Jochen Brüggen & Dr. Carsten Mahn: Well-connected – foodRegio, the food industry’s successful cluster

North Sea crabs, cottage ham, Lü­­be­­cker marzipan and “Rote Grütze” (red ber­­ry sauce) are just some of Schles­wig-Holstein’s specialities that find their enthusiasts through supermarket shelves around the world.

Niederegger2

The food industry is well established in the nor­­thernmost federal state. As consistent as the con­­tinuously high quality of its popular brands, like Campbell’s, Hawesta or Langnese honey, for example, it is less susceptible to fluctu­­ations of business activities than other branches. In the year 2008, the sector even grew so much that turnover rose by ten per cent in comparison to the previous year; equal­­ly, the number of employees in the food processing companies rose by 2.3 per cent to a total of almost 16,000. With this, the industry lies above the coun­­try’s average and counts towards one of the most important branches around the state. But also specialized service providers and suppliers such as, for example, special machine construction for the food industry, the packing in­­dustry and logistics companies all count towards the exemplarily networked infrastructure of the sector and contribute to its positive figures. Yet there is no advancement without in­­no­vation potential. Therefore, re­­search and development has laid the foundation for success.
With their “direct line” to food manufac­­turers, higher education and re­­search in­­stitutes see to it that the term “re­­search in the ivory tower” remains a foreign word and that companies can count on technical equipment and com­­petent advice where product development and innova­tions are concerned. All in all, connections are close-knit in Northern Germany. The fluid transfer of materials, service, in­­for­­mation and know-how are deciding success factors, which hold a strong say in the performance of the sector.

061012_pc_0270

foodRegio food network
Demanding consumers, changing func­­tions of food, concentration processes in trade and shorter product life cycles are just some of the many challenges that the food industry sees itself confronted with. Each company can handle it with their own personal strategy. Yet, an­­other tactic has proven itself:

The magic word is “networking” and it is the motto that, a large portion of the local companies of have taken up the cause for. Active networking be­­t­­ween all cooperating members within the supply chain pays off. Networking also encourage growth and com­­petitiveness and raise yet unused production potential.

IMG_0316

With its roots in Lübeck, foodRegio, the network of the food industry in the North of Germany, counts as a positive ex­­ample of an active cluster within Ger­­many’s food industry. The Ministry of Science, Eco­­nom­­ic and Transport also takes this view and is preliminarily support­­ing the cluster at Northern Ger­ma­ny’s largest location for the food industry until 2011. The network, which was founded in the year 2006 by the company families Brüggen und Junge, currently counts 28 members. These are largely established manufacturers of food products as well as also machine and plant builders; research and higher edu­­cation in­­stitutes have also been included. In nine work groups of around 150 employees from the member companies, cooper­­ation is actively created. Here, particular at­­­tention is paid to the field of “process innovations”. This is a further field, which concerns all participants and guarantees a company to remain future-oriented. In meetings, the players concentrate in a practical way on concretely implemented projects, which lead into fast results.
Among other things, in cooperation with research and higher education institutes inter alia, the work groups can already notice added values in the fields of logistics, education and qualification as well as production optimization.

Buffet_DSC_0223

Projects with added value
Measurable successes for the compa­nies within a concrete period of time offer participants added value that can count on. An example from the area of energy management: over a duration period of half a year, Lübeck University of Applied Sciences investigated the energy flows of six member companies. The results were presented in a conclusive analysis; energy saving potentials were shown for all companies, particularly in the areas of compressed air optimization and the usage of waste heat. Equally successful and therefore cost-efficient, was a project realized in cooperation with the Lübeck Uni­versity of Applied Sciences regarding a joint distribution logistics system. The university specialists began by establishing the potential of a joint lo­gistics approach in the distribution of the foodRegio companies and then brought the logistics together. Through the im­­plementation of the analysis results, savings could be made in one area of up to ten per cent of the original costs.

Investing in the future
A factor that should not be underesti­mated and which also counts towards the field of process innovation is the sustainable investment in well-trained employees.
In this way, qualification measures for pro­­duction employees could among other things be developed in cooperation with IHK that were specially adapted to the needs of the food industry. Particularly for the youngsters and school-leavers, a cinema spot was produced the handing out of trainee muesli bars, billboards and take-away cards, brought ones attention to the broad spectrum of training jobs in the food sector. The set-up of a new stu­­dy course at Lübeck University of Applied Sciences has proven to be an outstanding result of the active network cooperation. The “Bachelor of Food Pro­­cessing”, which unites the specialized components of economics and mecha­­n­­ical engineering with food technology, was newly established. The study course can be completed as a combined study, which means it takes place concur­­rently with a training as, for example, a specialist for food technology or also, how­­ever, after the successful completion of a professional train­­ing in the food in­­dustry. The curriculum was formed through a foodRegio work­­ing group for personnel development, which transported the needs of the companies to the university of applied sciences.

JochenBrüggenThe 1963 born author completed his stud­­ies in industrial engineering at the Tech­­nische Universität Berlin. He accompanied his studies as the project manager for the establishment of a cereal works in Lü­­beck. He has been the authorized signatory at H. & J. Brüggen KG since 1994, which he has headed as liable partner since 1998. Jochen Brüggen is the chairman of the board of directors of foodRegio e.V..

 

DrMahn_modThe 1947 born author began his career with a degree in agriculture and food sci­­ences. Following his PhD, he headed the de­­part­­­ment of product development and qua­­lity assurance of a frozen foods manu­­fac­­turer in Bremerhaven. He transferred to the com­­pany J.G. Niederegger, Lübeck, as tech­­nical head in 1978, where he to­­day holds the position of factory man­­ager. Dr. Mahn is the vice chairman of foodRegio e.V..

Jochen Brüggen & Dr. Carsten Mahn: Gut vernetzt – foodRegio, das erfolgreiche Cluster der Ernährungswirtschaft

Nordseekrabben, Katenschinken und Lü­­­­be­­­cker Marzipan sowie rote Grütze sind nur einige Spezialitäten aus Schles­wig-Hol­­stein, die in den Super­markt­re­galen al­­ler Welt ihre Liebhaber fin­­den.

Niederegger2

Die Er­­näh­­­­rungswirtschaft ist gut aufgestellt im nördlichsten Bun­des­­land. Beständig wie die gleichbleibend hohe Qualität ih­­rer bekannten Mar­ken, zum Beispiel Camp­­­­bell’s, Hawes­­­ta oder Langnese Honig, ist sie we­­ni­­ger an­­fäl­­lig für Kon­junktur­schwan­­kun­­gen als andere Branchen. Sogar noch zulegen konnte sie im Jahr 2008: So er­­höhte sich der Umsatz im Vergleich zum Vor­­jahr um zehn Prozent, ebenso stieg die Anzahl der Mitarbeiter in den le­­bens­­mit­­telverarbeitenden Betrieben um 2,3 Pro­­zent auf nahezu 16.000 Beschäftigte. Damit liegt die Branche über dem Bun­­desdurchschnitt und zählt zu den wich­­tigsten Wirtschafts­zweigen im Land. Aber auch die speziali­­sierten Dienstleister und Zulie­fe­rer wie zum Beispiel der Son­der­­ma­­schi­­nen­bau für die Lebens­mit­tel­in­dus­­­­trie, die Verpackungsindustrie und die Lo­­gis­­tik­­unternehmen zählen zur her­­vor­­ragend vernetzten Branchen­infra­struk­­­tur und tragen zu den positiven Zahlen bei. Ohne Innovations­po­ten­zia­­le jedoch kein Fortschritt. So legen For­­schung und Entwicklung die Grund­­lage für den Er­­folg.
Die Hochschul- und For­schungs­ins­­ti­tu­tio­­­nen sorgen mit ihrem „heißen Draht“ zu den Lebensmittelproduzenten dafür, dass der Begriff „Forschung im Elfen­beinturm“ ein Fremdwort bleibt und die Unter­neh­men bei den Themen Pro­­dukt­entwick­lung und Innovationen auf technisches Equip­­ment und kompeten­­te Beratung zählen kön­­nen. Alles in al­­lem sind die Wege kurz in Nord­­deutsch­­­­land. Der flüssige Trans­fer von Material, Dienst­­leistungen, Infor­ma­tio­­nen und Know-how ist ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor, der die Leistung der Bran­che entscheidend mitbestimmt.

061012_pc_0270

Ernährungsnetzwerk foodRegio
Anspruchsvollere Konsumenten, sich wan­­­­delnde Funktionen von Lebensmitteln, Kon­­­­­­zentrationsprozesse im Handel und kürzere Produktlebenszyklen sind nur einige von vielen Herausforderungen, mit denen sich die Ernährungsindustrie kon­­­­frontiert sieht. Jeder Unternehmer kann dem seine persönliche Strategie entge­­gensetzen, bewährt hat sich jedoch eine andere Taktik:

„Networking“ lautet das Zauberwort und ist die Devise, die sich inzwischen ein Groß­­teil der hier ansässigen Unter­neh­men der weit verzweigten Branche auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat. Aktive Netz­­werkarbeit zwischen allen Beteiligten in­­nerhalb der Supply-Chain, zahlt sich aus. Netzwerkarbeit un­­ter­stützt zu­dem das Wachstum und die Wett­­be­werbs­fä­hig­­keit und hebt bislang un­­genutz­­te Pro­duk­ti­vi­tätspotenziale.

IMG_0316

foodRegio, das Netzwerk der Lebens­mit­­­tel­­wirtschaft im norddeutschen Raum mit Ursprung in Lübeck, gilt als positives Ex­­empel für ein aktives Cluster der Er­­näh­­rungswirtschaft in Deutschland. So sieht es auch das Ministerium für Wis­­­sen­schaft, Wirtschaft und Verkehr und fördert das Cluster an Norddeutsch­lands größtem Standort für die Er­­näh­­rungs­­industrie zu­­nächst bis ins Jahr 2011. Durch die Un­­ter­­nehmerfamilien Brüg­gen und Junge im Jahr 2006 aus der Taufe gehoben, zählt das Netzwerk derzeit 28 Mitglieder. Zum größten Teil sind dies namhafte Her­­­­steller von Lebens­­mittelprodukten, aber auch Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer so­­wie For­­schungs- und Hoch­schul­ein­rich­tun­­gen haben sich angeschlossen. In neun Ar­­beits­­gruppen, mit rund 150 Mit­ar­bei­tern aus den Mit­­­­gliedsunternehmen, wird die über­be­trieb­­­­­liche Kooperation gelebt und aktiv ge­­staltet. Ein besonderes Au­­gen­­­merk gilt hierbei dem Bereich „Pro­­zess­­­in­no­va­tio­­­­nen“. Ein weites Feld, das alle Betei­lig­ten betrifft und ein Garant für die Zu­­kunfts­fähigkeit eines Unter­neh­­mens ist. In den Zusammen­­künften konzentrieren die Akteure sich praxis­­nah auf konkret umsetzbare Projekte, deren Er­­gebnisse unmittelbar ablesbar sind.
Un­­ter anderem können die Arbeitsgrup­pen in Zusammenarbeit mit den For­schungs- und Hochschuleinrichtungen schon Mehr­­werte in den Bereichen Lo­­gistik, Aus­­bildung und Qualifizierung so­­wie Pro­­duktionsoptimierung verzeichnen.

Buffet_DSC_0223

Projekte mit Mehrwert
Messbare Erfolge für die Unternehmen innerhalb eines überschaubaren Zeit­­rau­­mes bieten den Mitwirkenden Mehr­wer­­­­te, mit denen sich rechnen lässt. Zum Bei­­spiel beim Thema Energie­manage­ment: Über einen Zeitraum von einem halben Jahr untersuchte die Fach­hoch­­­schule Lü­­beck die Energieflüsse in sechs Mit­glieds­­unternehmen. Die Ergebnisse wurden in einer Abschlussanalyse vorgestellt. Ener­­gieeinsparpotenziale bei allen Un­­ter­neh­­men wurden insbesondere im Bereich der Druck­luft­opti­mie­rung und Ab­­wär­­me­­umnutzung registriert. Ebenfalls er­­folg­­reich, und damit kostensenkend, verlief das mit der Fach­­­­hochschule Lübeck re­­alisierte Projekt einer gemeinsamen Dis­­tributions­lo­­gis­­­tik. Die Fachleute der Hoch­­schule er­­mit­­telten zunächst das Po­­ten­­zial für ei­­ne gemeinsame Logistik in der Dis­­tri­bu­­tion der foodRegio-Unternehmen und führten im nächsten Schritt die Lo­­gistik zusammen. Mit der Um­­­­set­­zung der Analyse­er­­­­gebnisse konn­­­­ten Einsparungen in ei­­nem Be­­reich von bis zu zehn Prozent der ur­­sprüng­­­­­­lichen Kosten erzielt wer­­den.
In die Zukunft investieren
Ein nicht zu unterschätzender Faktor, der ebenfalls zum Bereich Prozess­in­no­­va­tion zählt, ist die auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerich­­tete Investition in gut ausgebildete Mit­ar­­beiter. So konnten unter an­­derem speziell auf die Bedürfnisse der Ernäh­rungs­in­­dus­­trie zugeschnittene Qua­­lifizierungs­maß­­nah­­men für Pro­duk­­­tionsmitarbeiter im Verbund mit der IHK entwickelt werden. Eigens für die „Youngster“ und Schulab­gän­­ger wurde ein Kinospot produziert, der, flankiert von Schulbesuchen, dem Ein­­satz von Azubimüsliriegeln, Plakaten und Take-away-Cards auf die vielfältigen Aus­bil­dungsberufe in der Ernährungs­wirt­­­schaft aufmerksam macht. Als ein he­­raus­­ragen­­des Ergebnis der aktiven Netz­werk­­arbeit kann die Einrichtung eines neuen Stu­dien­­gangs an der Fachhochschule Lü­­­­beck gel­­ten. Neu geschaffen wurde der „Bach­­elor of Food Processing“, der die fach­­lichen Komponenten des Wirtschafts- und Ma­­schinenbauingenieurwesen mit der Le­­bens­­­­mitteltechnologie vereint. Der Stu­­dien­­gang kann dual absolviert werden, das heißt während einer laufenden Aus­bil­dung, zum Beispiel zur Fachkraft für Lebens­mit­­tel­technik, oder aber nach er­­folg­­rei­chem Berufsabschluss in der Le­­bens­­mit­­tel­in­dustrie. Die Inhalte des Cur­­ri­­culums wurden maßgeblich ge­­stal­­­tet durch den food­­Regio-Arbeitskreis „Per­­sonal­ent­­wick­­lung“, der die Be­­dürf­­nisse der Un­­ter­­neh­­men in die Fach­­hoch­­schule transportierte.

JochenBrüggenDer 1963 geborene Autor absolvierte ein Wirt­schafts­­ingenieursstudium an der TU Berlin. Wäh­­rend des Studiums be­­gleitete er als ver­­antwortlicher Pro­­jekt­manager den Auf­­bau eines Cere­a­­lien­werkes in Lübeck. Seit 1994 ist er Prokurist in der H. & J. Brüggen KG, der er seit 1998 als persön­­lich haftender Gesellschafter vorsteht. Jo­­chen Brüggen ist Vor­stands­­­­vorsitzender des food­Regio e.V..

 

DrMahn_modSeine Laufbahn begann der 1947 geborene Autor mit einem Stu­­dium der Land­­wirt­schaft und Ernährungs­wis­­senschaft. Nach der Promotion leitete er die Ab­­tei­­lung für Produkt­ent­wick­lung und Qual­i­täts­siche­rung eines Tiefkühl­kost­her­­stell­ers in Bremerhaven. Als tech­­ni­scher Lei­­­ter wech­­selte er 1978 zur Firma J.G. Nie­­der­egger in Lübeck, der er heute als Be­­­­triebs­leiter vorsteht. Dr. Mahn ist stell­ver­tretender Vorsitzender des food­Regio e.V..