie hochwerti­ger Innenausbau. Seit 1998 ist er ge­­schäfts­führender Partner bei Drexler + Partner Architekten.